Shrimp

shrimp
Name:
Shrimp
Latin Name:
Pandalus borealis
Group Name:
Invertebrates
Location:
Northern Atlantic
Fishing Gear:
Otter trawl, traps
Fishing Season:
Variable

Species at a Glance

Canada exports more cold water shrimp than any other country in the world and shrimp is Canada’s fourth most valuable seafood export. The Northern shrimp is by far the most abundant of the 30 shrimp species found in the Canadian Atlantic, representing approximately 97 percent of the overall commercial fishery in the region. The major markets for Canadian shrimp are Europe (Russia, Denmark, UK), Asia (China and Japan) and the United States. Canada’s shrimp populations are healthy and sustainably managed. Annual fishing quotas are in line with science advice to maintain the future health of the populations.

Landings:
Over the past decade, total shrimp landings peaked at 185,974 tonnes in 2007 and have declined modestly since then. In 2012, 148,874 tonnes of shrimp were landed. In 2011, 150,776 tonnes of shrimp were harvested in Atlantic Canada. The 2011 landed quantity of Northern shrimp was 146,862 tonnes.
Value:
In 2012, the overall export value of shrimp was $345 million. In 2011, the overall export value for Canadian shrimp/prawns (including Northern shrimp, Pandalus montagui, B.C. shrimp and prawn) was $394 million. The 2011 export value of Northern shrimp is estimated at $342.8 million. The 2011 landed value of total Atlantic shrimp was $311.9 million, and the value of Northern shrimp landings alone was $301.4 million.
Abundance Status and Trends:
Abundance and biomass indices increased greatly in the late 1990s, reaching record high levels in 2006. Although stocks are down in the more southerly extent of the range, they remain in good condition. Landings are above the average over the last 15 years.
Fisheries:
There are 15 Shrimp Fishery Areas in Eastern Canada. The inshore fishery operates from the spring to fall, while offshore vessels harvest throughout the year.
Conservation Measures:
Measures include: minimum trawl mesh size, mandatory requirement to use the Nordmore sorting grate on all shrimp fishing trawls to minimize bycatch, at-sea monitoring by fishery observers, the use of closed areas, and dockside monitoring.

Species Background

Shrimp are crustaceans with a hard outer shell that they must periodically shed (or moult) in order to grow. They are found mainly on soft and muddy bottoms, typically between 150 and 600 metres below sea level. Shrimp are distributed throughout the northern Atlantic and Pacific oceans.

In the more northern areas, shrimp are thought to live longer than 8 years, while those in the south probably live for only 6 or 7 years. Shrimp mature at about age two, maturing first as males and then at about age four, changing into females. Shrimp can grow to about 15 to 16 cm in total length, although the average size is about half this. They are considered harvestable once their carapace reaches 18 mm in length, when they are approximately 3 years of age.

Shrimp are an important part of the marine food chain. Shrimp feed on a variety of zooplankton and are major prey for groundfish species, especially cod, hake, redfish, Greenland halibut and flounder.

Fisheries

There are 15 Shrimp Fishery Areas in Eastern Canada, between the Gulf of St. Lawrence off the Scotian Shelf, Northwestern Newfoundland and Labrador, and in the Davis Strait.

The inshore fishery normally operates from the spring to fall. The offshore vessels harvest all year in the Atlantic. Canada’s shrimp harvesters employ otter trawls with a minimum mesh size of 40 mm. Traps are only used in Shrimp Fishery Area 15. 

The Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization provides recommendations on annual catch quotas for Shrimp Fishery Areas 1 and 7, while the total allowable catch quotas for the other Shrimp Fishery Areas within Canadian waters are set by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. For Shrimp Fishery Area 13, 14 & 15, DFO receives recommendations from the Eastern Scotian Shelf Shrimp Advisory Committee before setting annual quotas. There is no recreational fishing within the Atlantic Canada shrimp fishery.

The fishery by vessels greater than 100 feet produces mainly frozen-at-sea products (cooked and raw) with the shell on, while vessels less than 100 feet land fresh shrimp that is processed in fish plants into a cooked and peeled product.

The following shrimp fisheries (Shrimp Fishery Areas) have received Marine Stewardship Council eco-certification:

  • Northern Shrimp Fishery, inshore and offshore (Shrimp Fishery Areas 5-10 and 12 in the Gulf of St. Lawrence)
  • Scotian Shelf Shrimp Fishery (Shrimp Fishery Areas 13, 14 and 15).

