2009 Northern Shrimp Advisory Committee Meeting

March 12, 2009
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Attendees

List of attendees is attached at Annex 1.

Introduction and Adoption of Agenda

The Chair welcomed everyone and a round of introductions was made. The Chair formally presented Jennifer Buie as DFO-HQ's Shrimp officer.

Following, the agenda (Annex 2) for the meeting was accepted with the addition of the topic of Stable Sharing Arrangements, as proposed by FFAW.

2008 Meeting Minutes

The minutes of the last NSAC meeting were accepted with one change on page 12 (to specify province) as suggested by the representative from the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador (NL).

There was also a suggestion to the Chair that the minutes be sent out in a more timely manner. The Chair agreed.

CAPP (Bruce Chapman) also requested that when indicating "industry", that more details are provided to specify which representative.

Any further comments to the minutes were to be sent to DFO-HQ.

Results of the 2008 Fishery

A table of allocations and catches for 2008 was reviewed.

A suggestion was made not to include the NAFO Regulatory Area in the table. In addition, the Conne River name should be changed to the Miawpukek First Nation.

Economics Presentation

DFO (Policy / Economic Analysis and Statistics) presented an economic overview of the northern shrimp industry. The key message was that the outlook for the northern shrimp fishery is the same as many other industries in Canada and around the world - it is expected to be a challenging year ahead. It is very likely that the effects from the financial crisis in 2008 will continue on into 2009. These will most likely be felt by industry by declining consumer demand and a continuation of the credit freeze. Nonetheless, this recession could alleviate some operating costs, most notably oil.

Some of the key points for the presentation included: preliminary data suggests that the landings for cooked and peeled shrimp will be similar as compared to past years, however there is a noticeable decline in the offshore landings; in terms of exports, the Canadian dollar has been gaining value as compared to the British pound but we have been losing ground in comparison to the U.S. dollar and the Euro; and, there is a substantial increase in aquaculture shrimp in the marketplace. Other information can be found in the documentation circulated.

CAPP commented that there were several factors at play which affected offshore landings: lost two vessels from the fleet; age of fleet was leading to mechanical issues; market access issues with respect to Denmark/Russia; and, the SFA 1 biomass contracting into Greenland territory.

FFAW indicated that the 2007 and 2008 data on the cooked and peeled industry in NL were not correct.

EU Tarifs and Related Trade Issues

DFO (Trade Policy) reviewed several aspects of Canadian trade including: EU tariffs; WTO negotiations; Free Trade Agreements; and, Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated (IUU) fishing.

Presentation included discussion on the status of Canada's bilateral trade initiatives, the main focus being the possible launch of negotiations between Canada and the EU in 2009, as well as overviews of multilateral negotiations at the WTO, the EU regulation to address IUU fishing which will be in force in 2010, and the EU shrimp Autonomous Tariff Rate Quota (ATRQ) (focusing on the ATRQ renewal process for 2010).

DFO encouraged participants to visit a DFAIT web-page link on the Canada-EU Joint Report Towards a Comprehensive Trade Agreement.

Brian McNamara from Newfound Resources suggested that he would like a more detailed discussion on the shell-on shrimp global opportunities, specifically Ukraine, Russia and China, at the next NSAC meeting.

FFAW questioned international subsidies -skeptical of benefits for CAN fishery sector.

Province of NS commented on the issue of traceability with links to international agreements.

Fishery Checklist

Presentation by DFO RM on the mechanics of DFO's checklist including the issues of who completes questions and how the data is captured and used. Examples of the spider graphs were given of the each of the Shrimp Fishing Areas.

The Chair pointed out that DFO will finalize draft checklists and then send the drafts to industry for validation at either the Working Group or NSAC level.

CAPP pointed out that checklists are a good and bad thing. DFO has an internal audit process for their checklists and DFO will be harder on itself than outsiders since they will be measuring against a perfect world. How DFO presents output is important. MSC showed well over 80% rating in some areas. We need to be consistent. Our spider graphs are close to MSC rating.

