Tuvaijuittuq Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Note:

Charts, diagrams and contact information on this website are provided for information purposes only and should not be used for fishing, navigation or other purposes. Please refer to the MPA Regulations or contact your regional Fisheries and Oceans Canada office for official coordinates.

Note:

Tuvaijuittuq is the first Marine Protected Area to be designated for interim protection by ministerial order under the Oceans Act, limiting human activities in the area for up to five years.

At-A-Glance
Map: Tuvaijuittuq Marine Protected Area

Map: Tuvaijuittuq Marine Protected Area

Multi-year ice in Tuvaijuittuq Copyright Pierre Coupel 2018

Multi-year ice in Tuvaijuittuq © Pierre Coupel 2018

Video: Tuvaijuittuq Marine Protected Area

Video: Tuvaijuittuq Marine Protected Area

At-A-Glance

Location

Off the northwest coast of Ellesmere Island, Nunavut in the Arctic Ocean; Encompasses areas within the Arctic Basin and Arctic Archipelago Bioregions.

Approximate Size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

319,411 km2

Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

5.55%

Date of designation (by ministerial order)

August 2019

Conservation Objectives
  • To contribute to the conservation, protection and understanding of the natural diversity, productivity and dynamism of the High Arctic sea ice ecosystem.

Prohibitions

Tuvaijuittuq is the first Marine Protected Area to be designated by ministerial order under the Oceans Act for interim protection. Under the order no new or additional human activities will be allowed to occur in the area for up to five years, with the following exceptions:

  • The exercise of Inuit rights respecting wildlife harvesting as provided for under the Nunavut Agreement
  • Marine scientific research consistent with the conservation objectives of the MPA
  • Safety, security and emergency activities
  • Certain activities carried out by a foreign national, entity, ship or state.

The MPA provides interim protection to the area while the Qikiqtani Inuit Association, the Government of Nunavut and the Government of Canada work with Inuit and northern partners to explore the feasibility of longer term protection for this area.

Environmental Context

Tuvaijuittuq, meaning “the place where the ice never melts” in Inuktut, is located in an area that has been used by Inuit for travel and harvesting. This culturally and historically significant marine area is considered globally, nationally and regionally unique due to the presence of multi-year pack ice. The Tuvaijuittuq MPA includes the marine waters off northern Ellesmere Island starting from the low water mark and extending to the outward boundary of Canada’s Exclusive Economic Zone.

This remote region has the oldest and thickest sea ice in the Arctic Ocean. As sea ice continues to decline in the Arctic, the ice in this region is expected to last the longest. This makes the area a unique and potentially important future summer habitat for ice-dependent species, including walrus, seals and polar bears.

Over the past three decades, the Arctic Ocean has lost an area of sea ice equivalent to the provinces of Manitoba and Quebec combined, making the Arctic more accessible to commercial activities such as shipping, fisheries, tourism, and mining. A better understanding of this region will be critical as climate change continues to result in the dramatic declines in sea ice. Although historically this area has been used by Inuit, particularly for travel and harvesting, there are currently no permanent human settlements within or adjacent to Tuvaijuittuq. The two closest inhabited areas to Tuvaijuittuq include the High Arctic community of Grise Fiord and the Canadian Forces station (CFB) Alert located at the northernmost tip of Ellesmere Island. Grise Fiord is Canada’s northernmost hamlet and CFS Alert is the northernmost inhabited settlement in the world.

Ecosystem

Ecosystem

Tuvaijuittuq is an area of particular ecological importance due to the presence of old, thick, multi-year pack ice. Sea ice provides habitat for ice-adapted organisms, such as microscopic algae, that form the basis of, and provide energy for, Arctic marine food webs all the way up to marine mammals and polar bears. The seabed community in this area is more abundant and diverse than previously expected and may also have important implications for supporting larger animals such as walrus and bearded seals. The area’s importance to regional ecosystems is expected to become more critical as the Arctic continues to lose sea ice at a rapid pace.

