Basin Head MPA

Location

Basin Head is located on the eastern tip of Prince Edward Island, approximately 100 kilometres east of Charlottetown, between the town of Souris and the community of East Point. Basin Head harbour is a small estuarine lagoon surrounded by agricultural land to the north and by an extensive sand dune system to the south.

Click image to enlarge.

Click image to enlarge.

Ecosystem

Photo Credit: Perry Williams

Basin Head is a shallow coastal lagoon located on the eastern tip of Prince Edward Island, near the town of Souris. The lagoon is surrounded by both agricultural land and an extensive sand dune system. Approximately 5 kilometres long, Basin Head is a unique coastal environment that the community, conservation organizations, and both levels of government are working towards protecting for generations to come.

There are many different types of animal and plant life in the area. Most notable is a unique type of Irish moss that may only exist within the boundaries of Basin Head.

Irish moss is a commercially harvested marine plant throughout the Maritimes. The type in Basin Head is unique because it does not attach to the bottom and is significantly larger than the normal plant found elsewhere. As well, it has a higher concentration of carageenan, an important thickening agent in products we use every day, such as ice cream and sunscreen.

Basin Head has attracted the attention of both government and non-government interests for a number of years. Adjacent to the lagoon is the Basin Head Fisheries Museum, which was established in 1973 and displays the rich cultural history of the nearby coastal communities. Based on extensive public and government input and interest, DFO announced the designation of the Basin Head Marine Protected Area (MPA) in October 2005.

To help foster co-operation, the Basin Head Marine Protected Area Advisory Board was created in 2005 to replace the Basin Head Lagoon Ecosystem Conservation Committee. The Advisory Board is comprised of representatives from various stakeholder groups and government including: DFO, provincial departments of Prince Edward Island (PEI), the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation, Eastern Kings Community Council, environmental non-government organizations (ENGOs), conservation groups, academia, First Nations as well as fishing and agriculture industries.

This Advisory Board provides advice and recommendations to DFO on the management and monitoring of the Basin Head MPA including: the conservation and protection of Irish moss and the ecosystem that supports it, public awareness, education and research. An operational management plan was developed in 2009 and is presently being updated by DFO with the support of the Basin Head Marine Protected Area Advisory Board in order to identify the actions required by both government and the community to provide short and long-term protection for the area.

Management & Conservation

Basin Head MPA Management Plan serves as a guide to facilitate informed decisions in the management of the Basin Head ecosystem. Additionally, it addresses matters such as monitoring, enforcement and compliance, and provides the detail required to ensure that the rationale for management decisions, prohibitions, controls and approvals are clearly justified and understood.

Basin Head MPA Management Plan

Basin Head Marine Protected Area Regulations (SOR/2005-293) can be found on the Justice Laws Website.

Activity Applications

In Marine Protected Areas established under the Oceans Act, it is generally prohibited to carry out any activity that disturbs, damages, destroys or removes any living marine organism or any part of its habitat or is likely to do so. Despite this, there are exceptions to the prohibitions. Activities that may be allowed to occur in the Marine Protected Area are listed under the ‘exception’ section of the Marine Protected Area Regulations.

In addition, for most Marine Protected Areas, certain types of activities (e.g., scientific research and monitoring, habitat restoration, commercial marine tourism, and educational activities) may be allowed to occur within the MPA if a proponent submits an activity plan to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans. The conditions for approval are outlined in the MPA regulations.

Activity plan submission form for Basin Head MPA

Research and Publications
Date modified:

La ZPM de Basin Head

Emplacement

Basin Head se situe à l’extrémité est de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, à environ 100 km à l’est de Charlottetown, entre la ville de Souris et la communauté d’East Point. Le port de Basin Head est une petite lagune estuarienne entourée de terres agricoles au nord et d’un vaste système de dunes sablonneuses au sud.

Cliquez pour agrandir l'image.

Cliquez pour agrandir l'image.

Écosystème

Photo Credit: Perry Williams

Basin Head est une lagune située à l'extrémité est de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, près de la ville de Souris. La lagune est entourée de terres agricoles et d'un vaste système dunaire. Longue de 5 kilomètres seulement, elle constitue un habitat côtier exceptionnel que les organisations de conservation et les deux paliers de gouvernement tentent de protéger au profit des générations à venir.

