Banc-des-Américains Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Note:

Charts, diagrams and contact information on this website are provided for information purposes only and should not be used for fishing, navigation or other purposes. Please refer to the MPA Regulations or contact your regional Fisheries and Oceans Canada office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Map: Banc-des-Américains Marine Protected Area (MPA).

Map: Banc-des-Américains Marine Protected Area (MPA).

Dataset for all MPAs available.

Video: Banc-des-Américains: a treasure for marine life in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The Banc-des-Américains is a marine protected area that’s being explored using high-quality imagery obtained through the use of ROPOS, a remotely operated Canadian submersible.

Video: Banc-des-Américains: a treasure for marine life in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

The Banc-des-Américains is a marine protected area that’s being explored using high-quality imagery obtained through the use of ROPOS, a remotely operated Canadian submersible.

Location

Off the eastern tip of the Gaspé Peninsula; Estuary and the Gulf of St. Lawrence bioregion.

Note:

The Marine Protected Area (MPA) is known as the "Banc-des-Américains." The underwater slope is called the "American Bank."

Approximate Size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

1,000 km2

Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

0.02%

Conservation Objectives

To promote the productivity and diversity of fisheries resources (species fished) and the recovery of species at risk. These resources frequent the site because of the quality of the habitat of the ridge and the adjacent plains.

  1. Conserve and protect benthic (seabed) habitats;
  2. Conserve and protect pelagic (water column) habitats and forage species (prey);
  3. Promote the recovery of at-risk whales and wolffish.
Designation date

The Canada-Quebec joint project agreement regarding the Banc-des-Américains MPA (available in French) was signed in March, 2019.

The Banc-des-Américains MPA was designated by Regulations on March 6, 2019.

Note:

The Banc-des-Américains is the first joint project under the Canada-Quebec Collaborative Agreement for the Establishment of a Network of Marine Protected Areas in Quebec (available in French). This area will have dual status: an aquatic reserve under Quebec law, and a designated marine protected area under the Oceans Act. The Banc-des-Américains MPA is the federally regulated portion of the joint Canada-Quebec project for marine protected areas.

Prohibitions

The Banc-des-Américains MPA Regulations prohibit any activities that disturb, damage, or remove living marine organisms or any part of their habitat, unless the activity is listed as an exception in the Regulations or approved by the Minister.

Environmental Context

The 1,000-square-kilometre Banc-des-Américains marine protected area includes the entire submarine bank known as the American Bank, as well as the adjacent plains. This bank peaks at 12 metres below the water surface and is composed of two shelves separated by a sharp ridge.

The area supports an extraordinary range of marine habitats and species, including an abundance of commercially fished species. There are also many forage species (prey) such as capelin, herring, sand lance and krill. The area also has significant potential as a feeding ground for various species of fish and marine mammals, and could be an important habitat for groundfish populations. It has traditionally been a coveted fishing area.

Ecosystem

Ecosystem

The Banc-des-Américains MPA is located in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Near Cape Gaspé and Bonaventure Island to the west, it stretches 35 km eastward, off the Gaspé Peninsula coast. The MPA includes the seabed and the subsoil to a depth of 5 m. The area is in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence bioregion and in Regulatory Area 4T of the North Atlantic Fisheries Organization (NAFO). The site’s particular rock formation and the Gaspé current that carries nutrients are at the primary reasons for the wide variety of habitats and marine species found in this area.

The MPA is frequented by a number of commercially fished species and marine mammals, including species listed under the Species at Risk Act (SARA), such as the Atlantic population of blue whales. Approximately fifteen cetacean species are observed every year in the region, which is a feeding ground and an essential migration route to and from the St. Lawrence Estuary. The Leatherback Sea Turtle, an endangered species and the largest reptile in the world, has been observed in the area. Currently, the area is home to the Atlantic wolffish, a species of special concern, and one which is particularly fond of the rocky cavities found there. Moreover, species at risk as rare as the Spotted and the Northern wolffish have both been captured in the area. The MPA is an important feeding, spawning, shelter and migration area for many of these species.

Offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Quebec Regional Office at Oceans-QC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Video: The American Bank, a world to discover, a treasure to preserve. A camera is deployed from the deck of a Canadian Coast Guard vessel at the American Bank. Thus begins a discovery of the site’s landscape, fauna and flora at depths of between 15 and 130 metres. From 15 to 20 metres, we see Atlantic cod, a sculpin, Atlantic wolffish and cunners. From 20 to 30 metres, we see plumose anemones, and at 30 to 40 metres, beadlet anemones and sea cucumbers. From 40 to 60 metres, we see green sea urchins and lyre crabs. Last, we can see basket stars from 60 to 130 metres before re-ascending.

Video: The American Bank, a world to discover, a treasure to preserve.

2012 three-dimensional representation of the ridge (middle section) of the American Bank and sampling stations using benthic imaging.

2012 three-dimensional representation of the ridge (middle section) of the American Bank and sampling stations using benthic imaging.

Management and conservation

Management and conservation

A school of capelin observed on the plain of the MPA. Copyright Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

A school of capelin observed on the plain of the MPA. © Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

The seabed is covered with very colourful organisms. Copyright Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

The seabed is covered with very colourful organisms. © Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

The purpose of the marine protected area is to promote the productivity and diversity of fishery resources (fished species) in the American Bank and the plains adjacent to it, as well as the recovery of species at risk. This goal will be achieved through the following conservation objectives:

  1. Conserve and protect benthic (seabed) habitats;
  2. Conserve and protect pelagic (water column) habitats and forage species (prey);
  3. Promote the recovery of at-risk whales and wolffish.

The most important commercial activities in the area are fishing, navigation, and tourism activities. An assessment of the impact of these human activities on the achievement of the conservation objectives has been completed.

A management plan is being developed. This plan will describe the approach taken to manage activities within the area. It will explain the key requirements of the Regulations, the allowable activities, and will define management priorities.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada will ensure compliance and enforcement of the Regulations and conservation measures. These activities will be carried out pursuant to the mandate and responsibilities under the Oceans Act, the Fisheries Act, and the Species at Risk Act as well as other departmental legislation related to fisheries conservation, environmental protection, habitat protection and maritime safety. The Banc-des-Américains MPA Regulations will be enforced by designated law enforcement agents pursuant to section 39 of the Oceans Act and violations will be dealt with under section 37 of the Oceans Act.

Activity Application

Activity application for Banc-des-Américains MPA

Scientific research or monitoring activities, habitat restoration activities, as well as educational or commercial marine tourism activities are permitted in the Banc-des-Américains MPA, if the proponent submits an activity plan to Fisheries and Oceans Canada and receives approval from the Minister.

Begin Activity Application process

Research and Publications

Research and Publications

Anemones, sponges, and other organisms on the American Bank. Copyright Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Anemones, sponges, and other organisms on the American Bank. © Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

In order to define appropriate conservation and protection measures, available habitats and species on the site must be well known and their locations identified. Several types of research activities have been conducted on the sea floor and the adjacent plains of the American Bank.

For example, a scientific team from Fisheries and Oceans Canada boarded the CCGS Leim to survey the American Bank. This mission helped characterize the sea bed and confirm the presence of the species associated with the site. The team used a sled equipped with a camera and a high-definition video camera to collect images for a better understanding of this vast territory.

The scientific team also went diving and used a remote-controlled submarine equipped with a video camera to inspect the escarpments along the sharp ridge of the American Bank. Although this portion of the site is the most difficult to reach, it is of great interest as these habitats are suitable for the Atlantic wolffish.

In addition, Fisheries and Oceans Canada biologists from Quebec, Gulf and Maritime regions participated in an outstanding scientific mission in partnership with Oceana Canada. The mission took place aboard the CCGS Martha L. Black and used a ROPOS (Remotely Operated Platform for Ocean Science) submarine in order to capture never-before-seen images and videos of the steep cliff of the American Bank. Equipped with an articulated arm, this autonomous underwater vehicle has also collected samples of water, organisms, and sediments, thereby allowing scientists to better understand this place.

