Canada-British Columbia Marine Protected Area Network Strategy

Table of Contents

  1. Complete Text
  2. Preface
  3. Introduction
  4. The Need to Plan MPA Networks
  5. What is an MPA? What is an MPA Network?
  6. Vision and Goals for a Network of Marine Protected Areas on the Pacific Coast of Canada
  7. Planning Principles
  8. Planning Regions for Marine Protected Area Networks
  9. Governance
  10. Moving Forward
  11. Appendix 1. Marine Ecosystem Stressors in the North East Pacific
  12. Appendix 2. Protected Area Legislation in Pacific Canada
  13. Appendix 3. International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Guidelines for Applying Protected Area Management Categories
  14. Background Documents and References

Preface

The governments of Canada and British Columbia are pleased to present the Canada – British Columbia Marine Protected Area Network Strategy. This Strategy is a vital part of our commitment to build a legacy of marine protected area (MPA) networks that will safeguard communities and complement more traditional management tools, making it more likely that future generations will inherit the beauty and productivity of our Pacific Ocean.

The Strategy has been developed jointly by federal and provincial agencies and reflects the need for governments to work together to achieve common marine protection and conservation goals. It also reflects extensive advice and feedback received over a ten month consultation period that began in November.

Three important elements are proposed:

  1. A joint federal-provincial approach: All relevant federal and provincial agencies will work collaboratively to exercise their authorities to protect marine areas.
  2. Collaborative decision-making: Government agencies will employ a collaborative decision-making process with First Nations from the onset of the planning process and throughout, respecting existing authorities and building on existing governance structures and processes.
  3. A participatory process: Government agencies will provide meaningful opportunities for participation, consultation and information exchange with marine stakeholders, coastal communities and the public from early planning stages through to design and implementation.

The success of conserving and protecting special marine areas is a shared responsibility. We look forward to working with you to complete a network of marine protected areas for Canada's Pacific Coast.

PHOTO: © CHARLIE SHORT

PHOTO: © CHARLIE SHORT

PHOTO: © CHARLIE SHORT

Date modified:

Stratégie Canada – Colombie-Britannique pour le réseau d'aires marines protégées

Table des matières

  1. Texte Complet
  2. Préambule
  3. Introduction
  4. Nécessité de planifier les réseaux d'AMP
  5. Qu'est-ce qu'une AMP ? Qu'est-ce qu'un réseau d'AMP?
  6. Vision et objectifs d'un réseau d'aires marines protégées sur la côte Pacifique du Canada
  7. Les principes de la planification
  8. Planification régionale: réseaux d'aires marines protégées
  9. Gouvernance
  10. Aller de l'avant
  11. Annexe 1. Facteurs de stress sur les écosystèmes marins dans le nord-est du Pacifique
  12. Annexe 2. Législation sur les aires protégées dans la région du Pacifique au Canada
  13. Annexe 3. Lignes directrices de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) pour le recours aux modes de gestion des zones protégées
  14. Documents d'information et référence

Préambule

Les gouvernements du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique sont heureux de présenter la Stratégie Canada – Colombie-Britannique pour le réseau d'aires marines protégées (AMP). Ce document constitue un élément essentiel de notre engagement de laisser dans notre sillage un réseau d'aires marines protégées (AMP) qui sauvegarderont les collectivités, tout en complétant les outils de gestion plus conventionnels, ce qui renforce la probabilité que les générations futures puissent profiter de la beauté et de la productivité de l'océan Pacifique.

La Stratégie a été élaborée conjointement par des organismes fédéraux et provinciaux et tient compte de la nécessité pour les gouvernements de travailler ensemble pour atteindre les objectifs communs en matière de protection marine. Il prend en compte également les nombreux conseils et commentaires reçus pendant les dix mois des consultations, qui ont commencé en novembre 2010. Nous avons reçu les commentaires des Premières nations, des gouvernements provinciaux, des collectivités, des intervenants et du public.

Trois éléments importants sont proposés:

  1. Une approche fédérale-provinciale conjointe: Toutes les agences fédérales et provinciales pertinentes collaboreront pour exercer leurs pouvoirs de protéger les aires marines.
  2. Prise de décision en collaboration: Les organismes gouvernementaux suivront un processus décisionnel collaboratif avec les Premières nations, du tout début du processus de planification et tout au long, en respectant les autorités en place, et en s'appuyant sur les structures de gouvernance et les processus existants.
  3. Processus participatif: À partir des premières étapes de planification jusqu'à la conception et la mise en oeuvre, les agences gouvernementales planifieront des réelles occasions de participation, de consultation et d'échange d'information avec les intervenants du secteur maritime, des communautés côtières et du grand public.

Le succès de la conservation et la protection des aires marines spéciales sont une responsabilité partagée. Nous avons hâte de collaborer avec vous pour compléter un réseau d'aires marines protégées pour la région de la côte du Pacifique au Canada.

PHOTO: © CHARLIE SHORT

PHOTO: © CHARLIE SHORT

PHOTO: © CHARLIE SHORT

Date de modification :