Hecate Strait / Queen Charlotte Sound Glass Sponge Reefs MPA

Location

The Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound Glass Sponge Reefs Marine Protected Area was designated in February 2017. The MPA is located in the Northern Shelf bioregion of the Pacific Region, southeast of Haida Gwaii, North and South of the entrance to the Douglas Channel. The four reefs in the MPA are thought to be over 9,000 years old. They were the first discovered living examples of glass sponge reefs, thought to be extinct worldwide, that existed during the Jurassic period. Live glass sponge reefs are unique to Pacific coastal waters.The MPA is composed of three individual areas known as the Northern Reef, the Central Reefs, and the Southern Reef. Together these three areas cover approximately 2,410 square kilometers.

Ecosystem

The discovery of four major glass sponge reefs in 1987 by the Geological Survey of Canada sparked interest in these delicate and vulnerable marine animals. Thought to be extinct worldwide, the four reefs in Hecate Strait were determined to be over 9000 years old. They are considered to be the largest living example of glass sponge reefs that were abundant during the Jurassic period.

The reefs are very large, covering a total area of about 1000 km2. They are located at depths of 140 to 240 m below the surface, with the largest being 35 km long, 15 km wide and 25 m tall.

These sponges are fragile, with skeletons made of silica, or glass. Sponges are easily broken on impact, and can be smothered by increased sediment. The ocean conditions necessary to allow such large reefs to develop are rare, and the fragility of the reefs make them vulnerable to damage from human activity.

Each sponge may live for over 200 years, and the slow growth and vulnerability of the sponges suggests that recovery from damage may take tens to several hundreds of years. If the skeletons of dead sponges are buried or destroyed, new sponges cannot grow to add stability to the reef.

The sponge reefs provide refuge, habitat, and nursery grounds for aquatic species, including commercially important rockfish and other finfish and shellfish species.

Management & Conservation

The Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound Glass Sponge Reefs MPA conservation objective is to conserve the biological diversity, structural habitat, and ecosystem function of the glass sponge reefs.

The four reefs were closed to groundfish trawl fishing in 2002. In 2006 the initial closures were expanded in size and in gear restrictions to provide more protection for the reefs. However, the trawl fishery closures addressed only one potentially harmful activity. MPA designation provides comprehensive and long-term management and protection for the areas, and allows DFO to effectively manage the broad range of activities that could damage elements of this ecosystem.

An MPA management plan is being developed to guide the day to day management, governance, and monitoring of the MPA. It will also guide reporting on the area. The management plan will describe public education and outreach, enforcement and compliance initiatives, as well as regulatory and non-regulatory measures. The inclusion of regulatory and non-regulatory measures is essential to ensuring the continued support of other legislation, regulations and policies that contribute to the protection of this area.

As the lead federal authority for the MPA, DFO has the overall responsibility for ensuring compliance with, and enforcement of, the Regulations. This will be undertaken through the Department’s enforcement responsibilities under the Oceans Act and the Fisheries Act, and other federal legislation regarding fisheries conservation, environmental protection, habitat protection and marine safety. Enforcement officers designated by the Minister according to Section 39 of the Oceans Act would enforce the management actions and Regulations for these areas. Enforcement of the Regulations would be dealt with under Section 37 of the Oceans Act, as would any offences. Other government regulators will also play a role in managing activities in and around the MPA and supporting the enforcement of the Regulations.

Regulations

Established under the Oceans Act, the Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound Glass Sponge Reefs Marine Protected Areas Regulations establish the boundaries of the Northern Reef, the Central Reefs, and the Southern Reef Marine Protected Areas, including the boundaries of the management zones within each protected area.

  • Schedule 1
    Schedule 1
  • Schedule 2
    Schedule 2
  • Schedule 3
    Schedule 3
  • Schedule 4
    Schedule 4

This video outlines the three management zones of the Southern Reef of Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound Glass Sponge Reefs Marine Protected Area: the Core Protection Zone, the Vertical Adaptive Management Zone, and the Adaptive Management Zone.

The core protection zones contain the sponge reefs and are designed to provide the highest level of protection to the reefs. The vertical adaptive management zones consist of the water column that extends above the core protection zones to the sea surface. The adaptive management zones consist of the seabed, subsoil and waters of the Marine Protected Areas that are not part of the core protection zones or the vertical adaptive management zones.

The regulations prohibit:

  • carrying out any activity that disturbs, damages, destroys or removes any living marine organism or any part of its habitat or is likely to do so; or
  • carrying out any scientific research or monitoring, or an educational activity, unless it is part of an activity plan that has been approved by the Minister.

There are exceptions to these prohibitions that identify activities that may be allowed to occur in the MPA in certain zones. The following activities are allowed in the MPA:

  • Certain fishing activities in the adaptive management and vertical adaptive management zones. (Fishing activities will be managed in accordance with integrated fisheries management plans, annual variation orders, regulations and license conditions in a manner consistent with the conservation objective of the MPA. In order to protect the sponge reefs, additional fisheries management measures for bottom contact and midwater trawl fisheries are currently required throughout the MPA.);
  • Navigation activities throughout the MPA; however, anchoring is not allowed in the core protection zones;
  • The laying, maintenance or repair of cables in the adaptive management zones;
  • Activities carried out for public safety, public health, national defense, national security, law enforcement or in response to an emergency; and
  • Scientific research, monitoring and educational activities that have been approved by the Minister.

