State of the Physical, Biological and Selected Fishery Resources of Pacific Canadian Marine Ecosystems in 2017

Peter C. Chandler, Stephanie A. King and Jennifer Boldt (Editors)

State of the Physical, Biological and Selected Fishery Resources of Pacific Canadian Marine Ecosystems in 2017

State of the Physical, Biological and Selected Fishery Resources of Pacific Canadian Marine Ecosystems in 2017 (PDF, 13.8 MB)

Abstract

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is responsible for the management and protection of marine resources on the Pacific coast of Canada. Oceanographically this area is a transition zone between coastal upwelling (California Current) and downwelling (Alaskan Coastal Current) regions. There is strong seasonality and considerable freshwater influence, and an added variability from coupling with events and conditions in the tropical and North Pacific Ocean. The region supports ecologically and economically important resident and migratory populations of invertebrates, groundfish, pelagic fishes, marine mammals and seabirds.

Since 1999 an annual State of the Pacific Ocean meeting has been held by DFO scientists in the Pacific Region to present the results of the most recent year’s monitoring in the context of previous observations and expected future conditions. The workshop to review ecosystem conditions in 2017 was held March 7 to 8, 2018 at the Vancouver Island Conference Centre in Nanaimo, B.C. This technical report includes submissions based on presentations given at the meeting.

The warm surface ocean temperatures along the B.C. coast observed over the past few years have returned to levels consistent with the average conditions recorded in the standard climatology period 1981 to 2010. The upwelling of cool, nutrient rich water along the west coast of Vancouver Island started later than usual in 2017, and was not as intense as previous years, but conditions were still favourable for productivity and fish growth. Non-toxic coccolithophorid algal blooms occurred again in 2017 but not to the same extent as in 2016. There was a high occurrence of gelatinous pyrosomes and salps along the entire B.C. coast in 2017. As predicted the warm ocean conditions in 2015 to 2016 were unfavourable for the survival of B.C.’s central to south coast salmon. There was a coast-wide synchronous decline of Sockeye Salmon indicator stock returns in 2017.

A special session focused on the work being undertaken on Marine Protected Areas (MPAs). Several experts from a variety of government groups in Canada provided overviews of ongoing research in MPAs. An expert from DFO’s Maritimes Region provided an overview of the State of the Atlantic Ocean report and how habitat and MPA information were incorporated into that National Ecosystem Reporting process.

Accessibility notice

This document is available in PDF format. If this document is not accessible to you, please contact the DFO Library to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Active offer to produce in both official languages

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact: Jennifer.Boldt@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Date modified:

État des ressources physiques et biologiques et de certaines ressources halieutiques des écosystèmes des eaux canadiennes du Pacifique en 2017

Peter C. Chandler, Stephanie A. King and Jennifer Boldt (éditeurs)

État des ressources physiques et biologiques et de certaines ressources halieutiques des écosystèmes des eaux canadiennes du Pacifique en 2017

État des ressources physiques et biologiques et de certaines ressources halieutiques des écosystèmes des eaux canadiennes du Pacifique en 2017 (PDF, 13.8 Mo)

Résumé

Pêches et Océans Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des ressources marines sur la côte ouest du Canada. L'océanographie de cette région est une zone de transition entre les remontées d’eaux profondes côtières (courant de la Californie) et les régions de plongée d'eaux (courant côtier de l'Alaska). Il existe une saisonnalité importante, une forte influence des eaux douces, et une variabilité coupleé aux événements et conditions dans tout le Pacifique, des tropiques aux régions sous Arctic. La région nourrit des populations résidentes et migratoires importantes d’invertébrés, de poissons de fond et pélagiques, et de mammifères et d’oiseaux marins.

Depuis 1999, les scientifiques du MPO ont organisé une rencontre annuelle de l'état de l'océan Pacifique pour présenter les résultats de la surveillance de la dernière année dans le contexte des observations précédentes et des conditions futures. L'atelier pour réviser les conditions de 2017 a eu lieu les 7 au 8 mars 2018 à Centre de Conférence de l'île de Vancouver, Nanaimo, C.B. Ce document technique inclut des rapports basées sur des présentations donnés lors de la rencontre.

Les températures de l’eau de surface de la Colombie-Britannique sont revenues à la moyenne de la période climatologique standard de 1981 à 2010.Les remontées d'eau riches en nutriments le long de la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver a débuté plus tard que d'habitude en 2017 et n'était pas aussi intense que les années précédentes. Malgré cela, les conditions étaient favorables à la productivité et à la croissance du poisson. Il y avait des proliférations d'algues coccolithophoridiques non toxiques encore en 2017, mais dans une moindre mesure qu'en 2016. Il y avait une forte présence de pyrosomes gélatineux et de salpes tout le long de la côte. Comme prévu, les conditions marines chaudes en 2015 au 2016 étaient défavorables à la survie du saumon de la côte centrale à la côte sud de la C.B. Il y a eu un déclin synchrone des stocks de saumons rouges en 2017.

Une session spéciale a porté sur les travaux en cours sur les aires marines protégées (AMP). Plusieurs experts de divers groupes gouvernementaux au Canada ont fourni des aperçus de la recherche dans les AMP. Un expert de la région des Maritimes du MPO a donné un aperçu du rapport sur l’état de l’océan Atlantique et de la manière dont l’information sur l’habitat et l’ AMP a été intégrée au processus national de rapport sur l’écosystème.

Avis d’accessibilité

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si ce document ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec la bibliothèque du MPO pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Offre active de produire le document dans les deux langues officielles

Ce rapport contient des termes scientifiques et techniques; il a été publié dans la langue officielle du groupe de travail ou du scientifique expert qui l’a produit. Si ce document est incompréhensible pour vous dans la langue officielle de votre choix, veuillez communiquer avec : Jennifer.Boldt@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Date de modification :