Policy and Operational Framework for Integrated Management of Estuarine, Coastal and Marine Environments in Canada

Table of Contents

Executive Summary

Canada’s estuaries, coasts and oceans are the focus of major economic activity, and are an integral part of the country’s culture and identity. The coastline of Canada is the longest of any in the world, and its seabed represents an area two-thirds the size of its landmass. Oceans support commercial, recreational and Aboriginal fisheries, oil and gas exploration and development, marine recreation and tourism, aquaculture, shipping and transportation, and a variety of other economic uses that directly contribute over $20 billion a year to Canada’s economy. Oceans also support high technology and pharmaceutical industries, potential mining opportunities, and scientific and technical research.

The Oceans Act calls on the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans to lead and facilitate the development of a national oceans strategy that will guide the management of Canada’s estuarine, coastal and marine ecosystems. Canada’s Oceans Strategy provides the overall strategic framework for Canada’s oceans-related programs and policies, based on the principles of sustainable development, Integrated Management and the precautionary approach. The central governance mechanism of the Strategy is applying these principles through the development and implementation of Integrated Management plans.

The Policy and Operational Framework for Integrated Management of Estuarine, Coastal and Marine Environments in Canada is intended as a working document for Canada’s oceans community. It is intended to foster discussion about Integrated Management approaches by setting out policy in the legislative context, along with concepts and principles. The document also proposes an Operational Framework with governance, management by areas, design for management bodies and the type of planning processes that could be involved.

Policy Context

Marine and land-based activities have an impact on coastal waters and oceans waters. Intensive fishing, shipping, land-based pollution and development all have an impact on coastlines and ocean waters. An Integrated Management approach to oceans-related activities requires consideration of the impact that a variety of activities may have at an ecosystem level. Integrated Management establishes advisory bodies that consider both the conservation and protection of ecosystems, while at the same time providing opportunities for creating wealth in oceans-related economies and communities. It brings together the environmental, economic and social considerations by planning for sustainable use.

Legislative Context

With the passage of the Oceans Act in 1997, Canada became one of the first countries in the world to make a legislative commitment to a comprehensive approach for the protection and development of oceans and coastal waters. To reinforce this approach, the Act calls for the wide application of the precautionary approach to the conservation, management and exploitation of marine resources. It also recognizes the significant opportunities offered by the oceans and their resources for economic diversification and the generation of wealth for the benefit of all Canadians, particularly those in coastal communities. To achieve these commitments, the Act calls on the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans to lead and facilitate the development of plans for Integrated Management.

Integrated Management Concept

The Integrated Management concept involves comprehensive planning and managing of human activities to minimize the conflict among users; a collaborative approach that cannot be forced on anyone; and a flexible and transparent planning process that respects existing divisions of constitutional and departmental authority, and does not abrogate or derogate from any existing Aboriginal or treaty rights.

Integrated Management Principles

The principles guiding Integrated Management include: ecosystem-based management, sustainable development, the precautionary approach, conservation; shared responsibility, flexibility and inclusiveness. In essence, Integrated Management and planning is a simple and common sense approach, representing a modern and qualitatively different way to use, protect and conserve Canada’s oceans and coastal waters.

Operational Framework

The Canadian approach to Integrated Management recognizes that management objectives and planning practices must reflect that ecosystems nest within other ecosystems. As a result, the governance model proposed for Integrated Management is one of collaboration. It involves ocean management decisions based on shared information, on consultation with stakeholders, and on their advisory or management participation in the planning process. It is also based on institutional arrangements that bring together all stakeholders. Participants take an active part in designing, implementing and monitoring the effectiveness of coastal and ocean management plans, and partners enter into agreements on oceans management plans with specific responsibilities, powers and obligations. 
It is also recognized that in specific cases, Integrated Management and planning may be achieved through co-management. In areas where there are settled land claims, co-management will be the preferred approach.

Management Bodies

The Framework proposes that an Integrated Management body will be composed of both governmental and non-governmental representatives with interests in a given ocean space. The ultimate objective is to establish Integrated Management plans for all of Canada’s coastal, estuarine and marine waters. In the short term, Integrated Management planing will need to reflect the intensity of ocean use activities and the capacity and interest of participants to engage in the process.

