Archived - Maritimes Region Coral Conservation Plan

Archived information

The Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

DFO began collecting information on cold-water corals in the Maritimes in 1998. Since then, the Department has discussed coral conservation requirements and measures with other government departments, the fishing industry, and other oceans-related interest groups. In addition to DFO, many other organizations had conducted research or raised awareness of Canada’s corals. A Coral Conservation Plan was needed to document these activities and provide direction for future conservation, management, and research.

Beginning in late 2003, DFO began consultations with stakeholders to provide recommendations on the development of a Coral Conservation Plan for the Maritimes Region. The Department hosted a workshop in October 2004 to identify key issues. The draft plan was released for stakeholder review in February 2005.

The Coral Conservation Plan was finalized in 2006, and provides a summary of conservation efforts to date, identifies issues where more work is needed and prioritizes activities for the future (2006-2010). An executive summary of the plan includes the list of plan objectives and high priority areas for research and management.

Date modified:

Archivé - Plan de conservation du corail de la Région des Maritimes

Informations archivées

La Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le MPO a commencé à recueillir de l'information sur les coraux d'eau profonde des Maritimes en 1998. Depuis, le Ministère a discuté des besoins et mesures de conservation des coraux avec d'autres ministères, avec l'industrie de la pêche et avec des groupes d'intérêt oeuvrant dans le domaine des océans. Outre le MPO, de nombreux organismes ont effectué des recherches ou cherché à attirer l'attention sur les coraux du Canada. Un Plan de conservation du corail s'imposait pour documenter ces activités et orienter les initiatives futures de conservation, de gestion et de recherche.

Dès la fin de 2003, le MPO a entrepris de consulter les intervenants afin de solliciter des recommandations pour l'élaboration d'un Plan de conservation du corail de la Région des Maritimes. Le Ministère a tenu à cette fin, en octobre 2004, un atelier destiné à cerner les principaux aspects de la question. L'ébauche de plan a été soumise à l'examen des intervenants en février 2005.

La version finale du Plan de conservation du corail a été produite en 2006. Elle résume les activités de conservation entreprises à ce jour, fait état des éléments qui nécessitent plus amples travaux et établit des priorités d'action pour l'avenir (2006-2010). Un résumé du plan décrit les objectifs de celui-ci et les domaines prioritaires de recherche et de gestion.

Date de modification :