Anguniaqvia niqiqyuam MPA

Location

Click to Enlarge

Anguniaqvia niqiqyuam (Ung-u-niak-via Ni-kig-e-um) was designated on November 16, 2016 as a Marine Protected Area under the Oceans Act. The Anguniaqvia niqiqyuam Marine Protected Area (ANMPA) is located in Darnley Bay, within the Amundsen Gulf, near the community of Paulatuk, NT. The ANMPA borders the east coast of the Parry Peninsula and surrounds Cape Parry, NT. The ANMPA is located within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region (ISR), as defined by the Western Arctic Claim - Inuvialuit Final Agreement. The ANMPA is part of the Western Arctic bioregion network of marine protected areas (in development).

Ecological Importance

Arctic Char

The Anguniaqvia niqiqyuam Marine Protected Area (ANMPA) has been identified as an ecologically important area that provides critical habitat for Arctic char, cod, beluga whales, ringed and bearded seals, polar bears, as well as sea birds.

In the open-water season, near shore waters in the ANMPA provide migratory and feeding habitat for Arctic char and other fish species that migrate from the sea to fresh water to spawn. Offshore waters in the ANMPA support a variety of marine invertebrates, fish, marine mammals and birds.

During winter, the sea ice in the ANMPA provides breeding and feeding habitat for polar bears and seals. Areas of open water within the sea ice (polynyas) offer critical feeding areas and promote aggregations of marine mammals and their prey.

The ANMPA is also culturally important for the Inuvialuit, as it supports subsistence harvesting of Arctic char, beluga, birds and other species by the community of Paulatuk, Northwest Territories (NT). The community also utilizes portions of the ANMPA for travel, education and other traditional activities.

The Arctic climate is experiencing rapid environmental changes resulting in new socio-economic opportunities and challenges for the Arctic region. For example, warming may result in an extended shipping season or create new shipping routes. This may make access to mining, oil and gas exploration and development, increased commercial fishing opportunities, research, and tourism easier across the Arctic. Increased accessibility for these types of activities poses a risk to the habitat, biodiversity and ecosystem functions within the Arctic, generally, and within the ANMPA, specifically.

The ANMPA has been identified as ecologically important by both science and Inuvialuit traditional knowledge. MPA designation provides early, long-term and comprehensive protection to this ecologically important marine area, consistent with the purposes of Section 35 of the Oceans Act. It will allow for the proper management of human-induced pressures that would otherwise adversely impact the ecologically significant components of the area.

Ecological Assessment and overview report [PDF]

Photo credit: Ringed seal, RJ Stewart, DFO

Photo credit : Polar bear, R. Smith, DFO

Management & Conservation

The Anguniaqvia niqiqyuam Marine Protected Area (ANMPA) was established collaboratively by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and the Inuvialuit, together with stakeholders from industry, environmental non-government organizations (ENGOs) and the government of the Northwest Territories. DFO and the Fisheries Joint Management Committee, along with the community of Paulatuk co-manage the area and, together, provide guidance on management, monitoring and research decisions for the ANMPA.

The conservation objectives of the MPA are:

  • To maintain the integrity of the marine environment offshore of the Cape Parry Migratory Bird Sanctuary so that it is productive and allows for higher trophic level feeding. The MPA will do this by making sure that the Cape Parry polynyas and associated sea-ice habitat, and the role of key prey species (e.g., Arctic Cod), are not disrupted by human activities;
  • To maintain the habitat to support populations of key species (such as beluga whales, Arctic char, and ringed and bearded seals).

An ANMPA management plan is being developed to guide the day to day management, governance, and monitoring of the ANMPA. It will also guide reporting on the area. The management plan will describe public education and outreach, enforcement and compliance initiatives, as well as regulatory and non-regulatory measures. The inclusion of regulatory and non-regulatory measures is essential to ensuring the continued support of other legislation, regulations and policies that contribute to the protection of this area.

The management plan will address needs identified by the community of Paulatuk, co-management partners, DFO, additional partners and proponents on aspects related to the governance and the management responsibilities of the area. The plan will also describe and define the roles and responsibilities of the advisory committee that will provide advice to DFO regarding the management of the ANMPA. This will include guidelines and work plans related to the non-regulatory management components.

As the lead federal authority for the ANMPA, DFO has the overall responsibility for ensuring compliance with, and enforcement of, the Regulations. This will be undertaken through the Department’s enforcement responsibilities under the Oceans Act and the Fisheries Act, and other departmental legislation regarding fisheries conservation, environmental protection, habitat protection and marine safety. Enforcement officers designated by the Minister according to Section 39 of the Oceans Act would enforce the management actions and Regulations for these areas. Enforcement of the Regulations would be dealt with under Section 37 of the Oceans Act, as would any offences.