The representative from Makivik asked if it would be possible to see the questions and answers from the checklist as the checklists have only been an internal DFO exercise at this point. The Chair replied that the appropriate person to ask is not present therefore he could not say.

A question was asked about the intent of the checklists and if they are in competition with MSC.

The Chair replied that the checklists are a way of measuring our own management and will be useful to industry as a first step towards certification. The checklists will help industry in MSC Certification but there is no direct link.

There were also questions on the role of reference points and harvest control rules -those questions will be answered in the following presentation.

NSAC Working Groups

The Chair explained that the MSC WG has been the only active WG this past year given the certification of northern shrimp.

MSC Working Group

Presentation was made by Chair on activities of WG to work out provisional reference points and decision rules based on DFO's Precautionary Approach (PA) Framework as a result of Condition One of the MSC certification. The presentation provided an overview of the PA and the provisional reference points and harvest control rules for SFA 6 as developed by the WG.

The Chair further explained that this provisional framework will eventually be validated and finalized at NSAC once a Management Strategy Evaluation (MSE) modeling exercise has been completed.

The representative from the Province of New Brunswick supports these measures and the efforts of the WG to go forward with MSC.

FFAW has concerns with the MSC conditions that need to be addressed; these will be raised at the next MSC WG meeting.

It was also mentioned that in order to better deal with Condition Two of the MSC assessment, NSAC's Closed Area Working Group's mandate should be expanded to include eco-system and habitat issues. There were no objections.

Management Measures for 2009

Total Allowable Catches (TACs)

The Chair opened the floor for comments on TAC. It was noted that science advice is based upon 2007 data when biomass remained strong since there was no assessment in 2008.

FFAW asked for clarification on whether a further 10% was to be expected in 2009 for SFA 6 as the TAC for SFA 6 in 2008 was understood to be able to increase by 20% but only went to 10% due to market considerations. DFO Science (NL) responded that according to data, the biomass and fishable biomass has declined since 2006 and an increase would not be prudent for 2009. He added the caveat that this "analysis" had not been peer reviewed but has been discussed with industry (fishers and FFAW).

CAPP stated that in the absence of new science, TAC should be rolled over until another scientific assessment has been completed.

Keith Sullivan commented that his input to DFO Science was limited to isolated incidents where catches had fallen off.

G. Bridger stated that it was a good fishery in 2008 with a few incidents where poor weather reduced landings.

FFAW indicated that after Boston Seafood Show there would be a better understanding of markets for 2009.

The Chair summarized by stating that the TAC would remain at status quo.

NAFO 3L Increase

The PEI Atlantic Shrimp Corp. Inc. presented a letter to the Chair requesting a 30% (or 1223t) permanent increase to their share of quota in SFA 7. The Province of PEI supports this request.

FFAW raised the issue of implications to other special allocation holders in SFA 7. Also brought up the stable sharing arrangements which were introduced in 2006 by the former Minister to extend to 2010. Questioning how stable this would be if the arrangement keeps changing as the Minister accommodates different constituents.

Province of NL was opposed to the special allocation provided to PEI since they are not adjacent to the resource. Strongly opposed to any proposal to increase PEI's share.

Opposition expressed by 3L fishers and FFAW. Furthermore, FFAW pointed out that a large investment has already been made by fishers in this industry to support rationalization and to take away access/allocation would be difficult to justify.

CAPP indicated that the traditional fishery (the offshore fishery) is no longer as viable as it once was as per the problems he identified earlier (Economics presentation). The fishery in SFA1 no longer appears viable, and it is unknown how long this situation may continue. This fleet feels that it should be considered first in the allocation of the SFA 7 increase and objects to the proposed increased allocation to special interest groups. How is one special interest group to be treated differently than the others. What is the legality around the application of any permanent access to a non-licence holder as proposed by the PEI group? CAPP requested that 50% of the increase should go to the offshore fleet as SFA 7 is the most viable area for this fleet.

Northern Coalition also opposed to any new access to the fishery. The sharing arrangement should be maintained (divided between offshore/inshore licence holders) and not include an increase to special allocations to interest groups. Agrees with CAPP that the increase should be applied 50%/50%.

