Coral & Sponge Conservation Strategy for Eastern Canada 2015

Table of Contents

All photos in this document were taken by the Canadian Scientific Submersible Facility and DFO during recent research cruises using the Remotely Operated Vehicle for Ocean Sciences (ROPOS). These photos illustrate the beauty and diversity of cold water coral and sponge communities with associated marine species. A variety of coral and sponge species are portrayed in an array of vibrant colours and diverse shapes.

Executive Summary

Cold water corals and sponges can be found throughout the waters off eastern Canada, in a range of depths, substrate types, and currents. Whether in a group or as an individual, these animals may provide structural habitat for other marine creatures by providing a place to rest, feed, spawn, and avoid predators. In deep, dark waters, coral and sponge communities may present the only habitat forming features on the seafloor. Corals and sponges are sessile, and generally long-lived and slow growing, making them particularly vulnerable to human activities both directly (e.g., bottom contact fishing gear, subsea pipeline installation) and indirectly (e.g., climate change, ocean acidification).

The advent of cutting edge technologies such as remotely operated and autonomous underwater vehicles has allowed the exploration of coral and sponge communities previously out of reach. Although recent research has significantly contributed to our understanding and appreciation of corals and sponges, there is still a great deal to learn about the distribution, diversity, reproduction, and resilience of these animals.

The conservation and protection of corals and sponges is important to Canadians. Many of the marine animals that have a functional relationship with corals and sponges are of commercial importance to Canadians, making their conservation and protection a key factor in sustainable fisheries management. Coral and sponge communities play a vital ecological role in maintaining diverse and healthy aquatic ecosystems, contributing to species richness and biodiversity. Given our limited knowledge of coral and sponge biology and potential for harmful human induced impacts, it follows that a heightened level of conservation and protection is required.

The Coral and Sponge Conservation Strategy for Eastern Canada has been developed to outline the current state of knowledge of corals and sponges, to provide the international and national context for coral conservation, and to outline new and existing research and conservation efforts in eastern Canadian waters. The Strategy provides a comprehensive approach to coral and sponge conservation through increased coordination and collaboration of management and research efforts. The Strategy identifies conservation, management, and research objectives common to all five Fisheries and Oceans Canada management regions in eastern Canada (Central and Arctic, Quebec, Gulf, Maritimes, and Newfoundland and Labrador) consistent with existing legislation and policy through a shared focus on ecosystem-based management.

The goal of the Coral and Sponge Conservation Strategy for Eastern Canada is to facilitate the conservation and protection of cold water coral and sponge species, communities, and their habitats in the Atlantic and Arctic Oceans of eastern Canada. Protection of these benthic species will be achieved through collaboration and integrated ocean management, providing sustainable economic and ecological value to all Canadians.

Date modified:

Stratégie de conservation des coraux et des éponges de l’est du Canada 2015

Table des matières

Toutes les photos ont été par l’Etablissement canadien des submersibles scientifiques et par Perches et Océans Canada a l’aide du ROPOS (Remotely Operated Platform for Oceans Sciences), lors de récentes expéditions de recherché. Ces photos illustrent la beauté et la diversité des communautés de coraux et d'éponges d'eau froide ainsi que les espèces marines qui y sont associées. Une variété d'espèces de coraux et d'éponges est représentée dans un éventail de couleurs vives et de formes diverses.

Sommaire

Les coraux et les éponges d'eau froide sont présents dans l'ensemble des eaux au large de l'est du Canada, à diverses profondeurs et dans divers types de substrats et courants. Ces animaux, comme individus ou groupes, peuvent fournir un habitat structurel pour d'autres créatures marines en leur offrant un endroit où se reposer, se nourrir, se reproduire et éviter les prédateurs. Dans les eaux profondes et sombres, les communautés de coraux et d'éponges peuvent représenter les seules caractéristiques formant un habitat sur le plancher océanique. Les coraux et les éponges sont des animaux sessiles. En général, ils ont une grande longévité et une croissance lente, ce qui les rend particulièrement vulnérables aux activités humaines directes (p. ex. engins de pêche de fond, installation de pipelines sous-marins) et indirectes (p. ex. changements climatiques, acidification des océans).

L'arrivée des technologies de pointe, notamment les véhicules téléguidés et les véhicules sous-marins autonomes, ont permis d'explorer des communautés de coraux et d'éponges auparavant inaccessibles. Bien que de récentes recherches aient contribué largement à la compréhension et à l'évaluation des coraux et des éponges, les scientifiques en ont encore beaucoup à apprendre sur l'aire de répartition, la diversité, la reproduction et la résilience de ces animaux.

La conservation et la protection des coraux et des éponges sont importantes pour les Canadiens. Un grand nombre d'animaux marins ayant une relation fonctionnelle avec les coraux et les éponges revêtent une importance commerciale pour les Canadiens; leur conservation et leur protection sont donc un facteur clé dans la gestion durable des pêches. Les communautés de coraux et d'éponges jouent un rôle écologique essentiel dans la sauvegarde des écosystèmes aquatiques diversifiés et sains en plus de contribuer à l'abondance et la biodiversité des espèces. En raison de notre connaissance limitée de la biologie des coraux et des éponges et du risque d'effets néfastes d'origine humaine, un niveau accru de conservation et de protection est requis.

La Stratégie de conservation des coraux et des éponges de l'est du Canada vise à définir l'état actuel des connaissances sur les coraux et les éponges, à fournir le contexte national et international de la conservation des coraux ainsi qu'à décrire les recherches et les efforts de conservation nouveaux et actuels dans les eaux de l'est du Canada. La Stratégie prévoit une approche plus globale de la conservation des coraux et des éponges grâce à une meilleure coordination des efforts de gestion et de recherche. Elle définit les objectifs de conservation, de gestion et de recherche communs aux cinq régions de gestion de Pêche et Océans Canada dans l'est du Canada (Centre et Arctique, Québec, Golfe, Maritimes et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) compatibles avec les lois et les politiques existantes et mettant l'accent sur la gestion axée sur les écosystèmes.

L'objectif de la Stratégie de conservation des coraux et des éponges de l'est du Canada est de faciliter la conservation et la protection des espèces et des communautés de coraux et d'éponges d'eau froide et de leurs habitats dans les océans Atlantique et Arctique dans l'est du Canada. La protection de ces espèces benthiques, qui sont des parties intégrantes d'un écosystème sain, sera atteinte grâce à la collaboration et à la gestion intégrée des océans; elle offrira une valeur économique et écologique durable à tous les Canadiens.

Date de modification :