Shrimp Fishing Areas in Atlantic Canada

Figure 1 is captioned “Shrimp fishing areas in Atlantic Canada”. It is a map with latitudinal coordinates marked on the x-axis from 45 and 70 degrees and longitudinal coordinates marked on the y-axis from 42 to 66 degrees. The map shows the land masses of New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador as well as Greenland. It uses lines to outline the following fishing area boundaries, the Shrimp Fishing Areas (SFA) 2-16: from SFA 2, the most northerly near Greenland, and SFA 4 and 5 close to Labrador, areas SFA 6, 7 and 8 located around the Newfoundland coast; SFA 9-10-12 are near Anticosti Island and the SFA areas 13-16 are located on the Scotian Shelf. In addition, closed areas are shown as boxes on the map: the first one near northern Labrador, the second one off southern Labrador, and one near Newfoundland. The 200 mile limit is shown, as well as 200 Nautical mile limit, as dashed and continuous lines.

shrimp fishing areas

Source: DFO

Shrimp landings – Historical View:

Figure 2 is captioned “Shrimp landings and Total Allowable Catches (1990–2009)”. It is a stacked area chart showing the trend of historical landings and quota of shrimp by Canadian harvesters in all fishing areas between 1990 and 2008. The x-axis shows years in 4- year increments and the y- axis shows the landings in 50,000-tonne increments from 0 to 250,000 t. The table shows the increasing shrimp landings from 1990 to 2006. A slight decline is evident since then. The quota or total allowable catch (TAC) is marked every year beginning in 1990 using a line along the graph.

shrimp landings

Shrimp landings and Total Allowable Catches (1990-2009)
Source: DFO

Conservation Measures

All shrimp fisheries in eastern Canada are subject to a range of management measures designed to promote the sustainability of the shrimp resource, to minimize potential bycatch of other species, and to protect biodiversity in the fishery area. Regulations include:

  • annual quotas in the form of total allowable catch;
  • individual quotas for both the inshore and offshore sectors;
  • limited entry licencing;
  • a minimum 40 mm mesh size, which prevents younger shrimp from being caught;
  • mandatory use of a sorting grate to minimize bycatch of non-target species;
  • closing some areas to trawling to protect sensitive species such as corals;
  • discarding rules;
  • at-sea monitoring by fishery observers on all trips by the large vessel fleet;
  • at-sea monitoring by fishery observers on a prescribed percentage, by region, of the small vessel fleet’s trips; and
  • dockside monitoring of all shrimp landings from vessels under 100 feet in length.

All shrimp trawlers must be fitted with a Nordmore separator grate (see image).  This grate significantly reduces bycatches of groundfish by directing them towards an exit triangle in the upper panel of the gear. In 1997, the offshore fleet was awarded a Nova Scotia Environmental Award for its efforts to reduce bycatch.

Figure 3 is an illustration of a Nordmore grate. This is a device that allows larger fish, caught as bycatch in a codend of a trawl net to esape. This is done by a placing a guiding funnel that they can follow and swim out of. The diagram shows an ‘opening for bycatch’ to let the fish escape from the codend while the normal fishing operation proceeds.

Nordmore separator grate

Nordmore Grate
Source: DFO

Population Estimates

The most recent shrimp assessment shows the following for 2011:

  • Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence (SFAs 8, 9, 10, 12): The main indicator shows that the four stocks that comprise this fishery were in the healthy zone in 2011. The stock status indicator  increased by more than 40% in Estuary and Esquiman in 2011 relative to 2010 while it decreased by about 25% in Sept-Iles and Anticosti.
  • Scotian Shelf (SFAs 13 – 16): the stock biomass peaked in 2009. By 2011 it began to decline but remained in the healthy zone.
  • Northern Shrimp Fishery (SFAs 0-7) in recent years, the resource has been decreasing in the south but remains stable or increasing in the north.

Additional Information

Crevette

crevette
Nom :
Crevette
Nom latin :
Pandalus borealis
Groupe :
Invertébrés
Lieu :
Atlantique Nord
Engin de pêche :
Chalut à panneaux, casier
Saison de pêche :
Variable

Aperçu de l’espèce

Le Canada exporte plus de crevettes nordiques que tout autre pays du monde et la crevette se classe au quatrième rang, pour la valeur, parmi les exportations de mollusques et de crustacés du Canada. La crevette nordique est de loin la plus abondante des 30 espèces de crevettes que l’on trouve dans l’Atlantique canadien, représentant environ 97 p. 100 de toute la pêche commerciale dans la région. Les principaux marchés de la crevette canadienne sont l’Europe (Russie, Danemark et R.‑U.), l’Asie (Chine et le Japon) et les États-Unis.

Les populations de crevettes du Canada sont saines et gérées de façon durable. Les quotas annuels sont basés sur des avis scientifiques visant à maintenir la santé des populations.