FFAW does not support the 50%/50% split; instead allocations should be made according to the standard sharing formula.

Province of New Brunswick is opposed to an increased allocation for PEI and agrees that the offshore fleet should receive 50% of any increase in SFA 7.

The Chair noted that the Minister's stability statement in 2006 dealt with access - it stated that there would be no new entrants to the shrimp fishery; not the stability of allocations.

Newfound Resources asked about licences vs. allocations - clarification needs to be made. An 18th offshore licence would be detrimental from a banking perspective.

PEI Shrimp Corp. clarified that they are not requesting a new licence. Also stated that there are 20 processing plants in PEI, they are not 'new' coming to this table. They have not just started looking for access.

South Central Labrador communities' shrimp stocks are also experiencing overexploitation. They too request a portion of the increased allocation.

CAPP pointed out that viability is one of the main principles of allocation sharing and as such the economic viability of the offshore fleet is in jeopardy. If the declining biomass continues, we will be facing decreases to TACs. Banks will also have a negative reaction to any changes in allocation.

Province of NL stated that adjacency to the resource should be a main consideration - support the sharing arrangement that is already in place.

Season Bridging

DFO-RM explained that the policy has been amended and was extended to the 2009-10 season; it will be re-evaluated mid-season.

FFAW asked whether the department has plans to extend this policy to other fisheries. The Chair suggested that the inshore industry approach the region on the possible application of season bridging for the inshore fleet as long as there are no conservation or monitoring issues.

CAPP appreciates the flexibility demonstrated by the Department as bridging allows the fleet to balance capacity with the resource.

Province of NS likes the flexibility season bridging affords to the fleet and suggests that a similar program be established for the Scotian Shelf shrimp fishery.

SFA 1

The Chair indicated that a memo was before the Minister on SFA 1 TAC. Greenland has reduced their TAC and the question is should Canada follow suit? The memo provides several options for the Minister.

There was some debate as to the conclusion of the conference call held earlier in the year with industry on TAC levels for SFA 1 as NAFO's Scientific Council has recommended a reduced to 110,000t TAC. The question is status quo or reduction?

Baffin Fisheries Coalition (BFC) supports status quo as any reduction would affect the future of the North. BFC feels that they have not been treated fairly in the past and that the Last In First Out (LIFO) policy should not apply in this case.

Newfound Resources feels that Canada needs to be responsible when it comes to setting quotas. NSAC should discuss how reduction should be handled domestically.

Northern Coalition supports the reduction and suggests that the Minister must accept NAFO's Scientific Council's advice and respect conservation. Furthermore, in terms of a reduction, DFO must apply LIFO.

CAPP suggests amending the Memo to Minister to reflect the possible Canadian MSC certification process in SFA 1. CAPP supports LIFO and that the offshore should take a 30% reduction while the other two stakeholders (Nunavut and Makivik) should take a 70% reduction. There are no land claim obligations that would supersede LIFO.

Government of Nunavut echoed BFC's sentiments that they do not want to see adjacent stakeholder's share reduced. It would be too great a percentage loss to Nunavut interests if LIFO was to be applied in that area.

Government of NS supports application of LIFO as offshore has given concessions in the past.

NWMB stated that over harvest by Greenland is the larger issue and that Canada must exercise due diligence. However, Canada's actions may not have any effect.

FFAW stated that even though they do not fish in SFA 1, they want to be included in debate as it is precedent setting in terms of possible application of LIFO. Minister must look at the total picture when making her decision.

Peter Keenainak (Qikiqtaaluk Corporation) supports LIFO.

After hearing comments from NSAC members, BFC supports SC advice for a reduction but does not want a change to the proportional sharing arrangement.

The Chair summarized by saying that as a result of discussion, most stakeholders support a reduction but differ on how to apply reduction in TAC. The Memo to Minister will be amended to reflect this and other new information on MSC presented at meeting.

Stable Sharing Arrangements

FFAW stated this issue was discussed in other agenda items.

