Canada’s National Plan of Action to Prevent, Deter and Eliminate Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated Fishing

Published by:

Communications Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0E6

DFO/2005-280 (Revised September 2005)

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2005

Cat. No. Fs23-462/2005
ISBN 0-662-68828-7

Printed on recycled paper

1. Introduction

1.1 Purpose

The purpose of this document is to specify Canada’s plans to prevent, deter, and eliminate illegal, unreported, and unregulated (IUU) fishing; to provide a description of Canada’s existing policies and legislation related to this problem; and to identify ongoing programs and projects to address it.

Canada’s National Plan of Action to Prevent, Deter and Eliminate Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated Fishing (NPOA-IUU) was developed in accordance with the principles and provisions of the International Plan of Action to Prevent, Deter and Eliminate IUU fishing (IPOA-IUU). These principles and provisions are set out by the United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO).

The NPOA-IUU elaborates and recommends solutions to Canada’s IUU fishing concerns with respect to overcapacity, lack of effective flag State control by both contracting parties and non-contracting parties, and non-compliance with no consequences by contracting parties to regional fisheries management organizations (RFMOs).

1.2 Overview of IUU Fishing

During the past few decades, the international community has become increasingly aware of the growing number of unlawful and irresponsible fishing activities within national jurisdictions and on the high seas. These activities, commonly referred to as IUU fishing, threaten the sustainability of capture fisheries around the world.

IUU fishing works against the efforts of States, RFMOs, industry, and legitimate fishers to maintain productive and sustainable fisheries. In addition to the direct damage IUU fishing causes to fish populations, it also has an adverse affect on marine mammals, seabirds, sea turtles, and biodiversity as a whole.

While the true magnitude of IUU fishing around the world is unknown, the FAO suggests that approximately 30 per cent of the total catch in 2000 was the result of IUU fishing. It is clear that the purveyors of IUU fishing activities are dynamic, driven by profit, and supported by both economic and social incentives. It is also clear that these activities can differ from one region or targeted species to the other. Moreover, IUU fishing can adversely affect the people employed in illegal fishing activities; as a recent Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) workshop on IUU fishing (April 2004) drew attention to the inadequate safety conditions of crew members from poor and underdeveloped parts of the world.

Particularly disturbing are organized illegal fishing activities occurring in the area governed by RFMOs or in other areas of the high seas. Some fishing fleets continue to illegally catch fish protected by moratoria in the NAFO regulatory area, while others fish in excess of their legal quotas each year.

In order to address IUU fishing, stakeholders at all levels need to adopt equally dynamic national, regional, and international strategies. More information about the global problem of IUU fishing can be found at the FAO Fisheries Web Site at: www.fao.org/fi/default_all.asp.

1.3 Origin and Purpose of the IPOA-IUU

The IPOA-IUU is a voluntary instrument that identifies means to prevent, deter, and eliminate IUU fishing activities through a series of measures that are meant to be fully implemented by all States, regional economic integration organizations, and RFMOs. It identifies cooperation, coordination, broad consultation, and full participation from all stakeholders as key elements of the implementation process. It also encourages a comprehensive and integrated approach that considers all economic, social, and environmental impacts of IUU fishing. This approach is based on the fundamental principle of conservation, transparency, and non-discrimination.

The concept of the IPOA-IUU arose from the Twenty-third Session of the FAO Committee on Fisheries (COFI) in 1999. The Committee was alarmed by the rate at which IUU fishing activities were increasing, the estimated damage caused by such activities, and the proliferation of vessels flying flags of convenience.

The IPOA-IUU was developed in a manner that draws on the rules of relevant international law within the framework of the Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries. Therefore, although the IPOA is voluntary, many of its basic provisions exist in other binding instruments, such as the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, the 1995 United Nations Fish Agreement, and the FAO Compliance Agreement.

COFI approved the IPOA-IUU on March 2, 2001. It was formally adopted by the FAO Council the following June.