Tuvaijuittuq is also unique due to circulation through the area of the Beaufort Gyre, a wind-driven Arctic Ocean current that contains a globally significant accumulation of fresh water from North American and Eurasian Arctic rivers. The Gyre is a major source of multi-year ice to the Arctic via the Canadian Arctic Archipelago.

(Left and top) Ctenophores from marine waters under the sea ice in Tuvaijuittuq copyright Pierre Coupel. (Bottom) Siphonophore from marine waters under the sea ice in Tuvaijuittuq copyright Pascal Tremblay

(Left and top) Ctenophores from marine waters under the sea ice in Tuvaijuittuq © Pierre Coupel

(Bottom) Siphonophore from marine waters under the sea ice in Tuvaijuittuq © Pascal Tremblay

Aerial view of walrus on an ice floe in the Canadian High Arctic Copyright Blair Dunn

Aerial view of walrus on an ice floe in the Canadian High Arctic © Blair Dunn

Management and conservation

Management and conservation

2019 Multidisciplinary Arctic Program (MAP) ice camp in Tuvaijuittuq Copyright Christine Michel

2019 Multidisciplinary Arctic Program (MAP) ice camp in Tuvaijuittuq © Christine Michel

Area of multi-year ice in Tuvaijuittuq Copyright Pierre Coupel

Area of multi-year ice in Tuvaijuittuq © Pierre Coupel

Collaboration and partnership is vitally important to effective management and conservation of the Canadian Arctic marine environment. A memorandum of understanding between the Government of Canada, the Government of Nunavut and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association has been established to support the advancement of marine protection in Tuvaijuittuq. Additionally, an Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement has been negotiated with the Qikiqtani Inuit Association for a future national marine conservation area (NMCA) in Tallurutiup Imanga. A whole of government approach to the negotiation of this agreement has meant that it will also be applied to any future, long-term marine protected areas in Tuvaijuittuq.

The primary goal of the Tuvaijuittuq MPA is to protect and conserve biological diversity, structural habitat, and ecosystem function while additional information is collected to inform the appropriate conservation tools for long-term protection. Ongoing research activities in the area will be allowed to continue, providing the foundation for the evidence-based assessment of long-term options.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to work with partners and stakeholders to assess appropriate long-term options. A feasibility assessment for the application of long-term protection measures to Tuvaijuittuq is under way in partnership with the Government of Nunavut, and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association. Science and traditional and local knowledge will play a key role in the assessment. This will include Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit, a source of information passed down from generation to generation that encompasses Inuit beliefs, principles and values, together with traditional knowledge, skills and attitudes. The assessment will also take into consideration the social, environmental, administrative and economic benefits and impacts of establishing long term marine protected areas in the region.

As Tuvaijuittuq is partially within the Nunavut Settlement Area it is subject to the Nunavut Agreement. The lead federal authority for the Tuvaijuittuq MPA, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, has overall responsibility for ensuring compliance with, and enforcement of the ministerial order. Enforcement activities are undertaken through the Department’s legislated mandate and responsibilities under the Oceans Act and the Fisheries Act, as well as other legislation applicable to fisheries conservation, environmental protection, habitat protection and marine safety. Enforcement officers designated by the Minister pursuant to section 39 of the Oceans Act will enforce the ministerial order for this area. Anyone contravening the order commits an offence and can be subject to the punishments listed in section 37 of the Oceans Act.

Order Designating the Tuvaijuittuq Marine Protected Area (Available soon).

Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement (Available soon).

For more information about the Tuvaijuittuq Marine Protect Area please contact:

Oceans Program
Fisheries and Oceans Canada (Central and Arctic Region)
Freshwater Institute
501 University Crescent
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3T 2N6
Tel:  (204) 983-5006
Email:  DFO.HABMPA-BEAMPA.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Research and publications

Research and publications

Research

Polar bear mother and cub on ice floe in the Canadian Arctic Copyright Sophie Galarneau

Polar bear mother and cub on ice floe in the Canadian Arctic © Sophie Galarneau

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, in collaboration with international experts, academia, and other government departments, is leading an ongoing Multidisciplinary Arctic Program that began in 2018 to study the multi-year sea-ice ecosystem in Canada’s High Arctic.

