Success Stories

Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program

British Columbia

McDonald Creek empties into Burrard Inlet in a populated area along the West Vancouver seawall and walkway. The creek predominantly provides important habitat for Coho and Chum salmon, although limited numbers of Pink also utilize the creek. Over time, the estuary had degraded to a braided shoreline with no defined channel. Salmonid access was limited to high tide and high water conditions, which delayed fish migration to upstream spawning grounds and often subjected salmon to increased predation by local seal populations.

With funding from the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program, the West Vancouver Streamkeeper Society developed a plan to improve passage between the tidal estuary and the creek over a broader range of tides. The creek outlet channel was completely re-built to provide improved fish access and to withstand ocean influences, particularly winter storm surges. Boulder features were strategically added to enhance habitat for returning adults and migrating smolts, and riparian planting has increased opportunities for leaf litter and insect drop.

Since project completion, it is reported that there has been a significant increase in estuarine productivity, with nearly 100% colonization of available rock features with barnacles, rockweed and other estuarine organisms. Partners in this project included the Pacific Salmon Foundation, Coho Society of the North Shore, TD Friends of the Environment Fund, British Pacific Properties, Fortis BC, Seaspan, CN rail and West Vancouver Community Foundation.

Pre-construction: braided shoreline and undefined channel

Pre-construction: braided shoreline and undefined channel

Post-construction: sloped and defined creek with instream complexing

Post-construction: sloped and defined creek with instream complexing

 
Aerial view of McDonald Creek Estuary

Aerial view of McDonald Creek Estuary

Signage provides public awareness and brings an educational element to the West Vancouver seawall

West Vancouver seawall

Photo credit: Scott Christie

British Columbia

The Nicola River is the largest tributary to the Thompson River downstream of Kamloops Lake. It is a major spawning tributary for chinook, coho and steelhead trout; however, pink, kokanee and rainbow trout also spawn in the area. As the Nicola River flows predominantly through agricultural and range land, it experiences significant land use pressures, which has led to habitat degradation in many areas. A main concern is an increase in sediment deposition, which can cause reductions in critical spawning habitat, decreased water quality and decreased visibility for feeding. With funding from the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program, the British Columbia Conservation Foundation set out to reduce sediment deposition by stabilizing eroding banks on the Nicola River, adjacent to Merritt, BC. Spawning and rearing habitat was also improved by adding in-stream features made of rock and wood debris, which created cover and opportunities to feed for fish. Since project completion, habitat quality has remarkably improved and sediment deposition has been substantially reduced. Partners that helped to achieve these results include the Steelhead Society of British Columbia, the River Ranch of Merritt, BC and the Kingfishers Angling Club.

 
 
Site 1 before restoration

Site 1 before restoration

Site 1 post-construction: Rock, woody debris and riparian planting have been used to stabilize the stream bank.

Site 1 post-construction

Source: Wallis Environmental Aquatics Ltd.

British Columbia

Moody’s Slough is a side channel of the Cheakamus River that has combined ground water and river flows and provides important habitat for numerous salmonids, including Coho salmon. It is a complex slough system with several “blind” off-shoot channels. With funding from the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program, the Squamish River Watershed Society re-connected several channels through channel excavation, culvert installation, weir construction and diversions so that flows were re-established. These channels now provide important over-wintering, spawning, and rearing habitat for Coho salmon and other salmonids. It is expected that 10,000 to 20,000 Coho fry will benefit year round from these changes. The high-quality refuge habitat will be especially important in summer.

