Factsheet : The 1999 Supreme Court of Canada Marshall Decision

The Marshall Decision

The Supreme Court of Canada’s September 17, 1999 decision in the Donald Marshall case affirmed a treaty right to hunt, fish and gather in pursuit of a ‘moderate livelihood’, arising out of the Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1760 and 1761.The Decision affected 34 Mi’kmaq and Maliseet First Nations in New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and the Gaspé region of Quebec. 

Marshall Response Initiative

Since the landmark 1999 decision, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) has launched several programs in response, beginning with the Marshall Response Initiative, which provided these First Nation communities with licences, vessels and gear in order to increase and diversify their participation in the commercial fisheries and contribute to the pursuit of a moderate livelihood for First Nations members. Through Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Marshall Response Initiative, and an investment of $354 million between 2000 and 2007, commercial fishing licences, fishing vessels, gear, and training were provided to 32 First Nations through negotiated agreements. The Marshall Initiative ended on March 31, 2007.

Atlantic Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative

Following the conclusion of the Marshall Response Initiative, DFO launched the Atlantic Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative in 2007, which provides funding and support to Marshall communities to build the capacity of their communal commercial fishing enterprises and to strengthen community economic self-sufficiency. 
Through the Atlantic Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative, DFO works with program participants to increase commercial fisheries access, provide business management capacity building support, and access training resources required to build self-sustaining Indigenous-owned communal commercial fishing enterprises that meet long-term objectives, including horizontal expansion, the development of additional fisheries-related business opportunities, and increased community employment.

Quick facts:

Rights Reconciliation Agreements

In 2017, Fisheries and Oceans Canada began to negotiate time-limited Rights Reconciliation Agreements on fisheries with Mi’kmaq and Maliseet First Nations in Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick and the Gaspé region of Quebec as well as with the Peskotomuhkati Nation at Skutik.
In 2019, Fisheries and Oceans Canada signed two Rights Reconciliation Agreements on fisheries:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is collaborating with these First Nations on the development of fisheries management approaches and tools to support fisheries access and management objectives.

Fiche d’information : L'arrêt Marshall de 1999 de la Cour suprême du Canada

La décision Marshall

La décision rendue par la Cour suprême du Canada le 17 septembre 1999 dans l'affaire Donald Marshall a confirmé le droit issu des traités de paix et d'amitié de 1760 et de 1761 à la chasse, à la pêche, et à la cueillette dans le but d'assurer un « moyen de subsistance convenable » à 34 Premières Nations mi'kmaq et malécite du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Nouvelle-Écosse), et de la Gaspésie au Québec.

L’Initiative pour répondre à l’arrêt Marshall

Depuis la décision historique de 1999, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) a lancé plusieurs programmes en réponse à cette décision, à commencer par l'Initiative de l'après-Marshall, qui a fourni à ces collectivités des permis, des bateaux, et des engins, afin d'accroître et de diversifier leur participation à la pêche commerciale, et de contribuer à l'acquisition d'un moyen de subsistance convenable pour leurs membres. Dans le cadre de l'Initiative de l'après-Marshall du MPO, et d'un investissement de 354 millions de dollars entre 2000 et 2007, des permis de pêche commerciale, des bateaux de pêche, des engins, et de la formation ont été fournis à 32 Premières Nations dans le cadre d'ententes négociées. L'Initiative Marshall a pris fin le 31 mars 2007.

L’Initiative des pêches commerciales intégrées de l’Atlantique

Après la conclusion de l'Initiative de l'après-Marshall, le MPO a lancé l'Initiative des pêches commerciales intégrées de l'Atlantique en 2007, qui offre du financement et du soutien aux collectivités concernées par l’arrêt Marshall, en vue de renforcer la capacité de leurs entreprises communautaires de pêche commerciale et l'autosuffisance économique communautaire. 

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative des pêches commerciales intégrées de l'Atlantique, le MPO travaille avec les participants au programme pour accroître l'accès aux pêches commerciales, fournir un soutien au renforcement des capacités de gestion des entreprises, et accéder aux ressources de formation nécessaires pour créer des entreprises de pêche commerciale communautaires autosuffisantes appartenant aux Autochtones, et qui répondent aux objectifs à long terme, notamment l'expansion horizontale, la création de nouvelles possibilités commerciales liées aux pêches et une augmentation des emplois communautaires.

Faits en bref

Ententes de réconciliation et de reconnaissance des droits

En 2017, Pêches et Océans Canada a commencé à négocier des ententes de réconciliation et de reconnaissance des droits de pêche d'une durée limitée avec les Premières Nations mi'kmaq et malécite de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, du Nouveau-Brunswick, et de la Gaspésie au Québec, ainsi qu'avec la Nation Peskotomuhkati à Skutik.

En 2019, Pêches et Océans Canada a signé deux ententes de réconciliation et de reconnaissance des droits de pêche :

Pêches et Océans Canada collabore avec ces Premières Nations en vue d’élaborer des approches et des outils de gestion des pêches, pour appuyer l'accès aux pêches et les objectifs en matière de gestion.