Operational Guidance for Identifying ‘Other Effective Area-Based Conservation Measures’ in Canada’s Marine Environment

Purpose

The following operational guidance is intended to provide a consistent and science-based approach to identifying and reporting on marine Other Effective Area-Based Conservation Measures (OEABCMs) that contribute to Canada’s international and domestic marine conservation targets.

Meeting Canada’s international commitments

In 2010, at the 10th meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) in Aichi, Japan, Canada agreed to meet 20 global biodiversity targets by 2020.Footnote 1 Aichi Target 11 states:

By 2020, at least 17 per cent of terrestrial and inland water areas and 10 per cent of coastal and marine areas, especially areas of particular importance to biodiversity and ecosystem services, are conserved through effectively and equitably managed, ecologically representative and well-connected systems of protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures, and integrated into the wider landscape and seascape. Footnote 2

This global commitment was reconfirmed in 2015 by the United Nations General Assembly’s 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development under Goal 14 Footnote 3 to, “conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development”.

Goal 14.5 specifically reflects the Aichi Target 11 and states:

By 2020, conserve at least 10 per cent of coastal and marine areas, consistent with national and international law and based on the best available scientific information.

Furthermore, in the 2016 Joint Statement on Climate, Energy, and Arctic Leadership, the Prime Minister and President Obama reaffirmed meeting the global target of 10 percent marine protection by 2020. The leaders also committed to surpassing this target in years beyond 2020. The Government of Canada will continue to respond to conservation needs beyond the 2020 target by developing Marine Protected Area (MPA) networks in Canada’s marine bioregions, where percent coverage will be based on network objectives within the bioregions.

Canada’s Domestic Commitment

In 2015, federal, provincial, and territorial governments (with input from Indigenous groups and stakeholders) developed the 2020 Biodiversity Goals and Targets for Canada. The goals and targets reflect the Aichi Targets:

Canada’s Target 1 is: By 2020, at least 17 percent of terrestrial and inland waters, and 10 percent of coastal and marine areas, are conserved through networks of protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures. Footnote 4

Also in 2015, the mandate letters for the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard and the Minister of Environment and Climate Change Canada further strengthened the commitment to meet the 2020 target by adding an interim target of increasing marine and coastal protection to 5 percent by 2017:

“…increase the proportion of Canada’s marine and coastal areas that are protected – to five percent by 2017, and ten percent by 2020 – supported by new investments in community consultation and science.” Footnote 5

The Federal Budget in 2016 allocated $81.3 million over 5 years to Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Natural Resources Canada to support marine conservation activities. The Budget also allocated $42.4 million to the Parks Canada Agency and Natural Resources Canada to continue to develop National Parks and National Marine Conservation Areas.

The Government of Canada’s approach to meeting its marine conservation targets

In June 2016, Canada announced a five-point plan to reach its national and international marine conservation targets:

  1. Finish What Was Started - Advance the work already underway in areas progressing towards establishment including the proposed Lancaster Sound National Marine Conservation Area, the proposed Scott Islands Protected Marine Area, and five proposed Oceans Act Marine Protected Areas (MPAs): Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound Glass Sponge Reefs; Anguniaqvia niqiqyuam; Laurentian Channel; St. Anns Bank; and Banc des Américains;
  2. Protect Pristine Areas - Establish new, large Oceans Act MPAs in pristine offshore areas;
  3. Protect Areas Under Pressure – Establish additional Oceans Act MPAs in areas under pressure from human activities, for example, where we are already advancing MPA network development;
  4. Advance Other Effective Area-based Conservation Measures – Identify existing and establish new “other effective area-based conservation measures”, such as fisheries closures, particularly to protect sensitive sponge and coral concentrations; and
  5. Establish MPAs Faster – Examine how the Oceans Act can be updated to facilitate the designation process for MPAs, without sacrificing science or the public’s opportunity to provide input.

Foundation for the operational guidance

Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s operational guidance on OEABCMs has been, and will continue to be, informed by international and domestic discussions taking place through the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Task Group on OEABCMs Footnote 6, the CBD’s Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice, and the Canadian Council of Ecological Areas Footnote 7 to define the term.

