Laurentian Channel Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Note:

Charts, diagrams and contact information on this website are provided for information purposes only and should not be used for fishing, navigation or other purposes. Please refer to the MPA Regulations or contact your regional Fisheries and Oceans Canada office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Map: Laurentian Channel Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Map: Laurentian Channel Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Dataset for all MPAs available.

Sea pen with redfish © DFO

Sea pen with redfish © DFO

Location

Off the southwest coast of Newfoundland and Labrador; Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion.

Approximate Size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

11,580 km2

Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

0.20%

Date of Designation

April 2019

Conservation Objectives

  • Protect corals, particularly significant concentrations of sea pens, from harm due to human activities (e.g., fishing, oil and gas exploratory drilling, submarine cable installation and anchoring) in the Laurentian Channel.
  • Protect Black Dogfish from human induced mortality (e.g., bycatch in the commercial fishery) in the Laurentian Channel.
  • Protect Smooth Skate from human induced mortality (e.g., bycatch in the commercial fishery) in the Laurentian Channel.
  • Protect Porbeagle sharks from human induced mortality (e.g., bycatch in the commercial fishery, seismic activities) in the Laurentian Channel.
  • Promote the survival and recovery of Northern Wolffish by minimizing risk of harm from human activities (e.g., bycatch in the commercial fishery) in the Laurentian Channel.
  • Promote the survival and recovery of Leatherback Sea Turtles by minimizing risk of harm from human activities (e.g., entanglement in commercial fishing gear, seismic activities) in the Laurentian Channel.

Prohibitions

Laurentian Channel MPA Regulations prohibit activities that disturb, damage, destroy or remove from this Area, living marine organisms or any part of their habitat or that is likely to do so, unless listed as exceptions in the Regulations or approved by the Minister. Recreational and commercial fishing, and oil and gas exploration and exploitation are prohibited in all zones of the MPA. The Core Protection Zone provides additional protection by prohibiting anchoring and laying of submarine cables.

Environmental Context

The Laurentian Channel is a deep submarine valley more than 1,200 km in length, stretching from the intersection of the St. Lawrence and Saguenay Rivers to the edge of the continental shelf off Newfoundland. The area of the entire Channel is approximately 35,800 km2; however, the MPA occupies only 11,580 km2 of the total. The MPA includes the seabed, the subsoil to a depth of five metres, and the water column above the seabed.

The Laurentian Channel MPA provides important habitat for a variety of marine species. Black dogfish and juvenile smooth skate are present in high numbers throughout the area. Porbeagle and basking sharks move into the area in the spring and reside within the MPA throughout the summer, and one of only two known porbeagle mating grounds occurs within the MPA boundaries. Two species at risk, the Northern wolffish and the leatherback sea turtle, have been found in the area. At least 20 species of whales and dolphins have also been observed in the area, as it is a critical feeding area and migration route into and out of the Gulf of St. Lawrence. In addition, the Laurentian Channel MPA has been described as having the highest sea-pen concentrations in the entire Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves bioregion.

Ecosystem

Ecosystem

A Satellite tagged Porbeagle shark being released © DFO

A Satellite tagged Porbeagle shark being released © DFO

Juvenile and adult sea pen colonies, solitary stony corals, sea anemone and fish in the Laurentian Channel MPA © CHONe-CSSF-DFO

Juvenile and adult sea pen colonies, solitary stony corals, sea anemone and fish in the Laurentian Channel MPA © CHONe-CSSF-DFO

The Laurentian Channel is a deep submarine valley over 1,200 km long, which extends from where the St. Lawrence Estuary and Saguenay River meet to the edge of the continental shelf off Newfoundland. The depth of the MPA varies from 100 to 500 m, with the basin of the Laurentian Channel being the deepest. In general, mud and clay characterize deeper areas and sand and gravel occur mainly on the banks. The majority of the Laurentian Channel MPA is deeper than 150 m. The northeast side of the MPA is the shallowest area, delimited by the edges of the Burgeo and St. Pierre Banks.

The Laurentian Channel MPA will support the conservation of a wide range of habitats and marine species, including commercially important and at risk species, and areas with high concentrations of sensitive seafloor corals called sea pens. The complex circulation and oceanographic conditions in the Laurentian Channel MPA result in a unique habitat. The area is an important spawning, nursing, and feeding area for a variety of species.

