Placentia Bay/Grand Banks Integrated Management Area

Location

Geographically, the Placentia Bay – Grand Banks Integrated Management Area encompasses an area of approximately 550,000 square km ranging from the Laurentian Channel in the southwest to the Grand Banks in the east, and from the coastal baselines as defined by international law to the outer limits of the continental shelf. For the most part, the it consists of the Grand Banks of Newfoundland. The majority of the banks are between 51-100 m in depth with some areas of the banks reaching up to 200 m. On the Grand Banks the cold Labrador Current mixes with the warm Gulf Stream causing an upwelling of nutrients, creating a highly productive area with rich primary productivity and high species diversity. It is this productivity, paired with other available resources (e.g., oil and gas) and geographic location, which also inherently makes this area of the Newfoundland and Labrador region extremely distinctive in its support of human activities.

Integrated Management Plan

The Placentia Bay/Grand Banks (PB/GB) Integrated Management Plan (2012) [PDF] is a multi-year, strategic level plan for the integrated management of policies, programs, plans, measures and activities in or affecting the PB/GB Integrated Management Area. The Plan is intended to provide long-term direction and a common basis for the development and implementation of action plans for environmental, social, cultural and economic sustainability.

The Plan follows an objectives-based management framework. Starting with a clear vision for safe and sustainable use of healthy oceans through effective and collaborative governance, the Plan aims to achieve three long-term, over-arching goals, as follows: collaborative and effective governance, healthy ecosystems, and sustainable use. These three goals provide the direction for developing underlying objectives, management strategies and management actions.

The Plan represents a shift from single species or single industry management to a broader, more inclusive method of ecosystem-based management for ocean and coastal activities. Management on an ecosystem scale acknowledges that the marine environment is a dynamic and evolving system composed of interdependent species and habitats and recognizes that human activities can have cumulative and far-reaching impacts on the environment. The Plan focuses on the overall management of the PB/GB Integrated Management Area to maintain integral aspects of ecosystem structure and function as well as social, cultural and economic well-being.

The State of the Ocean Report for Placentia Bay- Grand Banks Integrated Management Area

The ecosystem reported on in the Placentia Bay Grand Banks Large Ocean Management Area Report [PDF] is the designated integrated management area for the Newfoundland and Labrador Region. Geographically, the area encompasses approximately 550,000 km2, starting at Cape Ray on the island portion of the south coast (near Port aux Basques), continuing eastward along the south coast and extending northward along the east coast, as far north as Cape Freels at the tip of Bonavista Bay. The seaward boundaries correspond with the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization's (NAFO) fisheries management divisions 3LNO and subdivisions 3Ps and 3Pn. The southern boundary of the integrated management area extends beyond the 200 nm limit of Canada's exclusive economic zone to the edge of the continental shelf, defined as 42° N latitude.

Priorities for Conservation

Several areas for priority conservation action have been identified within the Placentia Bay/Grand Banks area to date: Atlantic Cod, aquatic invasive species (AIS), habitat and corals and sponges. All three of the Atlantic Cod (Gadus morhua) stocks within the Placentia Bay/Grand Banks area declined significantly in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

Other highlights

The aquatic invasive species, Green crab (Carcinus maenas), was first observed in Placentia Bay in 2007, and in areas of high abundance have had a substantial impact on commercial and non-commercial mollusc and crustacean species and the natural environment. Mitigation by removal through intense trapping can be an effective method of reducing the abundance of green crab and limiting the impact the species has on the environment while other methods continue to be researched and tested.

The identification of ecologically significant species that provide structural habitats (e.g., corals and eelgrass), areas considered ecologically and biologically significant, as well as habitat characterization remain a priority to enhancing knowledge and protection of areas within the Placentia Bay/Grand Banks area that are important to the ecosystem structure and function.

Deep-sea corals have been identified as ecologically significant species within the ecosystems of the Placentia Bay/Grand Banks area as they provide unique structural habitat. At the same time, cold water sponges are increasingly being recognized as similarly important components of marine ecosystems through their provision of benthic habitat. Priority research areas for deep-sea corals based on areas of high biodiversity and abundance have been identified in the region and management measures targeting their protection are ongoing.

In regards to new sources of information addressing knowledge gaps within the Large Ocean Management Area, a 2007 aerial survey was conducted to accurately estimate the abundance and distribution of marine mammals, sea turtles and other surface megafauna with significant impacts for our understanding from a management and Species at Risk perspective.

For more information, please visit: Ecosystem Status and Trends Report for the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelf.