Cette zone abrite une faune et une flore très diversifiées. Le spécimen le plus remarquable est une forme unique de mousse d'Irlande qui n'est peut-être présente qu'à l'intérieur des limites de Basin Head.

La mousse d'Irlande est une algue récoltée à des fins commerciales partout dans les Maritimes. La mousse qui se trouve dans la zone de Bain Head est unique, car elle ne s'agrippe pas au fond marin et parce qu'elle est beaucoup plus vaste que les plantes habituelles trouvées ailleurs. Elle présente également une concentration plus élevée de carraghénane, gélifiant important utilisé dans des produits d'usage courant, comme la crème glacée et l'écran solaire.

Les organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales s'intéressent à Basin Head depuis déjà plusieurs années. À côté se trouve le Basin Head Fisheries Museum, établi depuis 1973 et qui raconte l'histoire culturelle captivante des villages côtiers de la région. Le Marine Conservation Areas Committee (Comité des aires marines de conservation), présidé par la province, a reconnu dernièrement l'importance écologique de la région. Compte tenu de l'intérêt marqué et soutenu du public et du gouvernement, le MPO a désigné Basin Head comme zone de protection marine le 11 octobre 2005.

Pour favoriser la coopération, depuis 2005 le conseil consultatif de la zone de protection marine de Basin Head a été mis sur pied pour remplacer le Basin Head Lagoon Ecosystem Conservation Committee (Comité de conservation de l'écosystème de la lagune Basin Head). Le Conseil consultatif est composé de plusieurs représentants de parties intéressées et du gouvernement incluant : le MPO, les ministères provinciaux de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Î.-P.-É.), la fondation des musées et de l’héritage de l’I.-P.-É., le conseil municipal de la communauté de Eastern King, les organismes non-gouvernementaux de l'environnement (ONGE), les groupes de conservation, le milieu universitaire, les Premières Nations, ainsi que les industries des pêches et de l'agriculture.

Le Conseil consultatif donne des conseils et des recommandations au MPO concernant la gestion et la surveillance de la ZPM de Basin Head, entre autres sur la conservation et la protection de la mousse d'Irlande et l'écosystème qui l'abrite, la sensibilisation du public, l'éducation et la recherche. Un plan de gestion opérationnel a été établi en 2009 et est présentement en révision par le MPO en collaboration avec le conseil consultatif de la zone de protection marine de Basin Head. Le plan détermine les mesures que le gouvernement et la collectivité devront prendre pour protéger cette zone à court et à long terme.

Gestion et conservation

Le Plan de gestion opérationnel (PGO) de la ZPM de Basin Head sert de guide qui permet de prendre des décisions éclairées sur la gestion de l’écosystème de Basin Head. De plus, il s’occupe des questions touchant le suivi ainsi que l’application et le respect des règlements. Il fournit aussi les détails requis pour garantir que la raison d’être des décisions de gestion, interdictions, contrôles et approbations des gestionnaires sont clairement justifiées et comprises.

Plan de gestion de la ZPM de Basin Head

Le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine de Basin Head (DORS/2005-293) se trouve sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice.

Demandes d'activités

Dans les zones de protection marine établies en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, il est généralement interdit de mener une activité qui perturbe, endommage, détruit ou enlève – ou qui est susceptible de perturber, d'endommager, de détruire ou d'enlever – tout organisme marin vivant ou toute partie de son habitat. Malgré cela, il existe des exceptions aux interdictions. Les activités qui peuvent être autorisées dans la zone de protection marine sont énumérées à l'article du Règlement sur la zone de protection marine.

De plus, pour la plupart des zones de protection marine, certains types d'activités (p. ex. la recherche scientifique, la surveillance, la restauration de l'habitat, les activités éducatives et commerciales de tourisme maritime) peuvent être autorisés dans la ZPM si un promoteur soumet un plan d'activités à Pêches et des Océans. Les conditions d'approbation sont énoncées dans le Règlement sur la ZPM.

Formulaire de soumission de plan d'activités concernant la ZPM de Basin Head

Recherche et publications
Date de modification :