The Laurentian Channel MPA is an ecologically important area, providing important habitat for a variety of marine species. Black Dogfish and juvenile Smooth Skate are present in high numbers throughout the area. Porbeagle and basking sharks move into the area in the spring and reside within the MPA throughout the summer. One of only two known Porbeagle mating grounds occurs within the boundaries. Two species at risk, the Northern wolffish and the leatherback sea turtle, have been found in the area. In addition, at least 20 species of whales and dolphins have been observed in the area, as it is a critical feeding area and migration route into and out of the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

The Laurentian Channel contains significant coral concentrations, in particular sea pen populations, representing sensitive benthic habitats. Corals are important to the ecosystem and depend on the integrity of the sands and muds in the area for their survival. Of the variety of coral species found in the area, sea pens have been recorded in the greatest numbers and diversity, with the Laurentian Channel being described as having the highest sea pen concentrations within the entire Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion.

Management and Conservation

Management and Conservation

The primary objective of the Laurentian Channel MPA is to conserve biodiversity through the protection of key species and their habitats, ecosystem structure and function, and through scientific research. The most effective way to preserve biodiversity and ensure the survival of species is through long-term habitat protection. The MPA regulations foster biodiversity conservation in the Laurentian Channel through the reduction of risk and harm posed by human activities.

A Management Plan for the Laurentian Channel MPA is under development. The management plan will outline DFO’s approach to managing activities in the MPA. The plan will provide further guidance on the Regulations and a comprehensive set of conservation and management strategies for the MPA.

The Regulations prohibit any activity that disturbs, damages, destroys or removes a living marine organism or any part of its habitat in the Laurentian Channel MPA. This includes a prohibition on recreational and commercial fishing, oil and gas exploration and exploitation throughout the MPA.

The Regulations allow certain exceptions to the prohibitions for specified activities, if they are compatible with the conservation objectives of the MPA, these include:

  • Aboriginal food, social and ceremonial fisheries;
  • Marine Navigation;
  • Installation, repair and maintenance of submarine cables continue to be allowed in Zones 2a and 2b as long as they are not likely to destroy marine habitat;
  • Scientific research, scientific monitoring, and educational activities are allowed throughout the MPA, subject to the Minister’s approval of an activity plan; and
  • Activities related to safety and security.

As the lead federal authority for the MPA, DFO has overall responsibility for ensuring compliance with, and enforcement of the Regulations. This is undertaken through the Department’s legislated mandate and responsibilities under the Oceans Act and the Fisheries Act, as well as other legislation applicable to fisheries conservation, environmental protection, habitat protection and marine safety. Enforcement officers designated by the Minister pursuant to section 39 of the Oceans Act will enforce the Regulations for these areas. Anyone contravening the Regulations commits an offence and can be subject to the punishments listed in section 37 of the Oceans Act.

Activity Application

Activity application for Laurentian Channel MPA

Activities focused on scientific research or monitoring or education are allowed to take place in the Laurentian Channel MPA, if the proponent submits an activity plan to Fisheries and Oceans Canada and receives approval from the Minister.

Begin Activity Application process

Research and Publications

Research Objectives

  • Advance the understanding of the location, health and integrity of cold water corals and sponges in the Laurentian Channel MPA.
  • Identify important as well as sensitive marine benthic areas and habitats in the Laurentian Channel MPA by supporting the conduct of scientific surveys, mapping and habitat association studies.
  • Advance the understanding of plankton variability in the area and locations of enhanced productivity supporting benthos, fish and cetaceans.
  • Advance the understanding of cetacean distribution, abundance and migration in the Laurentian Channel MPA.
  • Advance the understanding of the spatial and temporal distribution of sharks and potential threats to sharks in the Laurentian Channel MPA.
  • Advance scientific studies contributing to the identification and understanding of significant or critical habitat for SARA listed species found in the Laurentian Channel MPA.

Publications

Date modified:

Zone de protection marine (ZPM) du chenal Laurentien

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional de Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En bref

En bref

Carte : Zone de protection marine (ZPM) du chenal Laurentien

Carte : Zone de protection marine (ZPM) du chenal Laurentien

Ensemble de données sur les ZPM disponible.

Pennatule et sébaste © MPO

Pennatule et sébaste © MPO

Emplacement

Au large de la côte sud-ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador; biorégion des plates-formes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador.

Contribution approximative en superficie (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine

11 580 km2

Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine

0,20 %

Date de désignation

Avril 2019

Objectifs de conservation
  • Protéger les coraux, notamment les concentrations importantes de pennatules, des effets nuisibles découlant des activités humaines pratiquées dans la zone de protection marine (ZPM) du chenal Laurentien (par exemple la pêche, l’exploration pétrolière et gazière, l’installation de câbles sous-marins et l’ancrage).
  • Protéger l’aiguillat noir de la mortalité attribuable aux activités humaines (par exemple les prises accessoires dans le contexte de la pêche commerciale) dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien.
  • Protéger la raie à queue de velours de la mortalité attribuable aux activités humaines (par exemple, les prises accessoires dans le contexte de la pêche commerciale) dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien.
  • Protéger la maraîche de la mortalité attribuable aux activités humaines (par exemple les prises accessoires dans le contexte de la pêche commerciale) dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien.
  • Promouvoir la survie et le rétablissement du loup à tête large en atténuant les risques de dommages causés par les activités humaines (par exemple, les prises accessoires dans le contexte de la pêche commerciale) dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien.
  • Promouvoir la survie et le rétablissement de la tortue luth en atténuant les risques de dommages causés par les activités humaines (par exemple, les empêtrements dans des engins de pêche commerciaux, les activités sismiques) dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien.