Miscellaneous

The Executive Director of the Association of Seafood Producers gave a brief update on their MSC certification and the associated conditions.

Wrap Up

The meeting adjourned by the Chair thanking participants for their contributions. He also invited any interested parties to the Closed Area WG to be held the following day.

Annex 1

Northern Shrimp Advisory Committee Meeting

Annex 2

Agenda - Northern Shrimp Advisory Committee Meeting

Thursday, March 12, 2009, Delta St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
09:00 - 09:15 Opening Remparks
  • Minutes of April 2008 Meeting
  • Results of 2008 fishery
09:15 - 09:45 Economic Overview
09:45 - 10:15 International Trade
10:15 - 10:30 Break
10:30 - 11 :00 Fishery Checklist
11:00 - 12:15 NSAC Working Groups
12:15 - 13:30 Lunch
13:30 - 14:30 Management Measures for 2009
  • TAC
  • 3L Increase
  • Season Bridging
  • SFA 1
14:30 - 15:30 Miscellaneous
15:30 - 16:00 Wrap-Up

Réunion du comité consultatif sur la crevette nordique - 2009

12 mars 2009
St. John's, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Sont présents

La liste des participants est jointe en annexe 1.

Introduction et adoption de l'ordre du jour

Le président souhaite la bienvenue aux participants et fait un tour de table pour les présenter. Il présente officiellement Jennifer Buie qui occupe le poste d'agente de la pêche de la crevette à l'AC du MPO.

Ensuite est accepté l'ordre du jour (annexe 2), auquel a été ajouté le thème des modalités de partage stables, tel que proposé par la FFAW.

Compte rendu de la réunion de 2008

Le compte rendu de la dernière réunion du CCCN est accepté avec un changement à la page 12 (précision de la province), tel que proposé par le représentant de la province de Terre-Neuve et Labrador.

On suggère également au président que le compte rendu soit envoyé plus rapidement. Le président est d'accord.

L'ACPC (Bruce Chapman) demande également davantage de précisions sur les représentants quand il est fait mention de « l'industrie ».

Tout autre commentaire portant sur le compte rendu doit être envoyé à l'AC du MPO.

Résultats pour la pêche de 2007-2008

Le tableau d'allocations et de prises de 2008 est examiné.

Il est suggéré de ne pas inclure la zone réglementée par l'OPANO dans le tableau. De plus, le nom de la bande indienne de Conne River doit être remplacé par Première nation Miawpukek.

Présentation de la situation économique

Le MPO (Politiques/Analyses économiques et Statistiques) présente un aperçu de la situation économique de l'industrie de la crevette nordique. Le principal message est que la perspective pour cette industrie est la même que pour bon nombre d'autres secteurs d'activité au Canada et sur la scène internationale : une année difficile nous attend. Il est fort probable que les répercussions de la crise financière de 2008 se poursuivront en 2009. Ces répercussions se feront principalement sentir par une diminution de la demande des consommateurs et le maintien du gel du crédit. Néanmoins, cette récession pourrait réduire certains coûts opérationnels, principalement le prix du pétrole.

Parmi les principaux points soulevés dans la présentation, on retrouve : les données préliminaires indiquent que les débarquements pour la crevette cuite et décortiquée seront similaires à ceux des dernières années, on dénote cependant une diminution perceptible dans les débarquements hauturiers; pour ce qui est de l'exportation, la valeur du dollar canadien s'est accrue comparativement à la livre sterling, mais elle a perdu du terrain en comparaison avec le dollar américain et l'euro; et une importante augmentation du nombre de crevettes issues de l'aquaculture a été enregistrée sur le marché. On peut trouver d'autres renseignements dans les documents distribués.

L'ACPC mentionne que plusieurs facteurs entrent en jeu dans la diminution des débarquements hauturiers : nous avons perdu deux bâtiments de la flottille; l'âge de la flottille cause des problèmes mécaniques; nous avons connu des problèmes d'accès au marché en Russie et au Danemark; et la biomasse de la ZPC 1 a diminué sur le territoire du Groenland.