Before: dried-up channel

Before: dried-up channel

After: restored flow and salmonid habitat

After: restored flow and salmonid habitat
After: restored flow and salmonid habitat

Photo credit: Edith Tobe

Alberta

Bow Valley, located near Calgary, Alberta, contains a series of cold, mountain-fed rivers that support many sought-after recreational fish such as Rainbow and Brown Trout. However, the absence of riparian vegetation along these banks has led to increased water temperatures and a reduction in water quality. The Bow Valley Habitat Development (BVHD) has been working to increase fish productivity of the Bow Valley for almost 30 years. With funding from the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program, the BVHD planted 14,600 native plants along 13.8 kilometres of stream bank in 2015. This brings the total to over 24,000 native species planted on 25 kilometers of stream bank. Water temperature and water quality will both improve over time as the native plants re-establish themselves along the banks, enhancing the habitat for trout and other recreational fish species. The BVHD continues to bring together many like-minded partners including volunteers from local businesses, schools and recreational groups to continue the restoration of recreational fish habitat through various projects. 

Before: Pre-planting

Pre-planting

After: Riparian planting (1-year old willows)

Riparian planting (1-year old willows)

Photo credit: Guy Woods

Manitoba

Beaver Lake, located within Duck Mountain Provincial Park, has been managed for its recreational fishing potential by Swan Valley Sport Fishery Enhancement Inc. (SVSFE) since the late 1980s. One of the limiting factors in the lake’s recreational fisheries potential was inadequate amounts of spawning habitat for recently transferred juvenile and adult walleye. SVSFE developed and implemented the installation of walleye’s preferred habitat by creating spawning shoals of rocky substrate in Beaver Lake. In the winter of 2014, a team of volunteers installed over 400 cubic yards of rocky material creating 1,050 square metres of spawning habitat. SVSFE continues to monitor recruitment with small but positive increments of success. As the walleye population matures, fish utilizing the spawning shoals should increase, and in turn, should provide a sustainable walleye fishery for anglers to enjoy. SVSFE partnered with Manitoba Conservation Water Stewardship and Fisheries and Oceans Canada through the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program to complete this project.

Before: Limited spawning habitat

Before: Limited spawning habitat

After: Spawning shoal and walleye

After: Spawning shoal and walleye
After: Spawning shoal and walleye

Photo credit: Holly Urban

Ontario

The Jock River is a popular recreational destination near Ottawa.  The Jock River Embayment Project, managed by the Rideau Valley Conservation Authority (RVCA) aimed to increase the amount of spawning, nursery, rearing and feeding habitat for the various recreational fish species that can be found in the Jock River.  A small grassland area was reclaimed as an embayment along the Jock River.  In addition to creating over 1,000 square metres of fish habitat, the project also resulted in the creation of wetland habitat that will provide food and shelter for fish and other aquatic life.  Construction was completed in October 2014 and sampling in summer 2015 revealed that recreational fish species such as Walleye, Smallmouth Bass and Northern Pike are already making use of this new fish habitat!  The RVCA accomplished this task with the help of Muskies Canada, the National Defense Fish and Game Club, Ottawa Fly Fisher Society and funding from the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program.

Before: Prior to creation of fish habitat

Before: Prior to creation of fish habitat

After: Embayment

After: Embayment

Photo credit: Jennifer Lamoureux

Ontario

With funding from the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program, a fish bypass channel was constructed by Valleys 2000 Incorporated on the Bowmanville Creek to help preserve and restore the recreational fishery in Southern and Central Lake Ontario. Approximately 31 fish species are known to live, spawn and migrate along the Bowmanville and Soper Creek watersheds, including Atlantic and Chinook Salmon, which have been reintroduced into the area in the past decade. Before the bypass channel was built, an old industrial dam had been a major barrier to these species attempting to swim to spawning grounds – now they are able to traverse around the dam.

Before: Manual salmon transfers Before: Manual salmon transfers

After: Salmon entering bypass channelAfter: Salmon entering bypass channel

Before: Manual salmon transfers

After: Salmon entering bypass channel

Before: Manual salmon transfers

After: Salmon entering bypass channel

Before: Manual salmon transfers

After: Salmon entering bypass channel

Photo credits: Charles Hastings (“before” photos); Hillary Prince (“after” photos)

Quebec

The Osgood River used to be known as an excellent river for salmonids. Watercourse changes, however, led to a decrease in the quality and diversity of Brook Trout habitats. The Groupe de concertation des bassins versants de la zone Bécancour (GROBEC) consequently undertook restoration projects to create thresholds, pools, as well as single and double deflectors in order to diversify Brook Trout habitat, curb bank erosion and create more diverse water flow patterns.

