Pacific North Coast Integrated Management Area (PNCIMA)

The Pacific North Coast Integrated Management Area (PNCIMA) is one of five priority areas identified for integrated ocean management planning by the Government of Canada and encompasses approximately 102,000 km2. The area extends from the British Columbia-Alaska border south to Bute Inlet on the mainland, across to Campbell River on the east side of Vancouver Island and the Brooks Peninsula on the west side of Vancouver Island and along the edge of the continental shelf.

On February 15, 2017, the Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard, together with the Member of the Legislative Assembly for West Vancouver-Sea-to-Sky Jordan Sturdy on behalf of the Honourable Steve Thomson, British Columbia’s Minister of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations; Chief Marilyn Slett, President of Coastal First Nations; and Bruce Watkinson, Gitxaala Nation Fisheries Director on behalf of Robert Grodecki, Executive Director of the North Coast Skeena First Nations Stewardship Society, jointly announced endorsement of the Pacific North Coast Integrated Management Area (PNCIMA) Plan (the Plan).

The Plan provides a joint federal-provincial-First Nation planning framework for conservation and management of human activities on the Pacific North Coast. It is a strategic document that outlines principles, goals, objectives and strategies, and provides the high-level direction on the planning and management of marine activities and resources moving forward. The Plan identifies five priorities for short-term implementation. Of these five priorities, immediate focus will be placed on advancing Marine Protected Area (MPA) Network development and establishing governance arrangements to support Federal, Provincial and Indigenous coordination on the multiple marine activities currently underway and about to be launched on the Pacific Coast, including actions under Canada’s Oceans Protection Plan. MPA Network development will support Canada’s commitment to protect 10% of marine and coastal areas by 2020 in addition to longer team marine conservation goals.

The Plan was developed with federal, provincial, First Nations and local governments and included broad consultation with marine and fishing industry representatives, Indigenous groups and communities. Endorsement of the Plan demonstrates the Government of Canada’s commitment to collaborative oceans management in partnership with provinces, territories, Indigenous Peoples and other stakeholders.

For more information on PNCIMA, visit: www.pncima.org

Marine Protected Areas Within Pacific Region

Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) are geographically defined areas under the Oceans Act. These areas are established to protect and conserve important fish & marine mammal habitats, endangered marine species, unique features and areas of high biological productivity or biodiversity. The three MPAs within Pacific Region are:

Proposed Future Sites - Areas of Interest (AOI)

Publications

Date modified:

Zone de gestion intégrée de la côte nord du Pacifique (ZGICNP)

La zone de gestion intégrée de la côte nord du Pacifique (ZGICNP) est une des cinq zones prioritaires désignées en vue de la planification de la gestion intégrée des océans par le gouvernement du Canada et elle s'étend sur environ 102 000 km2. La zone s'étend de la frontière de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Alaska jusqu'au sud du bras de mer Bute, situé dans la partie continentale, en passant par Campbell River, sur le côté est de l'île de Vancouver, et par la péninsule Brooks, située du côté ouest de l'île de Vancouver et le long du bord du plateau continental.

Le 15 février 2017, l’honorable Dominic LeBlanc, ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne, M. Jordan Sturdy, député de West Vancouver-Sea-to-Sky, au nom de l’honorable Steve Thomson, ministre des Forêts, des Terres et de l’Exploitation des ressources naturelles de la Colombie-Britannique, la chef Marilyn Slett, présidente des Premières Nations de la côte, et M. Bruce Watkinson, directeur des pêches de la Première Nation Gitxaala, au nom de M. Robert Grodecki, directeur exécutif de la North Coast Skeena First Nations Stewardship Society, ont annoncé conjointement qu’ils approuvaient le Plan pour la zone de gestion intégrée de la côte nord du Pacifique (ZGICNP).

Le plan fournit un cadre de planification fédéral-provincial-Premières Nations pour la conservation et la gestion des activités humaines sur la côte nord du Pacifique. Il s'agit d'un document stratégique qui décrit les principes, les buts, les objectifs et les stratégies, et qui donne une orientation de haut niveau quant à la planification et à la gestion des activités maritimes et des ressources pour l'avenir. Le plan désigne cinq priorités pour une mise en œuvre à court terme. Parmi ces cinq priorités, une attention immédiate sera portée aux progrès accomplis dans la création du réseau d'aires marines protégées (AMP) et sur l'établissement d'ententes de gouvernance visant à appuyer la coordination fédérale, provinciale et autochtone des différentes activités maritimes en cours ou sur le point d'être amorcées sur la côte du Pacifique, y compris les mesures liées au Plan de protection des océans du Canada. La création du réseau d'AMP appuiera l'engagement du Canada à protéger 10 % des zones marines et côtières d'ici 2020, en plus des objectifs de conservation marine à plus long terme.

Le plan a été élaboré avec les gouvernements locaux, provinciaux et fédéral ainsi que ceux des Premières Nations. Il a fait l'objet de vastes consultations avec les représentants de l'industrie maritime et de la pêche et les groupes et collectivités autochtones. L'approbation du plan témoigne de l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada en faveur d'une gestion collaborative des océans en partenariat avec les provinces, les territoires, les peuples autochtones et les autres intervenants.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la ZGICNP, consultez : www.pncima.org.

Zones de protection marines situées dans la région du Pacifique

Les zones de protection marine (ZPM) sont géographiquement des zones définies en vertu de la Loi sur les océans. Elles ont été établies pour protéger et conserver les habitats importants pour les poissons et les mammifères marins, les espèces marines en voie de disparition, les éléments uniques et les zones de forte productivité biologique ou de grande biodiversité. Il existe trois ZPM dans la région du Pacifique :

Futurs sites proposés – Sites d'intérêt (SI)

Publications

Date de modification :