La FFAW indique que les données de 2007 et 2008 sur l'industrie de la crevette cuite et décortiquée dans la province de T.-N.-L. sont incorrectes.

Tarifs de l'UE et autres enjeux commerciaux

Le MPO (Politiques commerciales) passe en revue plusieurs aspects du commerce canadien, dont les suivants : tarifs de l'UE; négociations avec l'OMC; accords de libre échange; et activités de pêche illicites, non déclarées et non réglementées (INN).

La présentation porte sur une discussion sur le statut des initiatives commerciales bilatérales, sur le début possible de négociations entre le Canada et l'UE en 2009, sur des aperçus des négociations multilatérales à l'OMC, sur le règlement de l'UE visant à mettre un frein à la pêche INN qui entrera en vigueur en 2010, et sur le contingent tarifaire autonome (CTA) de l'UE à l'égard des crevettes (mettre l'accent sur le processus de renouvellement du CTA pour 2010).

Le MPO encourage les participants à visiter le site Web du MAECI portant sur le Rapport conjoint Canada Union européenne : Vers un accord économique approfondi.

Brian McNamara de Newfound Resources propose la tenue de discussions plus détaillées sur les débouchés internationaux pour les crevettes avec carapace, en particulier en Ukraine, en Russie et en Chine, lors de la prochaine réunion du CCCN.

La FFAW s'interroge sur les subventions internationales; elle est sceptique quant aux avantages pour le secteur de la pêche du Canada.

La province de la N.-É. commente le problème de traçabilité en lien avec les accords internationaux.

Liste de contrôlle des pêches

Présentation par le GR du MPO sur le fonctionnement de la liste de contrôlle du MPO, y compris sur les enjeux visant à déterminer qui répond aux questions et de quelle façon les données sont recueillies et utilisées. Des exemples de diagrammes en araignée sont donnés pour chaque zone de pêche de la crevette.

Le président mentionne que le MPO terminera les ébauches de listes de contrôlle et les fera parvenir à l'industrie, soit au groupe de travail ou au CCCN, à des fins de validation.

L'ACPC mentionne que les listes de contrôlle ont des qualités, mais aussi des défauts. Le MPO dispose d'un processus de vérification interne pour ses listes de contrôlle et il sera plus dur envers lui-même que les tiers puisqu'ils se compareront à une situation idéale. La façon dont le MPO présente les résultats est importante. Le MSC a affiché une cotation de beaucoup supérieure à 80 % dans certaines zones. Nos diagrammes en araignée affichent des résultats similaires à la cotation du MSC.

Le représentant de Makivik demande s'il serait possible de consulter les questions et les réponses de la liste de contrôlle puisque, à ce jour, les listes de contrôlle ont toujours été un exercice interne du MPO. Le président répond que la personne qui pourrait répondre à cette question n'est pas présente et qu'il ne peut donc pas y répondre.

Une question est posée sur l'objectif des listes de contrôlle et si elles sont en concurrence avec le MSC.

Le président répond que les listes de contrôlle sont un moyen d'évaluer notre propre gestion et qu'elles seront utiles pour l'industrie en tant que premier pas vers la certification. Les listes de contrôlle aideront l'industrie à obtenir la certification MSC, mais il n'existe aucun lien direct.

Des questions sont également soulevées quant au rôlle des points de référence et des règles de régulation des captures. Des réponses à ces questions seront fournies dans la prochaine présentation.

Groupes de travail du CCCN

Le président explique que le GT du MSC a été le seul GT actif au cours de la dernière année compte tenu de la certification de la crevette nordique.

Groupe de travail du MSC

La présentation du président porte sur les activités du GT visant à établir des points de référence provisoires et des règles de décision fondées sur le cadre du principe de précaution (PP) par suite de la première condition de la certification MSC. La présentation donne un aperçu du PP, des points de référence provisoires et des règles de régulation des captures pour la ZPC 6 tels qu'élaborés par le GT.

Le président explique ensuite que ce cadre provisoire sera ultérieurement validé et achevé par le CCCN une fois qu'un exercice de modélisation de la méthode d'évaluation de gestion (MEG) aura été effectué.

