Canada's Oceans Strategy

Table of Contents

Our Oceans, Our Future

As Canada's Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, it gives me great pleasure to present Canada's Oceans Strategy. This far-reaching policy framework will make Canada's vision for modern oceans management a reality.

As a country bordered by three oceans, Canada is truly an oceans nation. Today we see an ever increasing number of demands on oceans and their resources. While traditional fishing and marine transportation continue to be of prime importance, they are now joined by other uses, such as aquaculture development, oil and gas exploration and development, recreational and commercial fishing, and eco-tourism. Canada's oceans also support important features of Canada's social and cultural identity. Managing these demands is critical to the protection of the marine environment and the long-term sustainability of Canada's oceans and their resources.

On January 31, 1997, the Government of Canada brought the Oceans Act into force, making Canada the first country in the world to have comprehensive oceans management legislation. The Act authorizes the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada to lead the development of a national oceans management strategy, guided by the principles of sustainable development, the precautionary approach and integrated management.

Since 1997, the federal government has moved quickly to develop and implement, with interested Canadians, oceans management initiatives on all three coasts. The Oceans Strategy, which provides an overall strategic approach to oceans management, has been developed based on the lessons learned and the issues identified through this work.

We are now seeking to implement this strategy through further collaboration. The sustainable development and integrated management of our oceans requires the help and ideas of local communities, industries, Aboriginal peoples, provinces and territories, environmental groups and other interests.

Your support is important. I am confident that by working together we will ensure that Canada strengthens its well-deserved reputation as a world leader in oceans management while also ensuring the long-term sustainability of Canada's oceans and their resources.


Sincerely,



Robert G. Thibault,
Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

Date modified:

La stratégie sur les océans du Canada

Table des matières

Nos océans, notre avenir

En tant que ministre des Pêches et des Océans, je suis très heureux de présenter la Stratégie sur les océans du Canada. Il s’agit d’une politique-cadre de grande portée qui permettra de concrétiser la vision que possède le Canada à l’égard de la gestion moderne des océans.

Le Canada, qui est bordé par trois océans, est une véritable nation maritime. Les pressions qui s’exercent sur les océans et les ressources qu’ils abritent ne cessent d’augmenter. Même si la pêche traditionnelle et le transport maritime demeurent des activités extrêmement importantes, l’aquaculture, l’exploration et l’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, la pêche récréative et commerciale de même que l’écotourisme prennent de plus en plus de place. Les océans du Canada sont aussi intimement liés à de nombreux aspects de l’identité sociale et culturelle de la population canadienne. Il est essentiel de bien gérer ces activités pour protéger le milieu marin et assurer la viabilité des océans et des ressources marines à long terme.

Le 31 janvier 1997, le gouvernement du Canada a mis en oeuvre la Loi sur les océans; le Canada est alors devenu le premier pays au monde à adopter une loi générale sur la gestion des océans. La Loiautorise le ministre canadien des Pêches et des Océans à diriger l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale de gestion des océans qui repose sur le développement durable, l’approche de précaution et la gestion intégrée.

Depuis 1997, le gouvernement fédéral a procédé rapidement à l’élaboration et à la mise en oeuvre d’initiatives de gestion des océans sur les trois côtes, en collaboration avec des citoyens intéressés. La Stratégie sur les océans du Canada, qui propose une approche globale pour la gestion des océans, a été élaborée en tenant compte des leçons apprises et des difficultés surmontées lors de cette phase initiale.

Nous voulons maintenant faire appel de nouveau à la collaboration pour mettre en oeuvre la Stratégie. Le développement durable et la gestion intégrée de nos océans requièrent l’appui des collectivités locales, des industries, des Autochtones, des provinces et des territoires, des environnementalistes et d’autres groupes d’intérêt.

Votre appui est important. En travaillant ensemble, nous parviendrons, j’en suis certain, à faire en sorte que le Canada renforce sa réputation bien méritée à titre de chef de file mondial dans le domaine de la gestion des océans tout en assurant la durabilité à long terme de ses océans et de ses ressources marines.


Veuillez agréer mes sincères salutations.



Robert G. Thibault,
Ministre des Pêches et des Océans

Date de modification :