Our Atlantic Salmon Story

Atlantic salmon

Illustration by Jeffrey C. Domm

Atlantic salmon fisheries have been an important part of our Canadian social heritage for more than 150 years. Due to declines in abundance of Atlantic salmon observed in the 1980s, numerous measures have been implemented to promote partnerships, conservation, protection and research, including a full moratorium on all commercial fishing in Eastern Canada, implemented in 2000.

The Government of Canada is strongly committed to the conservation and protection of such a vital resource to all Canadians. That is why over the years several measures and investments have been made to support conservation and stocks rebuilding.

Associated link:

 

Cooperation

In March 2015, Fisheries and Oceans Canada launched the Ministerial Advisory Committee on Atlantic Salmon to address the declining wild Atlantic salmon returns and chart a course of action to reverse this trend. The Committee, composed of stakeholders and experts from the four Atlantic provinces and Quebec, consulted with local stakeholders in Halifax, Moncton, St. John’s and Québec City who have an interest in Atlantic salmon conservation. The Committee completed its final report in July. 

Associated links:

Conservation and Habitat Protection

A one-time $30 million conditional grant was used to establish the Atlantic Salmon Endowment Fund to invest in the conservation and enhancement of wild Atlantic salmon and its habitat. Also, close to $4.1M have been awarded to 73 projects benefitting Atlantic salmon conservation and habitat throughout Atlantic Canada since the creation of the Recreational Fisheries Conservation Partnerships Program.

Associated links:

Science and Research

Fisheries and Oceans Canada scientists are actively monitoring Atlantic salmon populations in key index rivers of eastern Canada, working closely with stakeholder groups to undertake rigorous counts of salmon returns in rivers throughout Atlantic Canada.

Management measures are based on the most up-to-date science advice, which provides a recommended level of removals which individual populations can sustain. Departmental scientists are currently working to update key reference points for Atlantic salmon, which will help guide future management under the Precautionary Approach. The Government has also invested in the Live Gene Bank program for the Endangered Population of Atlantic salmon in the Inner Bay of Fundy.

The Department also held the Atlantic Salmon Marine Threats workshop with stakeholders in early December with the focus on better understanding at-sea threats faced by salmon originating from rivers in Atlantic Canada. This is key work, as juvenile production remains stable in most Atlantic salmon populations, but at-sea mortality is estimated to be high.

Associated links:

Management and Enforcement

Management measures are developed in consultation with Provinces, stakeholders and First Nations and Aboriginal Groups. Some current management measures introduced to compensate for low marine survival include: reduced daily and seasonal bag limits, mandatory catch and release fishing, salmon fishing closures in areas where the Conservation Spawner Requirements are not being met, and restrictions on commercial pelagic fisheries to stop or minimize salmon by-catch. Enforcement activities are carried out throughout Atlantic Canada, with over 65,000 hours of monitoring and enforcement activities being directed to Atlantic salmon in 2013.

Associated link:

International

As a member of the North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization (NASCO), along with other member countries (United States, Norway, Russia, Denmark and the European Union), the Government of Canada reports annually on progress made relative to actions taken on our commitment to implement NASCO Regulations, Agreements and Guidelines. These include guidelines for management of salmon fisheries, minimum standards for catch statistics and the protection, restoration and enhancement of Atlantic salmon habitat.

Canada works closely with NASCO members to limit harvests and strengthen management measures for Atlantic salmon. Of particular concern to Canada is Greenland’s harvest of Atlantic salmon. We continue to work with Greenland both bilaterally and within the North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization to address concerns regarding the harvest of Atlantic salmon in the northwest Atlantic.

Associated link:

Species

Description

Atlantic Salmon
Atlantic Salmon

With its pointed head, well-developed teeth and silvery sides, the Atlantic salmon is instantly recognizable. When at sea, the salmon’s back varies through shades of brown, green and blue, and it has numerous black spots scattered along its body. When spawning, the fish becomes bronze-purple in colour and develops reddish spots on head and body.

A complex cycle of life

Atlantic Salmon life cycle

From humble beginnings as pea-sized orange eggs in riverbeds, Atlantic salmon undergo many changes during their lives. Two to six years after being born as freshwater fish, they spontaneously adapt themselves to saltwater life and head out to sea. After a year or more, they return to the rivers where they were born—sometimes leaping obstacles as much as three metres high to travel upstream and spawn in the shallow tributaries where they hatched.

Date modified:

L’histoire de notre saumon de l’Atlantique

saumon de l’Atlantique

Illustration de Jeffrey C. Domm

La pêche du saumon de l’Atlantique fait partie intégrante du patrimoine social canadien depuis plus de 150 ans. En raison du déclin de l'abondance du saumon de l’Atlantique observé dans les années 1980, de nombreuses mesures ont été mises en place pour favoriser l'établissement de partenariats, la conservation, la protection et la recherche. Un moratoire complet a notamment été imposé sur toutes les pêches commerciales dans l'est du Canada en 2000.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage fermement à conserver et à protéger cette ressource essentielle pour tous les Canadiens. C'est pour cette raison que plusieurs mesures et investissements visant la conservation et le rétablissement des stocks ont été réalisés au fil des ans.

