2011-2012 Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended June 30, 2011

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Canada's fisheries and oceans have played and continue to play an important historic, economic, and cultural role in Canada's development and growth as a nation. Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) has the lead federal role in managing Canada's fisheries and safeguarding its waters.

The Canadian Coast Guard (CCG), a Special Operating Agency within DFO, is responsible for services and programs that contribute to the safety, security, and accessibility of Canada's waterways. CCG supports other government organizations by providing a civilian fleet and a broadly distributed shore-based infrastructure.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) authority, mandate and program activities may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes DFO's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis of accounting.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year-to-date (YTD) results

2.1 Statement of Authorities

In the first quarter of the 2011-2012 fiscal year, DFO's total authorities available for use decreased by $157.3 million (8.0%) to $1,822.7 million, when compared to the same quarter of 2010-2011. This can be mainly attributed to a decrease in Vote 5, Capital Expenditures authority of $110.4 million (25.2%) compared to the same period of 2010-2011 and is a result of the conclusion of the Economic Action Plan (EAP) funding that ended March 31, 2011. Areas that have reduced Vote 5 authorities due to the conclusion of EAP include Canadian Coast Guard fleet-related projects, Small Craft Harbours, and the Deferred Maintenance of Federal Laboratories Initiative.

2.1.1 Expenditure Analysis

In the first quarter of 2011-2012, total budgetary expenditures were $323.7 million compared to $340.1 million reported in the same period of 2010-2011.

With the conclusion of the EAP, Vote 5 Capital Expenditures decreased by $17.8 million (44.0%) to $22.7 million for the first quarter of 2011-2012 as compared to $40.5 million reported in the same period last year. However, the rate of spending compared to total authorities is comparable between the quarters with a rate of spending of 6.9% for 2011-2012 versus 9.2% for 2010-2011.

Expenditures in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions, are significantly higher in the first quarter of 2011-2012 than for the same period in 2010-2011. The variance of $8.3 million in expenditures is mainly attributable to the rate of spending in the Contribution program to support the economic viability and long term sustainability of the Quebec and Atlantic Canada lobster fishery (Atlantic Lobster Sustainability Measures). This program has a seasonal component that influences the timing of participation by harvesters. Since this relatively new program was announced late in the fall of 2009, few proposals were submitted for consideration prior to the 2010 lobster season resulting in low participation in the spring of 2010 and low expenditures for the first quarter of 2010-2011. As the program gained momentum, proposals were prepared and submitted for approval to the Department in the fall and winter of 2010. A large number of agreements were approved in March and April 2011 in time for the 2011 lobster season and this is reflected in the higher expenditures in the first quarter of 2011-2012.

2.2 Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The total gross budgetary expenditures this quarter have decreased by $15.8 million as compared to the first quarter of 2010-2011. This decrease is primarily attributable to the decrease in overall authorities as the overall rate of expenditures for the quarter (17.8%) is comparable to last year during the same period (17.2%).

The types of expenditures that reflect significant decreases include Professional and special services, Repair and maintenance, Acquisition of machinery and equipment. This is due to a decrease in funding for capital projects that were funded as part of the EAP in 2010-2011.

A year-over-year increase in first quarter expenditures for transfer payments reflects the higher expenditures early in 2011-2012 in the contribution program that supports the economic viability and long term sustainability of the Quebec and Atlantic Canada lobster fishery as explained in section 2.1.1. Finally, an increase in Other Subsidies and Payments is linked to a difference in the timing of the redistribution of certain expenses.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This Departmental Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 27, 2011.

Planned spending for the fiscal year is $1.823 billion. The Department is primarily funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities and statutory authorities for operating expenditures, capital expenditures, and grants and contributions. Departmental operations are impacted by any change in parliamentary appropriations.

The most significant cost to the Department is personnel expenditures for the delivery of knowledge-based scientific, conservation and maritime programs and services across the country. Expenses related to the acquisition of machinery and equipment are the next highest cost, as the Department has the second largest asset base among Canadian federal departments.

Delivery of DFO's departmental programs and services may be impacted by several internal and external risks. Key corporate risks for 2011-2012 include:

The Department has developed a Corporate Risk Profile to identify and manage key risks. This risk profile and mitigation measures are reviewed regularly by the Departmental Management Board and the external Departmental Audit Committee.