Débarquements :
Au cours des dix dernières années, le total des débarquements de crevettes a atteint un sommet à 185 974 tonnes en 2007 et a diminué légèrement depuis. En 2013, 141 291 de tonnes ont été récoltées et en 2012, 148 874 tonnes de crevettes ont été récoltées. En 2011, 150 776 tonnes de crevettes ont été récoltées dans l’Atlantique canadien. Les débarquements de crevette nordique en 2011 s’élevaient à 146 862 tonnes.
Valeur :
En 2013, la valeur totale à l’exportation de la crevette canadienne est estimée a 319 million de dollars. En 2012, la valeur totale à l’exportation de la crevette canadienne (dont la crevette nordique, Pandalus montagui et la crevette de la Colombie-Britannique) s’est chiffrée à 345 millions de dollars. En 2011, la valeur à l’exportation de la crevette nordique est estimée à 342,8 millions de dollars. La valeur totale des débarquements de crevette était de 311,9 millions de dollars, dont 301,4 millions pour la crevette nordique à elle seule.
Situation et tendances de l’abondance :
Les indices d’abondance et de biomasse ont beaucoup augmenté à la fin des années 1990, atteignant des sommets record en 2006. Bien que les stocks aient diminué dans la partie plus au sud de leur aire, ils demeurent en bon état. Les débarquements sont toujours supérieurs à la moyenne des 15 dernières années.
Pêche :
Il y a 15 zones de pêche de la crevette dans l’Est du Canada. La pêche côtière est pratiquée du printemps à l’automne, tandis que les bateaux hauturiers peuvent pêcher pendant toute l’année.
Mesures de conservation :
Les mesures comprennent : un maillage minimal pour les filets, l’obligation d’utiliser la grille Nordmore pour tous les chaluts de pêche de la crevette, la surveillance en mer par les observateurs des pêches, l’utilisation des secteurs fermés (à la pêche), et la vérification à quai.

Renseignements sur l’espèce

Les crevettes sont des crustacés dotés d’une carapace dure dont ils doivent périodiquement se débarrasser (la mue) pour grandir. On les trouve principalement sur des fonds meubles et vaseux, entre 150 et 600 mètres sous le niveau de la mer. Les crevettes sont réparties dans tout l’Atlantique et le Pacifique Nord.

Dans les zones plus au Nord, la crevette vivrait plus de huit ans, tandis que dans le Sud, elle ne vivrait probablement que six ou sept ans. Les crevettes atteignent la maturité vers deux ans en tant que mâles puis, à l’âge quatre, se transforment en femelles. Les crevettes peuvent grandir jusqu’à environ 15 à 16 cm de longueur, même si la taille moyenne est à peu près de la moitié. Elles sont considérées exploitables lorsque la carapace atteint 18 millimètres de longueur. À ce stade, elles ont environ trois ans.

La crevette joue un rôle important dans la chaîne alimentaire marine. Elle se nourrit de diverses formes de zooplancton et constitue une proie importante pour les espèces de poisson de fond, surtout la morue, la merluche, le sébaste, le flétan noir et la plie.

Pêche

Il y a 15 zones de pêche de la crevette dans l’Est du Canada, entre le golfe du Saint-Laurent, la plate forme Scotian et le Nord-Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, ainsi que dans le détroit de Davis.

La pêche côtière a lieu généralement du printemps à l’automne. Les bateaux hauturiers pêchent toute l’année dans l’Atlantique. Les pêcheurs de crevettes du Canada utilisent des chaluts à panneaux avec un maillage minimal de 40 millimètres. Les casiers sont utilisés seulement dans la zone de pêche de la crevette 15.

L’Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest formule des recommandations sur les quotas annuels pour les zones de pêche de la crevette 1 et 7, tandis qu’un total autorisé de captures est établi par Pêches et Océans Canada pour les autres zones de pêche de la crevette dans les eaux canadiennes. Pour ce qui est des zones de pêche à la crevette 13, 14 et 15, le Ministère reçoit les recommandations du Comité consultatif de la crevette du plateau néoécossais avant d’établir les quotas annuels. Il n’y a pas de pêche sportive de la crevette dans l’Atlantique canadien.

Les produits de la pêche hauturière sont principalement congelés en mer avec la carapace, alors que les produits côtiers sont débarqués et transformés dans des usines en crevettes cuites et décortiquées.

Les pêches suivantes de la crevette (zones de pêche de la crevette) ont obtenu une écocertification du Marine Stewardship Council :

  • Pêche de la crevette nordique, côtière et hauturière (zones de pêche de la crevette 5‑10 et 12 dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent)
  • Pêche de la crevette sur la plate‑forme Scotian (zones de pêche de la crevette 13, 14 et 15).

