Statement of Canadian Practice with respect to the Mitigation of Seismic Sound in the Marine Environment

Seismic surveys in the marine environment are conducted by earth scientists and geophysicists to understand the structure and movement of the earth’s crust and to detect and delineate potential commercial quantities of sub-sea oil and gas resources.

The potential for environmental impacts from seismic surveys on key components of the marine ecosystems has been recognized for some time. In order to understand the state of scientific knowledge, DFO sponsored a peer review by Canadian and international science experts. Their objective was to develop scientific conclusions and advice on the potential impacts of seismic sound on marine fish, marine invertebrates, marine zooplankton, eggs and larvae of fish and invertebrates, marine turtles and marine mammals. A copy of the peer-reviewed report, entitled “Review of Scientific Information on Impacts of Seismic Sound on Fish, Invertebrates, Marine Turtles and Marine Mammals" (Habitat Status Report 2004/002) is available at:
http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/Csas/status/2004/HSR2004_002_E.pdf
.

Based on this peer-reviewed advice and an assessment by technical experts of the best available and internationally-recognized techniques to mitigate the effects of seismic sound in the marine environment, a group of federal and provincial experts in marine regulatory policy and practice (Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, the Provinces of British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and Quebec) developed a Statement of Canadian Practice. The Statement of Canadian Practice is intended to formalize and standardize the mitigation measures in Canada with respect to the conduct of seismic surveys in the marine environment. It will consist of minimum standards which will be given effect through existing regulatory authorities. For oil and gas seismic activities, Natural Resources Canada and Indian Affairs and Northern development, the provinces of Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, and their related boards, the National Energy Board, the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board and the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board, will give effect to the Statement under their respective regulatory instruments. Non-oil and gas related seismic surveys will be regulated by the Oceans Act.

Énoncé des pratiques canadiennes d'atténuation des ondes sismiques en milieu marin

Les levés sismiques en milieu marin sont effectués par des spécialistes des sciences de la Terre et des géophysiciens afin de comprendre la structure et les mouvements de l’écorce terrestre, de détecter la présence de ressources gazières et pétrolières marines pouvant être exploitées commercialement ainsi que de déterminer la quantité de ces ressources.

Il est reconnu depuis un certain temps que les levés sismiques peuvent affecter les composantes essentielles des écosystèmes marins. Afin d’établir l’état des connaissances scientifiques à ce sujet, le MPO a appuyé la tenue d’un examen par les pairs, examen réalisé par des scientifiques canadiens et étrangers. Ceux ci devaient établir des conclusions et des avis scientifiques concernant les répercussions possibles des ondes causées par les activités sismiques sur le poisson, les invertébrés et le zooplancton marins, les œufs et les larves du poisson et des invertébrés ainsi que les tortues et autres mammifères marins. Le rapport examiné par les pairs, intitulé « Évaluation des renseignements scientifiques sur les impacts des ondes sismiques sur les poissons, les invertébrés, les tortues et les mammifères marins » (Rapports sur l’état d’habitat, 2004/002) peut être consulté à partir du site Web suivant :
http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/Csas/etat/2004/HSR2004_002_F.pdf
.

Selon l’avis examiné par les pairs et l’évaluation qu’ont fait des spécialistes concernant les meilleures techniques reconnues internationalement pour l’atténuation des impacts des ondes causées par les levés sismiques en milieu marin, un groupe de spécialistes fédéraux et provinciaux en matière de pratiques et de politiques de réglementation marines (Pêches et Océans Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, et les provinces de la Colombie-Britannique, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Québec) ont élaboré l’Énoncé des pratiques canadiennes. Cet énoncé vise à officialiser et à uniformiser les mesures d’atténuation du Canada s’appliquant à la réalisation de levés sismiques en milieu marin. Il constituera en fait un ensemble de normes de base applicables par les organismes de réglementation existants. En ce qui concerne les activités sismiques d’exploration gazière et pétrolière, les ministères, provinces et organismes suivants donneront suite à l’Énoncé par le biais de leurs outils respectifs de réglementation : Ressources naturelles Canada, Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, la Nouvelle Écosse, Terre Neuve et Labrador, et les conseils respectifs de ces provinces, l’Office national de l’énergie, l’Office Canada Terre Neuve et Labrador des hydrocarbures extracôtiers ainsi que l’Office Canada Nouvelle Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers. Les activités sismiques autres que les activités d’exploration gazière et pétrolière devront quant à elles être conformes aux exigences de la Loi sur les océans.