Before and during restoration work

After restoration work

Before and during restoration work

Source : GROBEC

Before and during restoration work
After restoration work

Source : Municipality of Saint-Jacques-de-Leeds

Quebec

In the summer of 2013, the Réserve Faunique Rouge-Matawin (Société des établissements de plein air du Québec) started work to develop habitat for Brook Trout in eight of its watercourses. The project, supported by the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program, was completed over two years. The work performed from 2013 to 2015 considerably increased the quality of breeding habitat available to Brook Trout. Fish passage was also restored in the streams between certain bodies of water, where several sites with natural potential were previously inaccessible.

Before: Lac des Jésuites before the
watercourse
Before: Lac des Jésuites before the watercourse cleanup

After: Stream cleanup, construction of spawning grounds and a wood weirAfter: Stream cleanup, construction of spawning grounds and a wood weir

Before: Lac Higginson outlet before habitat development Before: Lac Higginson outlet before habitat development

After: Outlet after fish channel construction
  After: Outlet after fish channel construction

Photo credit: François Lamothe

New Brunswick

A section of MacDonald Brook, in the Canaan River watershed, was at one time dammed to create a head pond and an access road for a saw mill operation. With no continual upkeep after the mill closed, the dam eventually failed; debris and the culverts that controlled the flow through the dam ended up strewn in the channel interfering with fish passage. The final resting location of the debris and culverts also directed the flow of the brook towards the west bank, which then eroded and became highly unstable, leading to increased sediment loads in the brook. As the brook is an important refuge and rearing habitat for Brook Trout and Atlantic Salmon, Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program funding was used by the Canaan River Fish and Game Association to help reconstruct the banks, creating a more stable slope and a floodplain along the east bank, and to remove the debris and culverts from the channel. The project is expected to significantly improve fish migration and spawning.

Before: unstable bankBefore: unstable bank

Photo credit: Ron Jenkins
Source: Parish Geomorphic

After: bank stabilized with erosion control blanketsAfter: bank stabilized with erosion control blankets

Photo credit: Chris Thomson
Source: Maritime Hydroseed

Nova Scotia

The St. Mary's River Association implemented a restoration project that focused on the area impacted by both past and present land use (farming and forestry) which has caused the river to become wide and shallow in many places, reducing migration and spawning for Atlantic salmon and sea-run trout. These deteriorated conditions create excessive ice production, contributing to further widening of the channel downstream. In the summertime, water temperatures rise to levels not suitable for fish survival. Restoration work included the installation of rock sills, deflectors, groynes, channel blockers and bank rocking. Thanks in part to funding from the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program, positive results are already being seen since the commencement of work in 2014, with the channel beginning to narrow and deepen, cool water pools being formed and increased spawning at restoration sites.

Before installation of a rock sill

Before installation of a rock  sill

Photo credit: Andrea Flynn

After installation of a rock sill

After installation of a rock  sill

Photo credit: Charles MacInnis

After restoration work

Photo credit: Nicholas MacInnis

Nova Scotia

Thanks in part to Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships funding, the Clean Foundation (formerly Clean Nova Scotia) restored 602 square metres of fish habitat in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia area watersheds in 2013. These watersheds, which are home to a variety of fish species such as brook trout and gaspereaux, have been badly affected by urban growth and debris blockages. Many watercourses have been artificially altered, making streams straighter, wider and shallower. As a result, the natural meander of the streams, which creates critical diverse habitat such as cold, deep pools and shallow, fast moving riffles, was lost. These varied habitats play an essential role in fish spawning and development. As part of Clean Foundation’s work, a variety of in-stream structures in Ellenvale Run were installed to help improve the stream’s habitat. Two of these structures, a digger-log and deflector, are shown below. The water’s surface clearly shows the benefits of these in-stream structures in creating diverse water flow patterns.

