Lobster

lobster
Name:
Lobster
Latin Name:
Homarus americanus
Group Name:
Invertebrates
Location:
Northwest Atlantic
Fishing Gear:
Traps
Fishing Season:
Varies by area

Species at a Glance

Lobster is Canada’s most valuable seafood export and an iconic Canadian species exported around the world. Canadian lobster landings remain at one of the highest levels recorded in 100 years, with an upward trend over recent decades. The majority (78%) of Canadian lobster exports are destined for the United States. Other key markets include Asia (Japan and China) and the European Union (Belgium, France). Lobster is also exported to an additional 50 countries.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada manages 45 lobster fisheries, in which 10,000 licensed harvesters across Atlantic Canada and Quebec participate.  Lobsters are caught using baited traps placed on the bottom of the sea. Overall, lobster populations in Canada are healthy and sustainably managed.

Landings:
Annual lobster landings average 50,000 to 55,000 tonnes. In 2012 lobster landings were 74,790 tonnes. In 2011, lobster landings were 66,500 tonnes.
Value:
The lobster landed value was $662.8 million 2012, and $619.7 million in 2011. Annual exports in 2011 were worth over $1 billion.
Abundance Status and Trends:
Lobster landings are a primary indicator of abundance. There has been a general, upward trend in landings in recent decades. In 2009, the landings were 56,554 tonnes; the second highest on record in the last 20 years.
Fisheries:
There are 45 lobster fisheries throughout the Atlantic Provinces and Quebec, including one for the offshore fishery and one closed for conservation.
Conservation Measures:
These are tailored to meet the unique needs of each lobster fishery. Commonly used measures include limits to the number of licences, trap limits, length of fishing seasons, number of fishing days, total allowable catch quotas (in the offshore lobster fishing area), lobster size restrictions, and more.

Top of Page

Species Background

Sometimes growing to lengths of 60 cm and weighing over 18 kilograms, lobsters can grow to be among the largest marine crustaceans. They are also the longest-living crustaceans, capable of reaching ages of up to 50 years. The American lobster is distributed in the northwest Atlantic from the deeper waters of North Carolina to the waters of Newfoundland and southern Labrador. The largest populations are found in the Gulf of Maine and the southern Gulf St. Lawrence.

Lobsters are active hunters, feeding on a variety of animals, including crab, shellfish, marine worms, starfish, sea urchins and fish. Larval and post-larval lobsters are prone to predation by crabs and finfish species. When outside their burrows, juveniles are prey for many fish species. Lobsters become less vulnerable to predation as they grow, except during moulting periods when they shed their hard outer shell.

For more biological information about the American Lobster, visit our Underwater World lobster profile.

Fisheries

In Canada, about 10,000 licensed harvesters take part in 45 lobster fisheries (43 inshore with small-boat harvesters, one offshore and one closed to lobster fishing as a conservation measure (area 40)). Lobster fishing is most active in the Gulf of Maine, Bay of Fundy, Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence and coastal Nova Scotia. Lobsters are caught in baited traps placed on the bottom of the sea. Most fisheries take place in shallow waters less than 40 metres deep and within 15 km of shore, although some fisheries (areas 34-38) will fish much farther out and in waters up to 200 metres deep.
 
There is one Enterprise Allocation offshore lobster licence (area 41), which takes place in the deep basins and outer banks off southwestern Nova Scotia. The offshore lobster fishery season is year round, with a 720-tonne quota and the harvesters are not permitted to fish closer than 92 km from shore. This offshore fishery received eco-certification as a sustainable and well-managed fishery from the Marine Stewardship Council in June 2010.

Lobster Fishing Areas:

Figure 1 is captioned “Lobster fishing areas”. It is a map illustrating the provinces of Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and the eastern part of Quebec  (Gaspé Peninsula) and the surrounding waters. The map also shows the different lobster fishing areas (LFA) surrounding these areas of the eastern part of Canada. Individual areas are designated by lines from Area 3 to Area 40.The areas cover the Atlantic Ocean around the Grand Bank, Gulf of St. Lawrence, St. Pierre Bank, Banquereau Bank, Haddock Box, and the Bay of Fundy, as well as around the Magdalen Islands.