Anguniaqvia niqiqyuam Marine Protected Areas Regulations

Activity applications

In Marine Protected Areas established under the Oceans Act, it is prohibited to carry out any activity that disturbs, damages, destroys or removes any living marine organism or any part of its habitat or is likely to do so. There are exceptions to these prohibitions that recognize Indigenous rights and matters of public safety. Activities that may be allowed to occur in the Marine Protected Area are listed under the ‘exception’ section of the Marine Protected Area regulations and include:

  • Inuvialuit fishing for subsistence purposes and recreational fishing;
  • Navigation activities; including if necessary dredging for the purpose of community resupply of goods; and
  • Activities carried out for public safety, public health, national defence, national security, law enforcement or in response to an emergency.

In addition, certain types of activities may be allowed to occur within the MPA if a proponent submits an activity plan to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) for Ministerial approval. The conditions for approval are outlined in the MPA regulations. Activities requiring an activity plan include:

  • Scientific research and monitoring;
  • Educational activities; and,
  • Marine tourism.

If you are interested in conducting one of these activities within the ANMPA, you must complete and submit an application form to DFO at least 60 days prior to the planned start date for the activity.

For more information on the activity plan process, please contact ANMPA@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Research and Publications

Social, Cultural, and Economic Overview and Assessment Report [PDF]

Ecological Overview and Assessment Report [PDF]

Traditional Knowledge Report [PDF]

Date modified:

La ZPM de Anguniaqvia niqiqyuam

Emplacement

Cliquez pour agrandir

Anguniaqvia Niqiqyuam (Ung-u-niak-via Ni-kig-e-um) a été désigné, le 16 novembre 2016, une zone de protection marine en vertu de la Loi sur les océans. Située dans la baie Darnley, la zone de protection marine d'Anguniaqvia Niqiqyuam (ZPMAN) fait partie du golfe Amundsen, à proximité de la collectivité de Paulatuk (T.N.-O.). Elle longe la côte est de la péninsule Parry et entoure le cap Parry (T.N.-O.). La ZPMAN se trouve dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit établie aux termes de la revendication de l'Arctique de l'Ouest, Convention définitive des Inuvialuit. Elle fait partie du réseau d'aires marines protégées de la biorégion de l'Arctique de l'Ouest (en cours d'élaboration).

Écosystème

Omble chevalier

La zone de protection marine d'Anguniaqvia Niqiqyuam (ZPMAN) a été désignée comme une zone d'importance écologique qui constitue un habitat important pour l'omble chevalier, la morue, le béluga, le phoque annelé et le phoque barbu, l'ours polaire et des oiseaux de mer.

Durant la saison des eaux libres, les eaux près des côtes de la ZPMAN offrent des voies migratoires et des aires d'alimentation à l'omble chevalier et d'autres espèces de poissons qui migrent de la mer en eau douce pour frayer. Les eaux de la ZPMAN au large des côtes abritent une diversité d'invertébrés marins, de poissons, de mammifères marins et d'oiseaux.

Au cours de l'hiver, dans la ZPMAN, la banquise offre un habitat de reproduction et d'alimentation pour les ours polaires et les phoques. Les étendues d'eau libre (polynies) au milieu de la banquise offrent des aires d'alimentation indispensables et favorisent les rassemblements de mammifères marins et de leurs proies.

La ZPMAN est également importante sur le plan culturel pour les Inuvialuit, puisqu'elle héberge les activités de récolte aux fins de subsistance de l'omble chevalier, du béluga, d'oiseaux et d'autres espèces par la collectivité de Paulatuk (T.N.-O.). La collectivité fréquentent également des secteurs de la ZPMAN pour les déplacements, les activités de nature éducative et d'autres activités traditionnelles.

Le climat arctique subit des changements environnementaux rapides qui apportent de nouveaux défis et créent de nouvelles possibilités socio-économiques pour la région de l'Arctique. Par exemple, le réchauffement pourrait entraîner une saison de navigation prolongée ou la création de nouvelles routes de navigation. Cela peut rendre l'exploitation minière, pétrolière et gazière, la pêche commerciale, la recherche et le tourisme plus accessibles dans l'Arctique. L'accessibilité accrue à ces types d'activités pose par contre un risque pour l'habitat, la biodiversité et les fonctions écosystémiques dans l'Arctique, en général, et à l'intérieur de la ZPMAN, en particulier. La ZPMAN a été désignée comme une zone d’importance écologique à partir de données scientifiques et du savoir traditionnel des Inuvialuit.

Le Règlement fournit une protection proactive et globale à long terme à cette aire marine d'importance, conformément aux objectifs de l'article 35 de la Loi sur les océans, et il permettra de gérer adéquatement les pressions anthropiques qui, autrement, auraient des répercussions négatives sur les composants d'importance écologique de la zone.