in-stream structures in Ellenvale Run

Source: Clean Foundation

Newfoundland and Labrador

In the early-1900s, dams were created on sections of the Exploits River watershed to facilitate log driving by the pulp and paper industry. These water control practices stopped in the 1950s, but many of the structures remain. These dams and structures deteriorated over time, creating obstructions to fish migration and causing debris to accumulate which impacted fish habitat. In 2013, with funding from the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program, the Environmental Resources Management Association, based in Grand Falls-Windsor, removed obstructions and debris at 12 sites. Now, salmonids are able to freely migrate upstream and downstream and natural riverine habitat, for spawning and rearing, has been restored.

Before: obstructions near Grand Falls-WindsorBefore: obstructions near Grand Falls-Windsor

After: restored flow and salmonid habitatAfter: restored flow and salmonid habitat

Obstructed waterwayPhoto credit: Environmental Resources Management Association
Restored waterway

Exemples de succès

Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives

Colombie-Britannique

Le ruisseau McDonald se déverse dans le bras de mer Burrard, dans une zone peuplée qui borde l'ouvrage longitudinal et la passerelle de West Vancouver. Le ruisseau constitue un habitat important pour les saumons coho et kéta, principalement, bien que des saumons roses l'utilisent également, mais en moins grand nombre. Au fil du temps, l'estuaire s'est dégradé en une ligne de côte anastomosée, sans chenal défini. Les salmonidés n'y accédaient plus qu'à marée haute et lorsque le niveau de l'eau était élevé, ce qui retardait leur migration vers les frayères en amont et occasionnait souvent une augmentation de la prédation par les populations de phoques locales.

Grâce au financement du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, la West Vancouver Streamkeeper Society a élaboré un plan destiné à améliorer le passage entre le ruisseau et l'estuaire soumis aux marées, en accroissant le nombre de marnages. Le chenal de sortie du ruisseau a été complètement reconstruit afin de fournir un meilleur accès aux poissons et de résister aux influences océaniques, notamment aux ondes de tempête hivernales. L'ajout stratégique d'éléments rocheux a ainsi permis d'améliorer l'habitat pour la migration des saumoneaux et la montaison des adultes, tandis que la plantation de végétation riveraine favorise la formation de couches de feuilles mortes et la chute d'insectes.

On rapporte une augmentation importante de la productivité de l'estuaire depuis l'achèvement du projet, avec près de 100 % des blocs rocheux disponibles colonisés par les cirripèdes, le fucus et d'autres organismes estuariens. Parmi les partenaires de ce projet, on comptait la Fondation du saumon du Pacifique, la Coho Society à North Shore, la Fondation TD des amis de l'environnement, British Pacific Properties, Fortis BC, Seaspan, le CN et la West Vancouver Community Foundation.

Avant la construction : ligne de côte anastomosée, sans chenal défini

Avant la construction : ligne de côte anastomosée, sans chenal défini

Après la construction : ruisseau en pente et circonscrit, cours d'eau structurellement complexe

Après la construction : ruisseau en pente et circonscrit, cours d'eau structurellement complexe

 
 
Vue aérienne de l'estuaire du ruisseau McDonald

Vue aérienne de l'estuaire du ruisseau McDonald

Signalisation apposée sur l'ouvrage longitudinal de West Vancouver, destinée à informer le public et à le sensibiliser