Interdictions

Le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine (ZPM) du chenal Laurentien interdit les activités qui perturbent, endommagent, détruisent ou enlèvent de cette zone des organismes marins vivants ou toute partie de leur habitat – ou qui sont susceptibles de le faire –, à moins que ces activités ne soient visées par une exemption en vertu du Règlement ou soient approuvées par le ministre. La pêche récréative et commerciale ainsi que l’exploration et l’exploitation pétrolières et gazières sont interdites dans toutes les zones de la ZPM. De plus, la zone de protection centrale offre une protection supplémentaire et interdit l’ancrage et la pose de câbles sous-marins.

Contexte environnemental

Le chenal Laurentien est une vallée sous-marine profonde, longue de plus de 1 200 km, qui s’étend du confluent du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de la rivière Saguenay jusqu’au bord de la plate-forme continentale, au large de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. La superficie de l’ensemble du chenal est d’environ 35 800 km2; cependant, la ZPM n’occupe que 11 580 km2 du total. La ZPM comprend le fond marin, le sous-sol jusqu’à une profondeur de cinq mètres et la colonne d’eau au-dessus du fond marin.

La ZPM du chenal Laurentien fournit un habitat important à diverses espèces marines. Des aiguillats noirs et des spécimens juvéniles de raies à queue de velours y sont présents en grand nombre. La maraîche et le requin pèlerin se déplacent dans la ZPM au printemps et y résident tout au long de l’été, et l’un des deux seuls sites de reproduction connus de la maraîche se trouve dans les limites de la ZPM. Deux espèces en péril, le loup à tête large et la tortue luth, y ont été observées. Au moins 20 espèces de baleine et de dauphin y ont aussi été observées, puisque cette zone fait office d’aire d’alimentation et de voie de migration essentielles pour les espèces qui se déplacent vers le golfe du Saint-Laurent et qui en ressortent. De plus, la ZPM du chenal Laurentien a été décrite comme présentant les plus fortes concentrations de pennatules de toute la biorégion des plates-formes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador.

Écosystème

Écosystème

Libération d’une maraîche munie d’un émetteur satellite © MPO

Libération d’une maraîche munie d’un émetteur satellite © MPO

Colonies de pennatules juvéniles et adultes, coraux solitaires, anémone de mer et poissons dans la ZPM du Chenal Laurentien © CHONe-CSSF-DFO

Colonies de pennatules juvéniles et adultes, coraux solitaires, anémone de mer et poissons dans la ZPM du Chenal Laurentien © CHONe-CSSF-DFO

Le chenal Laurentien est une vallée sous-marine d’une longueur de plus de 1 200 km, qui s’étend de l’intersection de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent et de la rivière Saguenay jusqu’au bord de la plate-forme continentale, au large de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. La ZPM du chenal Laurentien affiche des profondeurs allant de 100 à 500 m, le bassin du chenal étant situé à la plus grande profondeur. En général, les zones les plus profondes sont caractérisées par la présence de boue et d’argile, tandis que le sable et le gravier se trouvent principalement sur les bancs. La plus grande partie de la ZPM du chenal Laurentien dépasse les 150 m de profondeur. Le côté nord-est de la ZPM est le secteur le moins profond, délimité par les rives des bancs Burgeo et Saint-Pierre.

La ZPM du chenal Laurentien appuiera la conservation d’une grande variété d’habitats et d’espèces marines, y compris des espèces d’importance commerciale, des espèces en péril et des zones à forte concentration de coraux sensibles du fond marin appelés pennatules. La circulation et les conditions océanographiques complexes qui caractérisent la ZPM du chenal Laurentien en font un habitat unique. La zone constitue une importante aire de frai, d’alevinage et d’alimentation pour un grand nombre d’espèces.

La Zone de protection marine du chenal Laurentien est une zone d’importance sur le plan écologique qui fournit un habitat important à de nombreuses espèces marines. Des aiguillats noirs et des spécimens juvéniles de raies à queue de velours y sont présents en grand nombre. Des maraîches et des requins-pèlerins se rendent dans cette zone au printemps et résident dans la zone de protection marine durant l’été. Un des deux seuls lieux connus d’accouplement de la maraîche se trouve dans les limites de la zone. Deux espèces en péril, le loup à tête large et la tortue luth, y ont été observées. De plus, au moins 20 espèces de baleine et de dauphin y ont été observées, puisque cette zone fait office d’aire d’alimentation et de voie de migration essentielles pour les espèces qui se déplacent vers le golfe du Saint-Laurent et qui en ressortent.

