National Framework for Canada's Network of Marine Protected Areas

Table of Contents

On September 1, 2011, Canada's federal, provincial and territorial members of the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers reviewed and approved in principle this National Framework for Canada's Network of Marine Protected Areas.

This document was prepared with the involvement of a federal, provincial and territorial Oceans Task Group ( OTG ). Members of the  OTG  who actively participated in development of the document represented the Governments of:

(Canada) Fisheries and Oceans Canada ( OTG  co-chair); Parks Canada; Environment Canada; and, Province of British Columbia ( OTG  co-chair), Province of Manitoba; Province of New Brunswick; Province of Newfoundland and Labrador; Province of Nova Scotia; Province of Ontario; Province of Prince Edward Island; Northwest Territories; Nunavut Territory; and, Yukon Territory.

Preface

The National Framework for Canada's Network of Marine Protected Areas (National Framework) provides strategic direction for the design of a national network of marine protected areas (MPAs) that will be composed of a number of bioregional networks. This is an important step towards meeting Canada's domestic and international commitments to establish a national network of marine protected areas by 2012. The National Framework outlines the proposed overarching vision and goals of the national network; establishes the network components, design properties, and eligibility criteria for which areas will contribute to the network; describes the proposed network governance structure; and provides the direction necessary to promote national consistency in bioregional network planning. The document has been drafted by a federal-provincial-territorial government Technical Experts Committee established by the Oceans Task GroupFootnote 1 that reports to the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers.

Consultation on the National Framework began in August 2009 and incorporated 10 weeks of web-based public review that ended in late February 2011. Comments from federal-provincial-territorial government agencies; national Aboriginal, industry and non-government organizations; academia and the public at large have been considered in preparing this final version being submitted for approval by the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers.

Figures and Tables

Figure 1. Large Ocean Management Areas and Bioregions for Canada's National Network of Marine Protected Areas

Table 1. Federal/provincial /territorial legislation or regulation under which protected areas or related marine management measures are established

1. Introduction

This National Framework for Canada's Network of Marine Protected Areas provides strategic direction for establishment of a national network of marine protected areas that conforms to international best practices and helps to achieve broader conservation and sustainable development objectives identified through Integrated Oceans Management and other marine spatial planning processes. Key terms used in this document are defined in the Glossary (Annex 1).

The important role of marine protected area networks in protecting marine biodiversity is reflected in a number of national and international commitments. Federally, the 1996 Oceans Act assigns responsibility to the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans to lead and coordinate development and implementation of a national system (or network) of marine protected areas on behalf of the Government of Canada, within the context of integrated management of estuarine, coastal and marine environments. Canada's Oceans Strategy (2002) and the corresponding Canada's Oceans Action Plan (2005) and Health of the Oceansfunding (2007) all further committed the government to making significant progress in planning and advancing a national marine protected area network in Canada's three oceans. Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Parks Canada and Environment Canada each have specific but complementary mandates for establishing marine protected areas (MPAs). In 2005 the Ministers of these federal agencies released Canada's Federal Marine Protected Areas StrategyFootnote 2, which outlines how their respective marine protected area programs can collectively contribute to a network.

The provinces and territories with marine waters are important partners in marine protected area network planning. Their mandates include conservation and protection of the environment and cultural resources, natural resource management, commerce, economics, and social wellness. In some cases joint management arrangements in marine areas have also been established. In November 1992, the federal, provincial and territorial Ministers responsible for the Environment, Parks and Wildlife signed A Statement of Commitment to Complete Canada's Networks of Protected Areas, which stated: “ … in the interest of present and future generations of Canadians, Council members will make every effort to complete Canada's networks of protected areas representative of land-based natural regions, by the year 2000 and accelerate the protection of areas that are representative of marine natural regions.”

Key among other domestic and global commitments Canada has made to establishing a national network of marine protected areas are the following:

  • United Nations 1992 Convention on Biological Diversity Article 8a: “Each Contracting Party shall, as far as possible and as appropriate, establish a system of protected areas or areas where special measures need to be taken to conserve biological diversity.”
  • The 1995 Canadian Biodiversity Strategy direction to: “make every effort to complete Canada's networks of protected areas representative of land-based natural regions by the year 2000, and accelerate the protection of areas that are representative of marine natural regions”.
  • The 2002 World Summit on Sustainable Development commitment to establish representative networks of MPAs by 2012;
  • The Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) 2004 Program of Work on Protected Areas commitment to establish a comprehensive MPA network within an overall ecosystem approach by 2012; and
  • The 2010 Conference of the Parties to the CBD commitment to a global target of “at least... 10% of coastal and marine areas, especially areas of particular importance for biodiversity and ecosystem services...conserved through effectively and equitably managed, ecologically representative and well connected systems of protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures…integrated into the wider landscape and seascape” by 2020.
Date modified:

Cadre national pour le réseau d'aires marines protégées du Canada

Table des matières

Le 1er septembre 2011, le Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l'aquaculture des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont examiné et approuvé en principe le Cadre national pour le réseau d'aires marines protégées du Canada.