Signalisation apposée  sur l'ouvrage longitudinal de West Vancouver

Photos : Scott Christie

Colombie-Britannique

La rivière Nicola est le plus grand affluent de la rivière Thompson en aval du lac Kamloops. Il s'agit d'un important affluent de frai pour les saumons quinnat, coho et arc-en-ciel; toutefois, le saumon rose, le saumon rouge et la truite arc-en-ciel frayent également dans cette zone. Comme la rivière Nicola traverse principalement des terres agricoles et des pâturages, elle subit des pressions importantes liées à l'utilisation des terres, ce qui a entraîné une dégradation de l'habitat dans de nombreuses zones. L'une des principales préoccupations concerne l'augmentation du dépôt de sédiments, qui peut entraîner une réduction des habitats de frai essentiels, de la qualité de l'eau et de la visibilité aux fins d'alimentation.  Grâce au financement du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, la British Columbia Conservation Foundation a entrepris de réduire le dépôt de sédiments en stabilisant les berges érodées de la rivière Nicola, du côté de Merritt, en Colombie-Britannique. Les habitats de frai et d'élevage ont également été améliorés grâce à l'ajout de caractéristiques de cours d'eau faites de roches et de débris ligneux, offrant ainsi aux poissons des abris et des occasions de s'alimenter. Depuis l'achèvement du projet, la qualité de l'habitat s'est remarquablement améliorée et le dépôt de sédiments a considérablement diminué. Parmi les partenaires ayant participé à l'atteinte de ces résultats, on compte la Steelhead Society of British Columbia, le River Ranch de Merritt (Colombie-Britannique) et le Kingfishers Angling Club.


 
Le site 1 avant la restauration

site 1 avant la  restauration

Le site 1 après les travaux : des roches, des débris ligneux et une reforestation ont permis de stabiliser les berges de la rivière

site 1 après les travaux

Source: Wallis Environmental Aquatics Ltd.

Colombie-Britannique

Le faux chenal Moody est un chenal latéral de la rivière Cheakamus où coulent des eaux souterraines et de l’eau charriée par les rivières. Il offre un habitat important pour de nombreux salmonidés, dont le saumon coho. Il s’agit d’un système de faux chenal complexe comportant plusieurs bras « abandonnés ». Grâce au financement du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, la Squamish River Watershed Society a reconnecté plusieurs chenaux, en procédant à l’excavation des chenaux, à l’installation de ponceaux, et à la construction de barrages et de systèmes de dérivation, de manière à rétablir le débit d’eau. Ces chenaux fournissent maintenant un habitat essentiel pour l’hivernage, le frai et la croissance pour le saumon coho et d’autres espèces de salmonidés. On estime que de 10 000 à 20 000 alevins de coho bénéficieront de ces changements à l’année. Cet habitat de refuge de haute qualité sera particulièrement important pendant la saison estivale.

Avant : chenal asséché
 

Avant : chenal asséché

Après : Débit d’eau et habitat des salmonidés restaurés

Après : Débit d’eau et habitat des salmonidés restaurés
Après : Débit d’eau et habitat des salmonidés restaurés

Photos : Edith Tobe

Alberta

La vallée de la rivière Bow, qui est située à proximité de Calgary, en Alberta, contient une série rivières d'eau froide provenant des montagnes qui abritent de nombreuses espèces de poisson convoitées pour la pêche récréative telles que la truite arc-en-ciel et la truite brune. Toutefois, l'absence de végétation riveraine le long des rives a fait augmenter la température de l'eau et entraîné une diminution de la qualité de celle-ci. Le Bow Valley Habitat Development (BVHD) s'efforce d'accroître la productivité des poissons de la vallée depuis près de 30 ans. Bénéficiant d'un financement du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, il a planté 14 600 plantes indigènes sur une étendue de 13,8 kilomètres de berges en 2015. Au total, plus de 24 000 espèces indigènes ont été plantées sur 25 kilomètres. On s'attend donc à une amélioration de la température et de la qualité de l'eau avec le temps, à mesure que ces plantes indigènes s'établiront le long des berges et fourniront un habitat à la truite et aux autres espèces visées par la pêche récréative. Le BVHD continue de rassembler de nombreux partenaires qui ont les mêmes idées, y compris des bénévoles des entreprises, des écoles et des groupes récréatifs locaux, afin de poursuivre la restauration de l'habitat du poisson visé par la pêche récréative dans le cadre de divers projets. 

