Consultation on Coastal Fishery Protection Regulations (Port State Measures Agreement)

This consultation is now closed.

Thank you for your interest.

The Port State Measures Agreement (PSMA) is an international treaty which sets a global minimum standard for measures to be taken by port states against vessels and related activities that engage in or support illegal, unreported and unregulated (IUU) fishing. Canada signed the PSMA in November 2010 and is working towards ratification. The Coastal Fisheries Protection Act has been amended as part of this process, and we are now asking affected stakeholders to join the conversation about the proposed changes to the Coastal Fisheries Protection Regulations as the next step in this regulatory process.

Why

Canada regulates and strictly monitors fishing activities but there are economic impacts of IUU fishing in international trade. Stopping illegally harvested fish and seafood products at ports in order to ensure that they do not enter markets is a key tool in the fight against IUU fishing, and Port State measures are considered cost-effective methods of prevention.

Who

The proposed amendments to the Coastal Fisheries Protection Regulations could affect the following groups:

  • Foreign businesses
  • Foreign fishing vessels
  • Canadian importers/brokers
  • Environmental groups
  • Processors
  • Industry

What

The signature of the Agreement was completed as the first step of the ratification process. Legislation to bring Canada's port access regime in alignment with the Agreement then received Royal Assent on June 18, 2015. Additional amendments to the Coastal Fisheries Protection Regulations are now required before Canada can ratify the Agreement. The Agreement entered into force in July 2016 after 25 states or regional economic integration organizations (such as the European Union) became parties. There are currently 36 parties to the Agreement.

Related information

Consultation relative au Règlement sur la protection des pêcheries côtières (Accord sur les mesures de l'État du port)

Situation actuelle : Terminée

Nous vous remercions de votre intérêt.

L'Accord sur les mesures de l'État du port (AMEP) est un traité international qui établit une norme minimale mondiale relative aux mesures que doivent prendre les États du port à l'égard des navires et activités connexes qui participent à une pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée (INDNR) ou qui appuient une telle pêche. Le Canada a signé l'AMEP en novembre 2010, et depuis, il travaille à sa ratification. La Loi sur la protection des pêches côtières a été modifiée dans le cadre de ce processus de réglementation, et comme prochaine étape, nous demandons maintenant aux intervenants concernés de se joindre à la discussion au sujet des modifications proposées au Règlement sur la protection des pêcheries côtières.

Justification

Le Canada réglemente et surveille étroitement les activités de pêche, mais la pêche INDNR a des répercussions économiques sur le commerce international. L'interception des produits du poisson et des fruits de mer capturés illégalement lors de leur arrivée dans les ports, afin d'empêcher leur mise sur le marché, est un des principaux éléments de la lutte contre la pêche INDNR, et les mesures du ressort de l'État du port sont considérées comme des méthodes rentables de prévention.

Qui

Les modifications proposées au Règlement sur la protection des pêcheries côtières pourraient avoir une incidence sur les groupes suivants :

  • Entreprises étrangères
  • Bateaux de pêche étrangers
  • Importateurs et courtiers canadiens
  • Groupes environnementaux
  • Entreprises de transformation
  • Industrie

Quoi

La signature de l'Accord constitue la première étape du processus de ratification. La loi pour harmoniser le régime d'accès des ports du Canada à l'Accord a reçu la sanction royale le 18 juin 2015. D'autres modifications doivent maintenant être apportées au Règlement sur la protection des pêcheries côtières avant que le Canada ne puisse ratifier l'AMEP. L'Accord a entré en vigueur lorsque 25 états ou organisations d'intégration économique régionales (par exemple, l'Union Européen) sont devenus parties. À l'heure actuelle, il y a 36 parties à l'Accord.

Information connexe