These missions have established an information baseline that serves as a reference. Following the designation, an ecological and scientific follow-up has been established and will be carried out. The information collected will be compared to the baseline, which will then measure the success of conservation measures that were implemented when the MPA was designated. Other scientific activities are also planned in the coming years to further characterize the site.

Offer to produce in both official languages:

These reports use scientific and technical terms and are published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If these documents are not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Quebec Regional Office at Oceans-QC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Zone de protection marine (ZPM) du Banc-des-Américains

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional de Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En bref

En bref

Carte : Zone de protection marine du Banc-des-Américains.

Carte : Zone de protection marine du Banc-des-Américains.

Ensemble de données sur les ZPM disponible.

Vidéo : Le Banc-des-Américains : un trésor de vie marine dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. L’aire marine protégée du Banc-des-Américains se laisse découvrir grâce à de l’imagerie de très haute qualité obtenue par l’utilisation du ROPOS, un robot sous-marin téléguidé canadien.

Vidéo : Le Banc-des-Américains : un trésor de vie marine dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent.

L’aire marine protégée du Banc-des-Américains se laisse découvrir grâce à de l’imagerie de très haute qualité obtenue par l’utilisation du ROPOS, un robot sous-marin téléguidé canadien.

Emplacement

Au large de l'extrémité est de la péninsule de la Gaspésie; biorégion de l'estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Remarque :

La zone de protection marine est connue sous l'appellation « Banc-des-Américains ». Le talus sous-marin est appelé « banc des Américains ».

Contribution approximative en superficie (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine

1 000 km2

Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine

0,02 %

Objectifs de conservation

Favoriser la productivité et la diversité des ressources halieutiques (espèces pêchées) ainsi que le rétablissement des espèces en péril. Ces ressources fréquentent le site en raison de la qualité de l’habitat du haut fond et des plaines adjacentes.

  1. Conserver et protéger les habitats benthiques (fond marin);
  2. Conserver et protéger les habitats pélagiques (colonne d’eau) et les espèces fourragères (proies);
  3. Favoriser le rétablissement des baleines et des loups de mer en péril.
Date de désignation

 L’Accord Canada-Québec relatif au projet conjoint d’aire marine protégée du Banc-des-Américains a été signé en mars 2019.

La zone de protection marine du Banc-des-Américains a été désignée par règlement le 6 mars 2019.

Remarque :

Le Banc-des-Américains est le premier projet conjoint visé par l’ Entente de collaboration Canada-Québec pour l’établissement d’un réseau d’aires marines protégées au Québec. Cette aire marine protégée bénéficiera d’un double statut de protection, soit celui de réserve aquatique selon la législation du Québec et celui de zone de protection marine en vertu de la Loi sur les océans du Canada. La zone de protection marine du Banc-des-Américains est la portion fédérale de la réglementation d’un projet conjoint d’aire marine protégée Canada-Québec.

Interdictions

Le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine du Banc-des-Américains interdit les activités qui perturbent, détruisent ou déplacent un organisme marin vivant quelconque ou une partie quelconque de son habitat, à moins qu’elles soient inscrites sur la liste des exceptions dans le Règlement ou approuvées par le ministre.

Contexte environnemental

La zone de protection marine du Banc-des-Américains, d’une superficie de 1 000 km2, comprend l’ensemble de l’élévation sous-marine connue sous l’appellation banc des Américains, ainsi que les plaines adjacentes. Ce banc correspond à un haut-fond qui culmine à 12 mètres de profondeur et présente deux plaines séparées par une crête abrupte.

La zone soutient une gamme extraordinaire d’habitats et d’espèces marines, et notamment une abondance d’espèces pêchées à des fins commerciales. On y trouve aussi de nombreuses espèces fourragères (proies) comme le capelan, le hareng, le lançon et le krill. La zone présente également un grand potentiel en tant qu’aire d’alimentation pour différentes espèces de poissons et de mammifères marins, et pourrait constituer un habitat important pour les populations de poissons de fond. Historiquement, ce secteur était très convoité pour la pêche.