Budget 2010 announced that the operating budgets of departments would be frozen at their 2010-2011 levels for the fiscal years 2011-2012 and 2012-2013. In addition, the Department will be implementing measures to reduce the deficit announced in Budget 2011.

The Department has adopted several measures to mitigate this financial risk. Business planning has been streamlined to identify key program priorities. Internal budget allocation and in-year forecasting have been improved to ensure that priorities are funded and program pressures are addressed, and a Financial Management Framework, including a multi-year, risk-based Internal Control work plan has been developed to document and test the effectiveness of existing key controls in relation to financial planning and budgeting.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to ongoing departmental operations or in senior personnel, as represented by the Departmental Management Board, during the reporting period.

The first quarter of fiscal year 2011-2012 has marked a transition in DFO programming as a result of the completion of DFO's response to Canada's Economic Action Plan and the planned phase out of $222.1 million in stimulus funding from 2010-2011 reference levels.

Planned reductions in Economic Action Plan stimulus funding included $97.4 million for Small Craft Harbours; $85.0 million for the Canadian Coast Guard fleet; $24.5 million for deferred maintenance of federal laboratories; and $13.1 million related to the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan.

Approval by Senior Officials

Claire Dansereau,
Deputy Minister
Roch Huppé,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
August 18, 2011

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2011 * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net Operating Expenditures 1,229,050 249,296 249,296 1,282,520 258,761 258,761
Vote 5 - Capital Expenditures 328,062 22,719 22,719 438,454 40,531 40,531
Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions 127,653 17,153 17,153 131,203 8,827 8,827
Budget Statutory Authorities 137,920 34,513 34,513 127,830 31,991 31,991
Total Budgetary Authorities 1,822,685 323,681 323,681 1,980,007 340,110 340,110
Non-Budgetary Authorities - - - - - -
Total Authorities 1,822,685 323,681 323,681 1,980,007 340,110 340,110
* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

More information is available in the table below.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 903,708 233,964 233,964 879,880 234,079 234,079
Transportation and communications 64,397 13,643 13,643 75,408 15,148 15,148
Information 4,132 299 299 5,597 469 469
Professional and special services 176,309 19,384 19,384 206,240 21,700 21,700
Rentals 19,793 1,978 1,978 28,193 2,106 2,106
Repair and maintenance 158,507 13,710 13,710 147,282 27,804 27,804
Utilities, materials and supplies 82,507 12,487 12,487 101,428 12,521 12,521
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 62,264 1,642 1,642 87,420 2,560 2,560
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 257,269 9,540 9,540 347,270 17,080 17,080
Transfer payments 127,653 17,153 17,153 131,203 8,827 8,827
Public debt charges - - - - - -
Other subsidies and payments 14,161 8,632 8,632 18,001 5,980 5,980
Total gross budgetary expenditures 1,870,700 332,432 332,432 2,027,922 348,274 348,274
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 48,015 8,751 8,751 47,915 8,164 8,164
Total Revenues netted against expenditures: 48,015 8,751 8,751 47,915 8,164 8,164
Total net budgetary expenditures 1,822,685 323,681 323,681 1,980,007 340,110 340,110

2011-2012 Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et conformément à la norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Ce rapport n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Les pêches et les océans du Canada jouent depuis très longtemps un rôle historique, économique et culturel de premier plan dans le développement et la croissance du Canada. Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) est l'organisme fédéral responsable de la gestion des pêches du Canada et de la protection de ses eaux.

La Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), un organisme du service spécial au sein du MPO, est responsable des services et des programmes qui contribuent à la sécurité, à la protection et à l'accessibilité des voies navigables du Canada. La GCC contribue également à la réalisation des objectifs d'autres organisations gouvernementales par la prestation d'une flotte civile et d'une vaste infrastructure côtière.

On peut trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autorisations, le mandat et les activités de programme de Pêches et Océans Canada dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du MPO accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

2.1 État des autorisations

Au cours du premier trimestre de l'exercice 2011-2012, les autorisations totales dont disposait le MPO sont passées à 1 822,7 millions de dollars, ce qui représente une baisse de 157,3 millions de dollars (8,0 %) comparé au trimestre correspondant de 2010-2011. Cette baisse est principalement attribuable à une diminution de 110,4 millions de dollars (25,2 %) du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, comparativement à la même période en 2010-2011, ainsi qu'à la conclusion du financement obtenu à la faveur du Plan d'action économique (PAE), qui a pris fin le 31 mars 2011. Les projets de la Garde côtière canadienne liés à la flotte, les Ports pour petits bateaux, et l'Initiative d'entretien différé dans les laboratoires fédéraux ont été touchés par la réduction des pouvoirs de dépenser en vertu du crédit 5 en raison de la conclusion du PAE.

