Gilbert Bay MPA

Location

Gilbert Bay is 60 km2 in size and is located approximately 300 km from Happy Valley-Goose Bay on Labrador's southeast coast. The bay is 20 km in length but less then 100 m deep with two narrow outlets to the sea, one at Williams Harbour Run and the other at Winard Tickle. This geophysical configuration contributes to the bay's unique character through semi-isolation from the Labrador Sea.

The boundaries of the Gilbert Bay MPA are based on the annual migration of Gilbert Bay cod. They include, from the low water mark, the waters of Gilbert Bay contained within lines drawn across the three entrances of the bay at Winnard Tickle, Williams Harbour Run and Main Tickle.

Within these boundaries, the MPA is divided into three management zones based on differences in the physical environments and habitats and their sensitivity to human activities.

Zone 1:

Two shallow areas in the upper reaches of the bay have been identified as sensitive due to their important spawning, rearing, feeding, and juvenile habitat for Gilbert Bay cod. These areas also have the highest concentrations of cod found within Gilbert Bay. Cod migrate to and from these areas on an annual basis. Due to the importance of these areas in the life cycle of the cod, these areas are given the highest level of management protection. This zone is also important for migrating salmon, char, and trout, and has a number of capelin beaches, and has pristine maerl beds.

Zone 1A consists of waters lying generally northwest of a rhumb line connecting points at 52°38'56" N, 55°59'28" W and 52°37'43" N, 55°59'36" W, that are within an area of the sea bounded by the low-water line of the bay and by the rhumb line to its points of intersection with the low-water line;

Zone 1B consists of waters lying generally southwest of a rhumb line connecting points at 52°37'00" N, 55°58'07" W and 52°36'49" N, 55°57'45" W, that are within an area of the sea bounded by the low-water line of the bay and by the rhumb line to its points of intersection with the low-water line.

Zone 2:

This zone is identified as the main arm of the bay, or the connecting body of water between Zones 1A and B and Zone 3. A smaller but important component of the cod population uses this zone for spawning, feeding and migrating between the outer part of the bay in the summer and the inner part in the fall.

Zone 2 consists of waters that are within an area of the sea bounded by the low-water line of the bay and by the following rhumb lines to their respective points of intersection with the low-water line, namely,

  • a line connecting points at 52°38'56" N, 55°59'28" W and 52°37'43" N, 55°59'36" W,
  • a line connecting points at 52°37'00" N, 55°58'07" W and 52°36'49" N, 55°57'45" W, and
  • a line connecting points at 52°36'16" N, 55°52'19" W and 52°35'38" N, 55°52'20" W; and

Zone 3:

This zone is described as the area from the coastal low water mark seaward to the three entrances connecting Gilbert Bay to the Labrador Sea. This is considered to be an important feeding area, particularly for mature cod that migrate from and through Zones 1 and 2. These cod are known to concentrate in a number of areas within Zone 3. Fin fish species diversity is considered to be highest in this area.

Zone 3 consists of waters that are within an area of the sea bounded by the low-water line of the bay and by the following rhumb lines to their respective points of intersection with the low-water line:

  • a line connecting points at 52°36'16" N, 55°52'19" W and 52°35'38" N, 55°52'20" W,
  • a line connecting points at 52°36'01" N, 55°51'08" W and 52°35'44" N, 55°50'42" W,
  • a line connecting points at 52°33'17" N, 55°46'27" W and 52°32'59" N, 55°46'58" W, and
  • a line connecting points at 52°33'25" N, 55°54'19" W and 52°33'01" N, 55°33'31" W.
Ecosystem

The waters of Gilbert Bay support a wide range of marine resources including several species of shellfish (mussels, scallops, sea urchins, snails, shrimp), cod, pelagic fishes (herring, capelin, salmon, eels, smelt, trout) and aquatic plants (eel grass, kelp). The area is also inhabited by several species of waterfowl including black ducks, geese and mergansers.

Since 1996, scientists from Memorial University of Newfoundland have conducted research in Gilbert Bay and have found the habitat supports a resident population of Atlantic cod. Through careful scientific analysis it has been determined that the "reddish-brown" cod are genetically distinct from other Labrador cod. Tagging and tracking of the cod has confirmed that the species remain in the bay year round.

Since this discovery, people from the local communities, scientists, and the Provincial Government have approached Fisheries and Oceans Canada to put measures in place to protect the unique ecosystem, including the various commercial and non-commercial fish species. On the basis of this support and existing information, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has selected Gilbert Bay as an Area of Interest (AOI) in the Marine Protected Area (MPA) program under the Oceans Act.

In October 2005, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada announced the designation of the Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area.

Management & Conservation

Historically, the Atlantic cod fishery was the most important commercial activity in Newfoundland and Labrador. However, the northern cod stocks are at an extremely low level despite fishery closures and catch reductions since the early 1990’s. Gilbert Bay has been identified as one of the few coastal concentrations of northern cod in the Newfoundland region. MPA status for Gilbert Bay will help conserve and protect the cod population as well as provide indirect protection to other species and their habitats.