Le chenal Laurentien abrite des populations importantes de coraux, en particulier de pennatules, qui constituent des habitats benthiques sensibles. Les coraux sont importants pour l’écosystème et leur survie dépend de l’intégrité des fonds sablonneux et vaseux. De toutes les espèces de coraux observées dans la zone, les pennatules affichent, selon les observations, la plus forte abondance et la plus grande diversité. Le chenal Laurentien est considéré comme présentant les concentrations de pennatules les plus élevées de toute la biorégion des plates-formes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador.

Gestion et conservation

Gestion et conservation

L’objectif principal de la ZPM du chenal Laurentien est de conserver la biodiversité en protégeant les espèces clés et leurs habitats, en maintenant les fonctions et la structure de l’écosystème et en effectuant des recherches scientifiques. La manière la plus efficace de préserver la biodiversité et de veiller à la survie des espèces est la protection de l’habitat à long terme. Le Règlement sur la ZPM vise à encourager la conservation de la biodiversité dans le chenal Laurentien en réduisant les risques et les dommages engendrés par les activités humaines.

Un plan de gestion de la ZPM du chenal Laurentien est en cours d’élaboration. Le plan de gestion décrira l’approche adoptée par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) pour gérer les activités au sein de la ZPM. Il fournira d’autres directives sur le Règlement et un ensemble complet de stratégies de conservation et de gestion pour la ZPM.

Le Règlement interdit, dans la zone de protection marine du chenal Laurentien, toute activité qui perturbe, endommage, détruit ou enlève tout organisme marin vivant ou toute partie de son habitat. Cela comprend une interdiction de pêche récréative et commerciale, d’exploration pétrolière et gazière et d’exploitation dans l’ensemble de la ZPM.

Le Règlement prévoit certaines exceptions aux interdictions relatives aux activités visées, si ces dernières sont compatibles avec les objectifs de conservation de la ZPM. Voici quelques-unes de ces exceptions :

  • Pêches autochtones à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles;
  • Navigation maritime;
  • L’installation, la réparation et l’entretien de câbles sous marins continuent d’être permises dans les zones 2a et 2b tant que ces activités ne sont pas susceptibles de détruire l’habitat marin;
  • Les activités de recherche et de suivi scientifiques et les activités éducatives sont permises dans l’ensemble de la ZPM, sous réserve de l’approbation d’un plan d’activités par le ministre;
  • Activités liées à la sûreté et à la sécurité.

À titre d’autorité fédérale principale chargée de la ZPM, le MPO assume la responsabilité générale d’assurer le respect et l’application du Règlement. Il le fait dans le cadre de son mandat officiel et des responsabilités qui lui incombent en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, de la Loi sur les pêches et d’autres lois relatives à la conservation des pêches, la protection de l’environnement, la protection de l’habitat et la sécurité maritime. Des agents d’application de la loi désignés par le ministre conformément à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les océans feront appliquer le Règlement dans ces zones. Quiconque enfreint le Règlement commet une infraction et peut être passible des peines prévues à l’article 37 de la Loi sur les océans.

Demande d’activité

Demande d’activité dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien

Des activités de recherche ou de suivi scientifiques ainsi que des activités éducatives sont permises dans la zone de protection marine du chenal Laurentien si le promoteur soumet un plan d’activité à Pêches et Océans Canada et qu’il reçoit l’approbation du ministre.

Lancer le processus de demande d’activité

Recherche et publications

Objectifs de recherche

  • Améliorer la compréhension de l'emplacement, de la santé et de l'intégrité des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide se trouvant dans la zone de protection marine du chenal Laurentien.
  • Déterminer des zones marines benthiques et des habitats importants et vulnérables dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien en appuyant la réalisation de relevés scientifiques, l'établissement de cartes et la réalisation d'études d'association espèce-habitat.
  • Améliorer la compréhension de la variabilité du plancton dans la zone et les emplacements à forte productivité qui appuient le benthos, les poissons et les cétacés.
  • Améliorer la compréhension de la répartition, de l'abondance et de la migration des cétacés dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien.
  • Améliorer la compréhension de la répartition spatiotemporelle des requins et des menaces potentielles pour les requins dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien.
  • Mener des études scientifiques contribuant à l'établissement et à la compréhension d'habitats importants ou essentiels liés aux espèces qui sont inscrites sur la liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril et qui sont présentes dans la ZPM du chenal Laurentien.

Publications

Date de modification :