External Review of the Department’s Last-In, First-Out Policy on Northern Shrimp

The Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard launched the Ministerial Advisory Panel to carry out the external review of the Department’s Last-In, First-Out policy (LIFO) for the Northern shrimp fishery.

The purpose of the review was to gather perspectives from those affected by LIFO and offer advice to the Minister on whether the Policy should be continued, modified or abolished for the 2016 season and beyond. The Panel held seven public consultation meetings in communities in Newfoundland and Labrador and in Iqaluit and Halifax and heard from hundreds of stakeholders.

The Panel has completed its report and delivered it to the Minister.

Statement: Minister LeBlanc Accepts Key Recommendation of Advisory Panel on LIFO.

The Panel

The Panel members include:

  • Barbara Crann
  • Wayne Follett
  • Paul Sprout (Chair)
  • Trevor Taylor

Read biographies

Meetings

Public Consultation Meetings

The Panel held seven public consultation meetings in the following communities across Atlantic Canada:

  • May 10, Iqaluit, NU
  • May 24-25, St. John’s, NL:
  • May 26, Gander, NL
  • May 28, St. Anthony, NL
  • May 30, Mary’s Harbour, NL
  • May 31, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NL
  • June 10, Halifax, NS (Translation will be provided)

View presentations provided to the Panel.

Pre-consultative Meetings

During the week of May 2, the Panel held pre-consultative meetings with a cross-section of interested parties to obtain advice on its plans for public consultations, including potential meeting locations and timelines in carrying out its responsibilities. The Panel did not seek views on LIFO during this time.

Site Visits

In April 28 and 29, the Ministerial Advisory Panel carried out its first round of site visits to various Northern shrimp facilities. The purpose of these visits was to give the Panel an opportunity to learn more about the shrimp fishery first-hand from those who work in it. Further site visits will be scheduled in the following weeks.

Dates for other site visits include:

  • May 27, Northern Peninsula, NL
  • May 29, Charlottetown, Labrador

Photo gallery (Click on the picture)

  • Image 1
  • Image 2
  • Image 3
  • Image 4
Written submissions

The Panel received 41 written submissions.

View written submissions

Terms of reference

External advisory process to examine the last in, first out policy in the northern shrimp fishery

A. Introduction

The Minister will appoint a Ministerial Advisory Panel (MAP) that will be tasked with providing advice on whether the Last In, First Out (LIFO) policy specific to the Northern shrimp fishery should be continued, modified or abolished.

B. Background

After a period of substantive growth, the Department has used LIFO to implement Total Allowable Catches (TACs) reductions in the southern Shrimp Fishing Areas (SFAs) areas of the Northern shrimp fishery since 2010.  LIFO prescribes that those who last entered the fishery would be the first removed should the TAC fall to a certain threshold. As a result of LIFO, the inshore fleet’s allocation in this fishery has been reduced from more than 76,000t to less than half that amount in 2016. Northern shrimp stakeholders maintain polarized perspectives on the use of LIFO, with the inshore fleet and aboriginal groups, including Land Claimants, being of the view that adjacency should be the determining factor in access and allocation decisions.  Science projects that the changing ecological conditions that have been observed in the past few years will continue possibility until 2035, creating an environment that is less favorable to shellfish including shrimp, and more favourable to groundfish species. Of note, the anticipated declines in this fishery are expected to be significant and regardless of the use of LIFO, access to the SFA 6 fishery by all stakeholders into the future is uncertain.

C. Objectives

  • The MAP will consist of up to 7 individuals.
  • The MAP, guided by a Chair is to offer advice if LIFO should be continued, modified or abolished for the 2016 season and beyond. If LIFO should be modified or abolished, what are the elements of an appropriate access and allocation tool / mechanism for this fishery?
  • To pronounce on the validity of applying LIFO to reduce allocations in SFAs which are subject to any of the three Land Claims Agreements in the commercial shrimp fishery.
  • To engage stakeholders though written and oral forums to seek their perspectives, concerns and suggestions on what constitutes an appropriate access and allocation regime in this fishery, including views on LIFO, while directly considering the anticipated continued stock declines in the Northern shrimp fishery.
  • To seek advice from other experts outside of the MAP as deemed necessary and appropriate.

