Activity application for St. Anns Bank MPA

1. Overview

The St. Anns Bank Marine Protected Area (MPA) was established to protect the unique habitats and areas of high biological diversity and biological productivity found there. The conservation objectives were developed to ensure no unacceptable reduction or human-caused modification in the productivity, biodiversity, or habitat in the area. This MPA is complex with four zones and different activities allowed in each zone. Refer to the Regulations and Schedules for precise requirements and coordinates.

With certain exceptions, the Regulations prohibit any activity that disturbs, damages, destroys or removes any living marine organism or any part of its habitat or is likely to do so. Activities that may be allowed to occur in the MPA are listed under the ‘exceptions’ section of the Regulations and include:

  • Certain types of fishing, according to prescribed Regulations and zones;
  • Navigation; and
  • Activities carried out for public safety, national defence, national security, law enforcement, or in response to an emergency.

In addition, scientific research or monitoring, educational, or commercial marine tourism activities may be allowed to occur within the MPA if a proponent submits an activity plan to the Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and it receives Ministerial approval. The conditions for approval are outlined in the MPA Regulations.

Date modified:

Demande d’activités pour la ZPM du banc de Sainte-Anne

1. Aperçu

La zone de protection marine (ZPM) du banc de Sainte-Anne a été établie afin de protéger les habitats uniques et les zones de grande diversité biologique et de productivité biologique qui s’y trouvent. Les objectifs de conservation ont été fixés afin d’empêcher toute réduction inacceptable ou modification d’origine humaine de la productivité, de la biodiversité ou des habitats dans la zone. Cette ZPM est complexe et comprend quatre zones et différentes activités autorisées dans chaque zone. Veuillez vous reporter à la rubrique Règlement et annexes pour obtenir les exigences et les coordonnées précises.

Avec certaines exceptions, le Règlement interdit toute activité qui perturbe, endommage, détruit ou retire un organisme marin vivant ou toute partie de son habitat, ou qui est susceptible de le faire. Les activités qui peuvent être autorisées dans la ZPM sont énumérées à l’article « Exceptions » du Règlement et comprennent notamment ce qui suit :

  • Certains types de pêche, en fonction du Règlement prescrit et des zones;
  • La navigation;
  • Toute activité visant à assurer la sécurité publique, la défense nationale, la sécurité nationale ou l’application de la loi, ou à répondre à une situation d’urgence.

En outre, des activités de recherche ou de suivi scientifiques ainsi que des activités éducatives ou de tourisme maritime commercial peuvent être autorisées dans la ZPM si le promoteur soumet un plan d’activités au ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) et reçoit l’approbation du ministre. Les conditions d’approbation sont énoncées dans le Règlement sur la ZPM.

Date de modification :