1.4 Canadian Fisheries

Fisheries resources play an important role in Canada, providing food and income for both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal peoples. In 2003, these fisheries employed approximately 115 000 people, who landed some 873 000 tonnes of fish in the Atlantic region and 218 000 tonnes of fish in the Pacific region. The combined value of the catch was more than $2.9 billion in 2003. With exports of fish and seafood products estimated at $4.5 billion in 2003, Canada ranked fifth in the world for exports in this sector.

Much of Canada’s fishing industry operates offshore in what is one of the world’s largest Exclusive Economic Zones (EEZ), equivalent to approximately 31 per cent of the country’s land mass. Addressing the many threats to Canada’s fisheries resources in such a vast area presents a serious challenge to fisheries managers.

Key threats to the stocks within and outside Canada’s EEZ include:

  • fishing for species under moratoria;
  • exceeding the allowable bycatch for species under moratoria;
  • exceeding quotas or the amount of fish that vessels are permitted to catch;
  • harvesting undersized fish;
  • misreporting catches;
  • fishing in an area that has been closed to fishing; and
  • ineffective control by flag States over their vessels on the high seas.

These threats add to a decade of challenges and adjustments in Canada’s fisheries sector. Groundfish and salmon stocks on the Atlantic coast have failed to recover from their low levels of the past decade. Pacific salmon stocks, although showing signs of improvement as a result of management measures introduced in the late 1990s, remain depressed.

The performance of these and other fish stocks underscores the importance of effective conservation measures. At the same time, demands for access to these stocks continue to highlight the need to strike a balance between harvesting the resource and protecting it to ensure its sustainability.

A complete overview of Canada’s policies, legislative framework, and fisheries management programs as they relate to the provisions of the IPOA-IUU can be found in Annex 1. The Tables in Annex 1 should also be used as a reference for Sections 2 and 3 of this document.

1.5 Canadian Legislative and Regulatory Framework

To address the threats posed by IUU fishing to the sustainability of Canada’s fisheries, the Government of Canada has implemented a number of policies and programs over the years. These policies and programs are consistent with the principles of the IPOA-IUU.

Table 1 of Annex 1 provides a quick overview of the legislative framework governing fisheries in Canada, while Actions 2.1, 2.1.1, and 2.2 identify examples of Canada’s efforts to strengthen its fisheries policies.

Canada’s legislative and regulatory framework is designed to:

  • manage and protect fisheries resources in a biologically sustainable manner; and
  • outline potential action to be taken, when necessary, to prevent destructive practices while continuing to seek effective international solutions.

The legislative instruments designed to deliver Canada’s fisheries resource objectives include:

  • the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Act;
  • the Oceans Act;
  • the Fisheries Act;
  • the Coastal Fisheries Protection Act; and
  • the Species at Risk Act.

The Department of Fisheries and Oceans Act

The Department of Fisheries and Oceans Act establishes the powers, duties, and functions of the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, which extend to and include all matters over which Parliament has jurisdiction relating to:

  • seacoast and inland fisheries;
  • fishing and marine sciences; and
  • the coordination of the policies and programs of the Government of Canada respecting oceans.

The Oceans Act

The Oceans Act gives the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans the legal authority to draw together all Canada’s ocean stakeholders, including Aboriginal organizations, to develop an oceans management strategy based on the sustainable development and integrated management of activities and resources in estuarine, coastal, and marine waters.

This Act also includes Canada’s full rights and jurisdiction over internal waters, our fishing zones off the Atlantic, Pacific, and Arctic coasts, and our rights with respect to the Continental Shelf. It also covers Canada’s right to harvest sedentary species in or on the Shelf, and our jurisdiction over the exploration and exploitation of minerals and non-living resources of the seabed and subsoil.

Finally, the Oceans Act is a declaration of Canadian jurisdiction over its 12-nautical-mile Contiguous Zone, extending from the outer of Canada’s 12-nautical-mile Territorial Sea and its 200-nautical-mile EEZ.

The Fisheries Act

The Fisheries Act is the cornerstone of Canada’s fisheries management policy, providing broad powers to the Minister for the management, conservation, and protection of fish resources. These powers include discretion to:

  • award licenses or leases for fisheries or fishing;
  • allocate harvests among user groups; and
  • protect fish habitat and prevent pollution.