Zones de pêche Atlantique de la crevette

Zones de pêche Atlantique de la crevette
Figure 1. Zones de pêche Atlantique de la crevette

La figure 1 est intitulée « Zones de pêche Atlantique de la crevette ». Il s’agit d’une carte indiquant la latitude sur l’axe x, de 45 à 70 degrés, et la longitude sur l’axe y, de 42 à 66 degrés. Elle montre les masses terrestres du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et du Groenland. Des lignes servent à délimiter les zones de pêche de la crevette (ZPC) 2 à 16 : la ZPC 2, celle la plus au nord, près du Groenland; les ZPC 4 et 5, près du Labrador; les ZPC 6, 7 et 8, situées autour de Terre-neuve; les ZPC 9, 10 et 12, près de l’île d’Anticosti; et les ZPC 13 à 16 sur le plateau néo-écossais. Trois zones interdites y sont aussi délimitées : la première au nord du Labrador, la deuxième au sud du Labrador, et la troisième près de l’île de Terre-Neuve.
De plus, la carte montre la limite de 200 miles (ligne pointillée bleue) et la limite de 200 miles nautiques (ligne pointillée noire).

Débarquements de crevette – Perspective historique

Débarquements de crevette
Figure 2. Débarquements de crevettes et total autorisé des captures (1990-2009)

La figure 2 est intitulée « Débarquements de crevette et total autorisé des captures (1990-2009) ». Il s’agit d’un graphique à colonnes empilées illustrant la tendance des quotas et des débarquements historiques de crevette enregistrés pour les pêcheurs canadiens dans toutes les zones de pêche pendant la période s’échelonnant de 1990 à 2008. L’axe x indique les années par intervalles de 4, tandis que l’axe y indique les débarquements par paliers de 50 000 tonnes, de 0 à 250 000 tonnes. Le graphique indique une augmentation des débarquements de crevettes de 1990 à 2006, et un léger déclin jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Le quota, ou total autorisé des captures, est indiqué pour chaque année à partir de 1990, au moyen d’une ligne rouge.

Mesures de conservation

Toutes les pêches de la crevette de l’Est du Canada sont soumises à une gamme des mesures de gestion visant à promouvoir l’exploitation durable des ressources de crevettes, à minimiser les risques de prises accessoires d’autres espèces et à protéger la biodiversité dans les zones de pêche. La réglementation comprend :

  • des quotas annuels sous forme de totaux autorisés de captures
  • des quotas individuels, tant pour le secteur côtier que pour le secteur hauturier
  • des permis à accès limité
  • un maillage minimal de 40 millimètres qui empêche la capture des jeunes crevettes
  • l’utilisation obligatoire d’une grille séparatrice afin de limiter le plus possible les prises accessoires d’espèces non ciblées
  • la fermeture de certaines zones à la pêche au chalut afin de protéger les espèces sensibles comme les coraux
  • des règles sur les rejets
  • la surveillance en mer par des observateurs de la pêche à toutes les sorties de la flottille de gros bateaux
  • la surveillance en mer par des observateurs de la pêche selon un pourcentage prescrit, par région, pour les sorties de la flottille de petits bateaux
  • la vérification à quai de tous les débarquements de crevettes des bateaux de moins de 100 pieds de longueur

Tous les chalutiers de crevette doivent utiliser une grille séparatrice Nordmore (voir l’image). Cette grille permet de réduire largement les prises accessoires de poisson de fond puisque les poissons sont acheminés vers un triangle de sortie dans le panneau supérieur de l’engin. En 1997, la flottille hauturière a obtenu le prix de l’environnement de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour ses efforts en vue de réduire les prises accessoires.

chalutiers de crevette
Grille Nordmore

La figure 3 est une illustration de grille Nordmore. Ce dispositif permet aux poissons plus gros pris accidentellement dans un cul-de-chalut ou un filet de fond de s’en échapper. Il consiste en un entonnoir de guidage que les poissons suivent pour s’échapper du cul-de-chalut ou un filet de fond. L’illustration montre une « ouverture pour des prises accessoires », qui permet aux poissons de s’échapper du cul-de-chalut sans que les pêcheurs aient à interrompre leurs opérations de pêche normales.

Estimations de la population

Selon la plus récente évaluation des stocks de crevettes :

  • Partie nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent (ZPC 8, 9, 10 et 12) : Le principal indicateur révèle que les quatre stocks que comporte cette pêche se trouvaient dans la zone saine en 2011. En 2011, l’indicateur d’état du stock a augmenté de plus de 40 % dans l’estuaire et le chenal Esquiman, alors qu’en 2010, il avait diminué d’environ 25 % à Sept-Îles et à l’île d’Anticosti.
  • Plateau néo-écossais (ZPC 13 à 16) : La biomasse a atteint son apogée en 2009. Même si elle a commencé à décliner à partir de 2011, elle demeure dans la zone saine.
  • Pêche de la crevette nordique (ZPC 0 à 7) : Au cours des dernières années, les stocks ont diminué au sud, mais sont demeurés stables ou ont augmenté au nord.

Renseignements supplémentaires