Southampton Island Area of Interest (AOI)

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Location

The Southampton Island AOI encompasses the nearshore waters around Southampton Island and Chesterfield Inlet in the Kivalliq Region of Nunavut. This site occurs within the Hudson Bay Complex Marine Bioregion.

Approximate Size (km2)

93,087 km2

Approximate % of Canada’s ocean territory

1.6%

Date identified

May, 2019

Proposed Overarching Goal

To conserve and protect the ecological integrity of the area. Goals and conservation objectives are to be further developed with partners and stakeholders.

Environmental Context

Southampton Island is the largest island in Hudson Bay, near the confluence of Hudson Bay and Foxe Basin waters; making it an area of high marine productivity. The area is important for key marine and terrestrial species. It is an important migration pathway for marine mammals (narwhal, beluga whales and bowhead whales), contains walrus haul-out sites, polar bear dens, and habitat for numerous seabird colonies. Marine conservation values within the Area of Interest extend into two Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) Migratory Bird Sanctuaries: The Harry Gibbons (Ikkattuaq) Migratory Bird Sanctuary, and the East Bay (Qaqsauqtuuq) Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

Map: Southampton Island Area of Interest (AOI)

Map: Southampton Island Area of Interest (AOI)

Chesterfield Inlet. Copyright Charlotte Sharkey, DFO.

Chesterfield Inlet. © Charlotte Sharkey, DFO.

Ecological Importance

Ecological Importance

The Southampton Island AOI captures important portions of three identified Ecologically and Biologically Significant Areas (ESBAs):

  • Southampton Island
  • Repulse Bay/Frozen Strait
  • Western Hudson Bay Coastline

The marine area around Southampton Island provides a migration pathway for marine mammals, important haul-out sites for walrus, as well as denning areas and summer refuge for polar bears. The Eastern Canada-West Greenland bowhead whale population can also be found in the area. The marine area also supports colonies of nesting common eiders and other seabirds. Most of the Southampton Island EBSA is captured in the AOI.

Repulse Bay/Frozen Strait is a summer marine mammal and seabird feeding area. A southern portion of the Repulse Bay/Frozen Strait EBSA is captured in the AOI on the north side of Southampton Island.

The Western Hudson Bay Coastline area is particularly important during the ice-free season for beluga and killer whales, and seabirds. Important Arctic char stocks feed in the area. The northern portion of the Western Hudson Bay Coastline EBSA is captured in the AOI.

Key Objectives and Approach

Key Objectives and Approach

Potential conservation priorities are:

  • High naturalness
  • Important habitat and haul-out sites for the Central-Low Arctic walrus (COSEWIC Special Concern)
  • Important migration pathways for the Eastern Canada-West Greenland bowhead whale (COSEWIC Special Concern) and the Western Hudson Bay beluga whale (COSEWIC Special Concern)
  • Important foraging areas for nesting seabirds and marine mammals

The selection of an AOI marks the beginning of the Marine Protected Area establishment process, led by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. An important first step in designating a Marine Protected Area is to initiate consultation mechanisms, including the establishment of an advisory committee, to engage with Indigenous peoples, other government partners, and stakeholders including industry and local communities. The process includes the collection and consideration of ecological and socio-economic information including Indigenous knowledge. A risk assessment is also completed. The information gathered through consultation, data collection and analysis will inform the area’s conservation objectives, along with its boundary and zones, and will help determine the management measures and associated regulations required for the future Marine Protected Area.

For more information about the Southampton Island MPA establishment process, please contact:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Iqaluit District Office
630 Mivvik Street
Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0
Canada
P.O. Box 358
Telephone: 867-979-8000
Fax: 867-979-8039
Email: DFO.OceansCentralArctic-OceansCentralArctique.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Research and Publications

Research and Publications

Date modified:

Site d’intérêt de l’île Southampton

En bref

En bref

Emplacement

Le site d’intérêt de l’île Southampton englobe les eaux littorales autour de l’île Southampton et l’inlet Chesterfield dans la région de Kivalliq, au Nunavut. Ce site se trouve dans la biorégion marine du Complexe de la baie d’Hudson.

Superficie approximative (km2)

93 087 km2

Pourcentage approximatif du territoire océanique du Canada

1,6 %

Date d’identification

Mai 2019

Objectif général proposé

Conserver et protéger l’intégrité écologique du site. Les buts et les objectifs de conservation devront être approfondis avec les partenaires et les intervenants.