Lobster Fishing Areas

Top of Page

Conservation Measures

The lobster fishery in Canada has one of the longest histories of regulation. Many of the management measures in place today date back over a century, with the first conservation measure – protection of egg-bearing females – put in place in the early 1870s.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada works closely with the lobster fishing industry to develop and update Integrated Fisheries Management Plans that cover the lobster fisheries. Management measures are tailored to the unique needs of each Lobster Fishing Area.

The inshore lobster fishery is managed by “input control,” which means that a limit is placed on fishing efforts. Conservation measures include:

  • a limited number of licences issued, with limits on the number of traps;
  • limited and staggered fishing seasons – lobster fishing is generally prohibited between July and the end of September to protect summer moults;
  • protection of egg-bearing females – females bearing eggs must be released back into the environment alive to ensure the reproductive cycle continues (harvesters may voluntarily cut a small v-shaped notch in the female’s tail prior to release to ensure it will be released in the future, even when not bearing eggs);
  • minimum lobster size limits – a measure to increase the likelihood that lobsters reach full adult maturity and reproduce;
  • maximum lobster size limits (or a closed window size as an alternative measure) which protects large lobsters that proportionally produce more eggs;
  • trap designs that allow undersized lobsters to escape and that include biodegradable escape panels to ensure traps lost at sea will not continue catching lobsters and other species; and
  • ongoing monitoring and enforcement of fishing regulations and licence conditions.

The offshore lobster fishery in area 41 has many of the same conservation measures in place as well as an annual limit on the number of lobsters that may be caught, referred to as total allowable catch. The current total allowable catch for this fishery is 720 tonnes and has remained unchanged since 1989.

Lobster Landings – Historical View:

Figure 2 is captioned “Canadian lobster landings 1890 to 2009”. It is a graph showing the historical view of landings of Canadian lobster landings beginning in 1890 (starting point on the x-axis shown) with the next years up to 2009. The y-axis of the table is titled “metric tonnes” and it starts at zero (at the bottom) and runs in 10,000 increments to 60,000 tonnes. Landings by volume for each year demonstrate that landings of lobster have greatly increased since 1975.

Canadian Lobster landings

Canadian Lobster landings (1890-2009)

Top of Page

Population Estimates

Fisheries and Oceans Canada conducts regular stock assessments of lobster fisheries, using data collected from at-sea and port lobster samples, monitoring traps, harvester logbooks, trawl and diving surveys and, in some cases, video surveys.  Information about the condition and status of the oceans is also collected to better understand the effect of environmental conditions on lobster populations.

Using these data, Fisheries and Oceans Canada looks at a variety of indicators to get a better understanding of the status of lobster, including:

  • Landings;
  • catch rates and exploitation rates;
  • sizes and weight of lobsters caught;
  • abundance of pre-recruits and breeding females;
  • male/female ratio and mating success; and
  • production of one- and two-year old lobsters.

External experts and harvesters review our stock assessments and the results are published on our Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat Web Site.

Additional Information

Homard

homard
Nom :
Homard
Nom latin :
Homarus americanus
Groupe :
Invertébrés
Lieu :
Atlantique Nord-Ouest
Engin de pêche :
Casiers
Saison de pêche :
Varie selon les secteurs

Aperçu de l’espèce

Le homard est le fruit de mer du Canada dont la valeur à l’exportation est la plus élevée et une espèce iconique du Canada exportée dans le monde entier. Les débarquements de homard canadien se maintiennent aux plus hauts niveaux enregistrés depuis cent ans, et la tendance à la hausse se poursuit depuis quelques décennies. La majorité des exportations de homard du Canada est destinée aux Etats-Unis. L’Asie (Japon, Chine) et l’Union européenne (Belgique, France) représentent d’autres marchés importants. Le homard est également exporté vers 50 autres pays.

Pêches et Océans Canada gère 45 pêches du homard dans lesquelles 10 000 pêcheurs titulaires de permis du Canada atlantique et du Québec capturent le homard au moyen de casiers appâtés posés sur le fond de la mer. Dans l’ensemble, les populations de homard du Canada sont en bonne santé et sont gérées de façon durable.

