What is an MPA?

An MPA is part of the ocean that is legally protected and managed to achieve the long-term conservation of nature. MPAs may allow some current and future activities depending on their impacts to the ecological features being protected. They provide many benefits for Canadians, from environmental to social and cultural contributions.

Contribute to a healthy marine environment:

  • MPAs and MPA networks help conserve and protect marine species and populations, the diversity of ecosystems that marine organisms depend on, and special places such as underwater canyons and hydrothermal vents.
  • MPA networks also help to protect important ecological links between one area and another, contributing to improved species resilience and adaptation to future pressures.

Support economic goals of society:

  • Resilient and healthy ecosystems help to support sustainable industries, local economies and coastal communities.
  • In time, protected areas can be a source of young fish to disperse to other areas, and a source of larger and more abundant fish for unprotected areas near MPAs.
  • A MPA network strategy clarifies our direction for marine conservation, so ocean users will have a clearer vision of their potential access and restrictions to marine resources.

Contribute to Canadian culture:

  • MPAs can be developed to conserve and protect marine areas with spiritual or cultural heritage value such as archaeological sites, shipwrecks, and areas traditionally used by Aboriginal and non-aboriginal communities.
  • Recreation, tourism and education activities that are consistent with the objectives of a protected area may be permitted, improving public awareness, understanding and appreciation of Canada’s marine heritage.
Date modified:

Qu'est-ce qu'une ZPM?

Une ZPM fait partie de l'océan qui est légalement protégé et gérée pour assurer la conservation à long terme de la nature. Les ZPM peuvent permettre certaines activités présentes et futures en fonction de leurs impacts sur les caractéristiques écologiques protégées. Elles offrent de nombreux avantages aux Canadiens, tel que, les contributions environnementales ainsi que les contributions sociales et culturelles.

Contribuer à un environnement marin en santé :

  • Les ZPM et les réseaux de ZPM aident à conserver et à protéger les espèces marines et leurs populations, la diversité des écosystèmes dont l’organisme marin dépend et les places spéciales tels les canyons sous-marins et les cheminées hydrothermales.
  • Les réseaux de ZPM peuvent également aider à la protection d’importants liens écologiques entre une zone et l’autre, en contribuant à l’amélioration et à l’endurance des espèces et à l’adaptation aux pressions futures.

Soutien aux objectifs économiques de la société :

  • La résistance et les écosystèmes sains aident à soutenir l’industrie durable, les économies locales et les collectivités côtières.
  • Avec le temps, les zones protégées peuvent être une source tant pour permettre aux alevins de se disperser vers d’autres zones et une source plus grande et plus abondante pour les poissons des zones non protégées près des ZPM.
  • La stratégie d’un réseau de ZPM clarifie notre orientation en faveur de la conservation marine, de sorte que les utilisateurs de l’océan auront une vision claire de la réussite potentielle et des restrictions aux ressources marines.

Contribuer à la culture canadienne :

  • Des ZPM peuvent être créées pour conserver et protéger les zones marines auxquelles est associé un héritage spirituel et culturel, notamment les sites archéologiques, les épaves et les zones utilisées traditionnellement par les collectivités autochtones et non autochtones.
  • La pêche récréative, le tourisme et les activités d’éducation qui sont conformes aux objectifs d’une zone protégée peuvent être permis, améliorant la sensibilisation du public et une compréhension et une appréciation de l’héritage marin canadien.
Date de modification :