Federal Marine Protected Areas Strategy

Table of Contents

Building a Network – An Innovative Approach

This Federal Marine Protected Areas Strategy helps set the foundation for developing a marine protected areas network in Canada and aims to increase the ecological effectiveness and connectivity between individual marine protected areas in an effort to conserve and protect the structure and function of marine ecosystems. The Strategy recognizes that marine protected areas may work at various scales, ranging from local to hemispheric to global. The Strategy also highlights the importance of establishing a network of marine protected areas within a broader sustainable ocean management planning framework and creating linkages to transboundary, international and terrestrial protected area networks.

In addition to the ecological complexities of the marine environment, there are also a number of institutional challenges to Canada ’s progress in restoring the health of our coastal and marine environments. For example, there are three federal departments and agencies with a specific mandate to establish and manage marine protected areas, each with its own objectives and management approaches. Although these programs are complementary, and contribute to one overall objective, communication and collaboration between the three federal departments have not always been consistent and have tended to evolve opportunistically. Where collaboration has occurred, the results have been very positive. The Strategy seeks to build on these successes and ensure continued collaboration in the development of a federal network of marine protected areas.

Îles de la Madeleine, rock arch on coastline
To build on the momentum already underway in many areas of Canada , formalized institutional mechanisms such as Memoranda of Understanding and interdepartmental working groups, at both national and regional levels,may be used to ensure that Canada ’s marine protected areas network is developed and managed in an inclusive, coordinated and complementary fashion. The development of strategic partnerships, and the ability to draw from the individual strengths of each department, will increase our collective ability to establish and manage marine protected areas, conduct research, monitor marine protected area effectiveness, as well as develop education and outreach initiatives in a co-operative and cost-effective manner.

This co-ordinated and transparent approach to planning and establishing a network of marine protected areas will also provide a greater level of certainty and clarity to ocean users. The development of baseline scientific information within an integrated or strategic planning area, including the analysis and identification of ecologically and biologically significant areas and candidate representative areas will contribute to ecosystem health while at the same time support sustainable development activities.

Its intent is to clarify the roles and responsibilities of federal departments and agencies with marine protected area mandates and illustrate how federal marine protected area programs can collectively be used to create a complementary and cohesive network of marine protected areas. It also serves to identify those other departments and agencies that, by virtue of their responsibilities within Canada ’s ocean environment, may have a role to play in the establishment and management of marine protected areas.

Date modified:

Stratégie fédérale sur les aires marines protégées

Table des matières

Élaboration d’un réseau – une approche novatrice

La présente Stratégie fédérale sur les aires marines protégées contribue à poser les bases de l’élaboration d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées au Canada et a pour but d’accroître l’efficacité écologique et la connectivité entre les diverses aires marines protégées afin de conserver et de protéger la structure et la fonction des écosystèmes marins. La Stratégie reconnaît que les aires marines protégées peuvent fonctionner à différentes échelles, de locale à hémisphérique ou planétaire. La Stratégie souligne aussi l’importance d’établir un réseau d’aires marines protégées dans un cadre de planification de gestion durable des océans et de créer des liens avec les réseaux transfrontaliers, internationaux et terrestres d’aires marines protégées.

Outre la complexité écologique de l’environnement marin, il y a aussi un certain nombre de difficultés d’ordre institutionnel qui gênent les progrès accomplis par le Canada dans la restauration de la santé de nos environnements côtiers et marins. Par exemple, il y a trois ministères et organismes fédéraux qui ont un mandat d’établir et de gérer des aires marines protégées et chacun a ses propres objectifs et sa propre approche à la gestion. Bien que ces programmes soient complémentaires et contribuent tous à l’objectif global, la communication et la collaboration entre les trois ministères fédéraux n’ont pas été constantes et ont manifesté une tendance à une évolution opportuniste. Quand il y a eu collaboration, les résultats ont été très positifs. La Stratégie a pour but de bâtir sur ces succès et d’assurer la poursuite de la collaboration à l’élaboration d’un réseau fédéral d’aires marines protégées.

Îles de la Madeleine, rock arch on coastline

Pour profiter de l’impulsion qui se manifeste déjà dans plusieurs régions du Canada, des mécanismes institutionnels officiels comme les protocoles d’entente et les groupes de travail interministériels, à l’échelle nationale et régionale, peuvent être utilisés dans le but d’assurer que le réseau d’aires marines protégées du Canada soit élaboré et géré d’une manière inclusive, coordonnée et complémentaire. La création de partenariats stratégiques et la capacité à tirer parti des forces de chaque ministère amélioreront notre capacité collective d’établir et de gérer les aires marines protégées, d’effectuer des recherches, de suivre l’efficacité des aires marines protégées et d’élaborer des initiatives d’éducation et de diffusion externe d'une manière coopérative et rentable.

Cette approche coordonnée et transparente à la planification et à l’établissement d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées permettra aussi d’offrir plus de certitude et de clarté aux usagers de la mer. Le développement d’informations scientifiques de base dans une région de planification intégrée ou stratégique et comprenant l'analyse et l’identification d’aires présentant un intérêt écologique et biologique et d’aires représentatives candidates contribuera au maintien de la santé des écosystèmes tout en appuyant les activités de développement durable.

La Stratégie vise à clarifier les rôles et responsabilités des ministères et organismes fédéraux ayant des mandats relatifs aux aires marines protégées et à démontrer comment les programmes fédéraux sur les aires marines protégées peuvent être utilisés collectivement pour créer un réseau complémentaire et cohérent d’aires marines protégées. Elle sert aussi à cibler les ministères et organismes qui, selon leurs responsabilités respectives en ce qui a trait aux milieux océaniques Canadien(ne)s, pourraient avoir un rôle déterminant dans la création et la gestion des aires marines protégées.

Date de modification :