State of the Physical, Biological and Selected Fishery Resources of Pacific Canadian Marine Ecosystems in 2014
By Peter C. Chandler, Stephanie A. King and R. Ian Perry (Editors)

PDF Document

Abstract

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is responsible for the management and protection of marine resources on the Pacific coast of Canada. An annual State of the Pacific Ocean meeting is held to review the physical, biological and selected fishery resources and present the results of the most recent year’s monitoring in the context of previous observations and expected future conditions. The workshop to review conditions during 2014 took place at the Institute of Ocean Sciences, Sidney, B.C. on March 10 and 11, 2015, with over 100 participants both in person and via webinar.

In general, Pacific Canadian waters experience strong seasonality and considerable freshwater influence and include relatively protected regions such as the Strait of Georgia as well as areas fully exposed to the open ocean conditions of the Pacific. The region supports ecologically and economically important resident and migratory populations of invertebrates, groundfish, pelagic fishes, marine mammals and seabirds.

Observations of the marine environment in early 2014 identified a large pool of very warm water in the Northeast Pacific Ocean and an area of cooler water along the west coast of North America. By the end of the year the very warm water had moved into the coastal regions with record high temperatures recorded at many locations in the fall. Monitoring of the biological conditions showed the influences of this warm water on marine species composition and distribution.

Such observations include a change from cold water to warm water zooplankton taxa from spring to fall 2014 off the west coast of Vancouver island, the second year with no sardines observed in B.C. waters, a record proportion of Fraser River Sockeye Salmon returning via the ‘northern diversion’ through Johnstone Strait, and mass mortalities of juvenile Cassin’s Auklets (a plankton-feeding seabird) in late fall 2014.

Warmer than normal weather was experienced in the fall and winter of 2014 along the west coast of British Columbia with less regional snowpack evident in the spring of 2015.

A special session at the meeting was convened to examine the emerging issue of ocean acidification. The level of monitoring and research on this subject was considered below that required given the potential risk to the health of the environment and commercial interests. The proposals of groups to advance the work on this subject were discussed.

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If this document is not accessible to you, please contact the DFO Library to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Active offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact: Lara Sloan.

Date modified:

État des ressources physiques et biologiques et de certaines ressources halieutiques des écosystèmes des eaux canadiennes du Pacifique en 2014
Peter C. Chandler, Stephanie A. King and R. Ian Perry (éditeurs)

PDF Document

Résumé

Pêches et Océans Canada est responsable de gérer et protéger les ressources marines de la côte ouest du Canada. Une rencontre annuelle sur l’état de l’océan Pacifique a lieu pour réviser les conditions physiques, biologiques, ainsi que certaines ressources halieutiques et pour présenter les résultats des derniers recensements et les mettre en contexte avec les observations précédentes et les conditions futures basées sur les prédictions. Un atelier pour réviser les conditions de 2014 a eu lieu à l’institut des sciences de la mer, Sidney, C.B., les 10-11 mars 2015, avec plus de 100 participants en personne et via webinaire.

En général, les eaux canadienne du pacifique ont fait expérience de forte saisonnalité et d’une influence considérable d’apport en eaux douces, incluant des aires relativement protégé comme le détroit de Géorgie ainsi que des aires complètement exposé aux conditions ouvertes du pacifique. La région supporte des populations résidentes et migratoires d’invertébrés, de poissons, mammifères marins et oiseaux de mer qui sont importantes d’un point de vue écologique et économique.

Les observations des conditions marines tôt en 2014 ont indiqué la présence d’un grand bassin d’eaux chaudes dans le nord-est de l’océan Pacifique, ainsi qu’une bande d’eaux plus froides le long de la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord. Vers la fin de l’année, le bassin d’eaux très chaudes se retrouvait maintenant dans les régions côtières avec des records de températures mesurés à plusieurs sites durant l’automne. Le recensement des conditions biologiques a montré l’influence de ces eaux chaudes sur la composition et la distribution des espèces marines.

Ces observations incluent un changement des taxon de zooplancton typiquement retrouvées en eaux froides vers celles retrouvées en eaux chaudes du printemps à l’automne sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver, une deuxième année sans observations de sardines dans ces eaux, une proportion record des saumons sockeye de la rivière Fraser qui a retourné par la diversion du nord à partir du détroit de Johnstone, et une mortalité de masse des stariques de Cassin (une espèce se nourrissant de zooplancton) tard dans l’automne 2014.

Des températures plus chaudes que la normale ont été observés pendant l’automne et l’hiver 2014 le long de la côte de la Colombie Britannique, avec moins d’accumulation de neiges évidente pendant le printemps 2015.

Une séance spéciale sur l’acidification des océans a été tenue. Le niveau de recensement et de recherche sur ce sujet a été considéré comme étant insuffisant, particulièrement en considérant les risques que cela posent sur l’environnement et les intérêts commerciaux. Des discussions sur les groupes qui peuvent faire des progrès sur ce sujet ont eu lieu.

Avis d’accessibilité

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si ce document ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec la bibliothèque du MPO pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Offre active de produire le document dans les deux langues officielles :

Ce rapport contient des termes scientifiques et techniques; il a été publié dans la langue officielle du groupe de travail ou du scientifique expert qui l’a produit. Si ce document est incompréhensible pour vous dans la langue officielle de votre choix, veuillez communiquer avec : Lara Sloan.

Date de modification :