Avant : avant la plantation

avant la plantation

Après : plantes riveraines (saule d'un an)

plantes riveraines (saule d'un an)

Photos : Guy Woods

Manitoba

Le lac Beaver, situé dans le parc provincial du mont Duck, est géré par la Swan Valley Sport Fishery Enhancement Inc. (SVSFE) depuis la fin des années 1980 en raison de son potentiel de pêche récréative. L’un des facteurs limitatifs du potentiel de ce lac était les quantités inadéquates d’habitats de frai pour les dorés jaunes juvéniles et adultes récemment transférés. La SVSFE) a mis en place un habitat de prédilection pour le doré jaune en créant des hauts-fonds de frai à substrat rocheux dans le lac Beaver. À l’hiver 2014, l’équipe de bénévoles a installé plus de 400 verges cubes de matériau rocheux afin de créer une frayère de 1 050 mètres carrés. La SVSFE) continue de surveiller le recrutement, qui augmente lentement, mais sûrement. À mesure que la population de doré jaune croît, le nombre de poissons qui utilisent les hauts-fonds de frai devrait augmenter et ces poissons devraient contribuer à une pêche durable du doré jaune pour les pêcheurs à la ligne. La (SVSFE) a établi un partenariat avec Conservation et Gestion des ressources hydriques du Manitoba et Pêches et Océans Canada dans le cadre du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives en vue de faire avancer ce projet.

Avant : Habitat de frai limité

Avant : Habitat de frai limité

Après : Haut-fond de frai et doré jaune

Après : Haut-fond de frai et doré jaune
Après : Haut-fond de frai et doré jaune

Photos : Holly Urban

Ontario

La rivière Jock est une destination récréative populaire près d'Ottawa. Le Projet de création d'une échancrure dans la rivière Jock, géré par l'Office de protection de la nature de la vallée Rideau, vise à augmenter la superficie de l'habitat pour le frai, l'alevinage, l'élevage et l'alimentation destiné aux diverses espèces faisant l'objet d'une pêche récréative qui se trouvent dans la rivière Jock. Il a été déterminé qu'une petite zone de prairies servirait d'échancrure le long du rivage de la rivière Jock. En plus de créer plus de 1 000 mètres carrés d'habitat du poisson, le projet a également donné lieu à la création d'un habitat de terres humides qui fournira de la nourriture et des abris aux poissons et autres organismes aquatiques.  La construction s'est achevée en octobre 2014 et l'échantillonnage effectué au cours de l’été 2015 a révélé que les espèces visées par la pêche récréative comme le doré jaune, l'achigan à petite bouche et le grand brochet utilisent déjà ce nouvel habitat du poisson. L'Office de protection de la nature de la vallée Rideau a accompli cette tâche avec l'aide de Muskies Canada, du Club de chasse et de pêche de la Défense nationale, de l'Ottawa Fly Fisher Society (Association des pêcheurs à la mouche d'Ottawa) et grâce au financement accordé dans le cadre du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives.

Avant : la zone avant la création de l'habitat du poisson

Avant : la zone avant la création de l'habitat du poisson

Après : l'échancrure

Après : l'échancrure

Photos : Jennifer Lamoureux

Ontario

À l’aide du financement du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, un canal de dérivation pour le poisson a été construit par Valleys 2000 Incorporated sur le ruisseau Bowmanville pour aider à préserver et à restaurer la pêche récréative au sud et au centre du lac Ontario. On estime qu’environ 31 espèces de poisson vivent, fraient et migrent le long des bassins hydrographiques des ruisseaux Bowmanville et Soper, y compris le saumon de l’Atlantique et le saumon quinnat, espèces qui ont été réintroduites dans la région au cours de la dernière décennie. Avant la construction du canal de dérivation, un vieux barrage industriel bloquait le chemin à ces espèces qui tentaient de nager jusqu’aux frayères; elles sont désormais en mesure de traverser en contournant le barrage.