While the regulation of commercial fishing is the most visible of Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s regulatory programs, the Act also applies to tidal and recreational fishing, freshwater fisheries, and Aboriginal fisheries.

Three sections of the Fisheries Act form the basis for fisheries management in Canada:

  • Section 7 provides the Minister with the absolute discretion to grant licenses and leases, wherever the exclusive right of fishing does not already exist by law;
  • Section 9 provides the power to cancel or suspend licenses and leases for cause; and
  • Section 43 provides regulation-making power by the Governor General in Council for the conservation and protection of fish, and the management and control of fisheries.

The Fisheries Act also contains provisions that prohibit the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat.

The Coastal Fisheries Protection Act

The Minister’s responsibility for regulating foreign fishing in Canadian waters is set out in the Coastal Fisheries Protection Act (CFPA). The CFPA and associated regulations provide the Minister with the authority to allow foreign vessels access to Canadian waters or Canadian ports.

The Canadian Port Access Policy remains a “closed ports” policy whereby Canadian ports are generally closed, and access is a privilege that may only be granted by the Canadian government. Canada’s Port Access Policy is consistent with international obligations, including international trade obligations.

The CFPA prohibits certain classes of vessels from fishing for specified fish species contrary to the rules of the high seas in the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization (NAFO) Regulatory Area (NRA).

Between March 2002 and March 2003, Canadian fisheries officers dealt with 10,321 fishing and habitat violations of the Fisheries Act regulations and the CFPA. In the same period, 2,907 charges were laid and an additional 1,188 charges are pending or under review.

The Species at Risk Act

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) was created to prevent wildlife species from becoming extinct. The Act protects species at risk and their critical habitats. It also contains provisions to help manage species of special concern to prevent them from becoming endangered or extinct.

More information about Canada’s fisheries legislation, including the full text of the Fisheries Act and the CFPA, can be found at: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/communic/policy/dnload_e.htm.

The full text of all Canadian legislation may be found on the Department of Justice Web site at: laws.justice.gc.ca/en/search.html.

1.6 International Commitments

Fisheries resources lie in both national and international waters, and the Government of Canada is committed to protecting and conserving the sustainable harvest of these resources around the world. To help ensure the conservation and sustainable use of fisheries resources in international waters, Canada participates in several international and regionally based fisheries organizations, including the FAO, NAFO, and the Pacific Salmon Commission. Fisheries and Oceans Canada also monitors the fishing activities of foreign-flagged vessels in international waters, and negotiates and administers international fisheries treaties and trade agreements.

Table 1 of Annex 1 provides a quick overview of Canada’s legislative framework governing fisheries, while Actions 2.5 and 2.6 address Canada’s efforts to continue meeting its international commitments.

Canada has ratified, and is implementing, national versions of all the international agreements identified in the IPOA-IUU as key elements for combating IUU fishing, including:

  • the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea;
  • the United Nations Fish Agreement;
  • the FAO Compliance Agreement; and
  • the Code of Conduct for Responsible Fishing Operations.

The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) is the comprehensive regime of law and order covering the world’s oceans and seas. Within UNCLOS are rules governing all uses of the oceans and their resources. It enshrines the notion that all problems of ocean space are closely interrelated and need to be addressed as a whole. Canada ratified UNCLOS on November 6, 2003.

The United Nations Fish Agreement

The United Nations Fish Agreement (UNFA) elaborates the fundamental principles established in UNCLOS that States should cooperate to ensure the conservation of fisheries resources straddling the EEZ and the high seas.

UNFA provides a framework for the conservation and management of straddling and highly migratory fish stocks in high seas areas regulated by RFMOs. It carries an obligation to apply the precautionary approach and ecosystem-based management when managing these fisheries on the high seas and in waters under the jurisdiction of coastal States. It also obliges States to minimize pollution, waste, and discards of fish and obliges them also to exercise effective control over their fishing vessels on the high seas.

One of the most innovative aspects of UNFA is the right of States that are party to the UNFA to board and inspect vessels of other State parties on the high seas, and to verify compliance with internationally agreed fishing rules of RFMOs. Canada ratified UNFA in August 1999 and is a strong supporter of the Agreement.