Écosystème

Écosystème

L’aire marine protégée du Banc-des-Américains est située dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. À proximité du cap Gaspé et de l’île Bonaventure à l’ouest, elle s’étend sur 35 km vers l’est, au large de la côte gaspésienne. L’aire marine protégée inclut le fond marin et le sous-sol jusqu’à une profondeur de 5 mètres. Elle se trouve dans la biorégion de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent et dans la zone de réglementation 4T de l’Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest (OPANO). La formation rocheuse particulière du site, associée au courant de Gaspé qui transporte des éléments nutritifs, est à l’origine de la grande variété d’habitats et d’espèces marines qu’on retrouve dans ce secteur.

L’aire marine protégée est fréquentée par de nombreuses espèces pêchées commercialement et par des mammifères marins, notamment des espèces inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, tel que le rorqual bleu (population de l’Atlantique). Une quinzaine d’espèces de cétacés est observée chaque année dans cette région qui constitue une aire d’alimentation et une voie migratoire essentielles depuis et vers l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. La tortue luth, une espèce en voie de disparition, est le plus grand reptile au monde et a été observée dans le secteur. Actuellement, le site abrite le loup atlantique, une espèce préoccupante. Cette espèce affectionne particulièrement les cavités rocheuses qui s’y trouvent. De plus, des espèces menacées aussi rares que les loups tacheté et à tête large ont déjà été capturées dans les environs. L’aire marine protégée est une zone importante d’alimentation, de reproduction, d’abri ou de migration pour bon nombre de ces espèces.

Offre de produire le document dans les deux langues officielles :

Ce rapport contient des termes scientifiques et techniques; il a été publié dans la langue officielle du groupe de travail ou du scientifique expert qui l’a produit. Si ce document n’est pas disponible dans la langue officielle de votre choix, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional du Québec à  Oceans-QC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Vidéo : Le banc des Américains, un monde à découvrir, une richesse à préserver. À partir du pont d’un navire de recherche de la Garde côtière canadienne, une caméra est déployée au banc des Américains. Commence alors une découverte des paysages, de la faune et de la flore du site à des profondeurs variant de 15 à 130 mètres. On peut voir, dans l’espace de 15 à 20 mètres, des morues franches, un chaboisseau, un loup atlantique et des tanches-tautogues. De 20 à 30 mètres, on voit des anémones plumeuses puis, de 30 à 40 mètres, des anémones rouges du nord et des concombres de mer. De 40 à 60 mètres, on trouve des oursins verts et des crabes lyres. Finalement, on aperçoit des gorgonocéphales entre 60 et 130 mètres avant d’entamer la remontée.

Vidéo : Le banc des Américains, un monde à découvrir, une richesse à préserver.

Représentation de 2012 en trois dimensions de la crête (section centrale) du banc des Américains et des stations d’échantillonnage en imagerie benthique

Gestion et conservation

Gestion et conservation

Un banc des capelans observé sur la plaine de la zone de protection marine. Copyright Pêches et Océans Canada.

Un banc des capelans observé sur la plaine de la zone de protection marine. © Pêches et Océans Canada.

Le fond marin est couvert d’organismes très colorés. Copyright Pêches et Océans Canada.

Le fond marin est couvert d’organismes très colorés. © Pêches et Océans Canada.

Le but de la zone de protection marine est de favoriser la productivité et la diversité des ressources halieutiques (espèces pêchées) liées à la présence du banc des Américains et de ses plaines adjacentes ainsi que le rétablissement des espèces à statut précaire. Ce but sera atteint grâce aux objectifs de conservation suivants :

  1. Conserver et protéger les habitats benthiques (fond marin);
  2. Conserver et protéger les habitats pélagiques (colonne d’eau) et les espèces fourragères (proies);
  3. Favoriser le rétablissement des baleines et des loups de mer en péril.

Les activités commerciales les plus importantes dans le secteur sont la pêche, la navigation et les activités touristiques d’observation en mer. Une évaluation des impacts de ces activités humaines sur l’atteinte des objectifs de conservation a été réalisée.