Publications

Other resources

Designation report

Designation report

As per subsection 35.1 (4) of the Oceans Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will publish a report on the designation of the Tuvaijuittuq MPA. This report will:

  • Indicate the area of the sea that is designated
  • Summarize the consultations undertaken prior to the designation of the MPA
  • Summarize the environmental, social, cultural or economic information that was gathered and considered in making the MPA.

This report will be made available following the publication of the ministerial order and the regulatory impact analysis statement in Canada Gazette, Part II.

Date modified:

Zone de protection marine (ZPM) de Tuvaijuittuq

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional de Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

Remarque :

Tuvaijuittuq est la première zone de protection marine à être désignée par arrêté ministériel en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, limitant les activités humaines dans la région pendant une période maximale de cinq ans.

En bref
Carte : Zone de protection marin Tuvaijuittuq

Carte : Zone de protection marin Tuvaijuittuq

Ensemble de données sur les ZPM disponible.

Banquise pluriannuelle à Tuvaijuittuq Copyright Pierre Coupel 2018

Banquise pluriannuelle à Tuvaijuittuq © Pierre Coupel 2018

Vidéo : Zone de protection marine de Tuvaijuittuq

Vidéo : Zone de protection marine de Tuvaijuittuq

En bref

Emplacement

Au large de la côte nord­ouest de l’île d’Ellesmere, au Nunavut, dans l’océan Arctique; englobe des zones du bassin arctique et des biorégions de l’archipel Arctique.

Contribution approximative en superficie (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine

319 411 km2

Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine

5,55 %

Date de désignation (par arrêté ministériel)

Août 2019

Objectifs de conservation
  • Contribuer à la conservation, à la protection et à une meilleure connaissance de la diversité, de la productivité et du dynamisme naturels de l’écosystème de la glace de mer de l’Extrême­Arctique.

Interdictions

Tuvaijuittuq est la première zone de protection marine à être désignée par arrêté ministériel en vertu de la Loi sur les océans aux fins d’une protection provisoire. En vertu de cet arrêté, aucune activité humaine nouvelle ou additionnelle ne sera autorisée dans la région pendant une période maximale de cinq ans, sauf dans les cas d’exception suivants :

  • L’exercice des droits des Inuit concernant l'exploitation de la faune conformément aux droits ancestraux énoncé dans l’Accord du Nunavut;
  • La recherche scientifique marine qui est conforme aux objectifs de conservation de la ZPM;
  • Les activités liées à la sûreté, à la sécurité et aux situations d’urgence;
  • Certaines activités menées par un ressortissant, une entité, un navire ou un État étrangers.

La ZPM assure une protection provisoire pendant que le gouvernement du Canada, la Qikiqtani Inuit Association et le gouvernement du Nunavut travaillent avec les partenaires et intervenants inuits pour explorer la faisabilité de mesures de protection à long terme pour la zone.

Contexte environnemental

Tuvaijuittuq, qui signifie « l’endroit où la glace ne fond jamais » en inuktitut, est situé dans une région qui a été utilisée par les inuits pour les déplacements et la récolte. Cette zone marine d'importance culturelle et historique est considéré comme unique à l’échelle mondiale, nationale et régionale en raison de la présence de banquise pluriannuelle. La ZPM de Tuvaijuittuq comprend les eaux marines au large du nord de l’île d’Ellesmere, de la laisse de basse mer à la limite externe de la zone économique exclusive du Canada.

Cette région éloignée possède la glace de mer la plus ancienne et la plus épaisse de l’océan Arctique. Comme la glace de mer continue de décliner dans l’Arctique, on s’attend à ce que la glace dans cette région dure le plus longtemps. Cela fait de la région un habitat estival unique et potentiellement important pour les espèces qui dépendent de la glace, notamment le morse, le phoque et l’ours blanc.