Another important aspect of UNFA is the dispute settlement provision. According to Article 27, Part VIII, States have the obligation to settle their disputes by negotiation, inquiry, mediation, conciliation, arbitration, judicial settlement, resort to regional agencies or arrangements, or other peaceful means of their own choice.

The FAO Compliance Agreement

Canada ratified the 1993 FAO Compliance Agreement on May 20, 1994, and has supplied the FAO with vessel information as required by the Agreement. Countries that have signed or ratified the Agreement should ensure that they are reporting such information, particularly under Articles 4 and 6, which urge countries to:

  • maintain a record of fishing vessels entitled to fly its flag and authorized to be used for fishing on the high seas, and take such measures as may be necessary to ensure that all such fishing vessels are entered in that record; and
  • make readily available to FAO the following information with respect to each fishing vessel entered in the record required to be maintained under Article 4:
    • name of the fishing vessel, registration number and previous names (if known);
    • port of registry;
    • previous flag (if any);
    • International Radio Call Sign (if any);
    • name and address of owner or owners;
    • where and when built;
    • type of vessel; and
    • length.

In order to promote the principles of the Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries, the Government of Canada has collaborated with industry to implement selective fishing programs and integrated fisheries management plans.

The Code of Conduct for Responsible Fishing Operations

In 1998, through a 13-member board of fishers and fishery representatives, Canada developed a Canadian Code of Conduct for Responsible Fishing Operations, which is a commitment by participating harvesters to achieve sustainable fisheries. Currently, 80 per cent of fishers in Canada have adopted the Code and a new board has been elected to implement it.

Date modified:

Plan d’action national du Canada visant à prévenir, à contrecarrer et à éliminer la pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée

Publié par :

Direction générale des communications
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0E6

MPO/2005-280 (Édition révisée, septembre 2005)

©Sa majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada 2005

Nº cat. Fs23-462/2005
ISBN 0-662-68828-7

Imprimé sur du papier recyclé

Table des matières

1. Introduction

1.1 But

Ce document présente les mesures prévues par le Canada pour prévenir, contrecarrer et éliminer la pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée (INN); décrit les politiques et les lois canadiennes en vigueur et détermine les programmes; et les projets en cours qui traitent du problème de la pêche INN.

Le Plan d’action national du Canada visant à prévenir, à contrecarrer et à éliminer la pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée (PAN-INN) a été élaboré conformément aux principes et aux dispositions du Plan d’action international (PAI) visant à prévenir, à contrecarrer et à éliminer la pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée (PAI-INN). Ces principes et dispositions sont établis par l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO).

En outre, le PAN-INN prépare et fournit des solutions recommandées concernant les préoccupations du Canada en matière de pêche INN au sujet de la surcapacité, de la non-conformité sans conséquences des parties contractantes aux organisations régionales de gestion des pêches (ORGP) et de l’absence de contrôle efficace de l’État du pavillon tant chez les parties contractantes que non contractantes.

1.2 Aperçu de la pêche INN

Depuis quelques décennies, la communauté internationale prend de plus en plus conscience de l’intensification des activités de pêche illégales et irresponsables dans les zones nationales et en haute mer. Ces activités, qualifiées couramment de pêche INN, menacent la durabilité des pêches partout dans le monde.

La pêche INN va à l’encontre des efforts déployés par les États, les ORGP, l’industrie et les pêcheurs légitimes pour maintenir la productivité et la durabilité des pêches. En plus des dommages directs causés par la pêche INN aux populations de poisson, cette pêche a des effets négatifs sur les mammifères marins, les oiseaux aquatiques, les tortues de mer et la biodiversité dans son ensemble.

