Federal Marine Protected Areas Strategy

Table of Contents

Benefits of a Marine Protected Areas Network

There is a growing body of scientific literature concerning marine protected areas in both tropical and temperate waters, delineating the benefits of appropriately selected and well managed marine protected areas. The benefits of individual marine protected areas and networks of marine protected areas are numerous and diverse. They include environmental, social, economic and cultural benefits that contribute to oceans management.

The Federal Marine Protected Areas Strategy defines a marine protected areas network as:

“a set of complementary and ecologically linked marine protected areas, consisting of a broad spectrum of marine protected areas, established and managed within a sustainable ocean management planning framework and linked to transboundary, global and terrestrial protected area networks".

Although scientists have documented the ecological benefits of individual marine protected areas, emphasis has now been placed on designing networks through the careful selection of areas which contribute to broader ecosystem objectives. Focusing marine protected area efforts in this way may enhance the benefits of marine protected area s and provide a mechanism to conserve and protect the structure and function of larger marine ecosystems.

There is considerable scientific evidence that marine protected areas and networks provide a number of ecological benefits, including the enhanced recruitment of fish species, including those of commercial value, through the protection of spawning areas, larval sources, habitats and migration routes. The United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization has recognized that the use of marine protected areas as a complementary measure to conventional fisheries management measures can help in achieving sustainable fisheries management objectives.

Humpback whale breaching, Conception Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador

A well designed network of marine protected areas may also contribute to the conservation and protection of highly migratory and transboundary species, including species at risk, through the protection of key habitats important for critical lifecycle stages which are often found geographically widespread.

The effects of localized catastrophes, either human or naturally induced, on marine species may be reduced by establishing networks of marine protected areas over multiple ecosystems and regions, providing a buffer against localized environmental change. As well, marine protected areas may help address the threats of habitat loss, degradation and over-exploitation and may contribute to the restoration of seriously degraded areas or ecosystems. A network of marine protected areas can also be developed with land-based or upland impacts or threats in mind and can be strategically and ecologically linked to networks of terrestrial protected areas.

The benefits of marine protected areas and networks extend beyond ecological as there are often social, cultural and economic benefits to establishing and managing marine protected areas, particularly in coastal areas. In some cases, coastal protected areas may provide tourism benefits to local communities, including opportunities for either employment or volunteer work. In addition, Canadians nation-wide can benefit from the aesthetic beauty of an attractive natural marine area through the participation in non-consumptive activities in these areas. Aboriginal coastal communities, who have a long-standing traditional and spiritual connection to the marine environment and marine resources, may also benefit from well managed marine protected areas which support their traditional activities.

Lastly, the development of a network of marine protected areas in Canada will help demonstrate the willingness of Canada to meet our international obligations and commitments and place Canada back among the world leaders in marine conservation, an objective of Canada ’s Oceans Strategy and subsequent Oceans Action Plan.

Date modified:

Stratégie fédérale sur les aires marines protégées

Table des matières

Avantages d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées

Il y a une littérature scientifique de plus en plus abondante sur les avantages que présentent, tant dans les eaux tropicales que tempérées, les aires marines protégées convenablement sélectionnées et bien gérées. Les avantages des aires marines protégées individuelles et des réseaux d’aires marines protégées sont nombreux et divers. Ils comprennent des avantages environnementaux, sociaux, économiques et culturels qui contribuent à la gestion des océans.

La Stratégie sur les aires marines protégées défini un réseau d’aires marines protégées comme suit :

« Un ensemble complémentaire d’aires marines protégées ayant un lien écologique, qui consiste en une vaste gamme d’aires marines protégées fédérales, créées et gérées selon un cadre de planification de gestion durable des océans et liées à des réseaux d’aires protégées transfrontaliers, mondiaux et terrestres. »

Les scientifiques ont décrit les avantages écologiques des aires marines protégées individuelles mais on met maintenant l’accent sur la conception de réseaux par la sélection soigneuse des aires qui contribuent aux objectifs écosystémiques plus larges. Cette concentration des efforts relatifs aux aires marines protégées peut renforcer les avantages de celles-ci et fournir un mécanisme permettant de conserver et de protéger la structure et la fonction des écosystèmes marins à plus grande échelle.

Les preuves scientifiques des avantages écologiques que présentent les aires marines protégées et leurs réseaux sont nombreuses. Entre autres, elles accroissent le recrutement des espèces de poisson, y compris de celles qui ont une valeur commerciale, grâce à la protection des frayères, des sources larvaires, des habitats et des routes migratoires. L’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture a reconnu que l’utilisation d’aires marines protégées à titre de mesure complémentaire à des mesures conventionnelles de gestion des pêches peut faciliter l’atteinte des objectifs en matière de gestion durable des pêches.

Humpback whale breaching, Conception Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador

Un réseau d’aires marines protégées bien conçu peut aussi contribuer à la conservation et à la protection des espèces fortement migratrices et transfrontalières, y compris des espèces en péril, par la protection d’habitats clés importants pour des étapes critiques du cycle biologique qui ont souvent une vaste répartition géographique.

On peut atténuer les effets des catastrophes localisées, d’origine humaine ou naturelle, sur les espèces marines en créant des réseaux d’aires marines protégées sur plusieurs écosystèmes et régions, servant ainsi de tampon pour la protection contre les changements environnementaux localisés. De même, les aires marines protégées peuvent contribuer à combattre la perte des habitats, la dégradation et la surexploitation et à la restauration des aires ou des écosystèmes gravement dégradés. Un réseau d’aires marines protégées peut aussi être créé en vue de la protection contre des impacts ou des menaces terrestres et peut être relié stratégiquement et écologiquement aux réseaux d’aires protégées terrestres.

Les avantages des aires marines protégées et de leurs réseaux ne sont pas qu’écologiques car leur création et leur gestion présentent souvent des avantages sociaux, culturels et économiques, en particulier dans les régions côtières. Dans certains cas, les aires protégées côtières peuvent présenter des avantages pour les collectivités locales en favorisant le développement du tourisme et en leur offrant ainsi des occasions d’emploi ou de bénévolat. De plus, les Canadien(ne)s de partout au pays peuvent jouir de la beauté d’une aire marine naturelle en s’y adonnant à des activités non consommatrices. Les aires marines protégées bien gérées peuvent également profiter aux collectivités côtières autochtones, qui ont un lien traditionnel et spirituel de longue date avec l’environnement et les ressources marines, en leur permettant de pratiquer leurs activités traditionnelles.

Enfin, la création d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées au Canada démontrera la volonté du Canada à respecter ses obligations internationales et ses engagements et permettra au Canada de retrouver sa place parmi les chefs de file mondiaux de la conservation marine, un des objectifs de la Stratégie sur les océans du Canada et du Plan d’action sur les océans.

Date de modification :