Contexte environnemental

L’île de Southampton est la plus grande île de la baie d’Hudson, près de la confluence des eaux de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin Foxe, ce qui en fait une zone à forte productivité marine. Cette zone est importante pour les principales espèces marines et terrestres. C’est une importante voie de migration pour les mammifères marins (narvals, bélugas et baleines boréales), qui abrite des échoueries de morses, des tanières d’ours polaires et qui sert d’habitat à de nombreuses colonies d’oiseaux marins. Les valeurs de conservation marine dans le site d’intérêt s’étendent à deux refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) : le refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs Harry-Gibbons (Ikkattuaq) et le refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs de la Baie-East (Qaqsauqtuuq).

Carte : Site d’intérêt de l’île Southampton

Carte : Site d’intérêt de l’île Southampton

Chesterfield Inlet. Copyright Charlotte Sharkey, MPO.

Chesterfield Inlet. © Charlotte Sharkey, MPO.

Importance écologique

Importance écologique

Le site d’intérêt de l’île Southampton englobe des portions considérables de trois zones d’importance écologique et biologique (ZIEB) :

  • Île Southampton
  • Baie Repulse/détroit Frozen
  • Ligne de côte de l’Ouest de la baie d’Hudson

La zone marine autour de l’île de Southampton offre une voie de migration pour les mammifères marins, des échoueries importantes pour les morses, ainsi que des aires de mise bas et un refuge d’été pour les ours blancs. La population de baleines boréales de l’Est du Canada et de l’Ouest du Groenland se trouve également dans la région. La zone marine abrite également des colonies d’eiders à duvet et d’autres oiseaux marins. La plus grande partie de la ZIEB de l’île Southampton est située dans le site d’intérêt.

Le secteur de la Baie Repulse et du détroit Frozen est une aire d’alimentation estivale pour les mammifères marins et les oiseaux de mer. Une partie sud de la ZIEB de Baie Repulse et du détroit Frozen est située dans le site d’intérêt du côté nord de l’île Southampton.

La ligne de côte de l’Ouest de la baie d’Hudson est particulièrement importante pour les bélugas, les épaulards et les oiseaux de mer pendant la saison libre de glace. D’importants stocks d’omble chevalier se nourrissent dans la région. La partie nord de la ZIEB de la Ligne de côte de l’Ouest de la baie d’Hudson est située dans le site d’intérêt.

Principaux objectifs et approche

Principaux objectifs et approche

Les priorités potentielles en matière de conservation sont :

  • Caractère très naturel
  • Habitat et échoueries importants pour le morse du centre de l’Arctique et du Bas-Arctique (espèce préoccupante pour le COSEPAC)
  • Voies migratoires importantes pour la baleine boréale de l’Est du Canada et de l’Ouest du Groenland (espèce préoccupante pour le COSEPAC) et le béluga de l’Ouest de la baie d’Hudson (préoccupante pour le COSEPAC)
  • Importantes aires d’alimentation pour les oiseaux de mer nicheurs et les mammifères marins

La sélection d’un site d’intérêt marque le début du processus d’établissement de la zone de protection marine, mené par Pêches et Océans Canada. La première étape de la désignation d’une zone de protection marine consiste à mettre en place des mécanismes de consultation, notamment un comité consultatif pour consulter les peuples autochtones, d’autres partenaires du gouvernement, et des intervenants, y compris de l’industrie et de la collectivité locale. Le processus comprend la collecte et la prise en compte de l’information écologique et socio-économique, y compris le savoir autochtone. Une évaluation du risque est également effectuée. Les renseignements recueillis au moyen des consultations ainsi que de la collecte et de l’analyse des données permettront d’éclairer les objectifs de conservation du site, ainsi que ses limites et les zones, et aideront à déterminer les mesures de gestion et les règlements associés requis pour la future zone de protection marine.

Si vous voulez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'établissement de zones de protection marine pour les îles de la côte Est, veuillez communiquer avec :

Pêches et Océans Canada
Bureau de district, Iqaluit
630 rue Mivvik
C.P. 358
Iqaluit (Nunavut)
X0A 0H0
Tél. : 867-979-8000
Télécopieur : 867-979-8039
Courriel : DFO.OceansCentralArctic-OceansCentralArctique.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Recherche et publications

Recherche et publications

Date de modification :