The physical characteristics of Gilbert Bay likely play a very important role in the establishment and continued support of the local cod population found there. Within Gilbert Bay, specific areas have been identified as important spawning areas and nursery habitats and, as such, these areas have been afforded the highest level of protection.

Gilbert Bay MPA Management Plan

Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area monitoring report (2009)

Review of the Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area monitoring indicators, protocols and strategies, and an assessment of the Gilbert Bay cod population (2010)

Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area regulations can be found on the Justice Laws website.

Activity Applications

In Marine Protected Areas established under the Oceans Act, it is generally prohibited to carry out any activity that disturbs, damages, destroys or removes any living marine organism or any part of its habitat or is likely to do so. Despite this, there are exceptions to the prohibitions. Activities that may be allowed to occur in the Marine Protected Area are listed under the ‘exception’ section of the Marine Protected Area regulations.

In addition, for most Marine Protected Areas, certain types of activities (e.g., scientific research and monitoring, habitat restoration, commercial marine tourism, and educational activities) may be allowed to occur within the MPA if a proponent submits an activity plan to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans. The conditions for approval are outlined in the MPA regulations.

Research and Publications

Gilbert Bay MPA Management Plan

Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area monitoring report (2009)

Review of the Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area monitoring indicators, protocols and strategies, and an assessment of the Gilbert Bay cod population (2010)

Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area regulations can be found on the Justice Laws website.

Date modified:

La ZPM de la baie Gilbert

Emplacement

La baie Gilbert, qui couvre une superficie de 60 km2, est située sur la côte sud-est du Labrador, à quelque 300 km de Happy Valley-Goose Bay. D'une longueur de 20 km, elle ne dépasse pas 100 m de profondeur et rejoint la mer par deux chenaux étroits, l'un à Williams Harbour Run et l'autre à Winard Tickle. Cette configuration géophysique confère un caractère unique à la baie, qu'elle isole en partie de la mer du Labrador.

Les limites de la ZPM de la baie Gilbert ont été fixées en fonction de la migration annuelle de la morue de cette baie. Elles comprennent, à partir de la laisse de basse mer, les eaux de la baie Gilbert contenues dans les lignes traversant les trois entrées de la baie à Winnard Tickle, à Williams Harbour Run et à Main Tickle.

À l'intérieur de ces limites, la zone de protection marine est divisée en trois zones de gestion en fonction des différences des habitats et des environnements physiques, ainsi que de leur sensibilité aux activités humaines.

Zone 1

Zone 1 (28,7 km2) : Deux zones peu profondes dans la partie supérieure de la baie ont été désignées comme étant sensibles en raison de l'importance du frai, de l'élevage, de l'alimentation et de l'habitat des juvéniles qui s'y trouvent pour la morue de la baie Gilbert. Ces zones ont également les plus fortes concentrations de morue de la baie Gilbert. La morue migre à destination et en provenance de ces zones tous les ans. En raison de l'importance de ces zones dans le cycle de vie de la morue, elles reçoivent le plus haut niveau de gestion et de protection. Cette zone est également importante pour le saumon, l'omble et la truite en migration et dispose d'un certain nombre de plages à capelan et de fonds vierges de maerl.

La zone 1A se compose des eaux qui sont généralement situées au nord-ouest de la ligne loxodromique passant par les points 52° 38′ 56″ N, 55° 59′ 28″ O et 52° 37′ 43″ N, 55° 59′ 36″ O, et qui sont situées à l'intérieur de l'espace maritime délimité par la laisse de basse mer de la baie et par cette ligne entre ses points d'intersection avec la laisse de basse mer.

La zone 1B se compose des eaux qui sont généralement situées au sud-ouest de la ligne loxodromique passant par les points 52° 37′ 00″ N, 55° 58′ 07″ O et 52° 36′ 49″ N, 55° 57′ 45″ O, et qui sont situées à l’intérieur de l’espace maritime délimité par la laisse de basse mer de la baie et par cette ligne entre ses points d’intersection avec la laisse de basse mer;

Zone 2 :

Cette zone est désignée comme étant le bras principal de la baie, soit le plan d'eau connectant les zones 1A, 1B et 3. Un élément plus petit, mais important de la population de morue utilise cette zone pour le frai, l'alimentation et la migration entre la partie extérieure de la baie en été et la partie intérieure à l'automne.

La zone 2 se compose des eaux situées à l’intérieur de l’espace maritime délimité par la laisse de basse mer de la baie et par les lignes loxodromiques passant par les points ci-après entre leurs points d’intersection avec la laisse de basse mer :

  • 52° 38′ 56″ N, 55° 59′ 28″ O et 52° 37′ 43″ N, 55° 59′ 36″ O,
  • 52° 37′ 00″ N, 55° 58′ 07″ O et 52° 36′ 49″ N, 55° 57′ 45″ O,
  • 52° 36′ 16″ N, 55° 52′ 19″ O et 52° 35′ 38″ N, 55° 52′ 20″ O;

Zone 3 :

Cette zone est décrite comme étant la zone allant de la laisse côtière de basse mer côté mer aux trois entrées raccordant la baie Gilbert à la mer du Labrador. Cette zone est considérée comme étant une importante aire d’alimentation, en particulier pour la morue adulte qui migre à partir des zones 1 et 2 et en passant par ces dernières. Cette espèce de morues est connue pour se concentrer dans un certain nombre d’endroits dans la zone 3. On estime que la diversité des espèces de poissons à nageoires est la plus élevée dans cette zone.