Le représentant de la province du N.-B. appuie ces mesures et les efforts du GT pour la poursuite du dossier auprès du MSC.

La FFAW est préoccupée par les conditions du MSC qui doivent être respectées. Ces conditions seront présentées lors de la prochaine réunion du GT du MSC.

On mentionne également qu'afin de mieux respecter la deuxième condition de l'évaluation du MSC, le mandat du Groupe de travail sur la zone interdite du CCCN devrait être élargi de sorte qu'il englobe les enjeux relatifs à l'écosystème et à l'habitat. Aucune objection n'est formulée.

Mesures de gestion pour 2009

Total autorisé des captures (TAC)

Le président sollicite l'avis des membres sur le TAC. On mentionne que l'avis scientifique est fondé sur les données de 2007 alors que la biomasse était demeurée élevée puisqu'aucune évaluation n'a été menée en 2008.

La FFAW demande des éclaircissements afin de savoir si on doit s'attendre à un 10 % additionnel pour la ZPC 6 en 2009. En 2008, nous n'avons obtenu qu'une hausse de 10 % du TAC pour la ZPC 6 en raison des particularités du marché, et ce, bien qu'il était convenu qu'une hausse de 20 % était réalisable. Le Secteur des sciences du MPO (T.-N.-L.) répond que, selon les données, la biomasse et la biomasse exploitable ont diminué depuis 2006 et une hausse en 2009 serait imprudente. Il met également en garde contre le fait que cette « analyse » n'a pas été révisée par les pairs, mais qu'elle a fait l'objet de discussions avec l'industrie (pêcheurs et FFAW).

L'ACPC mentionne qu'en l'absence de nouveaux avis scientifiques, le TAC doit être reconduit jusqu'à ce qu'une nouvelle évaluation scientifique soit menée.

Keith Sullivan souligne que son apport au Secteur des sciences du MPO était limité à des incidents isolés où le nombre de prises avait diminué.

G. Bridger mentionne que la pêche de 2008 a été bonne mis à part quelques incidents où le mauvais temps a réduit le nombre de débarquements.

La FFAW indique qu'il y aura une meilleure compréhension des marchés de 2009 après le Boston Seafood Show.

Le président résume en déclarant que le TAC demeurera le même.

Augmentation dans la division 3L de l'OPANO

La PEI Atlantic Shrimp Corp. Inc. remet une lettre au président demandant une augmentation permanente de 30 % (1223 t) de sa part de quota dans la ZPC 7. La province de l'Î.-P.-É. appuie cette demande.

La FFAW soulève la question de l'inclusion d'autres détenteurs d'allocations spéciales dans la ZPC 7 et mentionne également les modalités de partage stables instaurées en 2006 par l'ancien ministre et qui seront en vigueur jusqu'en 2010. La FFAW s'interroge sur la stabilité de ces modalités si elles sont constamment modifiées afin de permettre à la ministre d'y ajouter divers éléments.

La province de T.-N.-L. s'oppose à l'allocation spéciale octroyée à l'Î.-P.-É. puisqu'elle n'est pas adjacente à la ressource. La province s'oppose fermement à toute proposition d'augmentation de la part de l'Î.-P.-É.

Les pêcheurs de la zone 3L et la FFAW s'y sont également opposés. De plus, la FFAW souligne qu'un important investissement a déjà été effectué par les pêcheurs de cette industrie afin de soutenir la rationalisation et le retrait de l'accès ou de l'allocation serait difficile à justifier.

L'ACPC indique que la pêche traditionnelle (la grande pêche) n'affiche plus la viabilité d'autrefois comme en font foi les problèmes soulevés précédemment par l'Association (Présentation de la situation économique). Cette pêche dans la ZPC 1 ne semble plus viable et elle est inconnue combien de temps cette situation continue. Elle estime qu'il faut en tenir compte lors de l'allocation de l'augmentation dans la ZPC 7. De plus, elle s'oppose à la proposition d'augmentation de l'allocation à des groupes d'intérêts spéciaux. Comment un groupe d'intérêts spéciaux peut il être traité différemment des autres? Quelle est la légalité de l'application de tout accès permanent sans permis comme préposer par la groupe du IPE? L'ACPC demande que 50 % de l'augmentation soit attribuée à la flottille hauturière puisque la ZPC 7 est la zone la plus viable pour cette flottille.