Débarquements :
Les débarquements annuels de homard ont totalisé en moyenne de 50 000 à 55 000 tonnes. En 2013, les débarquements de homard équivalaient à 74 686 tonnes. En 2012, les débarquements de homard équivalaient à 74 790 tonnes. En 2011, les débarquements de homard se sont élevés à 66 500 tonnes.
Valeur :
En 2013, la valeur au débarquement du homard était de 680 millions de dollars. En 2012, la valeur au débarquement du homard était de 662,8 millions de dollars. En 2011, la valeur au débarquement du homard était de 619,7 millions de dollars. Les exportations annuelles en 2011 ont généré 1 milliard de dollars de revenu.
Situation et tendances de l’abondance :
Les débarquements de homards forment un indicateur premier d’abondance. On a constaté une tendance à la hausse des débarquements au cours des dernières décennies. En 2009, ils se sont élevés à 56 554 tonnes, le deuxième plus haut total jamais enregistré au cours des 20 dernières années.
Pêche :
Il existe 45 pêches du homard dans toutes les provinces de l’Atlantique et au Québec, y compris une pêche hauturière et une pêche fermée à des fins de conservation.
Mesures de conservation :
Elles sont adaptées aux besoins uniques de chaque pêche du homard. Les mesures courantes comprennent des limites du nombre de permis, des limites du nombre de casiers, la durée des saisons de pêche, le nombre de jours de pêche, un total autorisé des captures (pour la pêche hauturière du homard), des restrictions relatives à la taille et au sexe des homards et d’autres mesures.

Renseignements sur l’espèce

Atteignant parfois 60 cm et pesant plus de 18 kilogrammes, les homards comptent parmi les plus gros crustacés marins. Ils comptent aussi parmi les crustacés qui vivent le plus longtemps, puisque certains individus peuvent vivre jusqu’à 50 ans. Le homard d’Amérique est réparti dans tout l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest, à partir des eaux profondes de la Caroline du Nord jusqu’à Terre-Neuve et au Sud du Labrador. Les plus grandes populations sont concentrées dans le golfe du Maine et dans le Sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Les homards sont des chasseurs actifs, se nourrissant de divers animaux, dont le crabe, les mollusques, les vers marins, les étoiles de mer, les oursins et les poissons. Aux stades larvaire et postlarvaire, les homards sont la proie des crabes et de nombreux poissons. Lorsqu’ils quittent leur abri, les jeunes homards sont aussi la proie de nombreuses espèces de poisson. Les homards deviennent moins vulnérables à mesure qu’ils grossissent, sauf pendant les périodes de mue au cours desquelles ils perdent leur carapace dure.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la biologie du homard d’Amérique, consulter le profil du homard dans Le monde sous-marin.

Pêche

Au Canada, environ 10 000 pêcheurs titulaires de permis prennent part à 45 pêches du homard (43 pêches côtières pratiquées par les pêcheurs à l’aide de petits bateaux, une pêche hauturière et une pêche fermée comme mesure de conservation – zone 40). Les pêches les plus actives sont pratiquées dans le golfe du Maine, la baie de Fundy, le Sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent et le long des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Les homards sont capturés dans des casiers appâtés, posés sur le fond de la mer. La plupart des pêches se déroulent dans des eaux peu profondes, à moins de 40 mètres de profondeur et à moins de 15 kilomètres des côtes, bien que certaines zones (zones 34 à 38) soient beaucoup plus éloignées, la profondeur de l’eau y atteignant parfois 200 mètres.

Il existe un permis d’allocation aux entreprises pour la pêche hauturière au homard (zone 41) qui se pratique dans des bassins profonds et des bancs éloignés, au large du sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse. La saison de pêche hauturière du homard s’étend tout au long de l’année; les pêcheurs sont assujettis à un quota de 720 tonnes et ne sont pas autorisés à pêcher à moins de 92 kilomètres des côtes. Cette pêche hauturière bénéficie d’une écocertification, comme pêche bien gérée et durable, délivrée par le Marine Stewardship Council en juin 2010.

Zones de pêche du homard :

Zone de pêche du homard
Figure 1. Zone de pêche du homard

La figure 1 est intitulée « Zones de pêche du homard ». Il s’agit d’une carte montrant Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nouveau-Brunswick, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et la portion est du Québec (péninsule de Gaspé), ainsi que les eaux qui les entourent. Elle présente aussi les différentes zones de pêche du homard se situant dans les eaux de la partie est du Canada. Les zones, numérotées de 3 à 40, sont délimitées par des lignes. Elles couvrent l’océan Atlantique autour du Grand Banc, du golfe du Saint-Laurent, du Banc de Saint-Pierre, du banc Banquereau, de la zone de pêche de l’aiglefin, de la baie de Fundy et des îles de la Madeleine.