Ce document a été préparé grâce à la participation du Groupe de travail sur les océans (GTO) fédéral, provincial et territorial. Les membres du GTO qui ont participé activement à l'élaboration du document représentaient les gouvernements :

(Du Canada) Pêches et Océans Canada (co-président du GTO); Parcs Canada; Environnement Canada; et
De la Colombie Britannique (co-président du GTO); Du Manitoba; Du Nouveau Brunswick; De Terre-Neuve et Labrador; De la Nouvelle Écosse; De l'Ontario; De l'Île du Prince Édouard; Des Territoires du Nord-Ouest; Du Nunavut; et Du Yukon

Avant-propos

Le Cadre national pour le réseau d'aires marines protégées du Canada (Cadre national) fournit des lignes directrices pour la conception d'un réseau national d'aires marines protégées (AMP), qui sera composé d'un certain nombre de réseaux biorégionaux. Il s'agit d'une étape importante dans la réalisation des engagements nationaux et internationaux du Canada relatifs à l'établissement d'un réseau national d'aires marines protégées d'ici 2012. Le Cadre présente la vision et les buts généraux du réseau national; établit les composantes, les propriétés de conception et les critères d'admissibilité selon lesquels les aires contribueront au réseau; décrit la structure de gouvernance proposée du réseau; et fournit l'orientation nécessaire pour promouvoir l'uniformité à l'échelle nationale dans la planification des réseaux biorégionaux. Ce document a été rédigé par un comité fédéral-provincial-territorial d'experts techniques établi par le Groupe de travail sur les océansFootnote 1, qui relève du Conseil canadien des ministres des Pêches et de l'Aquaculture.

Les consultations relatives au Cadre national ont commencé en août 2009 et ont requis dix semaines d'examen public sur le Web. Le processus s'est achevé à la fin de février 2011. La version finale soumise à l'approbation du Conseil canadien des ministres des Pêches et de l'Aquaculture tient compte des commentaires formulés par des organismes des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux; des organismes nationaux autochtones et de l'industrie; des organisations non gouvernementales; des représentants du milieu universitaire ainsi que du grand public.

Figures et tableaux

Figure 1. Zones étendues de gestion des océans et biorégions pour la gestion des aires marines protégées au Canada

Tableau 1. Lois et règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux aux termes desquels des aires marines protégées et d'autres mesures de gestion marine ont été établies

1. Introduction

Le présent Cadre national pour le réseau d'aires marines protégées du Canada expose l'orientation stratégique régissant l'établissement d'un réseau national d'aires marines protégées (AMP) qui serait conforme aux pratiques exemplaires internationales et qui intégrerait les objectifs plus vastes de conservation et de développement durable déterminés au moyen des processus de gestion intégrée des océans et d'autres processus de planification spatiale marine. Les principaux termes employés dans ce document sont définis dans le glossaire (Annexe 1).

Les nombreux engagements nationaux et internationaux visant les réseaux d'aires marines protégées mettent en lumière leur importance pour la protection de la biodiversité marine. La Loi sur les océans du Canada de 1996 attribue un rôle de leadership et de coordination au ministre de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) pour l'élaboration et l'application d'un système (ou réseau) national d'aires marines protégées au nom du gouvernement du Canada, dans le contexte de la gestion intégrée des environnements estuariens, côtiers et marins. La Stratégie sur les océans du Canada (2002), ainsi que lePlan d'action du Canada pour les océans (2005) connexe et le financement des initiatives Santé des océans (2007), comportent eux aussi d'autres engagements visant à réaliser des progrès significatifs en ce qui a trait à la planification et à l'avancement d'un réseau national d'AMP dans les trois océans du Canada. Pêches et Océans Canada, Parcs Canada et Environnement Canada exercent des mandats distincts, mais complémentaires, en ce qui concerne l'établissement des AMP. En 2005, les ministres de ces organismes fédéraux ont produit la Stratégie fédérale sur les aires marines protégéesFootnote 2, qui explique comment leurs programmes d'aires marines protégées respectifs peuvent être mis à contribution dans l'intérêt de l'ensemble du réseau.

Les provinces et territoires adjacents aux eaux marines sont de grands partenaires de la planification d'un réseau d'aires marines protégées. Leurs mandats ont notamment trait à la conservation et à la protection de l'environnement, à la gestion des ressources naturelles, au commerce et à l'économie, ainsi qu'au bien-être de la société. Dans certains cas, des accords de gestion conjointe des eaux marines ont également été établis. En novembre 1992, les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux de l'environnement, des parcs et de la faune ont signé l'Engagement formel de compléter le réseau canadien d'aires protégées. Ce document invitait à « faire l'impossible pour compléter les réseaux canadiens de zones protégées représentatives des régions terrestres naturelles d'ici l'an 2000, et accélérer la protection de zones qui sont représentatives des régions marines naturelles ».

Voici quelques-uns des principaux engagements nationaux et internationaux du Canada en vue d'établir un réseau national d'aires marines protégées :

  • Le paragraphe 8a de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la biodiversité biologique tenue en 1992 précisant que « chaque partie contractante, dans la mesure du possible et selon ce qu'il conviendra, établit un système de zones protégées ou de zones où des mesures spéciales doivent être prises pour conserver la diversité biologique ».
  • La Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité adoptée en 1995 invitant à : « faire l'impossible pour compléter les réseaux canadiens de zones protégées représentatives des régions terrestres naturelles d'ici l'an 2000, et accélérer la protection de zones qui sont représentatives des régions marines naturelles ».
  • L'engagement souscrit lors du Sommet mondial sur le développement durable de 2002 visant à établir des réseaux représentatifs d'AMP d'ici 2012;
  • Le Programme de travail sur les aires protégées de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique (CBD) de 2004 comprenant un engagement de créer un réseau exhaustif d'AMP dans le cadre d'une approche écosystémique d'ici 2012.
  • L'engagement contracté dans le cadre de la Conférence des Parties à la CDB tenue en 2010 envers une cible internationale représentant « au moins... 10 % des aires côtières et marines, en particulier les aires d'une grande importance pour la diversité biologique et les services écosystémiques… dont la conservation sera assurée par la mise en place des réseaux d'aires protégées gérés de manière efficace et équitable, représentatifs au point de vue écologique et bien connectés, ainsi que par l'adoption d'autres mesures de conservation efficaces pour chaque aire… intégrées dans l'ensemble du paysage terrestre et marin ».
Date de modification :