Canadian Coast Guard Announces Significant Environmental Protection Operation

Please click on thumbnail below to view photos

July 2013 

Canadian Coast Guard Announces Significant Environmental Protection Operation
VANCOUVER, British Columbia – The Canadian Coast Guard today announced that it will undertake a significant environmental response operation due to the deteriorating condition of the sunken World War II United States Army Transport vessel, the Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski.

“The Canadian Coast Guard is committed to protecting the safety of Canadians and protecting the environment,” said the Commissioner of the Canadian Coast Guard, Mr. Marc Grégoire. “Throughout the operation, we look forward to engaging and collaborating with our partners to ensure the operation proceeds successfully.”

Zalinski Operation - History and Timeline of Work of the Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski Vessel
The Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski was built in 1919 and is a United States Army Transport vessel that served in World War II. The vessel ran aground during a storm and sank in 1946 in the Grenville Channel about 100 km south of Prince Rupert.

Zalinski Operation - The Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski Vessel and the Grenville Channel
The Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski lies approximately 100 km south of Prince Rupert and 2.5 km south-west of James point on Lowe Inlet in the Grenville Channel.

Zalinski Operation - Hot Tapping
In 2007, the Canadian Coast Guard issued a request for information from the international marine salvage industry seeking the most efficient and effective method to remove the oil from the Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski.

Zalinski Operation - Incident Command System and the Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski
As announced on March 18, 2013, the Canadian Coast Guard is adopting the Incident Command System (ICS) to strengthen its ability to respond to oil spills in the coming years.

Zalinski Operation - Canadian Coast Guard Operational Plan and Scope
The oil and cargo recovery operation on the Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski is large in both scope and significance. The Canadian Coast Guard is leading the operation with support from several other federal government departments.

Zalinski Operation - Engaging our Partners in the Zalinski Operation
The Canadian Coast Guard will adopt the Incident Command System principles to undertake the operation.

Zalinski Operation - How is the Government of Canada supporting the Zalinski operation?
The oil and cargo recovery operation on the Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski is large in both scope and significance. It is being led by the Canadian Coast Guard with support from several other federal government departments. Below are the related roles and responsibilities.

La Garde côtière canadienne annonce une opération importante de protection de l’environnement

Veuillez cliquer sur les onglets pour visionner les photos

Juillet 2013 

La Garde côtière canadienne annonce une opération importante de protection de l'environnement
VANCOUVER (Colombie-Britannique) – La Garde côtière canadienne a annoncé aujourd'hui qu'elle mènera une opération d'intervention environnementale importante en raison de la détérioration de l’épave d’un navire de transport de l'armée américaine utilisé lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski.

« La Garde côtière canadienne est déterminée à assurer la sécurité de la population canadienne et à protéger l'environnement, a déclaré le commissaire de la Garde côtière canadienne, M. Marc Grégoire. Nous serons heureux de communiquer et de collaborer avec nos partenaires tout au long de l'opération afin de pouvoir la mener à bien. »

L’opération Zalinski - Historique et chronologie du Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski
Le Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski est un navire de transport de l'armée américaine construit en 1919 et utilisé pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Le navire s'est échoué et a sombré lors d'une tempête en 1946 dans le chenal de Grenville, à environ 100 km au sud de Prince-Rupert.

L’opération Zalinski - Le navire Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski et le chenal de Grenville
Le navire Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski repose à environ 100 km au sud de Prince Rupert et à 2,5 km au sud-ouest de la Pointe James, à Lowe Inlet, dans le chenal de Grenville.

L’opération Zalinski - Piquage sur conduite en charge
En 2007, la Garde côtière canadienne a publié une demande de renseignements à l'intention de l'industrie internationale de la récupération marine, afin de connaître la méthode la plus efficace et efficiente de récupérer le pétrole du Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski.

L’opération Zalinski - Utilisation du Système de commandement en cas d’incident pour le Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski
Tel qu’annoncé le 18 mars 2013, la Garde côtière canadienne a adopté le Système de commandement en cas d’incident (SCI) pour renforcer sa capacité d'intervenir en cas de déversement de pétrole au cours des prochaines années.

L’opération Zalinski - Plan opérationnel de la Garde côtière canadienne et portée
L'opération de récupération du carburant et de la cargaison du navire Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski est vaste, tant par sa portée que par son importance. La Garde côtière canadienne dirige l’opération avec l'aide de plusieurs autres ministères du gouvernement fédéral.

L’opération Zalinski - Mobiliser nos partenaires pour l'opération Zalinski
La Garde côtière canadienne doit adopter les principes du Système de commandement en cas d’incident pour entreprendre l'opération.

L’opération Zalinski - Comment le gouvernement du Canada appuie-t-il l’opération Zalinski?
L’opération de récupération de pétrole et de cargaison du Brigadier General M.G. Zalinski est vaste à la fois en raison de sa portée et de son importance. Elle est dirigée par la Garde côtière canadienne, avec le soutien de plusieurs ministères fédéraux. Le rôle et les responsabilités de chaque intervenant sont indiqués ci-dessous.