Au cours des trente dernières années, l’océan Arctique a perdu une superficie de glace de mer équivalente à celle du Manitoba et du Québec réunis, ce qui rend l’Arctique plus accessible aux activités commerciales comme la navigation, les pêches, le tourisme et l’exploitation minière. Il est essentiel de mieux connaître cette région, car les changements climatiques continuent d’entraîner le déclin dramatique de la glace de mer. Bien qu'historiquement cette région ait été utilisée par les inuits, en particulier pour les déplacements et la récolte, il n’y a actuellement aucun peuplement humain permanent à l’intérieur ou à proximité de Tuvaijuittuq. Les deux zones habitées les plus proches de Tuvaijuittuq incluent la communauté de Grise Fiord dans l'Extrême-Arctique et la Station des Forces canadiennes (SFC) Alert, située à l’extrémité nord de l’île d’Ellesmere. Grise Fiord est le hameau le plus au nord du Canada et la SFC Alert est l’établissement habité le plus au nord du monde.

Écosystème

Écosystème

Tuvaijuittuq est une région d’importance écologique particulière en raison de la présence d’une vieille banquise épaisse et pluriannuelle. La glace de mer fournit un habitat pour des organismes adaptés à la glace, tels que des algues microscopiques, qui forment la base des réseaux trophiques marins de l’Arctique et qui alimentent les mammifères marins et les ours polaires. La vie dans les fonds marins de cette région est plus abondante et diversifiée qu’on ne l’avait prévu et peut aussi avoir d’importantes répercussions sur la survie d’animaux plus gros comme le morse et le phoque barbu. On s’attend à ce que l’importance de la région pour les écosystèmes régionaux devienne plus critique à mesure que l’Arctique continue de perdre de la glace de mer à un rythme rapide.

Tuvaijuittuq est également unique en raison de sa circulation dans la région du gyre de Beaufort, un courant de l’océan Arctique provoqué par le vent qui contient une accumulation importante d’eau douce provenant des rivières arctiques d’Amérique du Nord et d’Eurasie. Le gyre est une source importante de glace pluriannuelle pour l’Arctique, par l’intermédiaire de l’archipel Arctique canadien.

(À gauche et en haut) Ctenophores provenant des eaux marines sous la glace de mer à Tuvaijuittuq copyright Pierre Coupel. Siphonophore provenant des eaux marines sous la glace de mer à Tuvaijuittuq copyright Pascal Tremblay

(À gauche et en haut) Ctenophores provenant des eaux marines sous la glace de mer à Tuvaijuittuq © Pierre Coupel

Siphonophore provenant des eaux marines sous la glace de mer à Tuvaijuittuq © Pascal Tremblay

Vue aérienne de morses sur une plaque de glace flottante dans l’Extrême-Arctique Copyright Blair Dunn

Vue aérienne de morses sur une plaque de glace flottante dans l’Extrême-Arctique © Blair Dunn

Gestion et conservation

Gestion et conservation

2019 Camp d'observation des glaces de programme multidisciplinaire arctique (PMA) à Tuvaijuittuq Copyright Christine Michel

2019 Camp d'observation des glaces de programme multidisciplinaire arctique (PMA) à Tuvaijuittuq © Christine Michel

Secteur de banquise pluriannuelle à Tuvaijuittuq Copyright Pierre Coupel

Secteur de banquise pluriannuelle à Tuvaijuittuq © Pierre Coupel

La collaboration et le partenariat sont indispensables à la gestion et à la conservation efficaces du milieu marin arctique canadien. Le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement du Nunavut et l’Association inuite du Qikiqtani (AIQ) ont établi un protocole d’entente dans le but d’appuyer la promotion de la protection marine à Tuvaijuittuq. De plus, une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits a été négociée avec l’Association inuite du Qikiqtani pour une future aire marine nationale de conservation dans Tallurutiup Imanga. Une approche pangouvernementale de la négociation de l’entente signifie que cette dernière s’appliquera également aux futures zones de protection marines à long terme à Tuvaijuittuq.

