Strait of Georgia and Howe Sound Glass Sponge Reef (17 fisheries area closures)

Location
Strait of Georgia Bioregion (British Columbia)
Approximate Size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets
32.6 km2
Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets
<0.01%
Conservation Objective
Protect glass sponge reefs

Ecological Components of Interest

Species of regional importance: reef-forming glass sponges

  • Why it is important: Glass sponge reefs are presently found only along the west coast of Canada and the United States. Reef-forming sponges are slow-growing and fragile, with skeletons made of silica, or glass.

Habitat that is important to biodiversity conservation: glass sponge reefs

  • Why it is important: Glass sponge reefs provide habitat for many ecologically and commercially important finfish and shellfish species, such as rockfish and spot prawns.

Prohibitions

The ecological components of interest are effectively conserved through the following prohibitions:

  • No commercial, recreational or Indigenous Food, Social and Ceremonial bottom-contact fishing activities are allowed within the areas indicated in the maps. This includes fishing for prawn, shrimp, crab, and groundfish (including halibut).

Note:

In the refuges represented by maps 10 to 17, the use of downrigger gear in recreational salmon trolling is also prohibited because of the potential risk of damage to shallow reefs.

Other Considerations

No human activities that are incompatible with the conservation of the ecological components of interest may occur or be foreseeable within the area.

Environmental Context

Sponge-dominated communities modify bottom currents, filter water, and create habitat. Glass sponge reefs provide a link between benthic (seafloor) and pelagic (water column) environments, play an important role in carbon and nitrogen processing, and act as reservoirs sequestering excess silica from the water column. Sponge reefs provide refuge, habitat, and nursery grounds for aquatic species.

Prohibition on bottom-contact gear can protect numerous species of fish and invertebrates that use the benthic area. In addition to protecting the fragile glass sponge reef structure directly, these closures also protect the services (i.e. refuge, habitat, food, nursery areas) that the reefs provide to many aquatic species including rockfish, sea stars, crabs, prawns and many benthic invertebrates.

Although a full understanding of the interactions between the sponge reef and the surrounding ecosystem requires further investigation the reefs hosting diverse and abundant aquatic species likely enhance species abundances and ecosystem functions of the areas beyond the glass sponge reef boundaries.

Date modified:

Récifs d'éponges siliceuses du détroit de Georgie et de la baie Howe (17 fermetures de zones de pêche)

Emplacement
Biorégion du détroit de Georgie (Colombie-Britannique)
Contribution approximative en taille (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine
32,6 km2
Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine
<0,01%
Objectifs de conservation
Protéger les récifs d'éponges siliceuses

Composantes écologiques d'intérêt

Espèce d’importance régionale : éponges siliceuses formant des récifs

Habitat important pour la conservation de la biodiversité : récifs d'éponges siliceuses

Interdictions

Les composantes écologiques d’intérêt sont efficacement conservées grâce aux interdictions suivantes :

Remarque :

Dans les refuges représentés par les cartes 10 à 17, l’utilisation de lest automatique pour la pêche récréative du saumon à la traîne est également interdite en raison du risque potentiel de dommages aux récifs peu profonds.

Autres Considérations

Aucune activité anthropique incompatible avec la conservation des composantes écologiques qui revêtent un intérêt particulier ne peut être exercée ou prévue dans la zone.

Contexte environnemental

Les communautés où les éponges sont prédominantes modifient les courants de fond, filtrent l’eau et créent des habitats. Les récifs d'éponges siliceuses servent de lien entre l'environnement benthique (plancher océanique) et l'environnement pélagique (colonne d’eau), jouent un rôle important dans le traitement du carbone et de l'azote, et agissent comme des réservoirs absorbant l’excès de silice qui se trouvent dans la colonne d’eau. Les récifs d'éponges fournissent un refuge, un habitat et des zones de croissance aux espèces aquatiques.

L'interdiction des engins de fond peut protéger de nombreuses espèces de poissons et d'invertébrés qui utilisent la zone benthique. En plus de protéger directement la structure fragile des récifs d'éponges siliceuses, ces fermetures assurent aussi la protection des services (refuge, habitat, source de nourriture, aire de croissance) que les récifs offrent à de nombreuses espèces aquatiques, notamment les sébastes, les étoiles de mer, les crabes, les crevettes et un grand nombre d'invertébrés benthiques.

Bien qu'un examen plus approfondi soit nécessaire pour bien comprendre les interactions entre les récifs d'éponges et l'écosystème environnant, il est probable que les récifs abritant des espèces aquatiques diverses et abondantes puissent accroître l'abondance des espèces et améliorer les fonctions des écosystèmes des zones au-delà des limites des récifs d'éponges siliceuses.

Date de modification :