Eastport MPA

Location

There are two small Eastport MPAs, one surrounding Round Island and the other surrounding Duck Islands.

The Eastport - Duck Islands Marine Protected Area (Appendix II) consists of waters in Lobster Fishing Area 5 whose outer limit is a series of rhumb lines commencing at a point 48°45'06" N, 53°41'18" W, then to a point 48°44'30" N, 53°40'42" W, then to a point 48°43'54" N, 53°41'18" W, then to a point 48°44'30" N, 53°42'06" W and then to the point of commencement and whose inner limit is the low-water line of the islands within the outer limit.

The Eastport - Round Island Marine Protected Area (Appendix II) consists of waters in Lobster Fishing Area 5 whose outer limit is a line every point of which is at a distance of 198.12 m (650 feet) from the nearest point of the low-water line of Round Island and whose inner limit is the low-water line of the island.

Ecosystem

The Eastport Peninsula, one of the most picturesque areas of Bonavista Bay, is located approximately three hours drive from St.John's, Newfoundland. The rugged coastline is interrupted by a number of headlands, coves, and beaches. Numerous islands found in the area provide habitat for a variety of marine wildlife. The rich, productive waters surrounding the Eastport Peninsula are host to a wide range of groundfish, pelagic fish, shellfish, marine mammals, and aquatic plants. Since early settlement the people of the Eastport Peninsula have relied on the fishery for their economic subsistence.

In 1995, to address declining catches, the Eastport Peninsula lobster fish harvesters formed the Eastport Peninsula Lobster Protection Committee (EPLPC). The aim of the Committee was to implement an overall lobster conservation strategy for the Eastport Peninsula. Committee members provided information and data required for the management of the resource and implemented various measures to address conservation and sustainability. Based on the initial success of various initiatives, the EPLPC developed an agreement with Fisheries and Oceans Canada in 1997 to limit local fisheries and close two areas of prime lobster habitat to lobster harvesting. One benefit of these initiatives has been the ability of fish harvesters, government, community youth, academics, and scientists to work together and share information and knowledge for better management of the lobster fishery.

In 1999, the EPLPC approached Fisheries and Oceans Canada on establishing a Marine Protected Area (MPA) under the Oceans Act in the Eastport area. The EPLPC feel that establishing a MPA would support their current work and aid in implementing further conservation initiatives. There is scientific evidence that suggests that protecting the two areas of habitat has sustained and perhaps enhanced the local lobster fishery.

In October 2005, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada announced the designation of the Eastport Marine Protected Areas.

For further information please contact:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Oceans Programs Division, Newfoundland Region
P.O. Box 5667
St. John's, NL A1C 5X1

Management & Conservation

The regulatory conservation objectives for Eastport are:

  • to maintain a viable population of American lobster through the conservation, protection, and sustainable use of resources and habitats; and
  • to ensure the conservation and protection of threatened or endangered species.

While not directly related to the conservation and protection of the American lobster and its habitats, non-regulatory conservation objectives do support general marine conservation and the overarching goals of the steering committee. The non-regulatory conservation objectives are:

  • to ensure participation of interested and affected stakeholders and the overall management of the resource
  • to increase stewardship and public awareness of lobster, the ecosystem of the Eastport MPAs and marine conservation measures
  • to promote scientific research to increase levels of understanding regarding the Eastport MPA ecosystem and to help achieve the conservation objectives; and
  • to ensure potential economic benefits resulting from conservation of the resource are centred in the local communities of the Eastport Peninsula; and to maintain and enhance the quality of the Eastport ecosystem.

Review of Eastport Marine Protect Area monitoring indicators, protocols and strategies (2014)

Eastport Marine Protect Area Regulations (SOR/2005-294) can be found on the Justice Laws website.

Activity Applications

In Marine Protected Areas established under the Oceans Act, it is generally prohibited to carry out any activity that disturbs, damages, destroys or removes any living marine organism or any part of its habitat or is likely to do so. Despite this, there are exceptions to the prohibitions. Activities that may be allowed to occur in the Marine Protected Area are listed under the ‘exception’ section of the Marine Protected Area regulations.

In addition, for most Marine Protected Areas, certain types of activities (e.g., scientific research and monitoring, habitat restoration, commercial marine tourism, and educational activities) may be allowed to occur within the MPA if a proponent submits an activity plan to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans. The conditions for approval are outlined in the MPA regulations.

Date modified:

La ZPM d'Eastport

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre d'information seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le règlement de la ZPM ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional du MPO pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

Emplacement
La ZPM d'Eastport

La ZPM d'Eastport

Il existe deux petites zones de protection marines d'Eastport, à savoir les eaux autour de l'île Round et celles autour de l'île Duck.

