Minister Shea Highlights Benefits to Fisheries of Canada-EU Trade Agreement in New Brunswick

Moncton, New Brunswick – The Honourable Gail Shea, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, followed the recent announcement of a new Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement with the European Union with a visit to a New Brunswick fish processing plant, where the benefits of the Agreement are already being welcomed.

Minister Shea also hosted a roundtable meeting with New Brunswick fisheries industry representatives, where she answered questions and discussed potential opportunities related to the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement.

“The Agreement is good news for Canada, it’s good news for New Brunswick and it is especially good news for fishermen and fish processors,” Minister Shea noted during her roundtable discussion. “Companies that process and export Canadian products will certainly benefit from this historic Agreement.”

When the Canada-EU Trade Agreement comes into force, almost 96 per cent of all EU tariffs on Canadian fish and seafood products will be eliminated, with the remaining four per cent to be eliminated by the 7th year of the Agreement.

“This is a big accomplishment for Canada and for the New Brunswick fishing industry in particular,” said Doris Losier, Cape Bald Packers Director. “We expect to see great economic benefits resulting from this Agreement from the day it is implemented. Minister Shea’s visit today was a welcome opportunity to express our confidence in a prosperous future.” 

Canada’s fish and seafood products are among the best in the world. The EU is the world’s largest importer of fish and seafood, with a global import market averaging $25 billion annually between 2010 and 2012, and average seafood consumption of 26 kg per capita in 2010. It is already Canada’s third largest fish and seafood export market with a value of more than $350 million in 2012, despite these high tariffs.

“By providing preferential access to the world’s largest common market, the trade agreement will give the Canadian industry a clear competitive advantage and will benefit hard-working Canadians, particularly in coastal communities through more jobs, higher wages, and long-term prosperity,” added Minister Shea.

New Brunswickers stand to benefit significantly from this preferred access to the EU market. The EU is already New Brunswick’s second-largest export destination and fourth-largest trading partner. CETA will eliminate tariffs on almost all of New Brunswick’s key exports and provide access to new market opportunities in the EU. Exporters in these sectors will also benefit from other CETA provisions that will improve conditions for exports—provisions, for example, that ease regulatory barriers, reinforce intellectual property rights and ensure more transparent rules for market access.


Today, the Honourable Gail Shea, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, participated in a stakeholder roundtable to discuss opportunities for the Canadian fish and seafood industry related to the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement. The agreement was announced on October 18, 2013. Minister Shea is pictured, left to right, with roundtable participants Christian Brun, executive secretary of the Maritime Fishermen’s Union, Robert Haché, president of the Association des crabiers acadiens Inc., Doris Losier, director of Cape Bald Packers Ltd., Maurice Daigle, president of Maison BeauSoleil and Martin Noël, representative of the Fédération régionale acadienne des pêcheurs professionnels.

-30-

Follow us on Twitter!

For more information:

Frank Stanek
Media Relations
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
613-990-7537

Sophie Doucet
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
613-992-3474

NR-HQ-13-59E

La ministre Shea souligne les avantages de l’accord commercial Canada-UE pour le secteur des pêches au Nouveau-Brunswick

Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) – À la suite de l’annonce récente d’un nouvel Accord économique et commercial global avec l’Union européenne (UE), l’honorable Gail Shea, ministre des Pêches et des Océans, a effectué une visite dans une usine de transformation du poisson au Nouveau-Brunswick, où on vante déjà les avantages de l’accord.

La ministre Shea a également tenu une table ronde avec les représentants de l’industrie des pêches du Nouveau-Brunswick pendant laquelle elle a répondu aux questions et discuté des occasions qui pourraient découler de l’Accord économique et commercial global conclu par le Canada et l’UE.

« L’accord constitue une bonne nouvelle pour le Canada et le Nouveau-Brunswick, et tout particulièrement pour les pêcheurs et les travailleurs du secteur de la transformation du poisson », a affirmé la ministre Shea, au cours de la table ronde. « Les entreprises qui transforment et exportent les produits canadiens profiteront certainement de cet accord historique. »

Dès que l’Accord économique et commercial global entrera en vigueur, près de 96 pour cent des droits de douane imposés par l’UE sur les poissons et les produits de la mer canadiens seront immédiatement éliminés. Les droits de douane imposés sur les quatre pour cent restants seront éliminés d’ici la septième année de l’Accord.

« Il s’agit d’une grande réalisation pour le Canada et pour l’industrie de la pêche du Nouveau­Brunswick en particulier », a déclaré Doris Losier, directrice de Cape Bald Packers. « Nous nous attendons à ce que l’Accord ait des retombées économiques importantes dès sa mise en œuvre. La visite de la ministre Shea, aujourd’hui, constituait une excellente occasion d’exprimer notre confiance en un avenir prospère. » 

Les produits de la mer canadiens sont parmi les meilleurs au monde. Par ailleurs, l’UE est le plus grand importateur de produits de la mer au monde, avec un marché d’importation global d’une valeur moyenne de 25 milliards de dollars de 2010 à 2012 et une consommation moyenne de 26 kg par habitant en 2010. L’UE représente le troisième marché en importance pour les produits de la mer canadiens avec une valeur de plus de 350 millions de dollars en 2012, et ce, malgré ces droits de douane élevés.

« En offrant un accès préférentiel au plus important marché commun au monde, cet accord commercial accorde à l’industrie canadienne un net avantage concurrentiel, ce qui profitera aux vaillants travailleurs canadiens, en particulier dans les communautés côtières, en amenant plus d’emplois, une hausse des salaires, et une plus grande prospérité à long terme », a ajouté la ministre Shea.

Les Néo-Brunswickois devraient bénéficier grandement de cet accès privilégié au marché de l’UE. Cette dernière est déjà le deuxième importateur en importance du Nouveau-Brunswick, ainsi que son quatrième partenaire commercial en importance. L’Accord économique et commercial global éliminera les droits de douane sur presque tous les principaux produits d’exportation du Nouveau-Brunswick et fournira un accès à de nouveaux marchés en UE. Les exportateurs de ces secteurs profiteront également d’autres dispositions de l’Accord qui amélioreront les conditions d’exportation. Ces dispositions visent, par exemple, à assouplir les barrières commerciales, à renforcer les droits de propriété intellectuelle et à garantir une plus grande transparence des règles en matière d’accès au marché.


Aujourd’hui, l'honorable Gail Shea, ministre de Pêches et Océans Canada, a participé à une table ronde d’intervenants pour discuter des occasions pour l’industrie canadienne des produits de la mer en lien avec l’Accord économique et commercial global conclu entre le Canada et l’Union européenne. Cet accord a été annoncé le 18 octobre dernier. Sur la photo, on voit la ministre Shea en compagnie d’intervenants de la table ronde, de gauche à droite : Christian Brun, directeur général de l’Union des pêcheurs des Maritimes, Robert Haché, président de l’Association des crabiers acadiens inc., Doris Losier, directrice de Cape Bald Packers Ltd., Maurice Daigle, président de Maison BeauSoleil et Martin Noël, représentant de la Fédération régionale acadienne des pêcheurs professionnels.

-30-

Suivez-nous sur Twitter!

Pour plus d'information:

Frank Stanek
Relations avec les médias
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
613-990-7537

Sophie Doucet
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de la ministre
Pêches et Océans Canada
613-992-3474

C-AC-13-59F