Avant : transfert manuel du
saumon
Avant : transfert manuel du saumon

Après : les saumons entrent dans le canal de dérivationAprès : les saumons entrent dans le canal de dérivation

Avant : transfert manuel du saumon

Après : les saumons entrent dans le canal de dérivation

Avant : transfert manuel du saumon

Après : les saumons entrent dans le canal de dérivation

Avant : transfert manuel du saumon

Après : les saumons entrent dans le canal de dérivation

Sources des photos: Charles Hastings (photos « avant »); Hillary Prince (photos « après »)

Québec

Par le passé, la rivière Osgood était reconnue comme étant une excellente rivière pour les salmonidés. Cependant, des modifications du cours d'eau ont conduit à la dégradation de la qualité et de la diversité des habitats pour l'omble de fontaine. Des travaux d'aménagement de seuils, de fosses et de déflecteurs (simples et doubles) ont été réalisés par le Groupe de concertation des bassins versants de la zone de Bécancour (GROBEC) afin de diversifier l'habitat pour l'omble de fontaine, de freiner l'érosion des berges et d'accroître l'hétérogénéité de l'écoulement.

Avant et pendant les travaux de restauration

Après les travaux de restauration

Avant et pendant les travaux de restauration

Source : GROBEC

Avant et pendant les travaux de restauration
Après les travaux de restauration

Source : Municipalité de Saint-Jacques-de-Leeds

Québec

À l’été 2013, la réserve faunique Rouge-Matawin (Société des établissements de plein air du Québec) a débuté des travaux d’aménagement de l’habitat de l’omble de fontaine sur 8 de ses plans d’eau. Le projet, financé par Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, a été compléter sur une période de deux ans. Les travaux de 2013 à 2015 ont contribués à améliorer considérablement la qualité de l’habitat de reproduction disponible pour l’omble de fontaine. Ils ont également permis de restaurer la libre circulation de l’eau et des poissons dans les ruisseaux entre certains plans d’eau ou plusieurs sites naturellement potentiels étaient autrefois inaccessibles.

Avant : Lac des Jésuites avant les opérations nettoyages Avant : Lac des Jésuites avant les opérations nettoyages

Après: Nettoyage du ruisseau et aménagement d'une frayère et d'un seuil en boisAprès: Nettoyage du ruisseau et aménagement d'une frayère et d'un seuil en bois

Avant : Émissaire du lac Higginson, état du site avant intervention Avant : Émissaire du lac Higginson, état du site avant intervention

Après : Émissaire incluant l’aménagement d’un canal de montaison des poissons Après : Émissaire incluant l’aménagement d’un canal de montaison des poissons

Photos : François Lamothe

Nouveau-Brunswick

Une partie du ruisseau MacDonald, dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Canaan, a déjà été endigué pour créer un réservoir et une route d’accès à une scierie. Comme le barrage n’a fait l’objet d’aucun entretien continu après la fermeture de la scierie, il a finalement cédé. Les débris et les ponceaux qui contrôlaient le débit à travers le barrage se sont alors retrouvés éparpillés dans le chenal, nuisant ainsi au passage du poisson. Lorsque les débris et les ponceaux ont finalement arrêté leur course, le courant du ruisseau a été dirigé vers la rive ouest. Cette dernière s’est érodée, puis est devenue très instable, ce qui a eu pour effet d’augmenter la charge sédimentaire du ruisseau. Comme le ruisseau constitue un important refuge et habitat de croissance pour l’omble de fontaine et le saumon de l’Atlantique, la Canaan River Fish and Game Association a utilisé le financement du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives afin d’aider à la reconstruction des berges. Il s’agissait notamment de créer une pente plus stable et une plaine d’inondation le long de la rive est, et de retirer les débris et les ponceaux du chenal. On s’attend à ce que ce projet améliore considérablement la migration et le frai du poisson.

