Marine Protected Area Network Strategy for the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence Bioregion

PDF Document

Table of Contents

List of Initialisms and Acronyms

CBD
Convention on Biological Diversity
COP
Conference of Parties
CSAS
Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat
DFO
Department of Fisheries and Oceans
EBSA
Ecologically and Biologically Significant Area
IUCN
International Union for Conservation of Nature
MPA
Marine Protected Area
PA
Protected Area
UNEP
United Nations Environment Programme
UNESCO
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
WCPA
World Commission on Protected Areas

Introduction

The important role of marine protected area networks in providing long-term conservation of marine biodiversity, ecosystem functions and special natural features is reflected in provincial, territorial, national and international commitments made by various government authorities. Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) is combining its efforts with those of other federal departments and the provinces (bordering the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence) with mandates, expertise or interest in establishing marine protected areas. The Oceans Act states:

“For the purposes of integrated oceans management, the Minister (Fisheries and Oceans Canada) will lead and coordinate the development and implementation of a national system (network) of Marine Protected Areas.”

This task is carried out on behalf of the Government of Canada.

Aboriginal groups and interested parties will be engaged in a marine protected area network development covering the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence Bioregion. This initiative contributes to the continuing implementation of the Gulf of St. Lawrence Integrated Management PlanFootnote 1 published in 2013.

A platform for the coordination of efforts is needed at both national and regional levels. Wherever possible, the existing governance structures will be utilised. The various departments, each with different mandates, conservation measures and legal statutes, will be involved in network development. It is therefore necessary to establish a common basis for achieving the network objectives in a coordinated, coherent and effective way.

This strategy is developed as a guiding framework, designed to provide a comprehensive understanding for partners involved in the development of a Marine Protected Area Network in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence Bioregion. It outlines the guidance needed to establish a marine protected area network in accordance with national and international recommendations and practiceswhile incorporating the visions and goals of the provinces and the Government of Canada. The strategy is also designed to standardize and clarify terminology and harmonize the various approaches to developing the marine protected area network.

The initialisms and acronyms used are presented at the beginning of this document, and key terms are defined in the glossary (Appendix 1).

International Context

In 2010, the Conference of the Parties (COP) to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) established aspirational targets (so called International Aichi Biodiversity Target) for members to achieve by the year 2020 including the Target 11 to conserve 10% of coastal and marine areas, especially areas of particular importance for biodiversity and ecosystem services, through effectively and equitably managed, ecologically representative and well-connected systems of protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures Footnote 2. Canada is a signatory to the CBD. To attempt to meet this target Canada developed its own set of biodiversity targets including one to conserve 10% of coastal and marine areas, through networks of marine protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures by 2020 Footnote 3. Meeting the 10% targets is not the endpoint of MPA network development. Rather, these targets provide a means for measuring and reporting Canada’s progress at national level in establishing conservation measures. However, Canada is employing an objectives-based approach to network development at the bioregional level, where the total conservation area coverage required to achieve network goals and objectives will be determined through bioregional network development processes. Thus, there is no formal percentage target for total area coverage at the bioregional level.

Date modified:

Stratégie pour le réseau d’aires marines protégées pour la biorégion de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent

Document PDF

Table des matières

Liste des sigles et des acronymes

AMP
Aire marine protégée
AP
Aire protégée
CDB
Convention sur la diversité biologique
CdP
Conférence des Parties
CMAP
Commission mondiale des aires protégées
MPO
Pêches et Océans Canada
SCCS
Secrétariat canadien des consultations scientifiques
UICN
Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature
UNEP
Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement
UNESCO
Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture
ZIEB
Zone d’importance écologique et biologique

Introduction

Les nombreux engagements provinciaux, territoriaux, nationaux et internationaux relativement à la création de réseaux d’aires marines protégées pris par plusieurs autorités gouvernementales mettent en évidence leur importance pour la conservation de la biodiversité marine, des fonctions écosystémiques et des caractéristiques naturelles particulières du milieu marin. Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) conjugue ses efforts avec ceux des autres ministères fédéraux et des provinces (bordant l’estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent) ayant des mandats, des expertises ou un intérêt à établir des aires marines protégées. La Loi sur les océans stipule :

« Aux fins de la gestion intégrée des océans, le ministre (Pêches et Océans Canada) dirigera et coordonnera le développement et la mise en oeuvre d’un système national (réseau) d’aires marines protégées. »

Cette tâche est effectuée pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada.

Les groupes autochtones et les parties intéressées seront également mobilisés pour développer un réseau d’aires marines protégées couvrant la biorégion de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Cette initiative contribue à la mise en oeuvre du Plan de gestion intégrée du golfe du Saint-LaurentFootnote 1 publié en 2013.

Une plateforme pour coordonner ces efforts est nécessaire à l’échelle nationale et régionale. Lorsque possible, les structures de gouvernance existantes seront utilisées. Les différents ministères disposant chacun de mandats, de mesures de conservation et de statuts légaux distincts seront impliqués dans le développement du réseau. Il est donc nécessaire de développer une base commune afin d’atteindre les objectifs du réseau dans une démarche coordonnée, cohérente et efficace.

Cette stratégie constitue un cadre d’orientation général pour le développement d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées dans la biorégion de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent afin que les parties intéressées aient une compréhension globale de la démarche. Elle expose les grandes lignes nécessaires à l’encadrement du processus d’établissement d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées conforme aux pratiques et recommandations internationales tout en intégrant la vision et les objectifs des provinces et du gouvernement du Canada. La stratégie permet également d’uniformiser et de clarifier la terminologie ainsi que d’harmoniser les différentes approches pour le développement du réseau d’aires marines protégées.

Les sigles et les acronymes utilisés se trouvent au début de ce document et les principaux termes employés sont définis dans le glossaire (Annexe 1).

Contexte international

En 2010, la Conférence des Parties (CdP) de la Convention sur la diversité biologique (CDB) a établi des objectifs ambitieux (désignés comme les objectifs d’Aïchi sur la biodiversité) à atteindre par les membres d’ici 2020, incluant l’objectif 11 qui prévoit de conserver 10 % des zones marines et côtières, y compris les zones qui sont particulièrement importantes pour la diversité biologique et les services fournis par les écosystèmes, au moyen de réseaux écologiquement représentatifs et bien reliés d’aires protégées gérées efficacement et équitablement et d’autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zoneFootnote 2. Le Canada est signataire de la CDB. Pour tenter d’atteindre cet objectif, le Canada a développé ses propres objectifs dont l’un d’eux est la conservation de 10 % des zones marines et côtières, au moyen de réseaux d’aires marines protégées et d’autres mesures de conservation efficace par zone d’ici 2020Footnote 3. La réalisation de ces objectifs de 10 % n’est pas ce qui est recherché ultimement pour le développement de réseaux. Ces objectifs sont plutôt des indicateurs permettant de mesurer et de rendre compte des progrès du Canada, à l’échelle internationale, dans l’établissement de mesures de conservation. Cependant, le Canada emploie une approche fondée sur l’atteinte des buts et objectifs de conservation pour les biorégions où la couverture de conservation totale pour y arriver sera déterminée par les processus de développement de ces réseaux. Ainsi, il n’y a pas de pourcentage formel de couverture totale de la zone au niveau biorégional.

Date de modification :