The current operational guidance has also been informed by a Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS) Science Advisory Report Footnote 8 that summarizes a suite of characteristics and factors that can be used to determine whether an area-based management measure Footnote 9 is likely to provide biodiversity conservation benefits.

According to the CSAS Science Advice, when determining whether an area is likely to provide biodiversity conservation benefits, consideration should first be given to whether the area has clearly defined boundaries and will be in place for the long-term. Other considerations include:

  • an area’s management objective, size, and level of protection;
  • how the waters surrounding an area are managed;
  • the degree to which important and diverse habitats are protected within an area; and,
  • the degree to which areas are “connected” to one another (e.g., protecting a species’ feeding habitat in one area, and protecting that same species’ breeding habitat in a different area).

In addition, the likelihood that an area will provide biodiversity conservation benefits further increases as the number of species or habitats receiving direct or indirect benefits increases.

Marine OEABCMs are also a topic of discussion within the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers’ Oceans Task Group, and will be the subject of the 2017 report to Ministers on Canada’s Network of Marine Protected Areas.

Operational Guidance for Identifying Marine OEABCMs

Currently, approximately 1 percent of Canada’s marine and coastal environment has been recognized as protected in MPAs. This operational guidance has been developed to determine how much additional area is conserved through OEABCMs.

The operational guidance for identifying marine OEABCMs includes five broad criteria, and recommends that each measure must meet all five criteria to be identified as a marine OEABCM.

  1. Clearly defined geographic location

    The measure must be in a spatially-defined area. This criterion reflects IUCN definitions related to a clearly defined geographic location. Footnote 10 Footnote 11

  2. Conservation or stock management objectives

    The measure must have a conservation or stock management objective AND the objective must directly reference at least one species of regional importance or habitat that is important to biodiversity conservation.

    Conservation and stock management objectives both have a biological or ecological basis. Directly referencing an important habitat or species in the objective ensures that management decisions are closely linked to that ecological component.

    Habitats that are important to biodiversity conservation may Footnote 12:

    • be unique and/or rare;
    • have special importance for the life-cycle of a species;
    • have importance for threatened, endangered or declining species and/or habitat;
    • be vulnerable, fragile or slow to recover;
    • have comparatively higher biological productivity;
    • have comparatively higher biological diversity; or
    • be pristine.

    Regionally important species include Footnote 13:

    • ecologically significant species Footnote 14;
    • depleted or rare species Footnote 15;
    • species that are targeted in commercial, recreational, or Aboriginal fisheries; or
    • species that are listed in Integrated Oceans Management objectives or MPA network objectives.
  3. Presence of ecological components of interest

    Ecological components of interest are the species and habitat(s) that are conserved in a measure.

    In order for a measure to meet this criterion, the measure must contain at least two ecological components of interest: a habitat that is important to biodiversity conservation AND a species of regional importance that uses the habitat. Footnote 16

    This requirement is already met in cases where the conservation or stock management objective refers to a habitat that is important to biodiversity conservation AND a species of regional importance that uses the habitat. Where this is not the case, it will be necessary to identify one additional ecological component of interest. The following examples help to illustrate this point:

    Example 1 - The ecological component of interest identified in the measure’s objective is a habitat that is important to biodiversity conservation: There must be a species of regional importance that uses the important habitat in the area covered by the measure. The species must be identified as an additional ecological component of interest for the purposes of assessing the measure against the criteria.

    Example 2 - The ecological component of interest identified in the measure’s objective is a species of regional importance: There must be a habitat that is important to biodiversity conservation (and that is used by the important species) in the area covered by the measure. The habitat must be identified as an additional ecological component of interest for the purposes of assessing the measure against the criteria.

  4. Long-term duration of implementation

    The measure must either:

    • be entrenched via legislation or regulation; or,
    • not entrenched via legislation or regulation but there must be clear evidence that the management measure is intended for the long-term (minimum 25 years).Note de bas de page 17

    Measures identified as OEABCMs will be managed using a long-term adaptive management approach and are expected to be in place year-round for a minimum of 25 years to support long-term biodiversity conservation benefits.Footnote 18 This criterion should not be considered an expiry date for OEABCMs. The underlying aim is for all reported OEABCMs to be in place indefinitely and ideally in perpetuity.