2.1.1 Analyse des dépenses

Au cours du premier trimestre de 2011-2012, les dépenses budgétaires totales se sont chiffrées à 323,7 millions de dollars, comparativement à 340,1 millions de dollars au cours de la période correspondante en 2010-2011.

Avec la conclusion du PAE, les dépenses en capital du crédit 5 ont diminué de 17,8 millions de dollars (44.0 %) pour s'établir à 22,7 millions de dollars au cours du premier trimestre de 2011-2012, comparativement à 40,5 millions de dollars au cours de la même période l'an dernier. Cependant, le rythme des dépenses par rapport aux autorisations totales est comparable d'un trimestre à l'autre, puisqu'il était de 6,9 % en 2011-2012 et de 9,2 % en 2010-2011.

Les dépenses du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont été beaucoup plus élevées au cours du premier trimestre de 2011-2012 que pour la période correspondante en 2010-2011. La hausse de 8,3 millions de dollars des dépenses s'explique principalement par le rythme des dépenses du programme de contributions visant à appuyer la viabilité économique et la durabilité à long terme de l'industrie de la pêche au homard au Québec et au Canada atlantique (Mesures de durabilité pour l'industrie du homard de l'Atlantique). Ce programme comporte un volet saisonnier qui influe sur le moment de la participation des pêcheurs. Comme ce programme relativement nouveau n'a été annoncé qu'à la fin de l'automne 2009, peu de pêcheurs de homard ont présenté des propositions avant le début de la saison 2010, de sorte que seuls quelques-uns ont pu se prévaloir du programme au printemps 2010 et que les dépenses au cours du premier trimestre de 2010-2011 ont été modestes. À mesure que le programme prenait son envol, le Ministère a reçu davantage de demandes à l'automne et à l'hiver de 2010. De nombreuses ententes ont été approuvées en mars et en avril 2011, à temps pour la saison de pêche du homard 2011, comme en témoigne la hausse des dépenses observée au cours du premier trimestre de 2011-2012.

2.2 Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

Les dépenses budgétaires brutes totales ont diminué de 15,8 millions de dollars au cours du premier trimestre de 2011-2012, comparativement au trimestre correspondant de l'exercice précédent. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à la diminution des autorisations totales, car le rythme des dépenses du trimestre (17,8 %) est comparable à celui de la période correspondante de l'an dernier (17,2 %).

Les types de dépenses qui reflètent des baisses importantes comprennent les services professionnels et spéciaux, les réparations et l'entretien, l'acquisition de machines et de matériel. Cela est dû à une diminution du financement des projets d'immobilisations qui ont été financés dans le cadre du PAE en 2010-2011.

Une augmentation d'année en année dans les dépenses du premier trimestre des paiements de transfert reflète les dépenses supérieures au début de 2011-2012 dans le programme de contributions visant à assurer la viabilité économique et la durabilité à long terme de l'industrie du homard du Québec et du Canada atlantique comme expliqué dans la section 2.1.1. Enfin, une augmentation en autres subventions et paiements est liée à la différence de synchronisation de la redistribution de certaines dépenses.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel (RFT) reflète les résultats du premier trimestre de l'exercice financier en cours, en lien avec le Budget principal des dépenses ayant fait l'objet d'une publication globale le 27 juin 2011.

Les dépenses prévues de l'exercice s'élèvent à 1,823 milliard de dollars. Le Ministère est principalement financé grâce à des autorisations de dépenses parlementaires votées et législatives pour les dépenses de fonctionnement, les dépenses en capital et les subventions et contributions. Tout changement des crédits parlementaires se répercute sur les activités du Ministère.

Le coût le plus important qui incombe au Ministère est celui des dépenses en personnel pour la prestation de programmes et services scientifiques axés sur le savoir, ainsi que de programmes et services de conservation et de programmes maritimes partout au pays. Les dépenses liées à l'acquisition de machines et de matériel viennent en deuxième place, puisque le Ministère possède le deuxième plus gros portefeuille d'actifs de tous les ministères fédéraux.