All fishing, anchoring, and cable installation, maintenance and repair are prohibited in the core protection zones.

Activity applications

In addition, any person may submit to the Minister an activity plan for the carrying out of scientific research or monitoring, or educational activities in the Marine Protected Areas. If you are interested in conducting one of these activities within the Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound MPA, you must complete and submit an application form to DFO to obtain Ministerial approval. The Minister will have up to 60 days to make a decision to approve or deny the plan. An application form will be posted here shortly. For more information on the activity plan process, please consult the MPA regulations.

Research and Publications

Overview and assessment report for the Hecate Strait/Queen Charlotte Sound glass sponge reefs - Draft (2010)

Pacific Region Cold-Water Coral and Sponge Conservation Strategy (2010-2015)

Date modified:

La ZPM des récifs d'éponges siliceuses du détroit d'Hécate et du bassin de la Reine-Charlotte

Emplacement

La zone de protection marine des récifs d'éponges siliceuses du détroit d'Hécate et du bassin de la Reine-Charlotte a été désignée une zone de protection marine en février 2017. Elle est située dans la biorégion de la plate-forme nord dans la région du Pacifique, au sud-est de Haida Gwaii, au nord et au sud de l'entrée du chenal Douglas. L'on estime que les quatre récifs de la zone de protection marine ont plus de 9 000 ans. Cette découverte nous révèle les premiers exemples vivants de récifs d'éponges siliceuses que l'on croyait disparus de la planète, et dont les ancêtres remontent à la période jurassique. Les récifs d'éponges siliceuses vivantes sont uniques aux eaux côtières du Pacifique. La zone de protection marine comprend trois secteurs distincts qui sont le récif nord, les récifs centraux et le récif sud. Ensemble, ces trois régions s'étendent sur une superficie d'environ 2 410 kilomètres carrés.

Écosystème

La découverte de quatre grands récifs d’éponges siliceuses en 1987 par la Commission géologique du Canada a soulevé l’intérêt pour ces animaux marins délicats et vulnérables. L'âge des quatre récifs du détroit d’Hécate a été établi à plus de 9 000 ans. Ils sont considérés comme le plus grand exemple vivant des récifs d'éponges siliceuses qui abondaient à la période jurassique.

Les récifs sont très grands, couvrant une superficie totale d'environ 1 000 km2. Ils se situent à des profondeurs de 140 à 240 m sous la surface. Le plus grand récif s’étend sur 35 km de longueur, 15 km de largeur et 25 m de hauteur.

Ces éponges sont fragiles, leur squelette étant composé de silice, qui est utilisée dans la fabrication du verre. Les éponges se fracturent facilement à l’impact et peuvent être étouffées par l’accumulation de sédiments. Les conditions océaniques nécessaires au développement de si gros récifs sont rares, et la fragilité des récifs les rend vulnérables aux dommages découlant d’activités humaines.

Chaque éponge peut vivre pendant plus de 200 ans, et la croissance lente ainsi que la vulnérabilité des éponges donnent à penser qu'elles peuvent avoir besoin de plusieurs dizaines à plusieurs centaines d'années pour se rétablir à la suite d'un dommage. Lorsque les squelettes d'éponges mortes sont enfouis ou détruits, de nouvelles éponges ne peuvent pas se former et venir renforcer le récif.

Les récifs d'éponges fournissent un refuge, un habitat et des zones de croissance à de nombreuses espèces aquatiques, notamment des espèces de sébastes importantes sur le plan commercial ainsi que d’autres espèces de poissons, de mollusques et de crustacés.

Gestion et conservation

L'objectif de la zone de protection marine des récifs d'éponges siliceuses du détroit d'Hécate et du bassin de la Reine-Charlotte est de conserver la diversité biologique, l'habitat structurel et la fonction écosystémique des récifs d'éponges siliceuses.

Les quatre récifs ont été fermés à la pêche au chalut du poisson de fond en 2002. En 2006, les fermetures initiales ont été étendues en taille et en restrictions d’engins pour fournir une protection supérieure aux récifs. Cependant, les fermetures de la pêche au chalut n'abordaient qu'une seule activité potentiellement dommageable. La désignation de la zone de protection marine fournit une gestion et une protection globales et à long terme pour ces zones, et donne à Pêches et Océans Canada la possibilité de gérer efficacement la vaste gamme d'activités qui peuvent endommager des éléments de cet écosystème.

Un plan de gestion de la zone de protection marine est en cours d'élaboration afin d'orienter la gestion quotidienne, la gouvernance et le suivi de cette zone. Il encadrera également la production de rapports sur la zone. Le plan de gestion décrira des initiatives d’éducation et de sensibilisation du public, et de conformité et d’application de la loi, ainsi que des mesures réglementaires et non réglementaires. L’inclusion de mesures réglementaires et non réglementaires est essentielle pour assurer l’appui continu d’autres lois, règlements et politiques qui contribuent à la protection de cette zone.