    As licence conditions or variation provisions under the Fisheries Act have provisions that can simplify removal of a management measure, all fishery closures established via those means are not considered to be entrenched via legislation or regulation, and therefore require clear evidence that they are intended for the long-term. This evidence is in the form of a clearly stated long-term management objective in an official publication from the responsible authority.Footnote 19

  5. The ecological components of interest are effectively conserved

    No human activities that are incompatible with conservation of the ecological components of interest (the species and habitat(s) identified through criterion #2 and #3) may occur or be foreseeable within the defined geographic location.

    Foreseeable activities generally include activities for which a business plan is in place and there is evidence that the proponent is going to conduct the activity (for example applications for leases or permits).Footnote 20

    Existing risk-based tools Footnote 21 can be used as appropriate, in conjunction with expert opinion, to assess whether existing or foreseeable activities and their impacts are incompatible with the conservation of the ecological components of interest.

    Ecological monitoring, surveillance, and enforcement are important elements of adaptive management that support effective conservation. Where these management elements are not already in place for an OEABCM, the intention is to introduce these management elements over time.

Management and Reporting

Once an OEABCM is identified, future management of that OEABCM will have to adhere to these criteria, or the OEABCM status will be revoked in future reporting.

Each OEABCM will be evaluated regularly to ensure it continues to conform with these criteria. Measures will lose their OEABCM status if a new activity in the area is incompatible with biodiversity conservation and where the impacts of this new activity are not mitigated.

Ecological monitoring programs and surveillance and enforcement activities will be undertaken to support management decisions within OEABCMs, as resources allow.

As part of its report on meeting the 2017 marine conservation target, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will include the contribution of OEABCMs and the biodiversity conservation benefits they provide, according to these criteria. In addition, future fishery closures or OEABCMs will be established. The location, management approaches, and size of these future measures will be developed in consultation with provinces, territories, Indigenous groups, stakeholders, and other parties.

Date modified:

Directives opérationnelles pour déterminer les « autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone » dans le milieu marin du Canada

Objet

Les directives opérationnelles suivantes visent à fournir une approche uniforme et scientifique pour la détermination d’autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone (AMCEZ) qui contribuent aux objectifs internationaux et nationaux de conservation des milieux marins du Canada, et pour la production de rapports sur ces mesures.

Respect des engagements internationaux du Canada

En 2010, lors de la 10e réunion de la Conférence des Parties de la Convention sur la diversité biologique des Nations Unies à Aichi, au Japon, le Canada a accepté de se conformer à 20 objectifs internationaux en matière de biodiversité d’ici 2020 Note de bas de page 1. Selon l’objectif 11 d’Aichi :

D’ici à 2020, au moins 17 % des zones terrestres et d’eaux intérieures et 10 % des zones marines et côtières, y compris les zones qui sont particulièrement importantes pour la diversité biologique et les services fournis par les écosystèmes, sont conservées au moyen de réseaux écologiquement représentatifs et bien reliés d’aires protégées gérées efficacement et équitablement et d’autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone, et intégrées dans l’ensemble du paysage terrestre et marin.Note de bas de page 2

Cet engagement mondial a été confirmé en 2015 par le Programme de développement durable pour 2030 de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies dans le cadre de l’objectif 14 Note de bas de page 3, qui consiste à « conserver et utiliser de façon durable les océans, les mers et les ressources marines pour le développement durable ».

L’objectif 14.5 reflète précisément l’objectif 11 d’Aichi :

conserver au moins 10 % des zones côtières et marines d’ici 2020, conformément au droit national et international et en fonction des meilleurs renseignements scientifiques disponibles.

De plus, dans leur déclaration commune de 2016 sur les changements climatiques, l’énergie et le leadership dans l’Arctique, le premier ministre Trudeau et le président Obama ont réaffirmé leur engagement à atteindre l’objectif international de 10 pour cent de protection marine d’ici 2020. Les dirigeants se sont également engagés à dépasser cet objectif après 2020. Le gouvernement du Canada continuera de répondre aux besoins en matière de conservation après 2020 grâce à la création de réseaux d’aires marines protégées (AMP) dans les biorégions marines du Canada, où le pourcentage de couverture sera fondé sur les objectifs du réseau de la biorégion.