La zone de protection marine d'Eastport – île Duck (annexe II) comprend les eaux de la zone de pêche du homard 5, dont la délimitation extérieure est la loxodromie partant du point 48° 45′ 06″ N, 53° 41′ 18″ O, passant par les points 48° 44′ 30″ N, 53° 40′ 42″ O, 48° 43′ 54″ N, 53° 41′ 18″ O, 48° 44′ 30″ N, 53° 42′ 06″ O, puis revenant au point de départ, et dont la délimitation intérieure est la laisse de basse mer des îles situées à l'intérieur de la délimitation extérieure.

La zone de protection marine d'Eastport – île Round (annexe II) comprend les eaux de la zone de pêche du homard 5, dont la délimitation extérieure est une ligne dont chaque point est à une distance de 198,12 mètres (650 pieds) du point le plus proche de la laisse de basse mer de l'île Round, et dont la délimitation intérieure est cette laisse de basse mer.

Écosystème

La péninsule d'Eastport, l'un des lieux les plus pittoresques de la baie de Bonavista, est située à quelque trois heures de route de St. John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador). Son littoral accidenté est entrecoupé de promontoires, d'anses et de plages. Ce secteur compte de nombreuses îles, qui fournissent un habitat à une faune marine très diversifiée. Les eaux riches et productives qui entourent la péninsule d'Eastport regorgent d'espèces variées de poissons de fond et pélagiques, de mollusques et de crustacés, de mammifères marins et de plantes aquatiques. Depuis les débuts de la colonisation, les habitants de la péninsule d'Eastport se sont toujours appuyés sur la pêche pour assurer leur subsistance économique.

En 1995, face à un déclin des prises, les pêcheurs de homards locaux ont créé le Eastport Peninsula Lobster Protection Committee, dont l'objectif était de mettre en œuvre une stratégie globale de conservation du homard pour la péninsule d'Eastport. Les membres du Comité ont fourni l'information et les données nécessaires à la gestion de la ressource, puis ils ont adopté diverses mesures de conservation et d'exploitation durable. Encouragé par le succès de diverses initiatives, le Comité a contracté, en 1997, une entente avec Pêches et Océans Canada visant à limiter la pêche locale et à l'interdire dans deux zones d'habitat privilégié du homard. L'une des retombées de ces mesures a été la capacité des diverses parties - pêcheurs, gouvernements, jeunesse locale, universitaires et scientifiques - de collaborer et de mettre en commun l'information et le savoir dans le but d'améliorer la gestion de la récolte du homard.

En 1999, le Comité a demandé à Pêches et Océans Canada d'établir, dans le secteur d'Eastport, une zone de protection marine (ZPM) en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, estimant qu'une telle mesure appuierait leurs travaux en cours et faciliterait la mise en œuvre de nouvelles mesures de conservation. Des recherches scientifiques indiquent que la protection de l'habitat dans ces deux sites a permis de maintenir et peut-être même d'améliorer la pêche du homard dans la région.

Le MPO a annoncé Eastport comme zone de protection marine, en octobre 2005.

Pour plus d'information :
Pêches et Océans Canada
Division des programmes sur les océans, Région de Terre-Neuve
C.P. 5667
St. John's (T.-N.-L.) A1C 5X1

Gestion et conservation

Voici les objectifs de conservation réglementaires pour Eastport :

  • Maintenir une population viable de homards grâce à la conservation, la protection et l'utilisation durable des ressources et des habitats.
  • Assurer la conservation et la protection des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Bien qu'ils ne soient pas directement liés à la conservation et la protection du homard et de ses habitats, les objectifs de conservation non réglementaires appuient la conservation marine en général et les objectifs généraux du Comité directeur. Voici les objectifs de conservation non réglementaires :

  • Assurer la participation des parties intéressées et la gestion globale de la ressource;
  • Augmenter l'intendance et la sensibilisation du public à l'égard du homard, de l'écosystème des zones de protection marines d'Eastport et des mesures de conservation marine;
  • Promouvoir la recherche scientifique pour améliorer la compréhension concernant l'écosystème des zones de protection marines d'Eastport et contribuer à l'atteinte des objectifs de conservation;
  • Garantir que les avantages économiques potentiels découlant de la conservation de la ressource sont centrés dans les collectivités de la péninsule d'Eastport et maintenir et améliorer la qualité de l'écosystème de la région d'Eastport.
Demandes d'activités

Dans les zones de protection marine établies en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, il est généralement interdit de mener une activité qui perturbe, endommage, détruit ou enlève – ou qui est susceptible de perturber, d'endommager, de détruire ou d'enlever – tout organisme marin vivant ou toute partie de son habitat. Malgré cela, il existe des exceptions aux interdictions. Les activités qui peuvent être autorisées dans la zone de protection marine sont énumérées à l'article du Règlement sur la zone de protection marine.

De plus, pour la plupart des zones de protection marine, certains types d'activités (p. ex. la recherche scientifique, la surveillance, la restauration de l'habitat, les activités éducatives et commerciales de tourisme maritime) peuvent être autorisés dans la ZPM si un promoteur soumet un plan d'activités à Pêches et des Océans. Les conditions d'approbation sont énoncées dans le Règlement sur la ZPM.

Recherche et publications
Date de modification :