Canadian Coast Guard Ship Louis S. St-laurent Departs for Arctic Supporting Science and Northern Shipping

CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent

The Canadian Coast Guard Ship Louis S. St-Laurent departs Halifax, Nova Scotia on July 10, 2011 on its way to the Canadian Arctic to support science work for Fisheries and Oceans Canada. A significant portion of the voyage will be devoted to the Canadian Hydrographic Service's support to the United Nations Convention and Law of the Sea mission. 

St. John’s, NL – The Honorable Keith Ashfield, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, and the Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Natural Resources today express their best wishes to the crew, scientists and other partners who will take part in the Canadian Coast Guard Ship (CCGS) Louis S. St-Laurent’s four-month mission up the Atlantic coast and into the Arctic. The CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent leaves for the Arctic following a refit allowing it to safely travel to Resolute, Nunavut, in Canada’s Northwest Passage.

“The Canadian Arctic is central to Canada’s heritage and a strategic piece of our future; we are committed to sustaining and protecting this valued part of our country,” said Minister Ashfield. “The Canadian Coast Guard, its exceptional fleet and skilled personnel are instrumental in our government’s successful arctic missions as they lay the groundwork for our
Northern Strategy.”

The CCGS St. Laurent’s primary mission will be surveying and mapping Canada’s continental shelf out beyond 200 nautical miles. This is the fourth extended continental shelf survey and will be undertaken jointly with the United States Coast Guard Cutter Healy, which is collecting seismic and bathymetric data that will further aid navigation and scientific knowledge of Canada’s arctic waters.

In collaboration with Natural Resources Canada and Foreign Affairs & International Trade Canada, the Canadian Hydrographic Service is assembling valuable data needed to prepare Canada’s submission to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf, under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. Canada ratified the Convention in November 2003 and will make its submission by December 2013.

“Our Government is strongly pursuing international recognition of the full extent of Canada’s continental shelf,” said Minister Oliver. “The research conducted by the Extended Continental Shelf Program will be the cornerstone of our submission and determine with precision where Canada may exercise its sovereign rights.”

In addition to providing assistance to commercial shipping, the CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent will serve as the Government of Canada platform for important scientific work at various stations en route and while in the Arctic. That includes work supporting a multi-national project studying the oceanography of the Beaufort Gyre to understand accumulation and release of fresh water, as well as to enhance understanding of environmental change in the Arctic.

The CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent will complete its Arctic program with support to any late season shipping, until mid-November. The vessel is anticipated to arrive back at St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, on November 18.

-30-

FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Melanie Carkner
Media Relations
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
613-993-2674

Director of Communications
Office of the Minister
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
613-992-3474

NR-HQ-11-12-E

Le navire de la Garde Côtière Canadienne Louis S. St-Laurent vogue vers l’arctique pour y appuyer la science et le transport maritime

Le navire de la Garde côtière canadienne Louis S. St-Laurent quitte le port d’Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) le 10 juillet 2011, en route pour l’Arctique canadien où il appuiera une mission scientifique de Pêches et Océans Canada. Une importante partie de la mission portera sur les travaux du Service hydrographique du Canada dans le cadre de la Convention des Nations-Unies sur le droit de la mer.

St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) – L’honorable Keith Ashfield, ministre des Pêches et des Océans, et l’honorable Joe Oliver, ministre des Ressources naturelles, ont offert aujourd’hui leurs meilleurs voeux à l’équipage, aux scientifiques et aux autres partenaires qui s’embarqueront pour une mission de quatre mois à bord du navire de la Garde côtière canadienne (NGCC) Louis S. St-Laurent le long de la côte de l’Atlantique et dans l’Arctique. Le NGCC Louis S. St-Laurents’apprête à lever l’ancre pour l’Arctique après un radoub qui lui permettra de voguer en toute sécurité vers Resolute, au Nunavut, en empruntant le passage du Nord-Ouest canadien.

« L’Arctique canadien est au coeur du patrimoine du Canada et un élément stratégique de notre avenir. Nous sommes résolus à soutenir et à protéger cette précieuse région de notre pays », a déclaré le ministre Ashfield. La Garde côtière canadienne, sa flotte exceptionnelle et son personnel qualifié contribuent au succès des missions arctiques de notre gouvernement, puisqu’ils jettent les fondations de notre Stratégie pour le Nord ».

La mission première du NGCC Louis S. St-Laurent consistera à arpenter et à cartographier le plateau continental du Canada au-delà de la limite de la zone de 200 milles marins. Il s’agira de la quatrième mission étendue d’arpentage sur le plateau et elle sera menée de concert avec le Cutter Healy, unnavire de la Garde côtière des États-Unis, dont l’équipage effectuera aussi la collecte de données sismiques et bathymétriques qui serviront à améliorer la navigation et la connaissance scientifique des eaux arctiques du Canada.

En collaboration avec Ressources naturelles Canada et Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, le Service hydrographique du Canada réunit les précieuses données nécessaires à la préparation de la demande que fera le Canada à la Commission des limites du plateau continental, en conformité avec la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer. Le Canada a ratifié la Convention en novembre 2003 et il présentera sa demande d’ici décembre 2013.

« Notre gouvernement cherche activement à obtenir la reconnaissance internationale de toute l’étendue du plateau continental du Canada », signale le ministre Oliver. La recherche menée dans le cadre du Programme sur le plateau continental étendu du Canada sera la pierre angulaire de notre demande et déterminera avec précision où le Canada peut exercer ses droits souverains. »

En plus d’aider au transport maritime, le NGCC Louis S. St-Laurent servira de plateforme au gouvernement du Canada pour d’importants travaux scientifiques réalisés à divers endroits tout au long du parcours et dans l’Arctique. Il s’agira entre autres de travaux d’appui à une étude océanographique internationale du courant giratoire de Beaufort menée dans le but de comprendre l’accumulation et la dissipation d’eau douce, et d’améliorer la compréhension du changement environnemental dans l’Arctique.

Le programme scientifique et d’appui à la navigation maritime tardive dans l’Arctique se poursuivra jusqu’à la mi-novembre à bord du
NGCC Louis. S. St-Laurent. Le navire est attendu le 18 novembre au port de St. John’s, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

-30-

POUR PLUS D’INFORMATION :

Melanie Carkner
Relations avec les médias
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
613-993-2674

Erin Filliter
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre
Pêches et Océans Canada
613-992-3474

NR-HQ-11-12-F