Rapport d'examen et d'évaluation de l'écosystème [PDF]

Crédit photo: Phoque annelé, RJ Stewart, MPO

Crédit photo, R Smith, MPO

Gestion et conservation

La zone de protection marine d'Anguniaqvia Niqiqyuam (ZPMAN) a été mise sur pied en collaboration par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et les Inuvialuit, de concert avec les intervenants de l'industrie, des organisations non gouvernementales de l'environnement (ONGE) et du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Pêches et Océans Canada et le Comité mixte de gestion de la pêche, de même que la collectivité de Paulatuk, assurent la cogestion de la zone et, ensemble, fournissent une orientation sur la gestion et les décisions en matière de surveillance et de recherche pour la ZPMAN.

Voici les objectifs de conservation de la ZPM :

  • Maintenir l'intégrité de l'environnement marin situé au large du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du cap Parry afin que celui-ci soit productif et permette l'alimentation d'espèces de niveau trophique plus élevé. La zone de protection marine permettra ainsi de s'assurer que les polynies du cap Parry et l'habitat associé à la banquise, de même que le rôle des principales espèces de proies (p. ex., morue arctique), ne sont pas perturbés en raison des activités humaines.
  • Préserver l'habitat pour soutenir les populations des espèces clés (telles que le béluga, l'omble chevalier, le phoque annelé et le phoque barbu).

Un plan de gestion de la ZPMAN est en cours d'élaboration afin d'orienter la gestion quotidienne, la gouvernance et la surveillance de cette zone. Il encadrera également la production de rapports sur la zone. Le plan de gestion décrira des initiatives d’éducation et de sensibilisation du public, et de conformité et d’application de la loi, ainsi que des mesures réglementaires et non réglementaires. L’inclusion de mesures réglementaires et non réglementaires est essentielle pour assurer l’appui continu d’autres lois, règlements et politiques qui contribuent à la protection de cette zone.

Le plan de gestion permettra de répondre aux besoins définis par la collectivité de Paulatuk, les partenaires de cogestion, le MPO, d’autres partenaires et des promoteurs concernant les aspects liés à la gouvernance et aux responsabilités en matière de gestion de la zone. Le plan décrira et définira également les rôles et les responsabilités du comité consultatif qui sera établi pour formuler des avis à l’intention du MPO quant à la gestion de la ZPMAN, y compris des lignes directrices et des plans de travail relatifs aux composantes de gestion non réglementaires.

À titre d’autorité fédérale principale chargée de la ZPMAN, le MPO assume la responsabilité générale d’assurer le respect et l’application du règlement. Ces activités seront réalisées par le biais des responsabilités du Ministère en matière d’exécution qui lui incombent en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, de la Loi sur les pêches et d’autres lois ministérielles concernant la conservation des pêches, la protection de l’environnement, la protection de l’habitat et la sécurité maritime. Des agents d’application de la loi désignés par le ministère conformément à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les océans appliqueront les mesures de gestion et le règlement dans ces zones. L’application du règlement serait traitée en vertu de l’article 37 de la Loi sur les océans, tout comme le seraient les infractions.

Règlement sur les zones de protection marine d’Anguniaqvia niqiqyuam

Demandes d'autorisation d'activités

Dans les zones de protection marine établies en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, il est interdit de mener une activité qui perturbe, endommage, détruit ou enlève – ou qui est susceptible de perturber, d'endommager, de détruire ou d'enlever – tout organisme marin vivant ou toute partie de son habitat. Il y a des exceptions à ces interdictions qui reconnaissent les droits ancestraux et les questions de sécurité publique. Les activités qui peuvent être autorisées dans la zone de protection marine sont énumérées à l'article « exceptions » du Règlement sur la zone de protection marine et comprennent notamment ce qui suit :

  • Pêche des Inuvialuit à des fins commerciales ou de subsistance et pêche récréative.
  • Les activités de navigation; y compris le dragage nécessaire dans le but de réapprovisionner les collectivités.
  • Toute activité menée aux fins de sûreté publique, de santé publique, de défense nationale, d'application de la loi ou menée en réponse à une situation d'urgence.

En outre, certains types d'activités peuvent être autorisés dans la ZPM si un promoteur soumet un plan d'activités au ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) aux fins d'approbation ministérielle. Les conditions d'approbation sont énoncées dans le règlement pris pour créer la zone de protection marine. Activités nécessitant un plan d'activités :

  • Recherche et surveillance scientifiques
  • Activités éducatives
  • Tourisme maritime

Si vous souhaitez mener une de ces activités dans la ZPMAN, vous devez remplir un formulaire de demande et le présenter à Pêches et Océans Canada au moins 60 jours avant la date de début de l'activité prévue.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus de planification des activités, veuillez communiquer avec ANMPA@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Recherche et publications

Aperçu et évaluation des aspects sociaux, économiques et culturels [PDF]

Rapport d'examen et d'évaluation de l'écosystème [PDF]

Rapport des connaissances traditionnelles [PDF]

Date de modification :