Mesures de conservation

La pêche du homard au Canada compte parmi celles qui sont réglementées depuis le plus longtemps. Bon nombre des mesures de gestion qui existent aujourd’hui remontent à plus d’un siècle, la première mesure de conservation – la protection des femelles œuvées – ayant été prise au début des années 1870.

Pêches et Océans Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec l’industrie de la pêche du homard en vue d’élaborer et de mettre à jour des plans de gestion intégrée des pêches qui englobent les pêches du homard. Les mesures de gestion sont adaptées aux besoins uniques de chaque zone de pêche.

La pêche côtière est gérée à l’aide de mesures qui restreignent les « intrants », c’est-à-dire que des limites sont imposées à l’effort de pêche. Les mesures de conservation comprennent :

  • Une limite au nombre de permis, de même qu’au nombre de casiers.
  • Des saisons de pêche restreintes et décalées – la pêche du homard est généralement interdite entre le mois de juillet et la fin de septembre pour protéger la mue estivale.
  • Protection des femelles œuvées – les femelles qui portent des œufs doivent être remises dans l’environnement vivantes, afin de garantir la poursuite du cycle de reproduction. Les pêcheurs peuvent marquer sur la queue une femelle œuvée à l’aide d’une petite encoche en V avant de la remettre à l’eau, pour s’assurer qu’elle sera remise à l’eau à l’avenir, même si elle ne porte pas d’œufs.
  • Limite de taille minimale – une mesure visant à augmenter les chances pour les homards d’atteindre la maturité et de se reproduire.
  • Une limite de taille maximale (ou une fourchette de tailles interdites comme mesure de rechange) qui protège les gros homards qui produisent proportionnellement plus d’œufs.
  • Une conception des casiers qui permet aux homards n’ayant pas atteint la taille minimale de s’échapper, et incluant des panneaux de sortie biodégradables pour s’assurer que les casiers perdus en mer ne continuent pas à capturer des homards et d’autres espèces.
  • Une surveillance et une application continues des règlements de pêche et des conditions de permis.

Une grande partie de ces mesures de conservation s’appliquent aussi à la pêche hauturière dans la zone 41, de même qu’une limite annuelle quant au nombre de homards pouvant être capturés, que l’on appelle le total autorisé des captures. Actuellement, ce total est fixé à 720 tonnes et est demeuré inchangé depuis 1989.

Débarquements de homards – Perspective historique :

Débarquements de homards
Figure 2. Débarquements canadiens de homards (1895-2013).

La figure 2 est intitulée « Débarquements canadiens de homards (1890-2009) ». Elle consiste en un graphique montrant les débarquements de homards enregistrés au Canada de 1890 (année de départ sur l’axe x) à 2009. L’axe y du graphique, intitulé « tonnes métriques », part de 0 (au bas du graphique) et se rend à 60 000 tonnes par paliers de 10 000 tonnes. Les débarquements par volume enregistrés chaque année démontrent que les débarquements de homards ont connu une forte augmentation depuis 1975.

Estimations de la population

Pêches et Océans Canada procède à des évaluations périodiques des pêches du homard, au moyen des données tirées des échantillons de homards en mer et au port, par la surveillance des casiers, par les journaux de bord des pêcheurs, les relevés au chalut et en plongée ainsi que, dans certains cas, par vidéo-relevés. Des renseignements sont aussi recueillis sur l’état et les conditions de l’océan afin de mieux comprendre les effets des conditions environnementales sur les populations de homards.

À partir de ces données, Pêches et Océans Canada peut observer divers indicateurs qui lui permettent de bien mesurer l’état des homards, notamment :

  • les débarquements
  • les taux de capture et les taux d’exploitation
  • la taille et le poids des homards capturés
  • l’abondance des prérecrues et des femelles génitrices
  • le rapport mâles/femelles et le succès de l’accouplement
  • la production des homards d’un et de deux ans

Des experts de l’extérieur et des pêcheurs examinent les évaluations des stocks et les résultats sont publiés sur le site Web du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique.

Renseignements additionnels