Cold water corals, attached to sedimentary rock of the Orphan Knoll seamount. This photo was taken by a remotely operated submersible (ROPOS). Photo: DFO

The green crab threatens to displace native species in the area. Photo: DFO

Eelgrass provides valuable structural habitat. Photo: DFO

Cold-Water Coral and Sponge Conservation in Canada

In Canada, corals and sponges are found in the Pacific, eastern Arctic, and Atlantic Oceans. Coral and sponge provide complex three dimensional habitat which is important for a variety of deep sea species.

Slow growth rates, longevity, and habitat-limiting factors make corals and sponges particularly vulnerable to physical impacts both directly and indirectly. Corals and sponges can be adversely affected by a broad range of impacts, many of which are associated with human activities including: fishing (e.g. bottom impact fishing), oil and gas exploration and development, and submarine cable and pipeline installation. Ocean acidification, as a result of climate change, is also impacting these species.

The responsibilities of countries to implement conservation measures for cold-water coral and sponges, are defined in international conventions and agreements such as the Convention on Biological Diversity and United Nations General Assembly Resolution (UNGA) 61/105.

Oasis of the Deep: Cold Water Corals of Atlantic Canada

Transcript and video

Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) within the Placentia Bay/Grand Banks Integrated Management Area

Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) are geographically defined areas under the Oceans Act. They were established to protect and conserve important fish & marine mammal habitats, endangered marine species, unique features and areas of high biological productivity or biodiversity. Two MPAs are within the Placentia-Bay/Grand Banks Integrated Management Area.

Publications

Date modified:

Zone de gestion intégrée de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs

Lieu

Sur le plan géographique, la zone de gestion intégrée de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs couvre une superficie d'environ 550 000 kilomètres carrés, allant du chenal Laurentien dans le sud-ouest des Grands Bancs, à l'est, et des lignes de base côtières définies par le droit international aux limites extérieures du plateau continental. De façon générale, elle est composée des Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve. La profondeur de la plupart des bancs mesure de 51 à 100 mètres et certaines zones des bancs atteignent jusqu'à 200 mètres. Sur les Grands Bancs, le courant froid du Labrador se mélange avec le courant chaud du Golfe, ce qui cause une remontée des nutriments, créant ainsi une zone très productive avec une forte productivité primaire et une grande diversité des espèces. Cette zone de la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, de par cette productivité, combinée à d'autres ressources disponibles (p. ex. pétrole et gaz) et à l'emplacement géographique est, de façon intrinsèque, se caractérise fortement par son soutien des activités humaines.

Plan de gestion intégrée

Le Plan de gestion intégrée de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs (BP-GB) (2012) [PDF] est un plan stratégique pluriannuel pour la gestion intégrée des politiques, des programmes, des plans, des mesures et des activités dans la zone de gestion intégrée de BP-GB ou qui ont une incidence sur celle-ci. Le Plan vise à fournir une orientation à long terme ainsi qu'un fondement commun pour l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de plans d'action pour la durabilité environnementale, sociale, culturelle et économique.

Le Plan suit un cadre de gestion par objectifs. En commençant avec une vision claire (« une utilisation sûre et durable d'océans sains par une gouvernance concertée et efficace »), le Plan vise à atteindre trois buts généraux à long terme : une gouvernance concertée et efficace, des écosystèmes sains et une utilisation durable. Ces trois buts donnent l'orientation pour élaborer des objectifs sous-jacents, des stratégies de gestion et des mesures de gestion.

Le Plan représente le passage d'une gestion axée sur une seule espèce ou industrie à une méthode de gestion écosystémique plus large et plus inclusive des activités océaniques et côtières. La gestion à une échelle écosystémique reconnaît que le milieu marin est un système dynamique en évolution, composé d'espèces et d'habitats interdépendants, et que les activités humaines peuvent avoir des effets cumulatifs et considérables sur le milieu. Le Plan est axé sur la gestion générale de la zone de gestion intégrée de BP-GB pour maintenir les aspects intégraux de la structure et des fonctions écosystémiques, ainsi que le bien-être social, culturel et économique.

Rapport sur l'état de l'océan pour la zone de gestion intégrée de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs

L'écosystème à l'étude dans le rapport pour les zones étendues de gestion des océans de la baie Placentia et les Grands Bancs [PDF] est la zone désignée de gestion intégrée pour la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Géographiquement, la zone englobe environ 550 000 km2, partant du Cap Ray sur la portion insulaire de la côte sud (près de Port aux Basques), se poursuivant vers l'est le long de la côte sud et s'étendant vers le nord le long de la côte est, jusqu'au Cap Freels à la pointe de la baie Bonavista. Les limites côté mer correspondent aux divisions 3LNO et subdivisions 3P et 3N de l'Organisation des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord Ouest (OPANO). La limite sud de la gestion intégrée s'étend au-delà de la limite des 200 miles nautiques (370,4 km) de la zone économique exclusive du Canada jusqu'à la limite du plateau continental, définie à la latitude 42o N.