Engagement national du Canada

En 2015, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux (avec la participation des groupes autochtones et des intervenants) ont élaboré les Buts et objectifs canadiens pour la biodiversité d’ici 2020. Ces buts et objectifs reflètent les objectifs d’Aichi :

L’objectif 1 du Canada est le suivant : D’ici à 2020, au moins 17 % des zones terrestres et d’eaux intérieures et 10 % des zones marines et côtières sont conservées au moyen de réseaux d’aires protégées et d’autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone.Note de bas de page 4

Également en 2015, les lettres de mandat du ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne et du ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique renforçaient l’engagement à respecter l’objectif de 2020, en ajoutant une cible provisoire pour faire passer la protection des zones marines et côtières à 5 pour cent d’ici 2017 :

« ... accroître la proportion de zones marines et côtières protégées du Canada – à 5 % d’ici 2017 et à 10 % d’ici 2020 – grâce à de nouveaux investissements en matière de science et de consultation des collectivités».Note de bas de page 5

Le budget fédéral de 2016 prévoit un financement de 81,3 millions de dollars sur cinq ans consenti à Pêches et Océans Canada et à Ressources naturelles Canada pour appuyer les activités de conservation marine. Le budget accorde également un montant de 42,4 millions de dollars à l’Agence Parcs Canada et à Ressources naturelles Canada pour poursuivre les travaux relatifs à la désignation de parcs nationaux et d’aires marines nationales de conservation.

Approche du gouvernement du Canada pour atteindre ses objectifs de conservation marine (OCM)

En juin 2016, le Canada a annoncé un plan en cinq points pour atteindre ses objectifs nationaux et internationaux de conservation marine :

  1. Terminer ce qui a été commencé – Faire progresser les travaux déjà en cours pour des aires qui en sont à diverses phases de protection, incluant la proposition d’aire marine nationale de conservation du détroit de Lancaster, la proposition de réserve nationale de faune marine des îles Scott et cinq zones de protection marine relevant de la Loi sur les océans : les récifs d’éponges siliceuses du détroit d’Hécate et du détroit de la Reine-Charlotte, Anguniaqvia Niqiqyuam, le chenal Laurentien, le banc de Sainte Anne et le banc des Américains;
  2. Protéger les zones vierges – Établir de nouvelles zones de protection marine de grande ampleur en vertu de la Loi sur les océans dans les zones vierges extracôtières;
  3. Protéger les zones qui subissent des pressions – Établir d’autres zones de protection marine relevant de la Loi sur les océans dans les zones soumises à une pression d’origine anthropique, par exemple dans les zones où nous procédons déjà à l’établissement d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées;
  4. Faire progresser d’autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone – Cerner d'« autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone », nouvelles ou actuelles, telles que les fermetures de pêches, notamment pour protéger les concentrations d’éponges et de coraux vulnérables;
  5. Établir plus rapidement des zones de protection marines – Examiner la possibilité de mettre à jour la Loi sur les océans afin de faciliter le processus de désignation des zones de protection marine sans toutefois négliger la recherche scientifique et la possibilité pour le public de donner son point de vue.

Fondement des directives opérationnelles

Les directives opérationnelles de Pêches et Océans Canada sur les AMCEZ ont été, et continueront d’être guidées par les discussions nationales et internationales visant à définir l’expression tenues dans le cadre du groupe de travail de l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) sur les AMCEZ Note de bas de page 6, de l’Organe subsidiaire chargé de fournir des avis scientifiques, techniques et technologiques (OSASTT) de la Convention sur la diversité biologique (CDB) et du Conseil canadien des aires écologiques Note de bas de page 7.

Les directives opérationnelles actuelles tiennent également compte d’un rapport de consultation scientifique du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique (SCCS) Note de bas de page 8 qui résume un ensemble de caractéristiques et de facteurs pouvant être utilisés pour déterminer si une mesure de gestion par zone Note de bas de page 9 est susceptible d’offrir des avantages en matière de conservation de la biodiversité.

