Language selection

Search

Program information

The Centre of Expertise (CoE) in Cold-water Corals and Sponge Reefs, established in 2008, is located at the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre in St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador.

The CoE coordinates the Government of Canada's approach to cold-water coral and sponge conservation. In addition, the centre:

As a part of its mandate the CoE has developed a communications approach which includes the creation of products used to promote awareness of coral and sponge conservation in Canada. One example of this is our DVD entitled, Diving into the Deep: Coral and Sponge Conservation in Canada. This DVD is targeted toward the fishing industry.

Cold-water Corals and Sponges

In Canada, corals and sponges are found in the Pacific, eastern Arctic, and Atlantic Oceans. Coral and sponge provide complex three dimensional habitat which is important for a variety of deep sea species.

Slow growth rates, longevity, and habitat-limiting factors make corals and sponges particularly vulnerable to physical impacts both directly and indirectly. Corals and sponges can be adversely affected by a broad range of impacts, many of which are associated with human activities including fishing (e.g. bottom impact fishing), oil and gas exploration and development, and submarine cable and pipeline installation. Ocean acidification, as a result of climate change, is also impacting these species.

The responsibilities of countries to implement conservation measures for cold-water coral and sponges are defined in international conventions and agreements, such as the Convention on Biological Diversity and United Nations General Assembly Resolution (UNGA) 61/105.

For more information on the conservation of corals and sponges in Canada, please consult the Coral and Sponge Conservation Strategy.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Renseignements sur le Programme

Le Centre d'expertise sur les récifs de coraux et d'éponges d'eau froide, créé en 2008, est situé au Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique nord ouest de St. John's, à Terre Neuve et Labrador.

Le but du Centre d'expertise sur les océans consiste à coordonner l'approche du gouvernement du Canada en matière de conservation des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide. Le Centre vise également à :

Dans le cadre de son mandat, le Centre d'expertise a élaboré une approche de communication qui comprend la création de produits pour promouvoir la sensibilisation à la conservation des coraux et des éponges au Canada. Le DVD intitulé Regard en profondeur : la conservation des coraux et des éponges au Canada est un exemple des produits créés. Ce DVD est conçu pour l'industrie de la pêche.

Récifs de coraux et d'éponges d'eau froide

Au Canada, on trouve des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide dans les océans Pacifique, Arctique et Atlantique. Les coraux et les éponges offrent un habitat complexe à trois dimensions essentiel pour bon nombre d'espèces abyssales.

En raison de leur faible taux de croissance, de leur longévité et des facteurs limitant leur habitat, les coraux et les éponges sont particulièrement vulnérables aux bouleversements physiques et aux autres perturbations indirectes. Ces coraux et éponges peuvent être perturbés par une grande variété de facteurs, dont de nombreuses activités antropiques par exemple, la pêche au chalut de fond, l'exploitation pétrolière, l'exploration et la production minières et l'installation de câblages et de pipelines sous-marins. Les phénomènes liés aux changements climatiques, comme l'acidification des océans, ont également un impact sur ces espèces.

Les responsabilités des États dans la mise en œuvre des mesures de conservation des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide sont définies dans des conventions et des accords internationaux comme la Convention sur la diversité biologique et la résolution 61/105 de l'Assemblée Générale(AG) des Nations Unies.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la conservation des coraux et des éponges au Canada, consultez la Stratégie de conservation des coraux et des éponges.

Date de modification :