Priorités en conservation

Plusieurs secteurs visés par des mesures prioritaires de conservation ont été désignés à l'intérieur de la zone de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs; à ce jour,il s'agit de la morue franche, des espèces aquatiques envahissantes (EAE), des habitats, des coraux et éponges. Les trois stocks de morue franche (Gadus morhua) de la zone de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs ont diminué sensiblement à la fin des années 1980 et au début des années 1990.

Autres points saillants

Le crabe vert (Carcinus maenas), une espèce aquatique envahissante, a été observé pour la première fois à la baie Placentia en 2007 et il a eu, dans les zones de grande abondance, un important impact sur les espèces de mollusques et crustacés, tant commerciales que non commerciales, et sur l'environnement naturel. L'atténuation par l'enlèvement, à l'aide de capture intensive par trappage, peut s'avérer une méthode efficace pour réduire la présence de crabe vert et limiter l'impact de l'espèce sur l'environnement pendant que les recherches et les essais sur d'autres méthodes se poursuivent.

La détermination des espèces importantes, d'un point de vue écologique, qui fournissent un habitat structurel (p. ex., les coraux et les mousses de mer), des zones ayant une importance écologique et biologique de même que la caractérisation de l'habitat demeurent une priorité pour améliorer la connaissance et la protection des zones se trouvant dans la baie Placentia/les Grands Bancs, importantes pour les fonctions et la structure de l'écosystème.

Les coraux d'eau profonde ont été définis comme une espèce ayant une importance écologique dans les écosystèmes de la zone de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs, car ils fournissent un habitat structurel unique. De même, les éponges vivant en eau froide sont de plus en plus reconnues, elles aussi, comme composant important d'un écosystème marin par l'habitat benthique qu'elles offrent. On a ciblé des zones prioritaires pour la recherche sur les éponges des grands fonds en fonction des zones de la région qui présentent une grande biodiversité et une grande abondance; la mise en place de mesures de gestion visant leur protection est en cours.

À propos de nouvelles sources d'information pouvant combler les lacunes de connaissance des ZEGO, un relevé aérien été effectué en 2007 afin d'estimer avec plus de précision l'abondance et la répartition des mammifères marins, des tortues de mer et autre mégafaune de surface, ce qui aura des répercussions importantes pour notre compréhension, d'un point de vue de gestion et des espèces en péril.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas-sccs/publications/resdocs-docrech/2010/2010_026-fra.htm

Coraux d'eau froide, fixés à la roche sédimentaire de la montagne sous-marine Orphan Knoll. Cette photo a été prise à l'aide d'un submersible téléguidé (ROPOS). Photo : MPO

Le crabe vert menace de déplacer les espèces indigènes vivant dans cette zone. Photo : MPO

La mousse de mer fournit un habitat structurel sans pareil. Photo : MPO

Conservation des coraux et des éponges d’eau froide au Canada

Au Canada, on trouve des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide dans les océans Pacifique, Arctique et Atlantique. Les coraux et les éponges offrent un habitat complexe à trois dimensions essentiel pour bon nombre d'espèces abyssales.

En raison de leur faible taux de croissance, de leur longévité et des facteurs limitant leur habitat, les coraux et les éponges sont particulièrement vulnérables aux bouleversements physiques et aux autres perturbations indirectes. Ces coraux et éponges peuvent être perturbés par une grande variété de facteurs, dont de nombreuses activités anthropiques (p.ex. : la pêche au chalut de fond), l'exploitation pétrolière, l'exploration et la production minières et l'installation de câblages et de pipelines sous-marins. Les phénomènes liés aux changements climatiques, comme l'acidification des océans, ont également un impact sur ces espèces.

Les responsabilités des États dans la mise en œuvre des mesures de conservation des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide sont définies dans des conventions et des accords internationaux, comme la Convention sur la diversité biologique et la résolution 61/105 de l'Assemblée Générale(AG) des Nations Unies.

Zones de protection marine au sein de la zone de gestion intégrée de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs

Les zones de protection marine (ZPM) sont géographiquement des zones définies en vertu de la Loi sur les océans. Elles ont été établies pour protéger et conserver les habitats importants des poissons et des mammifères marins, les espèces marines en voie de disparition, les caractéristiques uniques et les zones de grande bioproductivité ou biodiversité. Deux ZPM se trouvent dans la zone de gestion intégrée de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs.

Publications
Date de modification :