In coastal and ocean areas with relatively light levels of human use and impact, Integrated Management bodies may focus more on informing and consulting with local interests. In these circumstances, the Integrated Management body may mostly serve to facilitate information sharing. 
As there is an increase in human activities and pressures on the marine environment, other arrangements will balance coastal and ocean uses with maximum social and economic benefits, while not exceeding ecological thresholds. In these circumstances, substantial effort will be directed towards maximizing participation of all interests and establishing an Integrated Management body whose roles will be to provide decision-makers with advice and also to assume part of the responsibility for implementation of the approved management plan.

Planning

The Integrated Management planning process involves six inter-related stages:

  1. defining and assessing a management area;
  2. engaging affected interests;
  3. developing an Integrated Management plan;
  4. receiving endorsement of the plan;
  5. implementing the plan; and
  6. monitoring and evaluating outcomes.

Progression through these stages is not necessarily linear, but there is general movement towards a proactive management approach as the process matures.

Summary

While Canada’s long term goal is to develop a system of nested Integrated Management plans for all of its marine waters, and to establish within these a national network of marine protected areas, there is clearly a need to establish short term priorities.

This need can be met through the shift from a single species or single industry management approach towards a broader, more inclusive method of managing ocean resources and spaces. This shift must have investments of time, resources and effort, but the Integrated Management approach will, in the end, benefit all those who use and depend on Canada’s oceans with an eye toward preserving them for future generations.

Date modified:

Le Cadre stratégique et opérationnel pour la gestion intégrée des environnements estuariens, côtiers et marins au Canada

Table des matières

Résumé

Les estuaires, les côtes et les océans sont au cœur d’une importante activité économique et font partie intégrante de la culture et de l’identité du pays. Le littoral du Canada est le plus étendu au monde et ses fonds marins représentent une surface équivalente aux deux tiers de celle de sa masse terrestre. Les océans supportent la pêche commerciale, récréative et autochtone, l’exploration et le développement pétrolier et gazier, les loisirs et le tourisme maritimes, l’aquaculture, la navigation et le transport, ainsi que diverses autres utilisations économiques qui contribuent quelque 20 milliards de dollars par année à l’économie du Canada. Les océans supportent également les industries de haute technologie et pharmaceutique, des possibilités d’exploitation minière et la recherche scientifique et technique.

La Loi sur les océans demande au ministre de Pêches et Océans de diriger et de favoriser l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale de gestion des océans qui servira de guide à la gestion des écosystèmes estuariens, côtiers et marins. La Stratégie sur les océans du Canada fournit le cadre stratégique général essentiel aux politiques et programmes maritimes canadiens, un cadre qui repose sur les principes de développement durable, de gestion intégrée et de précaution. Le principal mécanisme de gouvernance de la Stratégie consiste à appliquer ces principes à travers l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de plans de gestion intégrée.

Le Cadre stratégique et opérationnel pour la gestion intégrée des environnements estuariens, côtiers et marins au Canada est un document de travail destiné à la communauté maritime. Il a pour but de stimuler le débat sur les méthodes de gestion intégrée en définissant les stratégies dans un contexte législatif, en même temps que ses concepts et ses principes. Le document se veut également un cadre opérationnel pour la gouvernance, la gestion par zone, la conception des organismes de gestion et les modes de planification susceptibles d’être utilisés.

Cadre stratégique

Les activités marines et non marines ont un impact sur les eaux côtières et marines. La pêche intensive, la navigation et la pollution terrestre ont un impact sur le littoral et les eaux océaniques. Une méthode de gestion intégrée des activités maritimes, requiert de tenir compte de l’impact potentiel des diverses activités sur le plan écosystémique. La gestion intégrée entraîne la création d’organismes consultatifs qui prennent en compte la conservation et la protection des écosystèmes tout en fournissant des occasions de création de richesses dans les économies et les communautés maritimes. En outre, elle réunit les aspects environnementaux, économiques et sociaux en planifiant en fonction de l’utilisation durable.

Cadre législatif

En adoptant sa Loi sur les océans en 1997, le Canada devenait l’un des premiers pays au monde à s’engager par une loi à adopter une méthode globale de protection et de développement des eaux marines et côtières. Pour renforcer cette approche, la Loi préconise l’application à grande échelle de l’approche de précaution à la conservation, à la gestion et à l’exploitation des ressources marines. Elle reconnaît également les possibilités importantes offertes par les océans et leurs ressources en matière de diversification économique et de production de richesses au profit de tous les Canadiens, en particulier, des membres des communautés côtières. Pour réaliser ces engagements, la Loi demande au ministre des Pêches et des Océans de diriger et favoriser l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de plans pour la gestion intégrée.