Un plan de gestion est en voie d’élaboration. Ce plan décrira l’approche adoptée pour gérer les activités au sein de la zone. Il expliquera les principales exigences du Règlement de zone de protection marine, les activités permises et définira les priorités en matière de gestion.

Pêches et Océans Canada veillera au respect et à l’application du Règlement de zone de protection marine et des mesures de conservation. Ces actions seront menées dans le cadre du mandat et des responsabilités en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, de la Loi sur les pêches et de la Loi sur les espèces en péril ainsi que d’autres lois ministérielles sur la conservation des pêches, la protection de l’environnement, la protection de l’habitat et la sécurité maritime. Le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine sera appliqué par les agents d’application de la loi désignés conformément à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les océans et les violations seront traitées en vertu de l’article 37 de la Loi sur les océans.

Demande d’activité

Demande d’activité dans la ZPM du Banc-des-Américains

Des activités de recherche ou de suivi scientifiques, des activités de restauration de l’habitat ainsi que des activités éducatives ou de tourisme maritime commercial sont permises dans la zone de protection marine du Banc-des-Américains si le promoteur soumet un plan d’activité à Pêches et Océans Canada et qu’il reçoit l’approbation du ministre.

Lancer le processus de demande d’activité

Recherche et publications

Recherche et publications

Anémones, éponges et autres organismes fixés sur la falaise du banc des Américains. Copyright Pêches et Océans Canada.

Anémones, éponges et autres organismes fixés sur la falaise du banc des Américains. © Pêches et Océans Canada.

Afin de définir des mesures de conservation et de protection appropriées, il est nécessaire de bien connaître et localiser les habitats disponibles ainsi que les espèces présentes sur le site. Plusieurs activités de recherche ont donc été menées sur le haut fond et les plaines adjacentes au banc des Américains.

Par exemple, une équipe scientifique de Pêches et Océans Canada est montée à bord du NGCC Leim pour explorer le banc des Américains. Cette mission a permis de caractériser le fond marin et de confirmer la présence des espèces associées au site. L’équipe a utilisé un traîneau équipé d’un appareil photo et d’une caméra vidéo à haute définition pour capter des images afin de mieux connaître ce vaste territoire.

L’équipe scientifique a aussi effectué des plongées et utilisé un sous-marin téléguidé muni d'une caméra vidéo afin de scruter les escarpements de la crête abrupte du banc des Américains. Même si cette partie du site est plus difficile d’accès, elle est d’un grand intérêt puisqu’il s’agit d’habitats propices au loup atlantique.

De plus, des biologistes de Pêches et Océans Canada des régions du Québec, du Golfe et des Maritimes ont participé à une mission scientifique hors du commun en partenariat avec Oceana Canada. La mission s’est déroulée à bord du NGCC Martha L. Black et a utilisé un sous-marin ROPOS (Remotely Operated Platform for Ocean Science) afin de capturer des images et des vidéos inédits de la falaise abrupte du banc des Américains. Équipé d’un bras articulé, ce véhicule sous-marin autonome a également récolté des échantillons d’eau, d’organismes et de sédiments permettant aux scientifiques d’en connaître davantage sur cet habitat unique.

Ces missions ont permis d’établir une base d’information qui sert de référence. À la suite de la désignation, un suivi écologique et scientifique a été établit et sera réalisé. Les données récoltées seront comparées à l’état de référence, ce qui permettra de mesurer l’efficacité des mesures de conservation qui ont été mises en place lors de la désignation de la zone de protection marine. D’autres activités scientifiques sont aussi prévues dans les prochaines années pour poursuivre la caractérisation du site.

Offre de produire le document dans les deux langues officielles :

Ce rapport contient des termes scientifiques et techniques; il a été publié dans la langue officielle du groupe de travail ou du scientifique expert qui l’a produit. Si ce document n’est pas disponible dans la langue officielle de votre choix, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional du Québec à  Oceans-QC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Date de modification :