Bien qu’on ne connaisse pas l’amplitude réelle de la pêche INN dans le monde, en 2000, la FAO a laissé entendre qu’environ 30 p. 100 des prises totales découlaient de telles activités. Il ressort clairement que ceux qui pratiquent la pêche INN sont dynamiques, motivés par le profit et stimulés par des incitatifs économiques et sociaux et que ces activités peuvent différer d’une région ou espèce ciblée à une autre. De plus, la pêche INN peut nuire aux personnes qu’elle emploie comme on l’a souligné lors d’un atelier tenu dernièrement sur la pêche INN (avril 2004) par l’organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) qui a mis en relief les conditions de sécurité inadéquates des membres des équipages provenant de pays pauvres et sous-développés.

Ce qui inquiète particulièrement, ce sont les activités de pêche illégale organisées qui se déroulent dans les zones régies par des ORGP ou dans d’autres zones en haute mer. Certaines flottilles de pêche continuent de capturer illégalement du poisson protégé par des moratoires dans la zone réglementée par l’OPANO, tandis que d’autres dépassent leurs quotas autorisés chaque année.

Pour s’attaquer aux problèmes de la pêche INN, les intervenants de tous les niveaux doivent adopter des stratégies nationales, régionales et internationales toutes aussi dynamiques. On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur le problème mondial de la pêche INN dans le site Web des pêches de la FAO à l’adresse www.fao.org/fi/default_all.asp.

1.3 Origine et but du PAI-INN

Le PAI-INN est un instrument volontaire qui détermine les moyens de prévenir, de contrecarrer et d’éliminer les activités de pêche INN grâce à un train de mesures développées pour être mises en œuvre intégralement par tous les États, les organisations régionales d’intégration économique et les ORGP. Le PAI-INN établit que la collaboration et la coordination, les vastes consultations et la participation intégrale de tous les intervenants constituent des éléments clés du processus de mise en œuvre. En outre, il favorise une approche exhaustive et intégrée qui tient compte de toutes les répercussions économiques, sociales et environnementales de la pêche INN. Cette approche repose sur les principes fondamentaux de conservation, de transparence et de non-discrimination.

Le concept du PAI-INN a vu le jour à la 23e session du Comité des pêches (COFI) de la FAO en 1999. Le Comité a été alarmé par le rythme auquel les activités de pêche INN prenaient de l’ampleur, les dommages prévus de telles activités et la prolifération de navires battant pavillon de complaisance.

Le PAI a été élaboré dans le cadre du Code de conduite pour la pêche responsable et d’une façon qui fait appel aux règles du droit international pertinent. Par conséquent, bien que le PAI soit volontaire, beaucoup de ses dispositions de base existent dans d’autres instruments exécutoires comme la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer de 1982, l’Accord des Nations Unies sur les stocks de poissons de 1995 et l’Accord de conformité de la FAO.

Le COFI a approuvé le PAI sur la pêche INN le 2 mars 2001. Le PAI a été adopté officiellement par le Conseil de la FAO au mois de juin suivant.

1.4 Pêches canadiennes

Les ressources halieutiques jouent un rôle important au Canada, en tant que source d’alimentation et de revenus pour les personnes autochtones et non autochtones. En 2003, ces pêches employaient environ 115 000 personnes, qui ont débarqué quelque 873 000 tonnes de poisson dans la région de l’Atlantique et 218 000 tonnes dans la région du Pacifique. La valeur combinée des prises dépassait 2,9 milliards de dollars. Ses exportations étant estimées à 4,5 milliards de dollars en 2003, le Canada se plaçait au cinquième rang mondial pour les exportations de poissons et de produits de la pêche.

Une part importante des activités de pêche canadiennes se déroulent au large, dans ce qui est une des zones économiques exclusives (ZEE) la plus vaste au monde, équivalant à environ 31 p. 100 de la masse terrestre du pays. Tenter de contrer les nombreuses menaces qui pèsent sur les ressources halieutiques du Canada dans une zone si vaste pose un défi de taille aux gestionnaires des pêches.

Au nombre des principales menaces pour les stocks à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de la ZEE canadienne, mentionnons les suivantes :

  • pêche d’espèces faisant l’objet de moratoires;
  • dépassement des prises accessoires permises pour des espèces faisant l’objet de moratoires;
  • dépassement de quotas, ou du volume de poissons qu’il est permis de capturer;
  • récolte de poissons de petite taille;
  • rapports erronés sur les prises;
  • pêche dans une zone qui a été fermée;
  • contrôle inefficace, par les États du pavillon, de leurs bateaux en haute mer.

