DFO Expert Support for the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP)

In Canada, there are thousands of contaminated sites for which the federal government has accepted responsibility. The FCSAP was developed to provide funding and support to federal departments, agencies, and consolidated Crown corporations (i.e., custodians) in mitigating human health and ecological risks associated with their contaminated sites while reducing federal financial liability.

A portion of federal contaminated sites are in whole or in part "aquatic sites" (Definition of an Aquatic Site). With the goal of protecting fish and fish habitat to ensure a sustainable aquatic ecosystem, DFO expert support provides scientifically sound and nationally consistent advice to custodians, such as during early planning, environmental site assessments, ecological risk assessments, remediation, risk management, and long-term monitoring of FCSAP funded sites, to foster effective and cost-efficient contaminated site management.

Federal Contaminated Sites Management 10-Step Approach

Federal contaminated sites are managed according to a common 10-step approach (i.e., "A Federal Approach to Contaminated Sites, 1999" for terrestrial sites and the "Framework for Addressing and Managing Aquatic Contaminated Sites Under the FCSAP, 2011" for aquatic sites). DFO expert support can help custodians identify and protect the aquatic ecosystem located on or near federal contaminated sites. Consultation with DFO expert support early in the 10-step process will lead to the effective assessment and management of the sites

The following pages describe each of the 10 steps and include examples of common activities that occur at each step. This overview is not intended to provide a complete list of possible activities.

10-Step Approach diagram (text version follows)

Text version

In the FCSAP, sites under federal custody are managed according to a common 10-step approach. The management of these sites begins with a problem formulation phase where suspect contaminated sites are identified using existing information, i.e., suspected contaminated aquatic sites are identified (Step 1) and a historical review is conducted (Step 2). If contamination is suspected at the site, an initial assessment of the level of contamination (screening level assessment) is conducted where an initial testing program is developed and implemented (Step 3) and the initial site classification occurs (Step 4). If the site is contaminated, a detailed assessment of the level of contamination (detailed level assessment) is conducted where a detailed testing program is developed and implemented (Step 5); the site is then reclassified (Step 6). If the contamination at the site is poses a risk to human health and/or the environment, the final phase involves risk management of these sites. A risk management strategy is developed (Step 7) and implemented (Step 8; this may include remediation). Confirmatory sampling (Step 9) and long-term monitoring (Step 10) then occurs to confirm that the management and remediation objectives have been met.

Go to Step 1: Site Identification

Step 1: Site Identification Step 2: Historical Review Step 3: Initial Testing Program Step 4: Initial Site Classification Step 5: Detailed Testing Program Step 6: Site Reclassification Step 7: Develop Risk Management Strategy Step 8: Implement Risk Management Strategy Step 9: Confirmatory Sampling Step 10: Long-Term Monitoring

Soutien d'experts du MPO dans le cadre du Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF)

Au Canada, il existe des centaines de sites contaminés pour lesquels le gouvernement fédéral a accepté la responsabilité de la contamination. Le PASCF a été mis sur pied afin de financer et d'aider les ministères, les organismes fédéraux et les sociétés d'État consolidées (c.-à-d. les gardiens) à atténuer les risques que posent les sites contaminés pour la santé humaine et l'environnement tout en réduisant le passif financier fédéral.

Certains sites contaminés fédéraux sont en totalité ou en partie des « sites aquatiques » (définition d'un site aquatique). Dans le but de protéger le poisson et l'habitat du poisson pour assurer la durabilité de l'écosystème aquatique, l'équipe de soutien d'experts du MPO offre des conseils rigoureux sur le plan scientifique et uniformes à l'échelle nationale à l'intention des gardiens, notamment durant la planification, les évaluations environnementales d'un site, les évaluations du risque écotoxicologique, les activités d'atténuation, la gestion du risque ainsi que le suivi à long terme des sites financés par le PASCF, pour favoriser la gestion efficace et rentable des sites contaminés.

Gestion des sites contaminés fédéraux : processus en dix étapes

La gestion des sites contaminés fédéraux respecte un processus en dix étapes (pour les sites terrestres : Approche fédérale en matière de lieux contaminés, 1999 [PDF 297 KB] ; ou pour les sites aquatiques : Cadre d'évaluation et de gestion des sites aquatiques contaminés, conformément au PASCF, 2011). L'équipe de soutien d'experts du MPO peut aider les gardiens à désigner et à protéger l'écosystème aquatique situé sur les sites contaminés fédéraux ou à proximité de ceux-ci. Les consultations menées auprès des experts du MPO au tout début du processus en dix étapes permettront d'évaluer et de gérer ces sites de manière efficace.

Les pages qui suivent comportent une description de chacune des dix étapes ainsi que des exemples courants d'activités réalisées durant celles-ci. Cet aperçu ne constitue cependant pas une liste exhaustive des activités possibles.

Descriptif de l'approche à dix étapes (la version textuelle suit)

Version textuelle

Dans le cadre du PASCF, la gestion des sites contaminés de compétence fédérale respecte un processus en dix étapes. La gestion de ces sites débute par une phase de cueillette des renseignements au cours de laquelle vous examinez les renseignements disponibles dans le but de déterminer les lieux contaminés suspects (Étape 1). Vous menez ensuite un examen historique (Étape 2). Dans les cas où le site est potentiellement contaminé, vous procédez à une évaluation préliminaire afin d'établir le degré de la contamination (examen préalable du risque) au cours de laquelle vous concevez et mettez en oeuvre un programme d'essai initial (Étape 3) qui mène ensuite à la classification initiale du site (Étape 4). Si le site est contaminé, une évaluation détaillée du degré de contamination (évaluation détaillée du risque) est menée dans laquelle un programme d'essais détaillés est conçu et mis en oeuvre (Étape 5); le site est ensuite reclassé (Étape 6). S'il est établi que le degré de contamination pose un risque pour la santé humaine ou l'environnement, le site passe à la phase finale qui porte sur la gestion du risque de ces sites. On élabore (Étape 7) et met en oeuvre une stratégie de gestion du risque (Étape 8; peut comprendre l'assainissement). On procède ensuite à l'échantillonnage de confirmation (Étape 9) et au suivi à long terme (Étape 10) pour confirmer l'atteinte des objectifs de gestion et d'assainissement.

Allez à l'étape 1 : Désignation des sites

étape 1: Détermination des lieux aquatiques suspects étape 2: Examen historique étape 3: Programme d'essais initiaux étape 4: Classification initiale des sites étape 5: Programme d'essais détaillés étape 6: Reclassiffication des sites étape 7: élaboration d'une stratégie de gestion du risque étape 8: Mise en oeuvre d'une stratégie de gestion du risque étape 9: échantillionnage de confirmation étape 10: Suivi à long terme