Eastern Honguedo Strait Coral and Sponge Conservation Area

Location
Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence Bioregion (Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador)
Approximate Size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets
2,338 km2
Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets
0.04%
Conservation Objective
Cold-water coral and sponge protection

Ecological Components of Interest

Species of regional importance: cold-water corals and sponges

  • Why they are important: Cold-water corals and sponges are fragile, slow to recover, structure-providing species.

Habitat that is important to biodiversity conservation: cold-water corals and sponges

  • Why they are important: This conservation area is considered exceptional because it includes high concentrations of four sea-pen species, namely Halipteris finmarchica, Anthoptilum grandiflorum, Pennatula grandis and Pennatula aculeata, as well as sponges (Porifera spp.). This is the only area in the Gulf of St. Lawrence with a high concentration of the large sea pen, Halipteris finmarchica. These species create structures that provide diverse habitat for many other species.

Prohibitions

The ecological components of interest are effectively conserved through the following prohibitions:

All fishing that uses bottom-contact gear, such as bottom trawls, dredges, bottom seining, traps, gillnets, and bottom longlines.

Other Considerations

No human activities that are incompatible with the conservation of the ecological components of interest may occur or be foreseeable within the area.

Environmental Context

This conservation area includes communities of sea pens and sponges classified as significant benthic areas (CSAS SAR - 2017/007) in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence bioregion. The area also includes other important biological features, such as a high concentration of Duva florida soft corals, the presence of two large structure-providing sponge species, Asconema foliatum and Suberites ficus, and at least three species of rays and wolffish.

High concentrations of these corals and sponges create habitat with complex structures that can provide refuge, feeding, and rearing areas for many marine species, thus supporting greater biodiversity.

Prohibiting bottom-contact fishing gear makes it possible to directly protect the fragile structure of corals and sponges, and can also help protect the fish and invertebrate species that rely on this habitat.

Eastern Honguedo Strait Coral and Sponge Conservation Area

Eastern Honguedo Strait Coral and Sponge Conservation Area

Note:

Following the signing of the Canada–Quebec Collaborative Agreement to Establish a Network of Marine Protected Areas in Quebec in March 2018 (available in French), the governments of Canada and Quebec are evaluating the possibility of reinforcing coral and sponge conservation measures in the Gulf of St. Lawrence by prohibiting certain activities other than fishing in certain zones.

Learn more about the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence marine protected area project.

Date modified:

Zone de conservation des coraux et des éponges de l’est du détroit d’Honguedo

Emplacement
Biorégion de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent (Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Contribution approximative en taille (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine
2 338 km2
Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine
0,04 %
Objectifs de conservation
Protection des coraux et des éponges d’eau froide

Composantes écologiques d'intérêt

Espèce d’importance régionale : coraux et éponges d’eau froide

  • Raison de son importance : Les coraux et les éponges d’eau froide sont des espèces structurantes fragiles qui se rétablissement lentement.

Habitat important pour la conservation de la biodiversité : coraux et éponges d’eau froide

  • Raison de son importance : Cette zone de conservation est considérée comme exceptionnelle puisqu’elle inclut de fortes concentrations de quatre espèces de plumes de mer, soit Halipteris finmarchica, Anthoptilum grandiflorum, Pennatula grandis et Pennatula aculeata ainsi que d’éponges (Porifera spp). Il s’agit de la seule zone du golfe du Saint-Laurent ayant une forte concentration de la grande plume de mer Halipteris finmarchica. Ces espèces créent des structures qui fournissent un habitat diversifié à de nombreuses espèces.

Interdictions

Les composantes écologiques d’intérêt sont efficacement conservées grâce aux interdictions suivantes :

Les pêches qui utilisent des engins de fond, comme des chaluts de fond, les dragues, les sennes de fond, les casiers, les filets maillants et les palangres de fond.

Autres Considérations

Aucune activité anthropique incompatible avec la conservation des composantes écologiques qui revêtent un intérêt particulier ne peut être exercée ou prévue dans la zone.

Contexte environnemental

Cette zone de conservation comprend des communautés de plumes de mer et d’éponges qui sont classées comme zones benthiques importantes (SCCS AS - 2017/007) dans la biorégion de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Cette zone est également dotée d’autres caractéristiques biologiques importantes, comme une forte concentration de coraux mous Duva florida, la présence de deux grandes éponges structurantes (Asconema foliatum et Suberites ficus) et d’au moins trois espèces de raies et de loups de mer.

Les concentrations élevées de ces coraux et de ces éponges fournissent un habitat composé de structures complexes qui offre des aires de refuge, d’alimentation et de croissance pour de nombreuses espèces marines, favorisant ainsi une biodiversité élevée.

L’interdiction des engins de pêche de fond permet de protéger directement la structure fragile des coraux et des éponges et peut également contribuer à protéger les espèces de poissons et d’invertébrés qui utilisent cet habitat.

Zone de conservation des coraux et des éponges de l’est du détroit d’Honguedo

Zone de conservation des coraux et des éponges de l’est du détroit d’Honguedo

Remarque :

Suite à la signature de l’Entente de collaboration Canada-Québec pour l’établissement d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées au Québec en mars 2018, les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec évaluent la possibilité de renforcer la protection des coraux et des éponges dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent en encadrant les activités autres que la pêche dans certaines de ces zones.

Apprenez-en plus sur le projet d’aire marine protégée du nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Date de modification :