L’objectif principal de la ZPM de Tuvaijuittuq est de protéger et de conserver la diversité biologique, l’habitat structurel et la fonction de l’écosystème, tout en recueillant des renseignements supplémentaires pour optimiser les outils de conservation appropriés pour la protection à long terme. Les activités de recherche en cours dans cette zone pourront se poursuivre, ce qui servira de base à l’évaluation des options à long terme, fondée sur des données factuelles.

Pêches et Océans Canada continuera de collaborer avec ses partenaires et les parties intéressées pour évaluer les options à long terme appropriées. Une étude de faisabilité pour l’application de mesures de protection à long terme à Tuvaijuittuq est en cours en partenariat avec le gouvernement du Nunavut et la Qikiqtani Inuit Association. La science et le savoir traditionnel et local joueront un rôle essentiel dans l’évaluation. Cela comprendra l’Inuit Qaujimajajatuqangit, une source d’information transmise de génération en génération qui englobe les croyances, les principes et les valeurs inuits, ainsi que les connaissances, les compétences et les attitudes traditionnelles. L’évaluation tiendra également compte des avantages et des effets sociaux, environnementaux, administratifs et économiques de l’établissement de zone de protection marine à long terme dans la région.

Tuvaijuittuq étant situé en partie dans la région du Nunavut, il est soumis à l’Accord du Nunavut. À titre d’autorité fédérale principale chargée de la ZPM de Tuvaijuittuq, Pêches et Océans Canada assume la responsabilité générale d’assurer le respect de l’arrêté ministériel et à son application. Les activités d’application découlent de son mandat officiel et des responsabilités qui lui incombent en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, de la Loi sur les pêches et d’autres lois concernant la conservation des pêches, la protection de l’environnement, la protection de l’habitat et la sécurité maritime. Des agents d’application de la loi désignés par le ministère conformément à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les océans appliqueront l’arrêté ministériel dans cette zone. Quiconque enfreint l’arrêté commet une infraction et peut être passible des peines prévues à l’article 37 de la Loi sur les océans.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la zone de protection marine de Tuvaijuittuq, veuillez communiquer avec :

Programme des océans
Pêches et Océans Canada
Région du Centre et de l’Arctique
Institut des eaux douces
501, Université Crescent
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3T 2N6
Téléphone : 204-983-5006
Courriel : DFO.HABMPA-BEAMPA.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Recherche et publications

Recherche et publications

Recherche

Ours blanc avec son ourson sur des glaces flottantes dans l’Extrême-Arctique Copyright Sophie Galarneau

Ours blanc avec son ourson sur des glaces flottantes dans l’Extrême-Arctique © Sophie Galarneau

Pêches et Océans Canada, en collaboration avec des experts internationaux, le milieu universitaire et d’autres ministères du gouvernement, dirige le Programme multidisciplinaire arctique depuis 2018 visant à étudier l’écosystème des glaces de mer pluriannuelles dans l’Extrême­Arctique canadien.

Publications

Autres ressources

Rapport de désignation

Rapport de désignation

L’arrêté ministériel et le résumé de l’étude d’impact de la réglementation de la ZPM de Tuvaijuittuq fût publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada le 21 août 2019. Conformément au paragraphe 35.1(4) de la Loi sur les océans, Pêches et Océans Canada publie un rapport sur la désignation de la ZPM de Tuvaijuittuq. Ce rapport :

  • indique la zone de la mer qui est désignée;
  • résume les consultations entreprises avant la désignation de la ZPM;
  • résume l’information environnementale, sociale, culturelle ou économique qui a été recueillie et prise en compte dans la création de la ZPM.

Veuillez suivre ce lien afin d’accéder au rapport :

Date de modification :