Economic Boost to St. Catharines Shipyard by the Harper Government

St. Catharines, Ontario – Rick Dykstra, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration and Member of Parliament for St. Catharines, on behalf of the Honourable Keith Ashfield, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, welcomed a new contract at Seaway Marine and Industrial Inc. in St. Catharines to conduct repair work on the CCGS Amundsen.

“I am proud to be part of a government that is making strategic investments in the Canadian Coast Guard and awarding this work through an open, fair and transparent contract awarding process,” said MP Rick Dykstra. “This work not only supports Canada’s future research priorities in the Arctic, but also supports job creation, economic growth and long-term prosperity right here in St. Catharines.”

Repairs to the CCGS Amundsen will be undertaken in two phases. Phase one will be conducted at Seaway Marine and Industrial Inc. with significant engine repairs aimed at having the vessel back in full service for the 2013 summer Arctic season. This work represents a $6 million contract for Seaway Marine and Industrial Inc.

Phase two will focus on replacement or repairs to manoeuvring, communications and navigation systems, the hull and related structures, as well as deck equipment and domestic systems for fresh water, heating and other minor upgrades.

The CCGS Amundsen was built in 1979 and is one of four vessels in the Medium Icebreaker class. Through an agreement with Université Laval, the CCGS Amundsen has been converted into an Arctic science vessel and made available to the ArcticNet program for groundbreaking scientific research. The federal government works with ArcticNet along with Inuit peoples, universities and industry to better understand our Arctic waters.

-30-

For Broadcast: Rick Dykstra, Member of Parliament for St. Catharines, on behalf of the Honourable Keith Ashfield, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, welcomed a new contract at SeaWay Marine and Industrial Inc. in St. Catharines to conduct repair work on the CCGS Amundsen. This reinforces the Government’s commitment to creating jobs and economic growth and prosperity across Canada as well as an ongoing commitment to science and Arctic research. Phase One of these repairs will be undertaken in St. Catharines which will provide a big economic boost to the local economy.

For more information:

Frank Stanek
Media Relations
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa
613-990-7537

Barbara Mottram
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
613-992-3474

Carol Launderville
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Central and Arctic Region
Communications Officer
519-383-1804

For more information about the Canadian Coast Guard, visit www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca.

This news release is available online at: www.actionplan.gc.ca.

NR-HQ-12-32E

Le gouvernement Harper donne un coup de pouce économique au chantier naval de St. Catharines

St. Catharines (Ontario) – Au nom de l’honorable Keith Ashfield, ministre de Pêches et Océans Canada, Rick Dykstra, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration et député de St. Catharines, a accueilli favorablement le nouveau contrat accordé à Seaway Marine and Industrial inc. à St. Catharines pour des travaux de réparation sur le NGCC Amundsen.

« Je suis fier de faire partie d’un gouvernement qui effectue des investissements stratégiques dans la Garde côtière canadienne et qui a eu recours à un processus d’attribution ouvert, équitable et transparent pour octroyer ce contrat », a déclaré le député Rick Dykstra. « Non seulement ces travaux soutiennent les priorités d’avenir du Canada concernant la recherche dans l’Arctique, mais ils appuient également la création d’emploi, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme, ici même à St. Catherines. »

La réparation du NGCC Amundsen sera effectuée en deux phases. Seaway Marine and Industrial inc. se chargera d’entreprendre la première phase au cours de laquelle on procédera à une réparation d’envergure du moteur afin que le navire soit entièrement remis en service d’ici à l’été arctique 2013. Pour Seaway Marine and Industrial inc., ces travaux représentent un contrat de l’ordre de six millions de dollars.

La deuxième phase sera axée sur le remplacement ou la réparation des systèmes de manœuvre, de communication et de navigation, de la coque et des structures connexes, de même que de l’équipement de pont et des systèmes intérieurs d’eau douce et de chauffage, et sur d’autres améliorations mineures.

Construit en 1979, le NGCC Amundsen est l’un des quatre navires à faire partie de la catégorie des brise­glace moyens. En vertu d’une entente conclue avec l’Université Laval, il a été converti en navire scientifique adapté à l’Arctique. Il a été mis à la disposition des chercheurs d’ArcticNet, un programme pour la recherche scientifique novatrice. Le gouvernement fédéral collabore avec ArcticNet ainsi qu’avec les Inuits, les universités et l’industrie afin de mieux comprendre nos eaux arctiques.

-30-

Pour diffusion : Au nom de l’honorable Keith Ashfield, ministre de Pêches et Océans, Rick Dykstra, député de St. Catharines, a accueilli favorablement le nouveau contrat accordé à SeaWay Marine and Industrial inc. à St. Catharines pour des travaux de réparation sur le NGCC Amundsen. Ce nouveau contrat vient renforcer l’engagement du gouvernement de créer des emplois, de stimuler la croissance économique et d’assurer la prospérité au Canada ainsi que son engagement continu en matière de science et de recherche sur l’Arctique. La phase un de ces travaux de réparation s’amorcera à St. Catharines, ce qui permettra de relancer l’économie locale.

Pour plus d'information:

Frank Stanek
Relations avec les médias
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa
613-990-7537

Barbara Mottram
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre
Pêches et Océans Canada
613-992-3474

Carol Launderville
Pêches et Oceans Canada
Région du Centre et de l’Arctique
Agente de communication
519-383-1804

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la Garde côtière canadienne, visitez www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca.

Ce communiqué est disponible en direct à l’adresse suivante : www.plandaction.gc.ca.

C-AC-12-32F