Avant : berge instableAvant : berge instable

Photo : Ron Jenkins
Source : Parish Geomorphic

Après : berge stabilisée avec des matelas anti-érosionAprès : berge stabilisée avec des matelas anti-érosion

Photo : Chris Thomson
Source : Maritime Hydroseed

Nouvelle Écosse

La St. Mary's River Association a mis en place un projet visant à restaurer la zone touchée par l'exploitation actuelle et passée des terres (agriculture et activités forestières), laquelle a entraîné un élargissement et une perte de profondeur à de nombreux endroits ainsi qu'une perte des aires frai et de migration pour le saumon de l'Atlantique et la truite anadrome. Cette détérioration des conditions donne lieu à un surplus de glace, lequel contribue à l'élargissement du chenal en aval, déjà excessif. L'été, la température de l'eau grimpe à des niveaux trop élevés pour que les poissons puissent y survivre. Les travaux de restauration comprennent l'installation de seuils rocheux, de déflecteurs, d'épis, d'obstacles et d'enrochements. Rendu possible en partie grâce au financement du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, ce projet donne déjà des résultats positifs visibles depuis le début des travaux en 2014. En effet, le chenal a commencé à se rétrécir et à gagner en profondeur; des bassins d'eau tempérée s'y sont formés et les activités de frai aux sites de restauration se sont intensifiées.

Avant l'installation du seuil rocheux

Avant l'installation du seuil rocheux

Photo : Andrea Flynn

Après l'installation du seuil rocheux

After installation of a rock  sill

Photo : Charles MacInnis

Après les travaux de
restauration

Après les travaux de restauration

Photo : Nicholas MacInnis

Nouvelle-Écosse

Grâce en partie au financement du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives, la Clean Foundation (l'ancienne Clean Nova Scotia) a pu restaurer 602 m² d'habitat du poisson dans les bassins hydrographiques de la région de Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en 2013. Ces bassins hydrographiques, qui abritent de nombreuses espèces de poissons comme l'omble de fontaine et le gaspareau, ont gravement souffert de l'expansion urbaine et de la présence d'obstacles constitués de débris. On a modifié artificiellement beaucoup de cours d'eau afin de les rendre plus droits, plus larges et moins profonds. De ce fait, les méandres naturels des ruisseaux, qui créent divers habitats essentiels comme les fosses profondes et fraîches ou les petites rapides, peu profonds et au courant fort, ont disparu. Tous ces habitats sont extrêmement importants pour le frai et le développement des poissons. Les travaux réalisés par la Clean Foundation ont notamment porté sur l'installation de structures dans le ruisseau Ellenvale Run afin d'y améliorer la qualité de l'habitat. Deux de ces structures, un billot creuseur et un déflecteur, sont illustrées ci-dessous. La surface de l'eau montre clairement comment ces structures permettent de créer divers types d’écoulements des eaux.

structures dans le ruisseau Ellenvale Run

Source: Clean Foundation

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Au début des années 1900, des barrages ont été construits sur les sections du bassin hydrologique de la rivière Exploits afin de faciliter les opérations de flottage de l'industrie des pâtes et papiers. Bien que ces pratiques de régularisation des eaux aient cessé dans les années 1950, bon nombre de ces structures sont toujours en place. S'étant détériorés au fil du temps, ces barrages et ces structures créent des obstacles aux poissons lors de leur migration et entraînent une accumulation de débris qui endommagent l'habitat du poisson. En 2013, la Environmental Resources Management Association [Association de la gestion des ressources environnementales], qui dirige ses opérations depuis Grands Falls – Windsor, a réalisé des travaux visant à retirer ces obstacles et ces débris sur 12 sites, grâce au financement obtenu dans le cadre du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives. Les salmonidés peuvent désormais migrer librement en aval et en amont, et leur habitat riverain naturel, utilisé pour le frai et l’alevinage, a été restauré.

Avant : obstacles situés près de Grand Falls -
Windsor
Avant : obstacles situés près de Grand Falls - Windsor

Après : débit d'eau et habitat des salmonidés restaurésAprès : débit d'eau et habitat des salmonidés restaurés

Avant : obstacles situés près de Grand Falls - Windsor

Photos : Environmental Resources Management Association

Après : débit d'eau et habitat des salmonidés restaurés