Selon l’avis scientifique du SCCS, pour établir si une zone peut présenter des avantages en matière de conservation de la biodiversité, il faut d’abord déterminer si la zone possède des limites clairement définies et sera en place à long terme. Les autres considérations incluent :

  • l’objectif de gestion de la zone, sa taille et son niveau de protection;
  • les modalités de gestion des eaux périphériques de la zone;
  • le degré de protection des habitats importants et diversifiés au sein de la zone;
  • le degré de connexion des zones les unes avec les autres (p. ex., entre une zone protégeant l’habitat d’alimentation d’une espèce et une autre zone protégeant l’habitat de reproduction de cette même espèce).

De plus, la probabilité qu’une zone offre des avantages en matière de conservation de la biodiversité s’accroît à mesure qu'augmente le nombre d’espèces ou d’habitats bénéficiant d’avantages directs ou indirects.

Les AMCEZ pour la conservation marine font également l’objet de discussions au sein du Groupe de travail sur les océans du Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l’aquaculture, et seront traitées dans le rapport de 2017 sur le réseau d’aires marines protégées à l’intention des ministres.

Directives opérationnelles pour déterminer les AMCEZ pour la conservation marine

À l’heure actuelle, il a été établi que le Canada protège environ 1 % de son milieu marin et côtier au moyen d’AMP. Cette orientation opérationnelle a été élaborée pour déterminer la superficie supplémentaire protégée par les AMCEZ.

Les directives opérationnelles pour déterminer les AMCEZ pour la conservation marine comportent cinq critères généraux, et recommandent que chaque mesure satisfasse à l’ensemble des cinq critères pour être considérée comme une AMCEZ pour la conservation marine.

  1. Définition claire de l'emplacement géographique

    La mesure doit s'appliquer dans une zone spatialement définie. Ce critère tient compte des définitions de l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) relatives à la claire définition de l'emplacement géographique.Note de bas de page 10Note de bas de page 11

  2. Objectifs de conservation ou de gestion des stocks

    La mesure doit comporter un objectif de conservation ou de gestion des stocks ET renvoyer directement à au moins une espèce d’importance régionale ou un habitat important pour la conservation de la biodiversité.

    Les objectifs de conservation et de gestion des stocks ont une base biologique ou écologique. Renvoyer directement à un habitat important ou à une espèce importante permet de s’assurer que les décisions de gestion sont étroitement liées à cette composante écologique.

    Les habitats importants pour la conservation de la biodiversité peuvent :Note de bas de page 12

    • être uniques ou rares;
    • avoir une importance particulière pour le cycle de vie d’une espèce;
    • avoir une importance pour des espèces menacées, en déclin ou en voie de disparition, ou pour leur habitat;
    • être vulnérables, fragiles ou avoir un rétablissement lent;
    • avoir une productivité biologique supérieure à celle des autres aires;
    • avoir une diversité biologique supérieure à celle des autres aires;
    • être des zones vierges.

    Les espèces importantes à l’échelle régionale sont :Note de bas de page 13

    • des espèces d’importance écologique Note de bas de page 14;
    • des espèces rares ou en déclin Note de bas de page 15;
    • des espèces visées par la pêche commerciale, récréative ou autochtone;
    • des espèces répertoriées dans les objectifs de gestion intégrée des océans ou dans les objectifs du réseau d’AMP;
  3. Présence de composantes écologiques d’intérêt

    Les composantes écologiques d’intérêt sont les espèces et les habitats qui sont conservés dans une mesure.

    Pour qu’une mesure réponde à ce critère, la mesure doit contenir au moins deux composantes écologiques d’intérêt : un habitat important pour la conservation de la biodiversité ET une espèce d’importance régionale qui utilise l’habitat.Note de bas de page 16

    Cette exigence est déjà atteinte dans les cas où l’objectif de conservation ou de gestion des stocks fait référence à un habitat important pour la conservation de la biodiversité ET à une espèce d’importance régionale qui utilise l’habitat. Si tel n’est pas le cas, il sera nécessaire de déterminer une autre composante écologique d’intérêt. Les exemples suivants permettent d’illustrer ce point :

    Exemple 1 – La composante écologique d’intérêt définie dans l’objectif de la mesure est un habitat important pour la conservation de la biodiversité : Il doit y avoir une espèce d’importance régionale qui utilise l’habitat important dans la zone couverte par la mesure. L’espèce doit être désignée comme une composante écologique d’intérêt aux fins de l’évaluation de la mesure par rapport aux critères.

