Tips on preparing for a job interview

While you might not be provided with interview questions in advance, there are some ways that you can prepare yourself for your upcoming interview. Interviewers often ask behaviour-based questions to assess your competencies. Behaviour-based interviewing focuses on discovering how the interviewee acted in specific employment-related situations. The logic is that how you behaved in the past will predict how you will behave in the future, i.e., past performance predicts future performance. It is a good idea to think of examples in your past where you demonstrated the required competencies for the job you are interviewing for. The examples of past experiences you present should be specific, substantial, and as detailed as possible. Also important is that your examples indicate what you did in the situation. It is a common tendency to describe our actions in terms of "we" or "the team" however you should focus on your individual role in the situation, as much as possible. When preparing your examples, use the STAR approach:

 

  1. S
    Situation

    Describe the
    situation
  2. T
    Task
    Give Details
    on what you
    had to do
  3. A
    Action
    Give Details
    on actions you
    have taken
  4. R
    Result
    Describe the
    result of the
    situation

You may also be asked situational interview questions.  For these types of questions, candidates are asked to assess a situation and to provide solutions on how he or she would handle it.  While you may not know the questions that will be asked of you, you can prepare by thinking of hypothetical situations that would address the competencies for the job you are interviewing for.  It is also a good idea to think of past situations where you demonstrated this competency as the situation presented may be very similar to a situation you have already faced in the past.

Interviewers may also ask questions about you to gain insight into your personality and to determine fit for the job and organization.  Some examples you may wish to prepare in advance are the following:

Day of the interview tips:

Best of luck on your interview with our organization!

Conseils pour préparer une entrevue d’emploi

Bien que les questions d’entrevue ne vous soient peut-être pas fournies à l’avance, il y a certaines façons de vous préparer à votre prochaine entrevue. Les intervieweurs posent souvent des questions axées sur le comportement pour évaluer vos compétences. L’entrevue axée sur le comportement vise à découvrir comment la personne interrogée a agi dans des situations particulières liées à l’emploi. Logiquement, la façon dont vous vous êtes comporté dans le passé permet de prédire comment vous vous comporterez à l’avenir, c’est­à­dire que le rendement passé permet de prédire le rendement futur. Pensez à des exemples dans votre passé où vous avez démontré les compétences requises pour l’emploi visé. Présentez des exemples d’expériences passées précis, concrets et aussi détaillés que possible. Il est également important que vos exemples indiquent ce que vous avez fait dans la situation. Les gens ont souvent tendance à décrire les actions en termes de « nous » ou de « l’équipe », mais vous devez, autant que possible, vous concentrer sur votre rôle individuel dans la situation. Préparez vos exemples à l’aide de l’approche STAR :

 

  1. S
    Situation


    Décrivez la
    situation
  2. T
    Tâche
    Donnez des
    détails sur ce
    que vous
    deviez faire.
  3. A
    Action
    Indiquez les
    actions que
    vous avez
    entreprises.
  4. R
    Résultat

    Décrivez le
    résultat de la
    situation.

On peut également vous poser des questions d’entrevue situationnelle. Dans ce cas, le candidat doit évaluer une situation et fournir des solutions qu’il préconiserait. Vous ne connaissez peut-être pas les questions qui vous seront posées, mais vous pouvez vous préparer en pensant à des situations hypothétiques qui s’appliqueraient aux compétences liées à l’emploi visé. Pensez également à des situations passées où vous avez démontré cette compétence, car la situation présentée pourrait ressembler singulièrement à une situation que vous avez déjà vécue dans le passé.
Les intervieweurs peuvent également vous poser des questions à votre sujet afin de mieux comprendre votre personnalité et de déterminer si vous convenez au poste et à l’organisation. Voici quelques exemples que vous pourrez préparer :

Conseils pour le jour de l’entrevue

Bonne chance pour votre entrevue au sein de notre organisation!