Canada's State of the Oceans Report, 2012

Introduction

Canada's State of the Oceans Report, 2012 presents a summary of the analysis of marine data concerning trends and changes in Canada's oceans. The report is theme-based and the information included was selected from regional reports on those areas of Canada's oceans designated as Large Ocean Management Areas (LOMAs). These areas were established under the five-year (2007-2012) Health of the Oceans Initiative, which focused on establishing new marine protected areas, increasing the capacity of government to enforce pollution prevention rules and respond to environmental emergencies and to strengthen collaborative oceans arrangements with international partners in the Arctic and the Gulf of Maine.

The Centre of Expertise on State of the Ocean Reporting was also created under the Health of the Oceans Initiative. Among the contributors to the Centre of Expertise are scientists and managers working at Fisheries and Oceans Canada with specialties in chemical, physical and biological marine sciences.

Themes in Canada's State of the Oceans Report, 2012

In-Depth State of the Ocean Reports on the Large Ocean Management Areas

Scope of State of the Ocean Reports on Large Ocean Management Areas

The reports on the Large Ocean Management Areas consist of scientific analysis of marine trends and changes based on marine data collected from: the Pacific North Coast; the Beaufort Sea in the Arctic Ocean; the Gulf of St. Lawrence; the Eastern Scotian Shelf and the Placentia Bay/Grand Banks regions of the Atlantic. The regional reports vary in approach and complexity due to variations in the amount of ocean data available, and the varied fisheries and socio-economic conditions.

Date modified:

Rapport du Canada sur l'état des océans 2012

Introduction

Le rapport du Canada sur l'état des océans 2012 présente un sommaire de l'analyse des données marines relatives aux tendances et aux changements dans les océans du Canada. L'information que l'on retrouve dans ce rapport thématique a été tirée de rapports régionaux au sujet de ces zones océaniques canadiennes désignées zones étendues de gestion des océans (ZEGO). Ces zones ont été établies en vertu d'un programme quinquennal (2007-2012), intitulé initiative Santé des océans, qui visait à établir de nouvelles zones de protection marine, pour augmenter la capacité du gouvernement à faire appliquer les règlements en matière de prévention de la pollution et à intervenir en cas d'urgences environnementales tout en renforçant les ententes de collaboration avec des partenaires internationaux dans l'Arctique et dans le golfe du Maine.

Le Centre d'expertise pour les rapports sur l'état des océans a aussi été créé en vertu de l'initiative Santé des océans. Parmi les contributeurs au Centre d'expertise, on retrouve des scientifiques et des gestionnaires de Pêches et Océans Canada qui ont des spécialités en chimie, en physique et en biologie appliquées aux sciences marines.

Themes in Canada's State of the Oceans Report, 2012

Rapports approfondis sur l'état des océans dans les zones étendues de gestion des océans

(Remarque : certains liens mènent vers des sites Web unilingues anglais.)

Portée des rapports sur l'état des océans dans les zones étendues de gestion des océans

Les rapports sur les zones étendues de gestion des océans présentent des analyses scientifiques des tendances et des changements marins basées sur les données marines recueillies aux endroits suivants : la Côte nord du Pacifique, la mer de Beaufort dans l'océan Arctique, le golfe du Saint-Laurent, l'est du plateau néo-écossais et les régions de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs de l'Atlantique. L'approche adoptée pour produire les rapports régionaux et leur complexité varient en raison de la quantité de données disponibles sur les océans, de la diversité des pêches et des conditions socio-économiques.

Date de modification :