D. Scope

  1. The MAP will focus their activities on identifying the concerns of the Northern shrimp fleets, and through various processes will ensure that stakeholder submissions are factual and based on evidence that can be substantiated. Further to this, the MAP will also obtain the perspectives of relevant governments, agencies, special allocation holders, Land Claims Resource Management Boards and Aboriginal / Inuit organizations.
  2. The MAP will not undertake research, but will instead rely on 1) existing documentation from the Department, 2) oral discussions and written submissions from stakeholders, 3) the specific expertise of individual MAP members and 4) the input and perspectives of specialists as deemed appropriate by the MAP.

E. Methodology / Approach

  1. The MAP will solicit written submissions from interested parties, and at a later time the submitting parties will be invited to meet with the MAP in a public venue. This represents a forum in which the MAP may ask questions or challenge any detail of the submission to ensure that the MAP is basing its decisions on the best available and factual information.  The following stakeholders / parties will be invited to participate:
    • The Offshore Shrimp Fleet
    • The Inshore Shrimp Fleet
    • Special Allocation Holders
    • Relevant provincial and territorial governments and agencies
    • Rights Holders
    • Relevant Land Claims Resource Management Boards
    • Relevant Aboriginal organizations
    • Other stakeholders in the Northern shrimp fishery
  2. The MAP may consult other interests as required to ensure a proper and inclusive understanding of the issues, to validate points or to offer opposing perspectives.
  3. The MAP will carry out interviews, obtain and examine relevant documents and information and consult with other experts to ensure a thorough understanding of the perspectives of all parties.
  4. The MAP will organize meetings with the primary parties either individually, collectively or both at its discretion and likewise, with DFO staff.
  5. The MAP will have access, as required and subject to Access to Information and Privacy Acts, to DFO documentation and DFO personnel when seeking information on the fishery.
  6. The Chair will prepare and submit a written report to the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans on the MAP’s observations and recommendations.
  7. The above written report to the Minister will be provided in French or English and a final copy will be provided to the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) of Ecosystems and Fisheries Management (EFM) no later than June 15, 2016.
  8. The MAP will determine an appropriate media spokesperson if required.
  9. A package will be prepared for the reviewer outlining the official set of facts and figures related to this issue from the Department’s perspective.

F. Considerations

  1. The need to clearly articulate if LIFO should be continued, modified or abolished. If modified or abolished, what would the altered / new regime look like?
  2. The need to consider LIFO in terms of aboriginal groups, and specifically with respect to each of the three Land Claims, in each of the Shrimp Fishing Areas.
  3. The need to obtain the most relevant information available to validate the issues and concerns raised by all parties.
  4. The need to ensure that all information upon which decisions are being made is factual and defensible.
  5. The need to give a strong rationale to support each of the recommendations and decisions of the MAP.

G. Costs

The MAP’s costs including professional fees, travel, accommodations, translation services, and meeting facilities will be paid by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Travel and meals costs associated with the work of the review will be paid at Treasury Board of Canada rates in effect.

Fishery and stock status

Examen externe de la politique ministérielle du « dernier entré, premier sorti » de la pêche à la crevette nordique

Le ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne a établi un comité consultatif ministériel, formé d’experts, dont le mandat vise à effectuer l’examen externe de la politique du ministère, relative au principe du dernier entré, premier sorti (DEPS) pour la pêche à la crevette nordique.

L’examen a eu pour objectif de recueillir les points de vue de tous ceux qui sont concernés par la politique du DEPS, et conseiller le Ministre sur la question de savoir si cette politique devrait être poursuivie, modifiée ou supprimée pour la saison de 2016 et au-delà. Le groupe d’experts a tenu sept séances de consultation publique dans des collectivités de la province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, de même qu’à Iqaluit et à Halifax, et a entendu l’opinion de centaines d’intervenants.

Le groupe d’experts a terminé de rédiger son rapport et l’a remis au ministre.

Déclaration: Le ministre accepte la principale recommandation du Comité consultatif sur le DEPS.

Le groupe d’experts

Voici les membres du groupe d’experts :

  • Barbara Crann
  • Wayne Follett
  • Paul Sprout (président)
  • Trevor Taylor

Lisez les biographies

Réunions

Réunions sur les consultations publiques

Le groupe d’experts a procédé à sept séances de consultation publique dans les collectivités suivantes au Canada atlantique :

  • 10 mai, Iqaluit, Nunavut
  • 24-25 mai, St. John’s, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador :
  • 26 mai, Gander, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • 28 mai, St. Anthony, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • 30 mai, Mary’s Harbour, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • 31 mai, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • 10 juin, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse (la traduction sera assurée)

Consulter les présentations soumises au comité consultatif ministériel d’experts.