Ces menaces s’ajoutent aux défis et aux rajustements auxquels le secteur canadien des pêches a dû faire face aux cours des dix dernières années. Après avoir connu de faibles niveaux au cours de la dernière décennie, les stocks de poisson de fond et de saumon de l’Atlantique n’ont pu se rétablir. Bien qu’ils montrent des signes d’amélioration par suite de mesures de gestion adoptées à la fin des années 90, les stocks de saumons du Pacifique demeurent faibles.

La situation de ces stocks de poisson et autres souligne l’importance de bonnes mesures de conservation. En même temps, la demande d’accès continue de faire ressortir le besoin d’établir un équilibre entre la pêche et la protection de la ressource pour en assurer la durabilité.

Un aperçu complet des politiques, du cadre législatif et des programmes de gestion des pêches du Canada dans le contexte des dispositions du PAI-INN est donné à l’annexe 1. En outre, les tableaux de l’annexe 1 devraient être utilisés comme points de référence pour les sections 2 et 3 de ce document.

1.5 Cadre législatif et réglementaire canadien

Pour contrer les menaces que présentent les activités de pêche INN pour la durabilité des pêches du Canada, le gouvernement canadien a mis en œuvre un certain nombre de politiques et de programmes au fil des ans. Ces politiques et programmes sont conformes aux principes du PAI-INN.

Le tableau 1 de l’annexe 1 donne un bref aperçu du cadre législatif régissant les pêches au Canada, tandis que les mesures 2.1, 2.1.1, et 2.2 donnent des exemples des efforts déployés par le Canada pour renforcer ses politiques de pêche.

L’objectif du cadre législatif et réglementaire du Canada est le suivant :

  • gérer et protéger les ressources halieutiques d’une façon biologiquement durable;
  • présenter les mesures possibles à prendre, au besoin, pour prévenir les pratiques destructrices, tout en continuant de chercher à trouver des solutions internationales efficaces.

Les instruments législatifs conçus pour atteindre les objectifs du Canada concernant les ressources halieutiques comprennent ce qui suit :

  • la Loi sur le ministère des Pêches et des Océans;
  • la Loi sur les océans;
  • la Loi sur les pêches;
  • la Loi sur la protection des pêches côtières;
  • la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Loi sur le ministère des Pêches et des Océans

La Loi sur le ministère des Pêches et des Océans établit les pouvoirs, les fonctions et les responsabilités du ministre des Pêches et des Océans qui englobent toutes les questions relevant de la compétence du Parlement en matière de :

  • pêches côtières et intérieures;
  • sciences halieutiques et marines;
  • coordination des politiques et des programmes du gouvernement du Canada concernant les océans.

Loi sur les océans

La Loi sur les océans confère au ministre des Pêches et des Océans l’autorité législative de faire appel à tous les intervenants du Canada qui ont des intérêts océaniques, y compris les organisations autochtones, pour élaborer une stratégie de gestion des océans reposant sur le développement durable et la gestion intégrée des activités et des ressources dans les eaux estuariennes, côtières et marines.

La Loi sur les océans prévoit les pleins droits et compétences sur les eaux internes, nos zones de pêche au large des côtes de l’Atlantique, du Pacifique et de l’Arctique, y compris les droits concernant le plateau continental. En outre, elle précise les droits du Canada de pêcher les espèces sédentaires sur le plateau et sa compétence relativement à l’exploration et à l’exploitation de minéraux et de ressources non vivantes des fonds marins et du sous-sol.

La Loi sur les océans est une déclaration de la compétence canadienne sur sa zone contiguë de 12 milles marins, s’étendant au-delà de la mer territoriale de 12 milles marins et sur sa ZEE de 200 milles marins.