    Exemple 2 – La composante écologique d’intérêt définie dans l’objectif de la mesure est une espèce d’importance régionale : Il doit y avoir un habitat important pour la conservation de la biodiversité (qui est utilisé par l’espèce importante) dans la zone couverte par la mesure. L’habitat doit être désigné comme une composante écologique d’intérêt aux fins de l’évaluation de la mesure par rapport aux critères.

  4. Mise en œuvre à long terme

    La mesure doit :

    • être implantée au moyen de lois et de règlements; ou
    • ne pas être implantée au moyen de lois et de règlements mais être étayée par des données probantes indiquant clairement qu’elle est conçue pour le long terme (au moins 25 ans).Note de bas de page 17

    Les mesures identifiées comme des AMCEZ seront gérées à l’aide d’une approche de gestion adaptative à long terme et devraient être en place toute l’année, pour un minimum de 25 ans, en vue d’appuyer des avantages à long terme en matière de conservation de la biodiversité.Note de bas de page 18 Ce critère ne devrait pas être considéré comme étant une date d’expiration pour les AMCEZ. L’objectif sous-jacent est que toutes les AMCEZ déclarées soient en place indéfiniment et idéalement à perpétuité.

    Étant donné que les conditions de permis et les dispositions variables de la Loi sur les pêches permettent de simplifier le retrait d’une mesure de gestion, toutes les fermetures des pêches établies par ces moyens ne sont pas considérées comme étant implantées au moyen de lois et de règlements et, par conséquent, elles doivent être étayées par des preuves indiquant clairement qu’elles sont conçues pour le long terme. Ces preuves prennent la forme d’un objectif de gestion à long terme énoncé dans une publication officielle de l’autorité responsable.Note de bas de page 19

  5. Conservation efficace des composantes écologiques d’intérêt

    Aucune des activités humaines incompatibles avec la conservation des composantes écologiques d’intérêt (les espèces et les habitats définis selon les critères nº 2 et nº 3) ne peut être exercée ou prévue à l’intérieur de l’emplacement géographique défini.

    Les activités prévisibles comprennent généralement des activités pour lesquelles un plan d’activités est en place, et pour lesquelles il y a des preuves que le promoteur réalisera l’activité (par exemple les demandes de bail ou de permis).Note de bas de page 20

    Les outils actuels fondés sur les risques Note de bas de page 21 peuvent être utilisés, au besoin, conjointement avec l’opinion d’un expert, pour évaluer si les activités actuelles ou prévisibles, de même que leurs répercussions, sont incompatibles avec la conservation des composantes écologiques d’intérêt.

    Le suivi écologique, la surveillance et l’application de la loi sont des éléments importants de la gestion adaptative qui soutiennent la conservation efficace. Là où ces éléments de gestion ne sont pas déjà en place pour une AMCEZ, l’intention est d’introduire ces éléments de gestion au fil du temps.

Gestion et production de rapports

Une fois qu’une AMCEZ est désignée, la gestion future de cette mesure devra se conformer aux critères précédemment recensés, à défaut de quoi la mesure perdra son statut et se verra retirée des rapports suivants sur les AMCEZ.

Chaque AMCEZ fait l’objet d’une évaluation régulière pour s’assurer qu’elle continue de respecter ces critères. Les mesures perdront leur statut d’AMCEZ si une nouvelle activité réalisée dans le secteur est incompatible avec la conservation de la biodiversité et que les répercussions de cette nouvelle activité ne sont pas atténuées.

Des programmes de suivi écologique ainsi que des activités de surveillance et d’application de la loi seront entrepris pour appuyer les décisions de gestion dans les AMCEZ, selon les ressources.

Dans le cadre de son rapport sur l’atteinte de l’objectif de conservation marine de 2017, Pêches et Océans Canada inclura la contribution des AMCEZ et les avantages qu’elles offrent à la conservation de la biodiversité, en fonction de ces critères. De plus, de futures fermetures de pêches et AMCEZ seront établies. L’emplacement, l’importance de ces futures mesures et les méthodes de gestion utilisées seront déterminés en consultation avec les provinces, les territoires, les groupes autochtones, les intervenants et les autres parties.

Date de modification :