Pacific north coast integrated management area plan

Table of Contents

Dear reader,

On behalf of the Pacific North Coast Integrated Management Area (PNCIMA) Steering Committee, we are pleased to present the Integrated Ocean Management Plan for the Pacific North Coast area.

This document provides high-level direction on the planning and management of marine activities and resources in the area, and has been developed with extensive input from a broad range of partners, including First Nations, provincial and federal governments, industry, non-governmental organizations, academia and local community residents.

We would like to thank the many individuals and partners who collaborated in the development of this plan. Their experience and perspectives have proven invaluable in creating a comprehensive, strategic framework to support a more holistic and integrated approach to ocean use in PNCIMA.

Ongoing participation, support and commitment from partners and stakeholders in implementing this plan will help ensure that healthy and functioning ecosystems and coastal communities are maintained in this significant and unique marine area.

Sincerely,

description

Dominic LeBlanc

Minister
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

description
description

Steve Thomson

Minister
BC Ministry of Forests, Lands, & Natural Resource Operations

description
description

Marilyn Slett

President
Coastal First Nations – Great Bear Initiative

  • As directed by:
  • Council of the Haida Nation (also representing Old Massett Village Council and Skidegate Band Council)
  • Gitga’at Nation
  • Heiltsuk Nation
  • Kitasoo/Xai’Xais Nation
  • Metlakatla First Nation
  • Nuxalk Nation
  • Wuikinuxv Nation
description
description

Robert Grodecki

Executive Director
North Coast-Skeena First Nations Stewardship Society

  • Gitxaala First Nation
  • Metlakatla First Nation
  • Kitsumkalum First Nation
  • Kitselas First Nation
description

This plan is not legally binding and does not create legally enforceable rights between Canada, British Columbia or First Nations. This plan is not a treaty or land claims agreement within the meaning of sections 25 and 35 of Canada’s Constitution Act, 1982.

This plan does not create, define, evidence, amend, recognize, affirm or deny any Aboriginal rights, Aboriginal title and/or treaty rights or Crown title and rights, and is not evidence of the nature, scope or extent of any Aboriginal rights, Aboriginal title and/or treaty rights or Crown title and rights.

This plan does not limit or prejudice the positions Canada, British Columbia or First Nations may take in any negotiations or legal or administrative proceedings.

Nothing in this plan constitutes an admission of fact or liability.

Nothing in this plan alters, defines, fetters or limits or shall be deemed to alter, define, fetter or limit the jurisdiction, authority, obligations or responsibilities of Canada, British Columbia or First Nations.

Date modified:

Plan de gestion intégrée de l’océan pour la zone de la côte nord du pacifique

Table des matières

Chers lecteurs,

Au nom du Comité directeur de la zone de gestion intégrée de la côte nord du Pacifique (ZGICNP), nous avons le plaisir de vous présenter le plan de gestion intégrée de l’océan pour la zone de la côte nord du Pacifique.

Le présent document offre une orientation de haut niveau sur la planification et la gestion des activités en milieu marin et des ressources maritimes dans cette zone. Il a été rédigé avec l’aide précieuse d’un grand nombre de partenaires comme des Premières Nations, les gouvernements du Canada et de la Colombie Britannique, l’industrie, des organisations non gouvernementales, des gens du milieu universitaire et des résidents locaux.

Nous aimerions remercier toutes les personnes et tous les partenaires qui ont participé à la rédaction de ce plan. Leur expérience et leurs points de vue se sont avérés d’une valeur inestimable pour la création d’un cadre stratégique complet afin d’adopter une approche plus globale et intégrée de l’utilisation de l’océan dans la ZGICNP.

La participation, le soutien et l’engagement continus de la part des partenaires et des parties prenantes de la mise en oeuvre de ce Plan contribueront au maintien des communautés côtières et d’écosystèmes sains et fonctionnels dans cette zone marine importante et unique.

Sincères salutations,

description

Dominic LeBlanc

Ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne

description
description

Steve Thomson

Ministre des forêts, des terres et des ressources naturelles de la Colombie-Britannique

description
description

Marilyn Slett

Présidente
Premières Nations de la côte – Great Bear Initiative Society

  • Suivant les instructions du :
  • Conseil de la Nation haïda (représente également le conseil du village de Old Masset et le conseil de bande de Skidegate)
  • Nation Gitga’at
  • Nation Heiltsuk
  • Nation Kitasoo/Xai’xais
  • Première Nation Metlakatla
  • Nation Nuxalk
  • Nation Wuikinuxv
description
description

Robert Grodecki

Directeur exécutif
North Coast Skeena First Nations Stewardship Society

  • Première Nation Gitxaala
  • Première Nation Metlakatla
  • Première Nation Kitsumkalum
  • Première Nation Kitselas
description

Le présent plan n’est pas juridiquement contraignant, il ne crée pas de droits juridiquement exécutoires entre le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique ou les Premières Nations, et il ne constitue pas un traité ni un accord sur des revendications territoriales au sens des articles 25 et 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 du Canada.

Le présent plan ne crée pas, ne définit pas, n’atteste pas, ne modifie pas, ne reconnaît pas, n’affirme pas et ne nie pas de droits ancestraux, de titre ancestral ou de droits issus de traités ou de titre et droits de la Couronne, et il ne constitue pas une preuve de la nature, de la portée ou de l’étendue des droits ancestraux, du titre ancestral ou des droits issus de traités ou du titre et des droits de la Couronne.

Le présent plan ne limite ni ne compromet les positions que le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique ou les Premières Nations pourraient prendre dans le cadre de négociations ou de procédures juridiques ou administratives.

Rien dans le présent plan ne constitue une admission de fait ou de responsabilité.

Rien dans le présent plan ne modifie, ne définit, n’entrave ou ne limite ou ne doit être jugé comme modifiant, définissant, entravant ou limitant la compétence, l’autorité, les obligations ou les responsabilités du Canada, de la Colombie-Britannique ou des Premières Nations.

Date de modification :