Réunions préalables à la consultation

Durant la semaine du 2 mai, le groupe d’experts a organisé des réunions préalables à la consultation avec un large éventail d’intervenants intéressés à obtenir des conseils sur ses projets de consultations publiques, y compris les lieux éventuels de réunion et les calendriers des responsabilités qui lui incombent. Le groupe d’experts n'a pas solicité d’observations sur la politique du DEPS durant cette période.

Visites de sites

Les 28 et 29 avril, le Comité consultatif ministériel a effectué sa première série de visites d’usines de transformation de la crevette nordique. Ces visites avaient  pour objectif d’offrir aux membres du Comité une occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur la pêche de la crevette nordique, directement de ceux qui y travaillent. D’autres visites sont prévues dans les semaines à venir.

Les dates des autres visites de sites sont :

  • le 27 mai, péninsule du Nord, TN
  • le 29 mai, Charlottetown, Labrador

Galerie photos (Cliquez sur la photo)

  • Image 1
  • Image 2
  • Image 3
  • Image 4
Observations écrites

Le groupe d’experts a reçu 41 observations écrites.

Voir les observations écrites.

Mandat

Processus de consultation externe pour examiner le principe du « dernier entré, premier sorti » de la pêche à la crevette nordique

A. Introduction

Le ministre doit nommer un comité consultatif ministériel (CCM) qui sera chargé de donner son avis sur la question de savoir s'il faut conserver, modifier ou abolir le principe du « dernier entré, premier sorti » (DEPS) dans la pêche de la crevette nordique.

B. Contexte

Après une période de forte croissance, le Ministère a appliqué le principe du « dernier entré, premier sorti » pour mettre en œuvre les réductions des totaux autorisés des captures (TAC) dans les zones sud de la pêche à la crevette nordique (ZPC) depuis 2010. Selon ce principe, ceux qui sont entrés les derniers dans la pêche seraient les premiers à en être éliminés si le TAC venait à chuter en deçà d'un certain seuil. Du fait de l'application du principe du « dernier entré, premier sorti », l'allocation octroyée à cette flottille côtière a été réduite de plus de 76 000 tonnes à moins de la moitié de cette quantité en 2016. Les pêcheurs de crevette nordique ont des avis contradictoires sur l'utilisation de ce principe, la flottille de pêche côtière et les groupes autochtones, y compris les groupes de revendication territoriale, étant d'avis que la contiguïté devrait constituer le facteur déterminant dans les décisions sur l'accès et la répartition. Les projets scientifiques montrent que les changements des conditions écologiques qui ont été observés depuis quelques années pourraient se poursuivre jusqu'en 2035, ce qui crée un environnement moins favorable aux mollusques et crustacés, notamment aux crevettes, et plus favorable aux espèces de poissons de fond. Il convient de noter que les déclins prévus dans cette pêche devraient être importants et que l'accès futur à la pêche dans la ZPC 6 par tous les intervenants est incertain, que l'on applique ou non le principe du « DEPS ».

C. Objectifs

  • Le CCM sera composé au maximum de 7 personnes.
  • Sous la direction de son président pour formuler ses recommandations, le CCM donnera un avis pour indiquer s'il faut conserver, modifier ou abolir le principe du « DEPS » pour la saison de 2016 et au-delà. Si ce principe doit être modifié ou aboli, de quels éléments un outil / mécanisme approprié pour déterminer l'accès et la répartition de cette pêche doit-il être composé?
  • Le CCM devra se prononcer sur la validité de l'application de ce principe pour réduire les attributions dans les ZPC assujetties à l'une ou l'autre des trois ententes sur les revendications territoriales dans la pêche commerciale à la crevette.
  • Il devra consulter les intervenants, de vive voix et par écrit, afin de recueillir leurs points de vue, leurs préoccupations et leurs suggestions sur ce qui doit être un régime approprié d'accès et d'allocation pour cette pêche, y compris leur avis sur le principe du « dernier entré, premier sorti », tout en tenant directement compte du déclin constant prévu des stocks de crevettes nordiques.
  • Il devra demander l'avis d'autres experts externes lorsqu'il le jugera nécessaire et approprié.