La zone 3 se compose des eaux situées à l’intérieur de l’espace maritime délimité par la laisse de basse mer de la baie et par les lignes loxodromiques passant par les points ci-après entre leurs points d’intersection avec la laisse de basse mer :

  • 52° 36′ 16″ N, 55° 52′ 19″ O et 52° 35′ 38″ N, 55° 52′ 20″ O,
  • 52° 36′ 01″ N, 55° 51′ 08″ O et 52° 35′ 44″ N, 55° 50′ 42″ O,
  • 52° 33′ 17″ N, 55° 46′ 27″ O et 52° 32′ 59″ N, 55° 46′ 58″ O,
  • 52° 33′ 25″ N, 55° 54′ 19″ O et 52° 33′ 01″ N, 55° 33′ 31″ O.
Écosystème

Les eaux de la baie Gilbert abritent une grande variété de ressources marines, dont plusieurs espèces de mollusques (moule, pétoncle, oursin, escargot, crevette), un espèce de morue, des poissons pélagiques (hareng, capelan, saumon, anguille, éperlan, truite) et des plantes marines (zostères, varech). Cette zone abrite aussi plusieurs espèces de sauvagine, notamment des canards à sourcils, des oies et des harles.

Des scientifiques de l'université Memorial de Terre-Neuve, qui effectuaient des recherches dans la baie Gilbert depuis 1996, ont découvert que cet habitat abrite une population résidente de morue. Des analyses scientifiques minutieuses ont révélé que la morue « brun rouge » se distingue des autres morues du Labrador sur le plan de la génétique. Des techniques d'étiquetage et de suivi ont permis de confirmer que l'espèce est présente dans la baie tout au long de l'année.

Depuis cette découverte, les habitants des localités environnantes, les chercheurs et le gouvernement provincial ont demandé à Pêches et Océans Canada d'instaurer des mesures pour protéger cet écosystème unique, ainsi que les diverses espèces halieutiques commerciales et non commerciales. En se fondant sur cet appui et sur l'information existante, Pêches et Océans Canada a désigné la zone de la baie Gilbert comme candidate au Programme de zones de protection marine (ZPM) en vertu de la Loi sur les océans.

Le MPO a annoncé la baie Gilbert comme zone de protection marine, le 11 octobre 2005.

Gestion et conservation

Depuis toujours, la pêche de la morue franche constitue l'activité commerciale la plus importante à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Toutefois, les stocks de morue du Nord étaient à un niveau très faible, malgré la clôture de la pêche et une réduction des prises depuis le début des années 1990. La baie Gilbert a été désignée comme ayant l'une des rares concentrations côtières de morue du Nord dans la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Le statut de ZPM de la baie Gilbert aidera à conserver et à protéger la population de morues ainsi qu'à protéger indirectement d'autres espèces et leurs habitats.

Les caractéristiques physiques de la baie Gilbert jouent probablement un rôle très important dans l'établissement et le soutien continu de la population locale de morue qui s'y trouve. Dans la baie Gilbert, des zones précises ont été déterminées comme étant des frayères et des habitats importants et, par conséquent, elles ont été les mieux protégées.

Plan de gestion de la ZPM de la baie Gilbert

Rapport de surveillance de la zone de protection marine de la baie Gilbert (2009)

Examen des indicateurs, des protocoles et des stratégies de surveillance de la zone de protection marine de la baie Gilbert et évaluation de la population de morues de la baie Gilbert (2010)

Le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine de la baie Gilbert se trouve sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice.

Demandes d'activités

Dans les zones de protection marine établies en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, il est généralement interdit de mener une activité qui perturbe, endommage, détruit ou enlève – ou qui est susceptible de perturber, d'endommager, de détruire ou d'enlever – tout organisme marin vivant ou toute partie de son habitat. Malgré cela, il existe des exceptions aux interdictions. Les activités qui peuvent être autorisées dans la zone de protection marine sont énumérées à l'article du Règlement sur la zone de protection marine.

De plus, pour la plupart des zones de protection marine, certains types d'activités (p. ex. la recherche scientifique, la surveillance, la restauration de l'habitat, les activités éducatives et commerciales de tourisme maritime) peuvent être autorisés dans la ZPM si un promoteur soumet un plan d'activités à Pêches et des Océans. Les conditions d'approbation sont énoncées dans le Règlement sur la ZPM.

Recherche et publications

Plan de gestion de la ZPM de la baie Gilbert

Rapport de surveillance de la zone de protection marine de la baie Gilbert (2009)

Examen des indicateurs, des protocoles et des stratégies de surveillance de la zone de protection marine de la baie Gilbert et évaluation de la population de morues de la baie Gilbert (2010)

Le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine de la baie Gilbert se trouve sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice.

Date de modification :