Race Rocks AOI

Location

The Race Rocks (XwaYeN) Area of Interest (AOI) is located 17 km southwest of Victoria, British Columbia in the Strait of Juan de Fuca, and consists of nine islets. The AOI is approximately 2 km2.

Ecological Importance

Northern Abalone

In 1980, the province of British Columbia established the Race Rocks Ecological Reserve, to protect terrestrial, marine and cultural heritage values of the nine islets, and the ocean floor.

Race Rocks (XwaYeN) was named for its strong tidal currents and rocky reefs. High velocity tidal currents, climate and chemical properties of the water contribute to an abundance of nutrients and dissolved oxygen in the area. These factors contribute to an ecosystem of high biodiversity and biological productivity.

Race Rocks is a showcase for Pacific marine life; including large marine mammals, seabirds, fish, invertebrates and plants. The Area of Interest has a rich marine heritage and is culturally significant for several First Nations in the area.

Race Rocks (XwaYeN) Proposed Marine Protected Area Ecosystem Overview and Assessment Report (2011)

Key Objectives and Approach

Since 1995, the waters surrounding Race Rocks have been closed to all commercial fisheries operating in the area, and in 2005, a Rockfish Conservation Area was put in place (see map). Anchoring, ocean dumping, dredging and the extraction of non-renewable resources are prohibited within the reserve boundaries.

In 1980, the province of British Columbia, under the authority of the provincial Ecological Reserves Act, established the Race Rocks Ecological Reserve, which provides for the protection of the terrestrial natural and cultural heritage values (nine islets) and of the ocean seabed (to the 20 fathoms contour line). Ocean dumping, dredging and the extraction of non-renewable resources are not permitted within the boundaries of the Ecological Reserve.

On September 1, 1998, the Race Rocks was announced by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The objective for the proposed Race Rocks Marine Protected Area (MPA) is to conserve and protect the biodiversity and ecosystem function of the area.

Research and Publications

Race Rocks (XwaYeN) Proposed Marine Protected Area Ecosystem Overview and Assessment Report (2011)

Race Rocks Marine Protected Area Designation: A Social, Economic, and Cultural Overview (2010)

Update: Pacific Region Area of Interest Race Rocks (2010)

Date modified:

Le SI du Groupe Rocher Race

Emplacement

La site d'intérêt (SI) du Groupe Rocher Race (XwaYeN) est située à 17 km au sud-ouest de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique), dans le détroit de Juan de Fuca, et elle comprend neuf îlots. Le SI s'étend sur une superficie d'environ 2 km2.

Importance écologique

Northern Abalone

En 1980, la province de la Colombie-Britannique a créé la Réserve écologique du Groupe Rocher Race afin de protéger les valeurs des patrimoines terrestres, marins et de l'héritage culturel des neuf îlots, ainsi que le plancher océanique.

Le Groupe du Rocher Race (XwaYeN) tire son nom de ses forts courants de marée et ses récifs rocailleux. Les forts courants de marée, le climat et les propriétés chimiques apportent une généreuse quantité de matières nutritives et d’oxygène dissous dans la zone. Ces facteurs forment un écosystème d'une très grande biodiversité et d'une productivité biologique.

Le Groupe Rocher Race est une vitrine pour la vie marine du Pacifique; elle accueille de larges mammifères marins, des oiseaux de mer, des poissons, des invertébrés et des plantes. Le site d'intérêt possède un riche héritage marin et une culture importante pour plusieurs Premières nations de la zone.

Rapport d'évaluation et d'examen de l'écosystème de la zone de protection marine proposée du Groupe Rocher Race (XwaYeN) (2011)

Principaux objectifs et approche

Depuis 1995, les eaux entourant le Groupe Rocher Race ont été fermées à toutes les pêches commerciales pratiquées dans la région, et, en 2005, une aire de conservation du sébaste a été créée (voir la carte). L'ancrage, le rejet en mer, le dragage et l'extraction de ressources non renouvelables sont interdits à l'intérieur des limites de la réserve.

En 1980, la province de la Colombie-Britannique, dans le cadre de la loi provinciale Ecological Reserves Act (Loi sur les réserves écologiques), a créé la Réserve écologique du Groupe Rocher Race, qui prévoit la protection des valeurs naturelles terrestres et de l'héritage culturel (neuf îlots) et du fond marin (jusqu'à 20 brasses de courbe de niveau). Les rejets en mer, le dragage et l’extraction de ressources non renouvelables ne sont pas permis à l’intérieur des frontières de la Réserve écologique.

Le 1er septembre 1998, le Groupe du Rocher Race a été annoncé par le ministre de Pêches et Océans Canada. L'objectif de la zone de protection marine (ZPM) proposée du Groupe Rocher Race est de conserver et de protéger la biodiversité et la fonction écosystémique de la zone.

Recherche et publications

Race Rocks (XwaYeN) Proposed Marine Protected Area Ecosystem Overview and Assessment Report (2011)

Race Rocks Marine Protected Area Designation: A Social, Economic, and Cultural Overview (2010)

Update: Pacific Region Area of Interest Race Rocks (2010)

Date de modification :