La notion de gestion intégrée

La notion de gestion intégrée implique la planification et la gestion globales des activités humaines afin de minimiser les conflits entre les utilisateurs, une approche coopérative qui ne peut être imposée à qui que ce soit et un processus de planification souple et transparent qui respecte les divisions existantes au sein de l’autorité constitutionnelle et ministérielle et qui n’abroge ni ne déroge aux droits Autochtones existants ou issus de traités.

Les principes de la gestion intégrée

Les principes directeurs de la gestion intégrée comprennent : la gestion écosystémique, le développement durable, l’approche de précaution, la conservation, le partage des responsabilités, la souplesse et l’inclusivité. Essentiellement, la gestion intégrée et sa planification relèvent d’une méthode simple et commune qui représente une façon moderne et qualitativement différente d’utiliser, de protéger et de conserver les eaux marines et côtières du Canada.

Le cadre opérationnel

L’approche canadienne de la gestion intégrée reconnaît que les objectifs de gestion et les pratiques en matière de planification doivent reconnaître que les écosystèmes sont imbriqués les uns dans les autres. En conséquence, le modèle de gouvernance proposé pour la gestion intégrée est basé sur la collaboration. Il implique que les décisions en matière de gestion des océans soient basées sur le partage de l’information, sur la consultation auprès des parties intéressées et sur leur participation consultative et gestionnelle au processus de planification. Il est également basé sur des accords institutionnels qui rassemblent tous les intervenants. Les participants prennent activement part à la conception, à la mise en œuvre et au suivi de l’efficacité des plans de gestion des côtes et des océans et les partenaires s’impliquent dans des accords sur des plans de gestion des océans en se chargeant de responsabilités, de pouvoirs et d’obligations spécifiques.

On reconnaît également que, dans certains cas, la gestion intégrée et sa planification peuvent être réalisées par le biais de la cogestion. Dans les régions où sont intervenus des accords sur les revendications territoriales, on préconisera la cogestion.

Organismes de gestion

Le cadre propose la création d’un organisme responsable de la gestion intégrée qui sera composé de représentants gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux ayant des intérêts dans un espace marin donné. Bien que l’objectif ultime soit de créer des plans de gestion intégrée pour l’ensemble des eaux côtières, estuariennes et marines du Canada, à court terme la plannification de la gestion intégrée devra refléter l’intensité des activités marines, la capacité et l’intérêt des participants, à s’impliquer dans le processus.

Dans les zones côtières et marines caractérisées par des niveaux relativement faibles d’utilisation et d’impact humains, les organismes de gestion intégrée pourraient s’attacher davantage à mener des consultations auprès des intérêts locaux et à leur fournir de l’information. Dans de telles circonstances, l’organisme de gestion intégrée servirait surtout à faciliter le partage de l’information.

Compte tenu de l’accroissement de l’activité et des pressions humaines sur le milieu marin, d’autres accords auront pour but d’établir un équilibre entre les utilisations côtières et marines et les bénéfices sociaux et économiques maximums, tout en prenant soin de ne pas dépasser les seuils écologiques. Dans ce cas, des efforts importants seront déployés pour maximiser la participation de toutes les parties intéressées et créer un organisme de gestion intégrée dont le rôle consistera à fournir des avis aux autorités décisionnelles et à assurer également une part de responsabilité dans la mise en œuvre du plan de gestion une fois qu’il aura été endossé.

La planification

Le processus de planification de la gestion intégrée comprend six étapes interdépendantes :

  1. Définition et évaluation d’une zone de gestion;
  2. Mobilisation des parties intéressées concernées;
  3. Élaboration d’un plan de gestion intégrée;
  4. Approbation du plan;
  5. Mise en œuvre du plan; et
  6. Suivi et évaluation des résultats.

Ces étapes ne sont pas nécessairement linéaires et on constate généralement une tendance accrue à la gestion proactive à mesure que le processus évolue.

En résumé

Bien que l’objectif à long terme du Canada soit de développer un système de plans de gestion intégrée imbriqués pour toutes ses eaux marines, ainsi que d’y créer un réseau national de zones de protection marine, il est évident qu’il faut établir des priorités à court terme, ce qui peut être réalisé en passant de la gestion spécialisée d’une espèce ou d’une industrie à une méthode plus large et plus inclusive de gestion des ressources et des espaces marins.

Cette transition nécessite du temps, des ressources et des efforts, mais l’approche de la gestion intégrée finira par bénéficier à tous ceux qui utilisent les océans du Canada et qui en dépendent, en vue de les préserver pour les générations à venir.

Date de modification :