Federal Marine Protected Areas Strategy

Table of Contents

Appendix 2: Roles and Responsibilities of Other Government Departments in Marine Protected Areas (MPA) Establishment and Management

Government Department Roles and Responsibilities
Transport Canada Transport Canada , along with Canadian Coast Guard, is responsible for administering the provisions of the Canada Shipping Act which include regulation of navigation, as well as ship source pollution prevention, including control of ballast water. Depending upon the marine protected area, any or all of these responsibilities could have significant bearing on the effective management of a marine protected area.
National Defence The Canadian Forces (CF) are responsible for conducting surveillance and sovereignty enforcement within Canada's ocean boundaries. Canadian Forces assets support the management and surveillance activities of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Where marine protected areas are established, particularly in the offshore, the CF's presence will contribute greatly to effective enforcement of marine protected area regulations.
Natural Resources Canada Natural Resources Canada provides the legislative and regulatory framework in which non-renewable resources are managed on the east and west coasts, the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Hudson Bay . In addition, the Geological Survey of Canada is the principle source of marine geoscience information for the nation. In the course of the identification and selection of marine protected areas, geo-physical mapping has become an important tool in understanding the biophysical components of the marine environment. In addition, the provision of non-renewable resource information is a requirement in the consideration of marine protected area establishment.
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada Indian and Northern Affairs Canada has a role to play in both the management of non-renewable resources of the Arctic Ocean, and is also the department with primary responsibility for meeting the federal government’s constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities for Aboriginal Peoples.
Foreign Affairs Canada (FAC) Foreign Affairs Canada (FAC) addresses international issues to manage Canada-U.S. boundary waters and along with Justice Canada , shares responsibility for maritime boundary disputes, a consideration where marine protected areas may abut Canada ’s borders. In addition, FAC in collaboration with DFO, is responsible for reviewing foreign requests to conduct marine scientific research in offshore waters under Canada ’s jurisdiction. It is in this role that FAC will play the most direct part in the management of marine protected areas.
Date modified:

Stratégie fédérale sur les aires marines protégées

Table des matières

Annexe 2 : Rôles d’autres ministères dans la création et la gestion des zones de protection marines

Gouvernement Ministère Rôles et responsabilités
Transports Canada Transports Canada, en collaboration avec la Garde côtière canadienne (MPO), a la responsabilité d’administrer les dispositions de la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada qui portent entre autres sur le contrôle de la navigation ainsi que sur la prévention de la pollution causée par les navires, entre autres par le contrôle de l’eau de ballast. Selon les aires marines protégées, ces responsabilités pourraient avoir un impact notable sur l’efficacité de la gestion d’une aire marine protégée.
Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) En tant que ministère chargé de la surveillance et du contrôle des océans du Canada, les Forces maritimes du Canada surveillent les eaux territoriales canadiennes et la zone économique exclusive de 200 milles. Les navires des Forces maritimes appuient les activités de gestion et de surveillance de Pêches et Océans Canada et exécute une certaine surveillance environnementale. Là où des aires marines protégées sont établies, en particulier en pleine mer, leur présence contribuera grandement à une application efficace de la réglementation des aires marine protégées.
Ressources naturelles Canada Ressources naturelles Canada fournit le cadre législatif et réglementaire dans lequel les ressources non renouvelables sont gérées sur les côtes est et ouest, le Golfe du Saint-Laurent et la Baie d’Hudson. De plus, la Commission géologique du Canada est la principale source d’informations sur la géologie marine de la nation. Dans le cours de l’identification et de la sélection des aires marines protégées, la cartographie géophysique est devenue un important outil pour la compréhension des composantes biophysiques de l’environnement marin. De plus, les informations sur les ressources non renouvelables sont nécessaires à l’étude de l’établissement possible d’une aire marine protégée.
Affaires indiennes et du Nord Le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord a un rôle à jouer dans la gestion des ressources non renouvelables de l’océan Arctique et est aussi le ministère principalement responsable du respect des obligations constitutionnelles, politiques et juridiques du gouvernement fédéral à l’égard des peuples autochtones et de ses obligations en vertu des traités.
Affaires étrangères Canada (AEC) Affaires étrangères Canada (AEC) s’occupe des questions internationales pour gérer les eaux frontalières du Canada et des États-Unis et partage avec le ministère de la Justice la responsabilité du règlement des litiges sur les frontières maritimes, une considération importante lorsque les aires marines protégées touchent aux frontières du Canada. De plus, le AEC, en collaboration avec le MPO, est chargé d’examiner les demandes étrangères de permission d’effectuer des recherches océanographiques dans les eaux territoriales du Canada. C’est dans ce rôle que le AEC participera le plus directement à la gestion des aires marines protégées.
Date de modification :