D. Portée

  1. Le CCM doit concentrer ses activités sur la détermination des préoccupations des flottilles de pêche à la crevette nordique et, dans le cadre de divers processus, s'assurer que les présentations des intervenants sont fondées sur des faits et sur des données probantes qui peuvent être corroborées. De plus, il doit aussi recueillir les points de vue des gouvernements, organismes, titulaires d'allocations spéciales, conseils de revendications territoriales et de gestion des ressources, et organisations autochtones et inuites qui sont concernés.
  2. Le CCM n'entreprendra pas de recherche, mais se fondera plutôt sur 1) la documentation existante du Ministère, 2) les discussions avec les intervenants et les communications écrites de ces derniers; 3) l'expertise particulière de ses différents membres et 4) les points de vue et commentaires de spécialistes auxquels il jugera utile de faire appel.

E. Méthode / Démarche

  1. Le CCM doit solliciter les demandes écrites des parties intéressées. Par la suite, les parties ayant soumis des demandes seront conviées à une réunion avec le comité dans une salle publique. Il s'agira d'une tribune où le CCM pourra poser des questions ou demander des détails au sujet de la demande, afin que les décisions du comité s'appuient sur les meilleurs renseignements factuels disponibles. Les intervenants suivants seront invités à y participer :
    • les crevettiers hauturiers
    • les crevettiers côtiers
    • Détenteurs d’allocations spéciales
    • les gouvernements et les organismes provinciaux et territoriaux concernés
    • Titulaires de droits
    • les conseils de revendications territoriales et de gestion des ressources concernés
    • les organisations autochtones visées
    • les autres intervenants du secteur de la pêche à la crevette nordique
  2. Le CCM pourra consulter d'autres parties intéressées, au besoin, afin de s'assurer que les questions sont bien comprises et qu'elles tiennent compte de tous les points de vue, de manière à valider les points ou d'offrir des points de vue divergents.
  3. Le CCM doit procéder à des entrevues, se procurer et examiner les documents et les renseignements pertinents, et consulter les autres experts afin de s'assurer que toutes les parties comprennent bien tous les points de vue.
  4. Le CCM doit organiser des réunions auprès des principales parties, soit individuellement, toutes ensemble ou les deux, à sa discrétion, de même qu'auprès du personnel du MPO.
  5. Au besoin, et conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le CCM aura accès à la documentation et au personnel du MPO lorsqu'il cherchera de l'information sur la pêche.
  6. Le président doit préparer un rapport écrit sur les observations du CCM et les recommandations qu'il remettra au ministre des Pêches et des Océans.
  7. Ce rapport écrit destiné au ministre sera remis en français ou en anglais, et une copie finale sera transmise au sous-ministre adjoint principal de Gestion des écosystèmes et des pêches d'ici le 15 juin 2016.
  8. Au besoin, le CCM nommera un porte-parole chargé des médias.
  9. Une documentation doit être préparée pour l'examinateur décrivant tous les faits et les tableaux officiels qui concernent cette question du point de vue du Ministère.

F. Considérations

  1. Il faudrait indiquer clairement si la politique de dernier entré, premier sorti (DEPS) devrait se poursuivre, être modifiée ou être supprimée. Si on la modifie ou on l'abolit, à quoi la politique nouvelle/modifiée ressemblerait-elle?
  2. Il faudrait tenir compte de la politique de DEPS en termes de groupes autochtones, et plus précisément en ce qui a trait à chacune des trois revendications territoriales, dans chacune des zones de pêche à la crevette.
  3. Il faudrait obtenir les renseignements disponibles les plus pertinents sur les questions et les préoccupations soulevées par toutes les parties.
  4. Il faudrait s'assurer que tous les renseignements sur lesquels s'appuient les décisions sont factuels et défendables.
  5. Il faudrait s'assurer de fournir une justification solide pour appuyer chacune des recommandations et des décisions du CCM.

G. Coûts

Les coûts du CCM comprenant les honoraires, les déplacements, l'hébergement, les services de traduction et les salles de réunion, seront payés par Pêches et Océans Canada. Les frais de déplacement et de repas associés à l'examen seront payés aux taux en vigueur établis par le Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Pêche et état du stock