Loi sur les pêches

La Loi sur les pêches est la pierre angulaire de la politique de gestion des pêches du Canada, prévoyant des pouvoirs élargis permettant au ministre de gérer, de conserver et de protéger les ressources halieutiques. Ces pouvoirs comprennent les pouvoirs discrétionnaires suivants :

  • octroyer des permis ou des baux pour la pêche;
  • allouer les prises entre les groupes d’utilisateurs;
  • protéger l’habitat du poisson et prévenir la pollution.

Bien que la réglementation de la pêche commerciale soit l’élément le plus visible des programmes réglementaires du Ministère, la Loi s’applique également aux pêches en eaux à marées, aux pêches récréatives, aux pêches en eaux douces et aux pêches autochtones.

Trois articles de la Loi sur les pêches jettent les bases de la gestion des pêches au Canada :

  • L’article 7 confère au Ministre la discrétion absolue d’octroyer des permis et des baux en l’absence d’exclusivité du droit de pêche conférée par la loi;
  • L’article 9 prévoit le pouvoir de suspendre ou de révoquer des permis et des baux pour motif valable;
  • L’article 43 permet au gouverneur général en conseil de prendre des règlements d’application pour la conservation et la protection du poisson et la gestion et la surveillance des pêches.

En outre, la Loi sur les pêches comprend des dispositions interdisant la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation de l’habitat du poisson.

Loi sur la protection des pêches côtières

La responsabilité du Ministre en matière de réglementation de la pêche étrangère dans les eaux canadiennes est établie par la Loi sur la protection des pêches côtières (LPPC). La LPPC et ses règlements connexes confèrent au ministre le pouvoir de permettre à des bateaux étrangers d’avoir accès aux eaux et aux ports canadiens.

La politique canadienne relative à l’accès aux ports demeure une politique de « ports fermés » par laquelle les ports canadiens sont généralement fermés et l’accès est un privilège qui peut uniquement être accordé par le gouvernement canadien. La politique relative à l’accès aux ports est conforme aux obligations internationales, y compris les obligations commerciales internationales.

La LPPC interdit à certaines catégories de bateaux de pêcher des espèces de poissons précisées en contravention avec les règles régissant la pêche en mer dans la zone réglementée par l’Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique nord-ouest (OPANO).

De mars 2002 à mars 2003, les agents des pêches canadiens ont traité 10 321 infractions concernant les pêches et l’habitat en vertu du règlement de la Loi sur les pêches et de la LPPC. Pendant la même période, 2 907 accusations ont été portées, et 1 188 accusations additionnelles sont en suspens ou en cours d’examen.

Loi sur les espèces en péril

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) a été adoptée pour empêcher la disparition d’espèces fauniques. La Loi protège les espèces en péril ainsi que leurs habitats essentiels. En outre, la LEP comporte des dispositions qui aident à gérer les espèces préoccupantes afin d’empêcher qu’elles ne deviennent des espèces en voie de disparition ou qu’elles ne disparaissent.

4 Des renseignements additionnels au sujet des mesures législatives canadiennes en matière de pêche, y compris le texte intégral de la Loi sur les pêches et de la LPPC sont présentés dans le site suivant : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/communic/policy/dnload_f.htm.

Les textes intégraux de toutes les lois canadiennes sont disponibles dans le site Internet du ministère de la Justice : laws.justice.gc.ca/fr/search.html.

1.6 Engagements internationaux

Les ressources halieutiques se trouvent dans les eaux nationales et internationales, et le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à protéger et à conserver ces ressources partout au monde. Dans le but d’assurer la conservation et l’exploitation durable de ces ressources halieutiques dans les eaux internationales, le Canada fait partie de plusieurs organisations de pêche régionales et internationales, y compris la FAO, l’Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique nord-ouest et la Commission du saumon du Pacifique. De plus, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans surveille les activités de pêche de bateaux battant pavillon étranger dans les eaux internationales et négocie et applique des traités de pêche internationaux et des accords commerciaux.

Le tableau 1 de l’annexe 1 présente un bref aperçu du cadre législatif du Canada régissant les pêches tandis que les mesures 2.5 et 2.6 concernent les efforts que déploie le Canada pour continuer à respecter ses engagements internationaux.