Lien connexe :

 

Collaboration

En mars 2015, Pêches et Océans Canada a lancé le Comité consultatif ministériel sur le saumon de l’Atlantique pour freiner la baisse des montaisons de saumon sauvage de l’Atlantique et pour dresser un plan d'action visant à renverser cette tendance. Le Comité, composé de parties prenantes et d’experts des quatre provinces de l'Atlantique et du Québec, a mené des consultations auprès des parties prenantes locales à Halifax, Moncton, St. John’s et Québec qui ont un intérêt dans la conservation du saumon de l'Atlantique. Le Comité a achevé son rapport final en juillet.

Liens connexes :

Conservation et protection de l'habitat

Une contribution unique et conditionnelle de 30 M$ a été utilisée pour établir le Fonds de dotation pour le saumon de l'Atlantique en vue d'investir dans la conservation et la mise en valeur du saumon sauvage de l'Atlantique et de son habitat. En outre, près de 4,1 M$ ont été octroyés pour financer des projets favorisant la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique et de son habitat depuis la création du Programme de partenariats relatifs à la conservation des pêches récréatives (PPCPR) par le gouvernement, en 2013.

Liens connexes :

Science et recherche

Les scientifiques du MPO surveillent activement les populations de saumon de l’Atlantique dans les principales rivières indicatrices de l'est du Canada, et ils travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les groupes d'intervenants afin de procéder à un dénombrement rigoureux des montaisons de saumon dans les rivières du Canada atlantique.

Les mesures de gestion sont fondées sur les avis scientifiques les plus récents, qui recommandent un niveau de prélèvement que chaque population peut supporter. Les scientifiques du Ministère travaillent actuellement à la mise à jour des points de référence clés pour le saumon de l’Atlantique, ce qui aidera à orienter la gestion future dans le cadre de l'approche de précaution. En outre, le gouvernement a fait des investissements dans le programme de banques de gènes vivants (BGV) pour la population de saumon de l’Atlantique de l'intérieur de la baie de Fundy.

Le Ministère a également donné au début de décembre un atelier sur les menaces qui pèsent sur le saumon de l’Atlantique en mer auquel les intervenants ont participé, dans le but de mieux comprendre les menaces en mer auxquelles font face les saumons qui proviennent des rivières de cette région. Il s'agit de travaux très importants, puisque la production de juvéniles demeure stable dans la plupart des populations de saumon de l’Atlantique, tandis que le taux estimé de mortalité en mer est élevé.

Liens connexes :

Mesures de gestion et application de la loi dans les régions

Les mesures de gestion sont élaborées en consultation avec les provinces, les intervenants, les Premières Nations et les groupes autochtones. Quelques-unes des mesures de gestion actuelles ont été mises en place pour compenser le faible taux de survie en mer; on a notamment réduit les limites de prises quotidiennes et saisonnières, imposé l'obligation de remettre les prises à l'eau, fermé la pêche du saumon dans les zones où les exigences relatives à la conservation des reproducteurs ne sont pas respectées et imposé des restrictions dans le cadre des pêches commerciales du poisson pélagique en vue de mettre fin aux prises accessoires du saumon ou de les minimiser. Des activités d'application de la loi sont également entreprises partout dans le Canada atlantique; plus de 65 000 heures ont été consacrées à la surveillance et à l'application des lois visant directement le saumon de l’Atlantique en 2013.

Lien connexe :

À l'échelle internationale

En tant que membre de l'Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l'Atlantique Nord (OCSAN), tout comme d'autres pays (États-Unis, Norvège, Russie, Danemark et Union européenne), le gouvernement du Canada présente un rapport annuel sur les progrès réalisés concernant les mesures prises pour respecter notre engagement de mettre en œuvre les règlements, les ententes et les lignes directrices de l'OCSAN. Cela comprend les lignes directrices visant la gestion des pêches du saumon, les normes minimales pour les statistiques sur les prises et la protection, le rétablissement et la mise en valeur du saumon de l’Atlantique et de son habitat.

Le Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec les membres de l'OCSAN afin de limiter les prises et de renforcer les mesures de gestion du saumon de l’Atlantique. La pêche du saumon de l’Atlantique au Groenland est une situation qui inquiète particulièrement le Canada. Nous continuons donc à collaborer avec le Groenland, tant de manière bilatérale que dans le cadre de l'OCSAN, pour aborder les préoccupations relatives à la pêche du saumon de l’Atlantique dans le nord-ouest de l'Atlantique.

Lien connexe :

Espèce

Description

Saumon de l'Atlantique
Saumon de l'Atlantique

Avec sa tête pointue, ses dents bien développées et ses côtés argentés, le saumon de l’Atlantique est tout de suite reconnaissable. En mer, son dos a des teintes de brun, de vert ou de bleu. Il a aussi de nombreuses taches noires parsemées le long du corps. Au moment du frai, la coloration des mâles et des femelles devient bronze-pourpre avec des taches rougeâtres sur la tête et le corps.

Un cycle biologique complexe

Banc de cycle vital du saumon atlantique

De ses humbles débuts comme œuf orange de la grosseur d’un pois dans les lits des rivières, le saumon de l’Atlantique effectue plusieurs transformations au cours de sa vie. De deux à six ans après être né dans l’eau fraîche, le saumon s’adapte spontanément à la vie en eau salée et prend le large. Après un an ou deux, il revient à la rivière qui l’a vu naître – parfois sautant par-dessus des obstacles de trois mètres pour remonter la rivière et se reproduire dans les eaux peu profondes des affluents.

Date de modification :