Plusieurs risques internes et externes pourraient influer sur la prestation des programmes et services du MPO. Les principaux risques ministériels en 2011-2012 sont les suivants :

Le Ministère a dressé son profil de risque ministériel afin de cerner et de gérer les principaux risques. Le Conseil de gestion du Ministère ainsi que le Comité de vérification ministériel externe examinent périodiquement le profil de risque ainsi que les mesures d'atténuation prévues.

Le budget de 2010 annonçait que les budgets d'exploitation des ministères seraient gelés à leurs niveaux de 2010-2011 pour les exercices 2011-2012 et 2012-2013. De plus, le Ministère mettra en oeuvre des mesures pour réduire le déficit annoncées dans le budget de 2011.

Le Ministère a pris plusieurs mesures pour atténuer ce risque financier. Il a simplifié la planification de ses activités dans le but de bien faire ressortir les grandes priorités des programmes. Il a amélioré l'attribution des budgets internes ainsi que ses prévisions en cours d'exercice afin de s'assurer que les priorités sont financées et que les pressions qui s'exercent sur les programmes sont prises en compte. De plus, il a mis au point un cadre de gestion financière assorti d'un plan de travail pluriannuel de contrôle interne axé sur le risque afin de documenter et de tester l'efficacité des principaux mécanismes de contrôle liés à la planification financière et à la budgétisation.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Durant la période à l'étude, il n'y a pas eu de changements importants dans les opérations courantes du Ministère non plus que chez ses cadres supérieurs, représentés par le Conseil de gestion du Ministère.

Le premier trimestre de l'exercice 2011-2012 a marqué une transition dans les programmes du MPO, car le programme qu'il avait mis en place à la faveur du Plan d'action économique du Canada a pris fin, tout comme le financement de 222,1 millions de dollars des mesures de stimulation de l'économie inscrites dans les niveaux de référence de 2010-2011.

Parmi les mesures de stimulation prévues dans le Plan d'action économique qui ont pris fin, mentionnons 97,4 millions de dollars pour les ports pour petits bateaux; 85,0 millions de dollars pour la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne; 24,5 millions de dollars pour l'entretien différé des laboratoires fédéraux; et 13,1 millions de dollars pour le Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux.

Approbation par les cadres supérieurs

Claire Dansereau,
sous-ministre
Roch Huppé,
dirigeant principal des finances

Ottawa, Canada
18 août 2011

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 229 050 249 296 249 296 1 282 520 258 761 258 761
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital 328 062 22 719 22 719 438 454 40 531 40 531
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions 127 653 17 153 17 153 131 203 8 827 8 827
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 137 920 34 513 34 513 127 830 31 991 31 991
Autorisations budgétaires totales 1 822 685 323 681 323 681 1 980 007 340 110 340 110
Autorisations non budgétaires - - - - - -
Autorisations totales 1 822 685 323 681 323 681 1 980 007 340 110 340 110
* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

De l'information supplémentaire est fournie dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 903 708 233 964 233 964 879 880 234 079 234 079
Transport et communications 64 397 13 643 13 643 75 408 15 148 15 148
Information 4 132 299 299 5 597 469 469
Services professionnels et spéciaux 176 309 19 384 19 384 206 240 21 700 21 700
Location 19 793 1 978 1 978 28 193 2 106 2 106
Services de réparation et d'entretien 158 507 13 710 13 710 147 282 27 804 27 804
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 82 507 12 487 12 487 101 428 12 521 12 521
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 62 264 1 642 1 642 87 420 2 560 2 560
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 257 269 9 540 9 540 347 270 17 080 17 080
Paiements de transfert 127 653 17 153 17 153 131 203 8 827 8 827
Frais de la dette publique - - - - - -
Autres subventions et paiements 14 161 8 632 8 632 18 001 5 980 5 980
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 1 870 700 332 432 332 432 2 027 922 348 274 348 274
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses :
Ventes de biens et services 48 015 8 751 8 751 47 915 8 164 8 164
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 48 015 8 751 8 751 47 915 8 164 8 164
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 1 822 685 323 681 323 681 1 980 007 340 110 340 110