The importance of the seal harvest

Learn about the economic, social and cultural importance of the seal harvest to Canada.

Economic importance

Canadian seal harvesters, processors, artisans and Inuit produce some of the finest quality seal products in the world and contribute to Canada’s economy. In 2006, the total landed value of the seal harvest reached an historic high of $34.1 million. This historic high value had a trickle-down effect in other sectors of the economy.

In Canada’s remote coastal and northern communities, sealing is an important part of the way of life and a much needed source of income for thousands of families. The revenues generated from this activity are an integral component of sealers’ annual income. This fishery also contributes to the diversity of income sources available in fishing communities.

Social and cultural importance

Seals have been harvested for food, fuel, clothing and other products for hundreds of years. In addition to their economic value, seal products hold a significant cultural and traditional value to northern communities, which is of key importance to the Government of Canada. Indigenous peoples in Canada have a constitutionally-protected right to harvest marine mammals, including seals, as long as the harvest is consistent with conservation needs and other requirements.

Why Canada supports the seal harvest

The Canadian government believes in the sustainable use of a renewable resource such as the harp seal. As with all Canadian fisheries, Fisheries and Oceans Canada supports and regulates the seal harvest and is committed to ensuring it is sustainable and conducted safely and humanely. The Canadian seal harvest is one of the world’s most highly regulated and monitored harvests of wild animals. It is an important economic and cultural activity in communities in Atlantic Canada, Quebec and the Arctic.

Importance de la chasse au phoque

Apprenez-en davantage sur de l'importance économique, sociale et culturelle de la chasse au phoque au Canada.

Importance économique

Les chasseurs de phoques, les transformateurs, les artisans et les Inuits canadiens produisent certains des meilleurs produits du phoque au monde et contribuent à la prospérité économique du Canada. En 2006, la valeur totale des débarquements de phoques a atteint le niveau record de 34,1 millions de dollars. Ce niveau record a eu des retombées positives sur d'autres secteurs de l'économie.

Dans les localités côtières isolées et du Nord canadien, la chasse au phoque constitue un volet important du mode de vie et une source de revenus essentielle pour des milliers de familles. Le revenu tiré de cette activité représente une composante essentielle du revenu annuel des chasseurs. Cette chasse contribue également à la diversité des sources de revenus disponibles dans les collectivités de pêcheurs.

Importance sociale et culturelle

Le phoque procure aux chasseurs de la nourriture, du combustible, des vêtements et d'autres produits depuis des siècles. En plus de leur valeur économique, les produits du phoque revêtent une importance culturelle et traditionnelle importante pour les collectivités nordiques, ce qui est primordial pour le gouvernement du Canada. Les peuples autochtones du Canada ont un droit protégé par la loi constitutionnelle de chasser les mammifères marins, y compris les phoques, si cette chasse respecte les besoins et autres exigences en matière de conservation.

Pourquoi le Canada soutient-il la chasse au phoque?

Le gouvernement du Canada croit en l'utilisation durable d'une ressource renouvelable comme le phoque du Groenland. Comme pour toutes les pêches canadiennes, Pêches et Océans Canada soutient et réglemente la chasse au phoque et s'est engagé à veiller à ce qu'elle soit pratiquée de façon durable, saine et sans cruauté. La chasse au phoque au Canada est l'une des chasses aux animaux sauvages les plus réglementées et surveillées au monde. Il s'agit d'une activité économique et culturelle importante pour des collectivités du Canada atlantique, du Québec et de l'Arctique.