Le Canada a ratifié et applique actuellement les versions nationales de tous les accords internationaux qui, selon le PAI-INN, constituent des éléments clés de la lutte contre la pêche INN, y compris :

  • la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer;
  • l’Accord des Nations Unies sur les pêches;
  • l’Accord de conformité de la FAO;
  • le Code de conduite pour une pêche responsable.

Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer

La Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer (UNCLOS) est le régime exhaustif de maintien de l’ordre dans les océans et mers du monde. Elle comporte des règles régissant toutes les utilisations des océans et de leurs ressources. On y enchâsse la notion que tous les problèmes concernant les espaces océaniques sont étroitement interreliés et doivent être traités comme un tout. Le Canada a ratifié l’UNCLOS le 6 novembre 2003.

Accord des Nations Unies sur les pêches

L’Accord des Nations Unies sur les pêches (ANUP) précise des principes fondamentaux, établis dans l’UNCLOS, selon lesquels les États devraient collaborer pour assurer la conservation des ressources halieutiques qui chevauchent la limite de la ZEE et de la haute mer.

L’ANUP établit un cadre pour la conservation et la gestion des stocks de poisson transfrontaliers et des poissons grands migrateurs dans des zones hauturières réglementées par des ORGP. Il rend obligatoire l’adoption d’une approche de précaution et la gestion écosystémique lorsqu’il s’agit de gérer ces pêches en haute mer et dans des eaux qui relèvent d’États côtiers. En outre, il oblige les États à réduire la pollution, les déchets et les rejets de poisson et à exercer un contrôle réel sur leurs bateaux de pêche en haute mer.

Un des aspects les plus innovateurs de l’ANUP est le droit des États signataires d’arraisonner et d’inspecter les bateaux d’autres parties en haute mer et de vérifier la conformité aux règles de pêche des ORGP reconnues internationalement. Le Canada a ratifié l’ANUP en août 1999 et l’appuie fermement.

La disposition concernant le règlement des différends constitue un autre aspect important de l’ANUP. Selon l’article 27, partie VIII, les États ont l’obligation de régler leurs différends par la négociation, l’examen, la médiation, la conciliation, l’arbitrage, le règlement judiciaire, le recours à des organismes ou à des arrangements régionaux ou par d’autres moyens pacifiques de leur choix.

Accord de conformité de la FAO

Le 20 mai 1994, le Canada a ratifié l’Accord de la FAO de 1993 et a transmis à la FAO les renseignements sur les bateaux requis par l’Accord. Les pays qui ont signé ou ratifié l’Accord doivent faire en sorte qu’ils communiquent ces informations, surtout en vertu des articles 4 et 6 qui enjoignent tout pays à :

  • tenir un fichier des navires de pêche autorisés à battre son pavillon et à être utilisés pour la pêche en haute mer et prendre toutes les mesures éventuellement nécessaires pour s’assurer que tous ses navires de pêche sont inscrits dans ledit fichier.
  • mettre à la disposition de la FAO, pour chaque navire de pêche inscrit dans le fichier qu’il doit tenir aux termes de l’article 4, les informations ci-après :
    • nom du navire de pêche, numéro d’immatriculation, noms précédents (s’ils sont connus);
    • port d’immatriculation;
    • pavillon précédent (le cas échéant);
    • indicatif international de signaux radio (le cas échéant);
    • nom et adresse du (ou des) propriétaire(s);
    • lieu et date de la construction;
    • type de navire;
    • longueur.

Afin de promouvoir les principes du Code de conduite sur les pratiques de pêche responsable, le gouvernement du Canada a collaboré avec l’industrie pour mettre en œuvre des programmes de pêches sélectives et des plans de gestion intégrée des pêches.

Code de conduite sur les pratiques de pêche responsable

En 1998, le Canada a élaboré un Code de conduite sur les pratiques de pêche responsable par le truchement d’un comité de treize membres comprenant des pêcheurs et des représentants de l’industrie. En vertu de ce code, les pêcheurs participants s’engagent à établir des pêches durables. À l’heure actuelle, 80 p. 100 des pêcheurs canadiens ont adopté le Code et un nouveau comité a été constitué pour le mettre en œuvre.

Date de modification :