La Coalition nordique s'est aussi opposée à tout nouvel accès à la pêche. Les modalités de partage adoptées doivent être conservées (division entre les détenteurs de permis côltiers et hauturiers) et ne doivent pas inclure une augmentation des allocations spéciales des groupes d'intérêts. La Coalition convient avec l'ACPC que l'augmentation doit être répartie à parts égales.

La FFAW n'appuie pas cette répartition à parts égales. Elle propose plutôlt que les allocations soient déterminées selon la formule de partage habituelle.

La province du Nouveau Brunswick s'oppose à une augmentation de l'allocation pour l'Î.-P.-É. et convient que la flottille hauturière doit recevoir 50 % de toute augmentation dans la ZPC 7.

Le président mentionne que la déclaration faite par le ministre en 2006 concernant la stabilité traitait de la question de l'accès. Il disait qu'il n'y aurait aucun nouveau joueur dans la pêche à la crevette; il n'a pas vraiment parlé de stabilité des allocations.

Newfound Resources s'est enquis au sujet des permis par rapport aux allocations. Des éclaircissements doivent être apportés. Un 18e permis de pêche hauturière serait nuisible selon une perspective bancaire.

PEI Shrimp Corp. précise ne pas demander un nouveau permis. La société souligne également qu'il y a 20 usines de traitement à l'Î.-P.-É. et qu'elles ne sont pas des « nouvelles venues » à cette table; ce n'est pas la première fois qu'elles cherchent à obtenir un accès.

Les stocks de crevettes des collectivités du centre-sud du Labrador sont également victimes de surexploitation. Ces communautés-là demandent aussi leur part sur l'augmentation de l'allocation.

L'ACPC indique que la viabilité est un des principaux principes de répartition des allocations et que, à ce titre, la viabilité de la flottille hauturière est en danger. Si la diminution de la biomasse se poursuit, nous serons confrontés à une réduction des TAC. Les banques verront maintenant d'un œil négatif les changements à l'allocation.

La province de T.-N.-L. souligne que la contiguïté à la ressource doit être une des principales considérations - appuyer les modalités de partage déjà en place.

Transfert entre les saisons

Le GR du MPO explique que la politique a été modifiée et prolongée jusqu'en 2009-2010. Elle sera réévaluée à la mi saison.

La FFAW demande si le Ministère prévoit étendre cette politique à d'autres pêches. Le président propose que l'industrie de la pêche côltière approche la région quant à la demande d'un possible transfert entre les saisons pour la flottille côltière tant qu'il n'y a pas de problèmes de conservation ou de surveillance.

L'ACPC apprécie la souplesse dont a fait preuve le Ministère puisque le transfert permet à la flottille de trouver un juste équilibre entre la capacité et les ressources.

La province de la N.-É. apprécie la souplesse que le transfert entre les saisons donne à la flottille et propose la mise sur pied d'un programme similaire pour la pêche de la crevette sur le plateau néo écossais.

ZPC 1

Le président indique qu'un mémoire sur le TAC dans la ZPC 1 a été présenté à la ministre. Le Groenland a réduit son TAC et la question est : le Canada doit-il emboÎter le pas? Le mémoire donne plusieurs options à la ministre.

Un débat a été soulevé à la fin de la conférence téléphonique portant sur les niveaux du TAC pour la ZPC 1 tenue plus tôlt au cours de l'année avec l'industrie; conférence au cours de laquelle le Conseil scientifique de l'OPANO a réduit le TAC à 110 000 t. La question est la suivante : doit on conserver le statu quo ou procéder à une réduction?