À titre d’autorité fédérale principale chargée de la zone de protection marine, Pêches et Océans Canada assume la responsabilité générale d’assurer le respect et l’application du règlement. Ces activités seront réalisées par le biais des responsabilités du Ministère en matière d’exécution qui lui incombent en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, de la Loi sur les pêches et d’autres lois fédérales concernant la conservation des pêches, la protection de l’environnement, la protection de l’habitat et la sécurité maritime. Des agents d’application de la loi désignés par le ministère conformément à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les océans appliqueront les mesures de gestion et le règlement dans ces zones. L'application du règlement serait traitée en vertu de l'article 37 de la Loi sur les océans, tout comme le seraient les infractions. D'autres organismes de réglementation gouvernementaux joueront également un rôle dans la gestion des activités à l'intérieur de la zone de protection marine et aux alentours et dans l'appui à l'application des règlements.

Règlements

En vertu de la Loi sur les océans, le Règlement sur les zones de protection marine des récifs d'éponges siliceuses du détroit d’Hécate et du bassin de la Reine-Charlotte établit les limites des zones de protection marine du récif nord, des récifs centraux et du récif sud, y compris les limites des zones de gestion de chaque zone de protection.

  • Annexes 1
    Annexes 1
  • Annexes 2
    Annexes 2
  • Annexes 3
    Annexes 3
  • Annexes 4
    Annexes 4

Cette vidéo présente les trois zones de gestion du récif sud des récifs d’éponges siliceuses du détroit d’Hécate et du bassin de la Reine-Charlotte: la Zone de protection centrale, la Zone verticale de gestion adaptative, et la Zone de gestion adaptative.

Les zones de protection centrales abritent les récifs d'éponges et sont conçues pour assurer le niveau de protection le plus élevé pour les récifs. Les zones verticales de gestion adaptative comprennent la colonne d'eau qui se prolonge au-dessus des zones de protection centrales jusqu'à la surface de la mer. Les zones de gestion adaptative comprennent le fond marin, le sous-sol et les eaux des zones de protection marine qui ne font pas partie des zones de protection centrales ou des zones verticales de gestion adaptative.

Le règlement interdit :

  • de mener une activité qui perturbe, endommage, détruit ou retire de sa zone de protection marine tout organisme marin vivant ou toute partie de son habitat, ou qui est susceptible de le faire;
  • de mener une activité de recherche ou de suivi scientifique ou une activité éducative, à moins qu'elle ne fasse partie d'un plan d'activité qui a été approuvé par le ministre.

Il y a des exceptions à ces interdictions qui déterminent les activités qui peuvent être autorisées dans certaines zones de la zone de protection marine. Les activités suivantes sont autorisées dans la zone de protection marine :

  • Certaines activités de pêche dans les zones de gestion adaptative et les zones verticales de gestion adaptative. (Les activités de pêche seront gérées conformément aux plans de gestion intégrée des pêches, aux ordonnances modificatives annuelles, aux règlements et aux conditions de permis, de façon à atteindre l'objectif de conservation de la zone de protection marine. D'autres mesures de gestion des pêches de fond et au chalut pélagique sont nécessaires dans toute la zone de protection marine afin de protéger les récifs d'éponges).
  • Les activités de navigation dans l'ensemble de la zone de protection marine; toutefois, l'ancrage est interdit dans les zones de protection centrales.
  • L'installation, l'entretien ou la réparation de câbles dans les zones de gestion adaptative.
  • Toute activité menée aux fins de sûreté publique, de santé publique, de défense nationale, d'application de la loi ou menée en réponse à une situation d'urgence.
  • La recherche ou le suivi scientifique et les activités éducatives qui ont été approuvées par le ministre.

Tous les ancrages et toutes les activités de pêches et d'installation, d'entretien et de réparation de câbles sont interdits dans les zones de protection centrales.

Demandes d'activités

De plus, quiconque peut présenter au ministre un plan d'activité pour la réalisation d'une activité de recherche ou de suivi scientifique ou de nature éducative dans les zones de protection marine. Si vous souhaitez mener une de ces activités dans la zone de protection marine des récifs d'éponges siliceuses du détroit d'Hécate et du bassin de la Reine-Charlotte, vous devez remplir un formulaire de demande et le présenter à Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir l'approbation du ministère. Le ministre a 60 jours pour approuver ou rejeter le plan. Un formulaire de demande sera publié ici sous peu. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus pour les plans d’activité, veuillez consulter le règlement sur la zone de protection maritime.

Recherche et publications

Overview and assessment report for the Hecate Strait/Queen Charlotte Sound glass sponge reefs - Draft (2010) (rapport d'examen et d'évaluation [ébauche])

Plan de conservation pour les coraux et les éponges d'eau froide de la Région du Pacifique (2010 à 2015)

Date de modification :