La Baffin Fisheries Coalition (BFC) appuie le statu quo puisque toute réduction aurait une incidence sur le futur du Nord. La BFC estime ne pas avoir été traitée de façon équitable par le passé et que la politique du dernier entré, premier sorti (DEPS) ne doit pas s'appliquer dans ce cas.

Newfound Resources estime que le Canada doit être responsable de l'établissement des quotas. Le CCCN doit discuter de la façon dont la réduction doit être gérée à l'intérieur du pays.

La Coalition nordique appuie la réduction et propose que la ministre accepte l'avis du Conseil scientifique de l'OPANO et respecte la conservation. De plus, compte tenu de la réduction, le MPO doit appliquer la politique du DEPS.

L'ACPC propose de modifier le mémoire à la ministre afin d'y inclure l'éventuel processus de certification MSC du Canada dans la ZPC 1. L'ACPC appuie la politique du DEPS et indique que la pêche hauturière doit subir une réduction de 30 % alors que les deux autres intervenants (Nunavut et Makivik) doivent subir une réduction de 70 %. Aucune obligation relative aux territoires revendiqués ne doit avoir préséance sur la politique du DEPS.

Le gouvernement du Nunavut partage les sentiments de la BFC; tous deux ne souhaitent pas la réduction de la part de l'intervenant adjacent. Le pourcentage de perte pour le Nunavut serait trop élevé si la politique du DEPS était mise en application dans cette zone.

Le gouvernement de la N.-É. appuie la mise en application de la politique du DEPS puisque la pêche hauturière a déjà fait des concessions par le passé.

Le CGRFN mentionne que la surpêche par le Groenland est le principal problème et que le Canada doit faire preuve de diligence raisonnable. Cependant, les mesures prises par le Canada n'auront peut être aucun effet.

La FFAW souligne que bien qu'elle ne pêche pas dans la ZPC 1, elle souhaite prendre part au débat puisqu'il créera un précédent en matière de possible mise en œuvre de la politique du DEPS. La ministre doit regarder l'ensemble du tableau lorsqu'elle prendra sa décision.

Peter Keenainak (Qikiqtaaluk Corporation) appuie la politique du DEPS.

La BFC, après avoir entendu les commentaires des membres du CCCN, appuie l'avis du Conseil scientifique pour une réduction, mais ne souhaite pas l'apport de changements aux modalités de partage proportionnelles.

Le président résume en mentionnant qu'à la suite des discussions, la majorité des intervenants appuient une réduction, mais qu'ils ne s'entendent pas sur la façon d'appliquer cette réduction sur le TAC. Le mémoire à la ministre sera modifié afin de refléter cette conclusion et les nouveaux renseignements sur le MSC présentés lors de la réunion.

Modalités de partage stables

La FFAW mentionne que cette question a fait l'objet de discussions dans d'autres points à l'ordre du jour.

Divers

Le directeur exécutif de l'Association of Seafood Producers donne un bref compte rendu sur la certification MSC de son Association et les conditions connexes.

Conclusion

Le président lève la séance et remercie les participants pour leurs contributions. Il invite également les participants intéressés à assister à la réunion du Groupe de travail sur la zone fermée qui se tiendra le lendemain.

Annexe 1

Réunion du Comité Consultatif sur la crevette nordique

Annexe 2

Ordre du jour - Réunion du comité consultatif de la crevette nordique

Jeudi, le 12 mars, Delta St. John's, Terre-Neuve et Labrador
9 h - 9 h 15 Mot d'ouverture
  • Compte rendu de la réunion d'avril 2008
  • Résultats des pêches de 2008
9 h 15 - 9 h 45 Portrait économique
9 h 45 - 10 h 15 Commerce international
10 h 15 - 10 h 30 Pause
10 h 30 - 11 h La liste de contrôlle des pêches
11 h - 12 h 15 Groupe de travail CCCN
12 h 15 - 13 h 30 DÎner
13 h 30 - 14 h 30 Mesures de gestion pour 2009
  • TAC
  • Augmentation dans 3L
  • Transferts saisonniers
  • ZPC 1
14 h 30 - 15 h 30 Points d'information/divers
15 h 30 - 16 h Sommaire